Bitcoin Forum
June 19, 2018, 10:42:28 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 ... 162 »
  Print  
Author Topic: ANTMINER S4 Discussion and Support Thread  (Read 299889 times)
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 05, 2014, 12:49:57 AM
 #501

Replied questions:

1. S4 is compatible with p2pool?
Yes
P2pool works.  Cheesy  Pools were selected from http://p2pool-nodes.info/

If there is a specific pool, you want a try, please let me know!
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=796839.msg9075999#msg9075999


2. When do we release the latest firmware?
Engineers have released one version of firmware merged cgminer 4.6.1 today, which is now being tested. And we will upload it to bitmaintech.com when it is tested running stably.
Please PM us if you have any request about current verson firmware.
Updated cgminer to v4.6.1 for S4
https://www.bitmaintech.com/support.htm?pid=00720140930114518599JXGHWWD80660

3. how to upgrade latest firmware  to S2?
 Now the latest firmware for S3 and S4 is ready to be released soon, that one for S2 is being developed. Stay tuned here.

Firmware won't flash, any specific instructions?
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529448148
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529448148

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529448148
Reply with quote  #2

1529448148
Report to moderator
1529448148
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529448148

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529448148
Reply with quote  #2

1529448148
Report to moderator
1529448148
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529448148

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529448148
Reply with quote  #2

1529448148
Report to moderator
Tupsu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 1002



View Profile
October 05, 2014, 01:06:49 AM
 #502

Firmware won't flash, any specific instructions?

Unzip and rename  to initramfs.bin.SD-20141003.tar

StormTheFront
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 05, 2014, 01:12:34 AM
 #503

Firmware won't flash, any specific instructions?

Yes. What I said.
Set your difficulty manually to 2048 on whatever pool you are mining at.
This will avoid a portion of the ill effects of the current firmware.

Aside from that, wait for Bitmain to get their sh*t together and support their products properly.
This is very disappointing.
The S4 should not have been shipped with this firmware.
Providing a firmware package days after release which will not properly flash only adds insult to injury.

I can't imagine how much BTC is currently being lost by inefficient and improperly configured miners, helping to further kill any chances of ROI for many many people.
Nevermind the security risks involved with running the outdated 3.12.0 version of CGminer forever.

Unzip and rename  to initramfs.bin.SD-20141003.tar
Does this actually work? been trying unsuccessfully for a while now Undecided
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 05, 2014, 01:13:27 AM
 #504

Firmware won't flash, any specific instructions?

Unzip and rename  to initramfs.bin.SD-20141003.tar

That didn't work either.

Inside the downloaded file is SD.tar which I extracted and renamed from SD.tar to initramfs.bin.SD-20141003.tar. Got the following error: "tar: invalid magic tar: short read cp: can't stat '*': No such file or directory "
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 05, 2014, 01:15:30 AM
 #505

Firmware won't flash, any specific instructions?

Yes. What I said.
Set your difficulty manually to 2048 on whatever pool you are mining at.
This will avoid a portion of the ill effects of the current firmware.

Aside from that, wait for Bitmain to get their sh*t together and support their products properly.
This is very disappointing.
The S4 should not have been shipped with this firmware.
Providing a firmware package days after release which will not properly flash only adds insult to injury.

I can't imagine how much BTC is currently being lost by inefficient and improperly configured miners, helping to further kill any chances of ROI for many many people.
Nevermind the security risks involved with running the outdated 3.12.0 version of CGminer forever.

Yep, been running at 2048 since I got it. Only way to get good results out of it, can't trust vardiff which works 1 out of 5 times. I'd like to get this firmware flashed, though.
StormTheFront
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 05, 2014, 01:23:10 AM
 #506

Firmware won't flash, any specific instructions?

Unzip and rename  to initramfs.bin.SD-20141003.tar

That didn't work either.

Inside the downloaded file is SD.tar which I extracted and renamed from SD.tar to initramfs.bin.SD-20141003.tar. Got the following error: "tar: invalid magic tar: short read cp: can't stat '*': No such file or directory "
I've tried renaming files.
I've tried renaming the package.
I've tried creating my own TAR files.
I've tried manipulating that initramfs.bin.SD file in every way imaginable.

