Bitcoin Forum
September 23, 2017, 05:55:27 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Wolf's XMR/BCN/DSH CPUMiner - 2x speed compared to LucasJones' - NEW 06/20/2014  (Read 398625 times)
supercoin434
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
July 01, 2014, 02:51:55 PM
 #361

Is there any special params to run the miner under a Xeon? I have Xeon E5 but the miner keeps crashing. I have tried the AES and non-AES versions with same result Sad
1506146127
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506146127

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506146127
Reply with quote  #2

1506146127
Report to moderator
1506146127
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506146127

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506146127
Reply with quote  #2

1506146127
Report to moderator
1506146127
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506146127

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506146127
Reply with quote  #2

1506146127
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1506146127
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506146127

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506146127
Reply with quote  #2

1506146127
Report to moderator
ahu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
July 01, 2014, 05:48:11 PM
 #362

I get 465 h/s with a Xeon E5-2670v2 and with "-t 11" parameter on Windows. And this with the CPU drawing only 58W. Happy with the efficiency  Grin
Alpinist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 138



View Profile
July 02, 2014, 07:28:13 PM
 #363

Can not compile win64 binaries from the source.
Is there any tutorial about how to do that?
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


Miner Developer


View Profile
July 02, 2014, 08:57:20 PM
 #364

Can not compile win64 binaries from the source.
Is there any tutorial about how to do that?

It's not easy. If you're not good at cross-compiling, I'd give up.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
Alpinist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 138



View Profile
July 02, 2014, 10:06:36 PM
 #365

Can not compile win64 binaries from the source.
Is there any tutorial about how to do that?

It's not easy. If you're not good at cross-compiling, I'd give up.

It's clear that it's not easy.
Would you kindly make a step-by-step guide?

I think many people in this thread are not very strong at cross-compiling but wanna be a little bit.

Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


Miner Developer


View Profile
July 02, 2014, 10:56:59 PM
 #366

Can not compile win64 binaries from the source.
Is there any tutorial about how to do that?

It's not easy. If you're not good at cross-compiling, I'd give up.

It's clear that it's not easy.
Would you kindly make a step-by-step guide?

I think many people in this thread are not very strong at cross-compiling but wanna be a little bit.


A step-by-step guide would take quite a while and would only work on Arch Linux x64...

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
Alpinist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 138



View Profile
July 03, 2014, 10:49:27 AM
 #367

Can not compile win64 binaries from the source.
Is there any tutorial about how to do that?

It's not easy. If you're not good at cross-compiling, I'd give up.

It's clear that it's not easy.
Would you kindly make a step-by-step guide?

I think many people in this thread are not very strong at cross-compiling but wanna be a little bit.


A step-by-step guide would take quite a while and would only work on Arch Linux x64...

Ok. It's worth to wait for.
andrepd
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
July 04, 2014, 03:44:32 PM
 #368

One question: when I start the miner on my 2 core machine, it spawns only one thread, and runs at ~35H/s. When I use `-t 2` it runs at nearly double, 60-70H/s. What are the downsides, if any, of running two threads. I'm presuming there is a reason the miner spawns only 1 on a 2 core machine.
equipoise
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 781


Monero (XMR) - secure, private, untraceable


View Profile WWW
July 04, 2014, 03:56:29 PM
 #369

^If you are using the PC while mining it could become slow if all the threads are used. You could try running it with below normal priority on 2 threads if it's OK for you. If you are not using the PC mine on 2 threads (normal priority), but monitor the temperature to stay appropriate for your processor with a good Distance to TJ MAX. Also keep your fan clean. I use Realtemp for monitoring the temperature. 

About me | zRMicroArray - phase 2 - Gene Expression Analysis software | [Weed Like to Talk - Bulgaria] Start a wave of cannabis seminars in Europe | Monero weighted average price stats: moneroprice.i2p
BTC: 1KoCX7TWKVGwqmmFw3CKyUSrKRSStueZar | NMC: NKhYEYpe1Le9MwHrwKsdSm5617J4toVar9 | XMR (Tip me a beer OpenAlias Monero address): tip.changetheworldwork.com
[XMR] Monero - A secure, private, untraceable cryptocurrency: 4AyRmUcxzefB5quumzK3HNE4zmCiGc8vhG6fE1oJpGVyVZF7fvDgSpt3MzgLfQ6Q1719xQhmfkM9Z2u NXgDMqYhjJVmc6KX
andrepd
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
July 04, 2014, 06:17:18 PM
 #370

^If you are using the PC while mining it could become slow if all the threads are used. You could try running it with below normal priority on 2 threads if it's OK for you. If you are not using the PC mine on 2 threads (normal priority), but monitor the temperature to stay appropriate for your processor with a good Distance to TJ MAX. Also keep your fan clean. I use Realtemp for monitoring the temperature. 

