Bitcoin Forum
April 25, 2018, 04:07:22 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 ... 162 »
  Print  
Author Topic: ANTMINER S4 Discussion and Support Thread  (Read 299847 times)
IYFTech
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500


WANTED: Active dev to fix & re-write p2pool in C


View Profile
October 02, 2014, 09:09:59 PM
 #401

Hmmmm, could someone tell me what version of cgminer these come with?

Also, if someone wouldn't mind telling me how they fair on p2pool - that would be cool. Even better, point one at my node for 10 mins using a wallet addy as your username:

stratum+tcp://iyftech.zapto.org:9332

.....just so I can see how they perform with p2pool & weather I should get one or not....

Thanks in advance  Smiley

-- Smiley  Thank you for smoking  Smiley --  If you paid VAT to dogie for items you should read this thread:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1018906.0
1524629242
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524629242

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524629242
Reply with quote  #2

1524629242
Report to moderator
1524629242
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524629242

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524629242
Reply with quote  #2

1524629242
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
gallery2000
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000


Live Stars - Adult Streaming Platform


View Profile
October 02, 2014, 09:14:36 PM
 #402

Hi,

Are you still planning to ship your miners via Hong Kong?  How would the demonstration in HK affect your logistics?

awaygotroubles
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 02, 2014, 11:28:41 PM
 #403

Hi,

Are you still planning to ship your miners via Hong Kong?  How would the demonstration in HK affect your logistics?
My S3's came from Shenzhen straight to Anchorage and never went through Hong Kong. I think they are located in Beijing, China.
manitu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 03, 2014, 01:35:25 AM
 #404

Hi, I have very bad experience with Antminer S4 B1. I ordered 10 psc of S4. Yesterday I received the shipment. I have prepared new electricity (3x 240V 32Amps) and new wiring for more power. Unfortunately, one of them immediately after turning on started stink and smoke. I turned it off. I tried to turn it on one more time but it happened again. I wrote Bitmain but still I have no answer.

Than I started to set up other nine miners. Some miners had set up DHCP some Static IP 192.168.1.99, but it was no problem. When I set up all nine miners I checked hashrate on displays and all miners have hashrate >2TH/s. After one hour I checked hashrate on ELIGIUS pool and I expected higher hashrate then 18TH/s. But I saw only 11TH/s in peak and after next hour the hashrate was only 7TH/s.

I moved miners to Slush pool, create one worker per miner and finally hashrates was from 50GH to 1600GH.

The second issiu that I am not very happy are letters (x) in ASIC status. Six of nine miners have 3-5 (x) in ASIC status. Miners are with basic setting, no overclock with temperatures from 41 to 45°C.

I red that more people have the same problem. Can you help me? Do you have any idea to solve the problem? ...or Bitmains want to be rich quickly and produce low-quality devices.

I am very disgusted with this situation.
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708
Merit: 1000

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
October 03, 2014, 01:44:40 AM
 #405

Hi, I have very bad experience with Antminer S4 B1. I ordered 10 psc of S4. Yesterday I received the shipment. I have prepared new electricity (3x 240V 32Amps) and new wiring for more power. Unfortunately, one of them immediately after turning on started stink and smoke. I turned it off. I tried to turn it on one more time but it happened again. I wrote Bitmain but still I have no answer.

Than I started to set up other nine miners. Some miners had set up DHCP some Static IP 192.168.1.99, but it was no problem. When I set up all nine miners I checked hashrate on displays and all miners have hashrate >2TH/s. After one hour I checked hashrate on ELIGIUS pool and I expected higher hashrate then 18TH/s. But I saw only 11TH/s in peak and after next hour the hashrate was only 7TH/s.

I moved miners to Slush pool, create one worker per miner and finally hashrates was from 50GH to 1600GH.

The second issiu that I am not very happy are letters (x) in ASIC status. Six of nine miners have 3-5 (x) in ASIC status. Miners are with basic setting, no overclock with temperatures from 41 to 45°C.

I red that more people have the same problem. Can you help me? Do you have any idea to solve the problem? ...or Bitmains want to be rich quickly and produce low-quality devices.

I am very disgusted with this situation.

pictures? I see you have no prior posts on the site, interested in your setup

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
ownClass
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 03, 2014, 02:12:11 AM
 #406

Hello I have 2 S4's and prefer to use Eligius, but I'm also having tons of trouble with that combo.  I don't have any solutions, but wanted to provide data from my equipment for confirmation of the problem.