Nothing I have tried is getting that useless package to flash.
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 05, 2014, 01:31:28 AM
 #507

Same here. Cost me 20 minutes of downtime as I pulled the SD out of the S4 to make a backup image of the original firmware in case of problems with the new firmware.
Yun789
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 05, 2014, 01:33:35 AM
 #508

I've managed to install the update by taking out the sd card from the antminer s4 and replacing the 'initramfs.bin.SD' with the new firmware's version of 'initramfs.bin.SD'.



It still has the same issue of not mining what it says its mining.. :l

http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f123/Yun_Artist/cgminer_zpsc7403916.png
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 05, 2014, 01:42:20 AM
 #509

I've managed to install the update by taking out the sd card from the antminer s4 and replacing the 'initramfs.bin.SD' with the new firmware's version of 'initramfs.bin.SD'.



It still has the same issue of not mining what it says its mining.. :l

I wonder if that updates everything that needs to be updated. Might try later if I go back out to my garage.

Edit: Your load average is much lower than mine, I'm guessing it hadn't started hashing since it's showing an uptime of 0 minutes.
Yun789
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 05, 2014, 01:48:07 AM
 #510

I've managed to install the update by taking out the sd card from the antminer s4 and replacing the 'initramfs.bin.SD' with the new firmware's version of 'initramfs.bin.SD'.



It still has the same issue of not mining what it says its mining.. :l

I wonder if that updates everything that needs to be updated. Might try later if I go back out to my garage.

This method of updating the firmware was recommended by bitmain when i had an issue with the s2
http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f123/Yun_Artist/sdcard_zps2988996b.png

and I take back what i said about it not making a difference, I'm mining on eligius and ive left it on for about 10 mins, its starting to see a difference of about 1600 gh/s now, whereas the antminer is saying its on around 1950gh/s / 2th/s
StormTheFront
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 05, 2014, 01:51:26 AM
 #511

All I know, is that my miners are working the best they ever have..... because of a random forum member, and my own diligence. NOT because of Bitmain.

I also know, that of the 48hours that I have had my units, I am now up to over 10 hours of downtime and lost profits.

I don't have the time or patience to fiddle with removing an SD card, and then inadvertently bricking the damn thing.... just because Bitmain can't pay somebody holiday pay to fix their shortcomings.
This should be a simple download, and straight forward update process. As expected.
I will wait until October 9th when they claim they will be back.
Last thing I need is more problems.

Not sure if I mentioned yet that I am disappointed. But I am.
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 05, 2014, 02:05:25 AM
 #512

I've managed to install the update by taking out the sd card from the antminer s4 and replacing the 'initramfs.bin.SD' with the new firmware's version of 'initramfs.bin.SD'.



It still has the same issue of not mining what it says its mining.. :l

I wonder if that updates everything that needs to be updated. Might try later if I go back out to my garage.

This method of updating the firmware was recommended by bitmain when i had an issue with the s2


and I take back what i said about it not making a difference, I'm mining on eligius and ive left it on for about 10 mins, its starting to see a difference of about 1600 gh/s now, whereas the antminer is saying its on around 1950gh/s / 2th/s

Cool, thanks for posting the info. I'm going to go swap the file and report back.
MyRig
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 780
Merit: 502


support@myrig.com


View Profile WWW
October 05, 2014, 02:21:19 AM
 #513

Updated Firmware (Bug Fixed Version) is in the process of being tested and soon to be uploaded at http://www.bitmaintech.com

Meanwhile....

If you need to update or flush the S4 firmware, and received this error message

Code:
System Upgrade Failed
 cp: omitting directory 'SD'

Please turn off the S4.

Please open the top cover and remove the microSD card inserted into the Beagle Bone Black unit



Power it back on and log into the web control panel then try to flush with the new firmware.


Antminer & DragonMint Repair  E-mail: support@myrig.com   T: @MyRig_com
Return Address: MyRig 3700 Quebec Street, Unit 100-239, Denver, Colorado 80207, USA
StormTheFront
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 05, 2014, 02:26:13 AM
 #514

Updated info regarding firmware.

