Bitcoin Forum
August 15, 2018, 02:35:41 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 ... 162 »
  Print  
Author Topic: ANTMINER S4 Discussion and Support Thread  (Read 300042 times)
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
September 30, 2014, 08:09:50 PM
 #281

These new AntMiner S4 units should really kick ass.

It would be helpful if Bitmain actually answered some of the many questions that prospective buyers have asked, instead of just guessing that they "should" kick ass. For example:

Are they still using the old cgminer version? If so, why?

Where is a link to the firmware?

Are these compatible with p2pool?

Plus the many others on this thread. Bitmain are selectively answering only a few of their customers questions whenever they log on, but ignoring most of them.

Come on Bitmain - let's have some answers & support please!!

Bitmain - instead of logging on to announce another batch sale then logging off again, how about answering some questions? I don't want to buy something not knowing if it will work with p2pool or not, or weather it's running old, security vulnerable software or not.

Why don't you answer any questions!!??

Never fear, le dogie is here! I'm going through all questions now, will relay anything I don't know about.

Firmware is running old cgminer for now, being worked on. Will check on P2Pool but I would assume if S3s worked on P2Pool then S4s also would.


1534300541
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534300541

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534300541
Reply with quote  #2

1534300541
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534300541
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534300541

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534300541
Reply with quote  #2

1534300541
Report to moderator
1534300541
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534300541

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534300541
Reply with quote  #2

1534300541
Report to moderator
1534300541
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534300541

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534300541
Reply with quote  #2

1534300541
Report to moderator
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
September 30, 2014, 08:10:47 PM
 #282

Anyone know exactly how loud these will be and whether we can lower the fan speeds?

Bitmain, do you have a decibel reading on the S4 yet? You warn:

* Stable but a little bit noisy

With those large fans and that server psu it appears this is geared more for a Data Center Environment could you please give a decibel reading for those who intend to run a S4 at home to decide if it is reasonable? Thanks.

considering that there is a free or $0.99 apple iphone app that does it-why not post an actual reading?

it will be 70db or more that is why

I'll let you know tomorrow. Its not going to be quiet at stock, but I have a few ideas to get this quieter as the cooling regime isn't quite optimised. Hopefully I can pass this back to the design team.

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
September 30, 2014, 08:12:55 PM
 #283

very disappointed that bitmain from great company which delivers on time become Preorder company which shows finger to his loyal customers.  but that the old way of doing business. once they got big....screw typical randy...

S4s aren't preorders, these are batches. The L1s are preorders.

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
September 30, 2014, 08:13:03 PM
 #284


Quote
only one coupon can be used per S4.

This is scam-ish at best.

Same as its always been, prevents abuse. Else it would be buy 7 S2s, get an S4 free. Its meant to be buy S2s, be rewarded for your patronage. You can still sell your other 6 S2 vouchers if you choose to.

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
September 30, 2014, 08:16:05 PM
 #285

Is it just me or does this sound like "we priced the S4 so high plus extra shipping to make you buy our cloud instead" ?

AFAIK shipping is at near cost. BTC is low so when people see .4 and .5 charges to ship an 18kg box express around the world they're surprised. 0.4 is only $150.

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
September 30, 2014, 08:16:26 PM
 #286

Do these come with rack mount ears / brackets?

I'll let you know.

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
September 30, 2014, 08:18:25 PM
 #287

In case nobody else noticed, their site has conflicting information for the power efficiency.
The miner specs say it is 0.69W/GHS, but their "Never-Ending Progress" picture shows it @ ~0.48W/GHS.

I assume the 0.69W/GHS is the correct value...

And what's with the misleading efficiency chart? The text clearly states that it is .69w/GHs but the chart show .4w/GHs.

The never ending progress picture is misleading because it shows S4 power efficiency coming in at under .5W/GH, but your official specs say the power efficiency is .69W/GH.

BITMAIN why did the graph showing efficiency change and whats with the green dotted line now? 

It was changed based on feedback. The green dotted line represents the unit running @ 1TH.

taipo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100

Kia ora!


View Profile WWW
September 30, 2014, 08:27:47 PM
 #288

Looks like I have an S4 coupon to part with for a micro donation. PM me if you are interested. First in first served.

Support the two platforms essential to protecting the identities of whistleblowers. Both accept bitcoin donations.
https://globaleaks.org - GlobalLeaks ( btc: see http://goo.gl/D5wM0L )
http://goo.gl/sZg2RN  - SecureDrop: whistleblower submission system
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
September 30, 2014, 08:31:31 PM
 #289

Hello, needs the S4 a normal C13 cable (like a PC power supply) to power?

Like this:

I ask because Bitmain write 16A and C13 is normaly not rated for 16A.