TESTING:
      Run the miners on separate pools for 5 minute increments and compare results.  I also have 2 S3 Upgrades running in the same 5 min increment for comparison.  All 4 miners are restarted together then when they read 5 min of uptime i took a screenshot of MultiMiner, which shows all the details.

Below is a link to 2 screenshots of the S4s running on Eligius vs Eclipse.  Note the accepted shares and "Effective Hashrate"

http://1drv.ms/1E6MPRV

If the link doesn't treat u well, here is the data.

THE 5 MINUTE HASH    (sounds like breakfast)            
ACCEPTED SHARES            
   S3A   S3B   S4A   S4B
Eclipse   145   144   328   272
Eligius   149   187   48   57
            
EFFECTIVE HASHRATE            
   S3A   S3B   S4A   S4B
Eclipse   525GH/s   428GH/s   1650GH/s   1610GH/s
Eligius   407GH/s   426GH/s   89GH/s   106GH/s
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
October 03, 2014, 02:20:51 AM
 #407


Our R&D team is testing the latest firmware, we will upload it to our official website once it is ready.

Aren't you supposed to test the firmware before shipping them?

Oh dear, this is not looking good at all.

Looks like p2pool is out of the question then.......time to sell my S4 coupons.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
manitu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 03, 2014, 02:21:29 AM
 #408

Hi, I have very bad experience with Antminer S4 B1. I ordered 10 psc of S4. Yesterday I received the shipment. I have prepared new electricity (3x 240V 32Amps) and new wiring for more power. Unfortunately, one of them immediately after turning on started stink and smoke. I turned it off. I tried to turn it on one more time but it happened again. I wrote Bitmain but still I have no answer.

Than I started to set up other nine miners. Some miners had set up DHCP some Static IP 192.168.1.99, but it was no problem. When I set up all nine miners I checked hashrate on displays and all miners have hashrate >2TH/s. After one hour I checked hashrate on ELIGIUS pool and I expected higher hashrate then 18TH/s. But I saw only 11TH/s in peak and after next hour the hashrate was only 7TH/s.

I moved miners to Slush pool, create one worker per miner and finally hashrates was from 50GH to 1600GH.

The second issiu that I am not very happy are letters (x) in ASIC status. Six of nine miners have 3-5 (x) in ASIC status. Miners are with basic setting, no overclock with temperatures from 41 to 45°C.

I red that more people have the same problem. Can you help me? Do you have any idea to solve the problem? ...or Bitmains want to be rich quickly and produce low-quality devices.

I am very disgusted with this situation.

pictures? I see you have no prior posts on the site, interested in your setup
http://s11.postimg.org/b4ex2e9v7/miners.jpg
http://s29.postimg.org/8s0rivup3/workers.jpg
http://s11.postimg.org/xnvrejuk3/hashrate.jpg
ZiG
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 03, 2014, 02:22:45 AM
 #409

Hello I have 2 S4's and prefer to use Eligius, but I'm also having tons of trouble with that combo.  I don't have any solutions, but wanted to provide data from my equipment for confirmation of the problem.

TESTING:
      Run the miners on separate pools for 5 minute increments and compare results.  I also have 2 S3 Upgrades running in the same 5 min increment for comparison.  All 4 miners are restarted together then when they read 5 min of uptime i took a screenshot of MultiMiner, which shows all the details.

Below is a link to 2 screenshots of the S4s running on Eligius vs Eclipse.  Note the accepted shares and "Effective Hashrate"

http://1drv.ms/1E6MPRV

If the link doesn't treat u well, here is the data.

THE 5 MINUTE HASH    (sounds like breakfast)            
ACCEPTED SHARES            
   S3A   S3B   S4A   S4B
Eclipse   145   144   328   272
Eligius   149   187   48   57
            
EFFECTIVE HASHRATE            
   S3A   S3B   S4A   S4B
Eclipse   525GH/s   428GH/s   1650GH/s   1610GH/s
Eligius   407GH/s   426GH/s   89GH/s   106GH/s


Doesn't look right for S4 ...pretty "shitty" hashrate...like 4-5% of 2T... Grin

Something is wrong on S4 side...Did you try another pool...like BTCGuild... Huh

ZiG
Swimmer63
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1581
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 03, 2014, 02:23:29 AM
 #410

Hello I have 2 S4's and prefer to use Eligius, but I'm also having tons of trouble with that combo.  I don't have any solutions, but wanted to provide data from my equipment for confirmation of the problem.

