Bitcoin Forum
July 20, 2017, 10:53:33 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Wolf's XMR/BCN/DSH CPUMiner - 2x speed compared to LucasJones' - NEW 06/20/2014  (Read 336652 times)
supercoin434
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
July 01, 2014, 02:51:55 PM
 #361

Is there any special params to run the miner under a Xeon? I have Xeon E5 but the miner keeps crashing. I have tried the AES and non-AES versions with same result Sad
1500591214
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500591214

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500591214
Reply with quote  #2

1500591214
Report to moderator
1500591214
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500591214

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500591214
Reply with quote  #2

1500591214
Report to moderator
1500591214
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500591214

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500591214
Reply with quote  #2

1500591214
Report to moderator
Decentralized search
Search for products or services and get paid for it
pre-sale Token CAT
25 July 50% discount
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1500591214
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500591214

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500591214
Reply with quote  #2

1500591214
Report to moderator
ahu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
July 01, 2014, 05:48:11 PM
 #362

I get 465 h/s with a Xeon E5-2670v2 and with "-t 11" parameter on Windows. And this with the CPU drawing only 58W. Happy with the efficiency  Grin
Alpinist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 146



View Profile
July 02, 2014, 07:28:13 PM
 #363

Can not compile win64 binaries from the source.
Is there any tutorial about how to do that?

Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624


Miner Developer


View Profile
July 02, 2014, 08:57:20 PM
 #364

Can not compile win64 binaries from the source.
Is there any tutorial about how to do that?

It's not easy. If you're not good at cross-compiling, I'd give up.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
Alpinist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 146



View Profile
July 02, 2014, 10:06:36 PM
 #365

Can not compile win64 binaries from the source.
Is there any tutorial about how to do that?

It's not easy. If you're not good at cross-compiling, I'd give up.

It's clear that it's not easy.
Would you kindly make a step-by-step guide?

I think many people in this thread are not very strong at cross-compiling but wanna be a little bit.


Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624


Miner Developer


View Profile
July 02, 2014, 10:56:59 PM
 #366

Can not compile win64 binaries from the source.
Is there any tutorial about how to do that?

It's not easy. If you're not good at cross-compiling, I'd give up.

It's clear that it's not easy.
Would you kindly make a step-by-step guide?

I think many people in this thread are not very strong at cross-compiling but wanna be a little bit.


A step-by-step guide would take quite a while and would only work on Arch Linux x64...

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
Alpinist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 146



View Profile
July 03, 2014, 10:49:27 AM
 #367

Can not compile win64 binaries from the source.
Is there any tutorial about how to do that?

It's not easy. If you're not good at cross-compiling, I'd give up.

It's clear that it's not easy.
Would you kindly make a step-by-step guide?

I think many people in this thread are not very strong at cross-compiling but wanna be a little bit.


A step-by-step guide would take quite a while and would only work on Arch Linux x64...

Ok. It's worth to wait for.

andrepd
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
July 04, 2014, 03:44:32 PM
 #368

One question: when I start the miner on my 2 core machine, it spawns only one thread, and runs at ~35H/s. When I use `-t 2` it runs at nearly double, 60-70H/s. What are the downsides, if any, of running two threads. I'm presuming there is a reason the miner spawns only 1 on a 2 core machine.
equipoise
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 778


Monero (XMR) - secure, private, untraceable


View Profile WWW
July 04, 2014, 03:56:29 PM
 #369

^If you are using the PC while mining it could become slow if all the threads are used. You could try running it with below normal priority on 2 threads if it's OK for you. If you are not using the PC mine on 2 threads (normal priority), but monitor the temperature to stay appropriate for your processor with a good Distance to TJ MAX. Also keep your fan clean. I use Realtemp for monitoring the temperature. 

About me | zRMicroArray - phase 2 - Gene Expression Analysis software | [Weed Like to Talk - Bulgaria] Start a wave of cannabis seminars in Europe | Monero weighted average price stats: moneroprice.i2p
BTC: 1KoCX7TWKVGwqmmFw3CKyUSrKRSStueZar | NMC: NKhYEYpe1Le9MwHrwKsdSm5617J4toVar9 | XMR (Tip me a beer OpenAlias Monero address): tip.changetheworldwork.com
[XMR] Monero - A secure, private, untraceable cryptocurrency: 4AyRmUcxzefB5quumzK3HNE4zmCiGc8vhG6fE1oJpGVyVZF7fvDgSpt3MzgLfQ6Q1719xQhmfkM9Z2u NXgDMqYhjJVmc6KX
andrepd
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
July 04, 2014, 06:17:18 PM
 #370

^If you are using the PC while mining it could become slow if all the threads are used. You could try running it with below normal priority on 2 threads if it's OK for you. If you are not using the PC mine on 2 threads (normal priority), but monitor the temperature to stay appropriate for your processor with a good Distance to TJ MAX. Also keep your fan clean. I use Realtemp for monitoring the temperature. 