Yes, judging by the picture it's C13. You'll need a 14GA C13 if running on 120V, or standard 18GA if 240v.

Could someone provide a couple of links to the correct cable needed for the S4?

UK Cable

USA Cable

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
September 30, 2014, 08:51:54 PM
 #290

UK link is bad dogie, displays a BITCOIN MINER T-110S.

Copy paste fail, fixed. Can you delete the bad link from your quote please.

suchmoon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1522



View Profile
September 30, 2014, 08:55:31 PM
 #291

This means I won't sit here and reply to every post saying Bitmain is a scam, don't buy from Bitmain etc etc, in this thread. It does NOT prohibit me from saying that in my own threads, if that is what I believe. It also has absolutely no impact on their rating in the Manufacturer trustwothiness thread [in which Bitmain just went down 10 points].

While I have some reservations about that I think overall this is a step in the right direction for Bitmain. Their communication to customers is somewhat lacking. Good luck with the inevitable troll attack.

Breaking news: GAW was a scam
(Homero Garza pleads guilty)

HOWEYCOINS: SEC approved
                 Make sure to read

                 BitcoinTalk rules
          /s
DevonMiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 467
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 30, 2014, 08:56:24 PM
 #292

UK link is bad dogie, displays a BITCOIN MINER T-110S.

Copy paste fail, fixed. Can you delete the bad link from your quote please.

DONE

And yes, I deleted my own post, your link is good now.
sjc1490
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 30, 2014, 09:31:52 PM
 #293

dogie, good move for bitmain guess they do listen. Q. Can you find out what the decibel level is trying to figure out if this is going to be too loud for home.

Edit-- Didn't see where you were going to look into it from the earlier post, thanks.

BTC ADDRESS: 12Qwd8VKLQ4xF44ytHXBpCAKuF9VknG4X2
jpchrist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174
Merit: 100

16Q3R8NAfK63DvkTUGgLdPScyMU8uSAJUH


View Profile
September 30, 2014, 10:21:11 PM
 #294

Selling S4 coupons (save $200) for 0.15 btc each.  PM me.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
September 30, 2014, 11:13:09 PM
 #295

dogie, good move for bitmain guess they do listen. Q. Can you find out what the decibel level is trying to figure out if this is going to be too loud for home.

Edit-- Didn't see where you were going to look into it from the earlier post, thanks.

Yeah I'll test my unit tomorrow as long as UPS doesn't mess up.

cloverme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1040


SpacePirate.io


View Profile WWW
September 30, 2014, 11:15:32 PM
 #296

Wow that's an expensive machine... the power usage isn't that bad, but it's way too expensive. That's like 4-5 months to make a profit.  Mining is truly dead these days... damn what a shame.
sushi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100

ASIC Myth Buster


View Profile
September 30, 2014, 11:30:34 PM
 #297

S4 Noise Level (1 Meter Away)



============================

S4 Noise Level behind the S4 (back side of S4 where the fan push the air out of S4)



>>> PM me for New ASIC Miner's Info.  We will go check it out <<<
FEEL GENEROUS TODAY?  ==> 1AHNusc3BQA2QJCokySAQ1Qtymr1ZyAG6P
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
September 30, 2014, 11:55:51 PM
 #298

Wow that's an expensive machine... the power usage isn't that bad, but it's way too expensive. That's like 4-5 months to make a profit.  Mining is truly dead these days... damn what a shame.
If it was 4-5 months until you started to make a profit, people would be all over this.
sushi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100

ASIC Myth Buster


View Profile
October 01, 2014, 12:05:53 AM
 #299

More info for S4...

To Power up S4, you have to hold a little nob (switch) on the PSU for 2-3 seconds.  Then it will power up.  Other wise, you may think it is a DOA like S2 used to be  Grin Grin Grin

Video from Bitmain as more infomation regarding the S4.  I think this is easier than someone try to word how noisy it is

It push & Pull massive amount of air!!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KD4vdR7ZS8s&feature=youtu.be


S4 does come with 2 server ears.  (There is NO POWER CORD included)  The box is well packed!!


>>> PM me for New ASIC Miner's Info.  We will go check it out <<<
FEEL GENEROUS TODAY?  ==> 1AHNusc3BQA2QJCokySAQ1Qtymr1ZyAG6P
sjc1490
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500



View Profile
October 01, 2014, 12:47:41 AM
 #300

S4 Noise Level (1 Meter Away)



============================

S4 Noise Level behind the S4 (back side of S4 where the fan push the air out of S4)




Thanks, appreciate it.

BTC ADDRESS: 12Qwd8VKLQ4xF44ytHXBpCAKuF9VknG4X2
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 ... 162 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!