TESTING:
      Run the miners on separate pools for 5 minute increments and compare results.  I also have 2 S3 Upgrades running in the same 5 min increment for comparison.  All 4 miners are restarted together then when they read 5 min of uptime i took a screenshot of MultiMiner, which shows all the details.

Below is a link to 2 screenshots of the S4s running on Eligius vs Eclipse.  Note the accepted shares and "Effective Hashrate"

http://1drv.ms/1E6MPRV

If the link doesn't treat u well, here is the data.

THE 5 MINUTE HASH    (sounds like breakfast)            
ACCEPTED SHARES            
   S3A   S3B   S4A   S4B
Eclipse   145   144   328   272
Eligius   149   187   48   57
            
EFFECTIVE HASHRATE            
   S3A   S3B   S4A   S4B
Eclipse   525GH/s   428GH/s   1650GH/s   1610GH/s
Eligius   407GH/s   426GH/s   89GH/s   106GH/s

Well that's not good. Sounds like they pushed the chips too hard. Maybe should have increased the number of chips and reduced W/GH. I'm going to wait for AM's Prism. Lower cost per GH with about the same efficiency.
sjc1490
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500



View Profile
October 03, 2014, 02:43:35 AM
 #411

I held back because of price but that looks as if it is the least of the S4's problems. Hope for Bitmain these are just isolated incidents,

BTC ADDRESS: 12Qwd8VKLQ4xF44ytHXBpCAKuF9VknG4X2
daddyfatsax
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 853
Merit: 1000


Anger is a gift.


View Profile
October 03, 2014, 02:46:21 AM
 #412

I held back because of price but that looks as if it is the least of the S4's problems. Hope for Bitmain these are just isolated incidents,

Same here. I have never had an issue with any of my old S1's or current S3's. Something about Bitmain making big miners seems to mess everything up.
IYFTech
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500


WANTED: Active dev to fix & re-write p2pool in C


View Profile
October 03, 2014, 02:58:21 AM
 #413

I held back because of price but that looks as if it is the least of the S4's problems. Hope for Bitmain these are just isolated incidents,

Same here. I have never had an issue with any of my old S1's or current S3's. Something about Bitmain making big miners seems to mess everything up.

At least the S2's worked.......once you'd re-assembled them.......sort of........ Cheesy

-- Smiley  Thank you for smoking  Smiley --  If you paid VAT to dogie for items you should read this thread:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1018906.0
dkaufman
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 03, 2014, 03:01:27 AM
 #414

I just got mine yesterday and was surprised how fast it shipped (2 days)
I am have trouble getting my hashrate up to 2 TB currently

I first tried eligius and couldn't get it above 250 G/h..
(Snip image)

Then i settled with Nicehash for the night and got a average hash of 1.4 T/H
(Snip image)

Currently set on BTC guild for the last hour with a average of 1.6 T/h
(Snip image(s))


I'll post more of the miner stats when I get home; frustrating I can't get the promised speed of 2 T/H.  My first guess is the CG miner is out of date.


Same problem here with slush pool and bitminter pool.

Slush pool says 1550-1600GHs
Bitminter jumps between 1300 and 2050GHs

Anyone else with the same problem?

Here are Miner webui and screenshot from slushs pool:




other miners are Ant S1, the last is the S4


Tom I believe your problem is... those three little bitty x's in that sea of o's (under the "ASIC Status" section in the Antminer web ui screenie you posted).  Good news about that, though!  I had a few too, but they went away.  I also had the miner claiming > 2TH/s in the web UI (and on the LED display) but slush saying (after 3 hours) it was only doing about 1600H/S.

I "fixed it" (basically, by acicdent) just by messing with it, trying all of the levers and dials -- I overclocked and undervolted.  I may have tried every combination of clock speed (over 193Mhz) with both 0725 and 0720 volts.  Lowering the voltage to 0720 got rid of my x's, though it didn't help my hash rate, and since then I've been upping the clock frequency every few hours and not getting x's and getting better and better hash rates, well over the guaranteed 2GH.

So yeah, I recommend throwing caution to the wind and just trying everything to see how it affects you EFFECTIVE hash rate (not the rate you see in the web ui and LED).  Remember to physically power cycle he device whenever you change the voltage (dont just press reboot through the web UI.  That just restarts linux, it doesnt physically cycle the power and reset the hardware).