I'm cloud mining, testing for profitability, so that isn't an issue.
ABISprotocol
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274

ABISprotocol on Gist


View Profile WWW
July 05, 2014, 05:57:21 AM
 #371

Can not compile win64 binaries from the source.
Is there any tutorial about how to do that?

It's not easy. If you're not good at cross-compiling, I'd give up.

It's clear that it's not easy.
Would you kindly make a step-by-step guide?

I think many people in this thread are not very strong at cross-compiling but wanna be a little bit.


A step-by-step guide would take quite a while and would only work on Arch Linux x64...

Step by step guide? Not for windows, but for linux / Ubuntu 12.04 LTS / Wubi / Ubuntu 14.04 specific... see: 
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=669355.msg7652438#msg7652438 (comment covers 12.04 LTS / Wubi / 14.04 of Ubuntu)
also:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=669355.msg7634323#msg7634323 (covers Ubuntu 14.04 etc)

ABISprotocol (Github/Gist)
http://abis.io
5w00p
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
July 05, 2014, 08:18:00 AM
 #372

Thank you for the step-by-step guide!  Now running the miner under Ubuntu 14.04

 Grin
ABISprotocol
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274

ABISprotocol on Gist


View Profile WWW
July 05, 2014, 08:37:41 AM
 #373

Thank you for the step-by-step guide!  Now running the miner under Ubuntu 14.04

 Grin

Yay! :-)  Happy to have helped in some small way.

ABISprotocol (Github/Gist)
http://abis.io
MagicSnow
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
July 05, 2014, 10:27:44 AM
 #374

I'm having a problem in Ubuntu 14 (32bit)

when i make i got the following errors:

Code:
make[2]: *** [minerd-cryptonight_lobotomized.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory '/home/.../cpuminer-multi'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/.../cpuminer-multi'
make: *** [all] Error 2

i have installed all the lib etc: libcurl4-gnutls-dev automake build-essential libtool libssl-dev git
5w00p
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
July 05, 2014, 06:36:35 PM
 #375

I'm having a problem in Ubuntu 14 (32bit)

when i make i got the following errors:

Code:
make[2]: *** [minerd-cryptonight_lobotomized.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory '/home/.../cpuminer-multi'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Errir 1
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/.../cpuminer-multi'
make: *** [all] Error 2

i have installed all the lib etc: libcurl4-gnutls-dev automake build-essential libtool libssl-dev git

Maybe the fact your ubuntu is 32-bit and not 64 has something to do with it?

Try looking through the config.log file...
MagicSnow
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
July 05, 2014, 08:23:23 PM
 #376

I'm having a problem in Ubuntu 14 (32bit)

when i make i got the following errors:

Code:
make[2]: *** [minerd-cryptonight_lobotomized.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory '/home/.../cpuminer-multi'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/.../cpuminer-multi'
make: *** [all] Error 2

i have installed all the lib etc: libcurl4-gnutls-dev automake build-essential libtool libssl-dev git

Maybe the fact your ubuntu is 32-bit and not 64 has something to do with it?

Try looking through the config.log file...

There are a lot of lines, what i need to look for?
5w00p
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
July 05, 2014, 09:28:58 PM
 #377

I don't know.  I looked through one and it was the libtools that I needed.
Try to run 64 bit ubuntu. (your CPU is probably 32-bit, so that's why you run 32-bit OS)  But if you can run 64, do it.

I am not of much help, sorry.  I'm learning and re-learning *nix myself.
wacko
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 243


View Profile
July 05, 2014, 11:45:03 PM
 #378

Hi, what do you guys think is faster, Xeon L5640 (6-core/12-thread Westmere, OCed to ~ 3-3.4 GHz) or AMD FX-8350 (8-core, OCed to ~4.4 GHz)? I'm looking at the google docs spreadsheet and can't make much sense out of it — everyone uses different miners and different versions, it's really hard to find the common denominator. What are the reasonable hashrates for these 2 cpus with the latest Wolf's CPUMiner?
statdude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064



View Profile
July 06, 2014, 01:18:52 AM
 #379

Hey guys,
For some reason can get "easy-miner" but not this to work.

Used this version:
Some Win binaries for those without AES-NI.

https://ottrbutt.com/cpuminer-multi/cpuminer-multi-wolf-06-12-2014.zip
https://ottrbutt.com/cpuminer-multi/cpuminer-multi-wolf-06-12-2014.zip.sig


I don't have or know what AES-NI and can't figure out how to install it.

Any ideas?

I'm on 64-bit.

Command line just says 3 miner therads started, sets diff, and keeps saying stratum detecetd new block and resets diff.

No hash tho.

5w00p
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
July 06, 2014, 02:56:06 AM
 #380

You can't install AES-NI.  Your CPU either has the instructions and transistors, etc inside the actual silicon die, or it doesn't.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!