Thank You!
I am pleasantly surprised.
Appreciate the information!! Makes waiting easier.
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 05, 2014, 02:46:57 AM
 #515

Updated Firmware (Bug Fixed Version) is in the process of being tested and soon to be uploaded at http://www.bitmaintech.com

Meanwhile....

If you need to update or flush the S4 firmware, and received this error message

Code:
System Upgrade Failed
 cp: omitting directory 'SD'

Please turn off the S4.

Please open the top cover and remove the microSD card inserted into the Beagle Bone Black unit



Power it back on and log into the web control panel then try to flush with the new firmware.



I don't get it? I assuming by flush you mean flash. You're saying to remove the sd card and power the S4 without it in? How would we log back into it and flash it without the sd card?
StormTheFront
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 05, 2014, 02:57:37 AM
 #516

I don't get it? I assuming by flush you mean flash. You're saying to remove the sd card and power the S4 without it in? How would we log back into it and flash it without the sd card?

Flush, definitely = Flash Wink

I would assume the "bug" lies somewhere in naming, or whatever the case.
Removing the SD card probably tricks it somehow.
Not 100% clear if you would remove the card and attempt to flash without it, or insert it later with the power on, or boot without it & then boot again with it to flash, or what the deal is exactly... but I am sure with minimal fiddling it is probably pretty self-explanatory.
At least we have a hint Tongue

Regardless, the "fixed" firmware is currently being worked on, and will be uploaded "soon".
That is what I am waiting for.
Much simpler that way.

Not having to wait until October 9th, is great news!
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 05, 2014, 03:04:11 AM
 #517

I don't get it? I assuming by flush you mean flash. You're saying to remove the sd card and power the S4 without it in? How would we log back into it and flash it without the sd card?

Flush, definitely = Flash Wink

I would assume the "bug" lies somewhere in naming, or whatever the case.
Removing the SD card probably tricks it somehow.
Not 100% clear if you would remove the card and attempt to flash without it, or insert it later with the power on, or boot without it & then boot again with it to flash, or what the deal is exactly... but I am sure with minimal fiddling it is probably pretty self-explanatory.
At least we have a hint Tongue

Regardless, the "fixed" firmware is currently being worked on, and will be uploaded "soon".
That is what I am waiting for.
Much simpler that way.

Not having to wait until October 9th, is great news!

Great news indeed! I switched the files, and have the updated cgminer running. Problem is, now btcguild is reporting 1.6TH/s instead of the 2.1TH/s I was getting before switching the files. Guess I'm going to switch them back, and this time the screws are staying off for a while LOL.
StormTheFront
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 05, 2014, 03:07:47 AM
 #518

Great news indeed! I switched the files, and have the updated cgminer running. Problem is, now btcguild is reporting 1.6TH/s instead of the 2.1TH/s I was getting before switching the files. Guess I'm going to switch them back, and this time the screws are staying off for a while LOL.

Give it some time Wink usually takes pools a little while to catch up Wink
They calculate speed differently.

I'm still waiting for the "fixed" version.
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 05, 2014, 05:57:02 AM
 #519

Guys, here is the new fixed firmware. Bitmain emailed it to me as their engineer isn't avilable to upload it to their website yet.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/24462711/initramfs.bin.SD-20141003-1.tar.gz

Enjoy!
testerman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1000


View Profile
October 05, 2014, 06:49:51 AM
 #520

I have just calculated,

1250$ for S4, 100$ for customs, 170$ for shipping , that means, 1520$ per 2000GHS = 0.76$ per GHS = 0.0023BTC/GHS   with 330$/BTC, ---> if my calculations are wrong, pls correct it, thx..

if it is correct,

just want to know,  who is buying at that prices? because that prices will not roi ever.. and ever...

even if you have free shipping and customs, 0.00187 btc /ghs , with maintenance costs , it will not roi ever again, pls correct me if my calculations are wrong..

*** THIS AREA IS NOT FOR SALE ***
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 ... 162 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!