I'm cloud mining, testing for profitability, so that isn't an issue.
ABISprotocol
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 276

ABISprotocol on Gist


View Profile WWW
July 05, 2014, 05:57:21 AM
 #371

Can not compile win64 binaries from the source.
Is there any tutorial about how to do that?

It's not easy. If you're not good at cross-compiling, I'd give up.

It's clear that it's not easy.
Would you kindly make a step-by-step guide?

I think many people in this thread are not very strong at cross-compiling but wanna be a little bit.


A step-by-step guide would take quite a while and would only work on Arch Linux x64...

Step by step guide? Not for windows, but for linux / Ubuntu 12.04 LTS / Wubi / Ubuntu 14.04 specific... see: 
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=669355.msg7652438#msg7652438 (comment covers 12.04 LTS / Wubi / 14.04 of Ubuntu)
also:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=669355.msg7634323#msg7634323 (covers Ubuntu 14.04 etc)

ABISprotocol (Github/Gist)
http://abis.io
5w00p
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
July 05, 2014, 08:18:00 AM
 #372

Thank you for the step-by-step guide!  Now running the miner under Ubuntu 14.04

 Grin
ABISprotocol
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 276

ABISprotocol on Gist


View Profile WWW
July 05, 2014, 08:37:41 AM
 #373

Thank you for the step-by-step guide!  Now running the miner under Ubuntu 14.04

 Grin

Yay! :-)  Happy to have helped in some small way.

ABISprotocol (Github/Gist)
http://abis.io
MagicSnow
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
July 05, 2014, 10:27:44 AM
 #374

I'm having a problem in Ubuntu 14 (32bit)

when i make i got the following errors:

Code:
make[2]: *** [minerd-cryptonight_lobotomized.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory '/home/.../cpuminer-multi'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/.../cpuminer-multi'
make: *** [all] Error 2

i have installed all the lib etc: libcurl4-gnutls-dev automake build-essential libtool libssl-dev git
5w00p
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
July 05, 2014, 06:36:35 PM
 #375

I'm having a problem in Ubuntu 14 (32bit)

when i make i got the following errors:

Code:
make[2]: *** [minerd-cryptonight_lobotomized.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory '/home/.../cpuminer-multi'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Errir 1
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/.../cpuminer-multi'
make: *** [all] Error 2

i have installed all the lib etc: libcurl4-gnutls-dev automake build-essential libtool libssl-dev git

Maybe the fact your ubuntu is 32-bit and not 64 has something to do with it?

Try looking through the config.log file...
MagicSnow
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
July 05, 2014, 08:23:23 PM
 #376

I'm having a problem in Ubuntu 14 (32bit)

when i make i got the following errors:

Code:
make[2]: *** [minerd-cryptonight_lobotomized.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory '/home/.../cpuminer-multi'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/.../cpuminer-multi'
make: *** [all] Error 2

i have installed all the lib etc: libcurl4-gnutls-dev automake build-essential libtool libssl-dev git

Maybe the fact your ubuntu is 32-bit and not 64 has something to do with it?

Try looking through the config.log file...

There are a lot of lines, what i need to look for?
5w00p
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
July 05, 2014, 09:28:58 PM
 #377

I don't know.  I looked through one and it was the libtools that I needed.
Try to run 64 bit ubuntu. (your CPU is probably 32-bit, so that's why you run 32-bit OS)  But if you can run 64, do it.

I am not of much help, sorry.  I'm learning and re-learning *nix myself.
wacko
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 248


View Profile
July 05, 2014, 11:45:03 PM
 #378

Hi, what do you guys think is faster, Xeon L5640 (6-core/12-thread Westmere, OCed to ~ 3-3.4 GHz) or AMD FX-8350 (8-core, OCed to ~4.4 GHz)? I'm looking at the google docs spreadsheet and can't make much sense out of it — everyone uses different miners and different versions, it's really hard to find the common denominator. What are the reasonable hashrates for these 2 cpus with the latest Wolf's CPUMiner?
statdude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120



View Profile
July 06, 2014, 01:18:52 AM
 #379

Hey guys,
For some reason can get "easy-miner" but not this to work.

Used this version:
Some Win binaries for those without AES-NI.

https://ottrbutt.com/cpuminer-multi/cpuminer-multi-wolf-06-12-2014.zip
https://ottrbutt.com/cpuminer-multi/cpuminer-multi-wolf-06-12-2014.zip.sig


I don't have or know what AES-NI and can't figure out how to install it.

Any ideas?

I'm on 64-bit.

Command line just says 3 miner therads started, sets diff, and keeps saying stratum detecetd new block and resets diff.

No hash tho.

CINDICATOR






WEB  ANN  TWITTER
  FACEBOOK WHITEPAPER





SPACE
sSeptember 12 2017 Token Sale
Millions of decentralized financial analysts enhanced by AI 
5w00p
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
July 06, 2014, 02:56:06 AM
 #380

You can't install AES-NI.  Your CPU either has the instructions and transistors, etc inside the actual silicon die, or it doesn't.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!