BTW I got my 16A power cord today, and a Kill A Watt, and a BIG fan to suck all the hot air out of the back of my S4 (and two S3's) through a clothes-dryer type exhaust hose and outside, through the basement wall, using an old dryer exhaust hose, some custom cardboard duct work, aluminum foil tape to hold it all together, and an existing hole in the wall where an old unsused washer dryer hookup used to be.

Once we start getting some more colder days like we did last week (I'm in Pennsylvania) I will turn that 4" inline fan around to pull in cold air from outside, and direct the hot exhaust out of the closet into the basement proper(which is finished, like a family room) for the heat!

good luck turning your x's into o's!

thanks,

-dave
Egon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 03, 2014, 03:23:57 AM
 #415

I too am seeing nowhere near the advertised hash rate poolside, even though the web ui is reporting close to 2100 average.  I am seeing about 1.67 TH poolside average after several hours.
sushi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100

ASIC Myth Buster


View Profile
October 03, 2014, 04:33:18 AM
 #416

China is on the National Holiday.  (Chinese Golden Week)

For now, may be create an account at BTCGUILD.COM and hash.  It does recognise the full 2TH/s speed at btcguild.com pool

I know this is not the best solution but at least temporary you will get your BTC mined at the hashing speed we paid for.


***********************************

If anyone is having problem powering up S4...

There is a little knob/switch at the back of the S4 where you plug the power cable.  Please press and hold it for 2-3 seconds and it will power up.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KD4vdR7ZS8s&feature=youtu.be

***********************************

If you see a few X on your asic status page, please try to shut it off and wait for 10-15 minutes then power it back on and see if the x goes away.


Happy Mining!!

>>> PM me for New ASIC Miner's Info.  We will go check it out <<<
FEEL GENEROUS TODAY?  ==> 1AHNusc3BQA2QJCokySAQ1Qtymr1ZyAG6P
Itsumo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10

Play Rock Paper Scissor Lizard Spock


View Profile
October 03, 2014, 05:08:40 AM
 #417

I love to see how these miners work. I dont mine really but their job is pretty. I given the chance, I will mine but budget is kinda high.
Master One
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


Wanna buy a Tesla? Visit TeslaBargain.com first!


View Profile WWW
October 03, 2014, 06:17:53 AM
 #418

Oh boy, looks like S4 B1 buyers are beta testers after all! My guess, Bitmaintech has reached the power limit in their hosting facilities and did not run the S4 themselves, which is why they started selling them directly but at a higher price to make the desired extra.

Although it's still clear the S4 will not ROI, I have been keeping an eye on it, because I want to purchase a few miners to assist heating the house during winter, but under these circumstances (noise + troubles) I still think AM's Prisma may be the better choice. No decision made yet though.

truckinusa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 536
Merit: 500



View Profile
October 03, 2014, 08:16:51 AM
 #419

Why should I or shouldn't I buy one of these to mine with at home?  I have .09cents per kw electric here.  I'm debating on doing this or buying a hashlet.

bitJob                       ▄▄▄██████▄▄▄
                ▄▄▄▄██████████████████▄▄▄▄
        ▄▄▄▄██████████████████████████████████▄▄▄▄
  ▄▄▄████████████████████████████████████████████████▄▄▄
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
  ▀▀██████████████████████████████████████████████████▀▀
      ▀▀█████████████████████████████████████████████
         ████████████████████████████████████████  ██
         ████████████████████████████████████████  ██
         ████████████████████████████████████████  ██
         ████████████████████████████████████████  ██
         ████████████████████████████████████████  ██
         ████████████████████████████████████████  ██
         ▀██████████████████████████████████████▀  ██
          ▀▀██████████████████████████████████▀▀  ████
                                                 ▄████▄
                                                ▀▀████▀▀
IIII
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 03, 2014, 11:13:51 AM
 #420

Great, my S4 just woke me up with it's annoyingly loud beeping. It's dead! I'm able to log into it just fine, but nothing shows up under status. Tried 3 software reboots and 2 power downs. Nothing! Just hard reset the miner following their instructions in the S4's manual, and now the machine isn't getting an IP address. Display is showing IP as 127.0.0.1.

Anyone know what the button above the reset button does? Edit: Nothing. It's just a hole with no button.

S4 was running at stock speed and voltage. Time to see if Antminer provides good support or not, I guess. Of course they're on holiday.

 Cry
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 ... 162 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!