Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 02:45:46 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: = ClockTweak = win32 command line clock/voltage tweaking tool - NOW FREE!  (Read 63746 times)
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
July 11, 2011, 09:16:30 PM
 #181

Today after reinstallation of system on my miner the AMD GPU Clock Tool which previously was the only tool that could underclock and overclock over the BIOS limits my reference HIS 5850 refused to work.
The drivers installed were newest beta Catalyst 11.7. Then I've tried to use ClockTweak to do some overclocking in the BIOS limits range, but accidentally I've passed options for my second card - 900/300 and it worked! Not only the BIOS limits were bypassed, but previously this card could only go stable to 850. Very nice job AMD with that drivers Smiley
+1

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
If you see garbage posts (off-topic, trolling, spam, no point, etc.), use the "report to moderator" links. All reports are investigated, though you will rarely be contacted about your reports.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480733146
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480733146

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480733146
Reply with quote  #2

1480733146
Report to moderator
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
July 11, 2011, 09:19:01 PM
 #182

Radeon 6950 (three of them, #0,4,8)

clocktweak -a8 -c750 -m300

-r  gives me
#8 Temp 68 Load 96 Fan 32 CoreL2 750 memL2 700

However, the Win7 widget as well as the ATI tools show cpu840 mem1250.
after some testing, the widget still wont show the core and gpu rates i set via clocktweak...

what to do, what to do?

edit: also, when I set all my GPUs to 840/300 and the mining SW crashes - will the GPU continue to wor at 840, or will it slow down with diminishing load?

edit: do i need to disable all other tweaking tools, such as the AMD VISION CONTROL CENTER I am using in order to effectively use ClockTweaker?

I assume the download finally worked - sorry, missed your post yesterday.

are you sure you are looking at the right card? order may be different between programs.

without load the gpu will slow down to level 0 speeds.

it is safer to only use one tool at a time, especially with 10.x drivers

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
2weiX
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638


View Profile
July 11, 2011, 10:13:26 PM
 #183

download worked, program works as well.

on my sapphire 6950s, only a few select combinations work:

-c840 -m800 (-c840 with any lower setting than -m800 will result in -m1250)
-c800 -m700 (doesnt go lower than -m700 at all!)

only the -v option i havent figured out yet. if someone can give me a working number, please? so far i have tried 900, 950, 975, 1000, 1050, 1075.

still stays at 1100.

also, if someone knows a working -m lower than, please kick it my way!


i dig the program. nice work!

mike85123
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
July 11, 2011, 10:48:23 PM
 #184

it is normal for the speeds to jump if you start mining - the card is switching from lazy powersafing 2d mode to hard work 3d mode. the problem is that the high values should stay to what you put them.

According to GPU-Z, the Graphics Card tab says Clock is 1000 and Mem is 300, but the sensor tab shows Clock @ 1000 and Mem @ 1050. Ever seen it show two different values?

Can someone with a 4 card 68XX setup check to make sure everything is working properly? I just tried ClockTweak on a 1 card setup and it seemed to set everything right.  I am starting to think that similar to how Afterburner doesn't work on a 4 card setup, maybe ClockTweak isn't working too.
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 09:03:12 AM
 #185

it is normal for the speeds to jump if you start mining - the card is switching from lazy powersafing 2d mode to hard work 3d mode. the problem is that the high values should stay to what you put them.

According to GPU-Z, the Graphics Card tab says Clock is 1000 and Mem is 300, but the sensor tab shows Clock @ 1000 and Mem @ 1050. Ever seen it show two different values?

Can someone with a 4 card 68XX setup check to make sure everything is working properly? I just tried ClockTweak on a 1 card setup and it seemed to set everything right.  I am starting to think that similar to how Afterburner doesn't work on a 4 card setup, maybe ClockTweak isn't working too.

According to GPU-Z, the Graphics Card tab says Clock is 1000 and Mem is 300, but the sensor tab shows Clock @ 1000 and Mem @ 1050. Ever seen it show two different values?

if the card was idle it is normal to show different values. was it? also it might take some time to refresh.

ClockTweak is working fine with a four card setup, I have four cards myself and lots of other people have confirmed it.

Still there seems to be something weird going on with your system. Please do this to help me debug:

Reboot your system
do not start any miners yet
run "clocktweak -r -l"
run with your parameters: "clocktweak.exe -a all -c1000 -m300 -v1000 -s95 -y"
run "clocktweak -r -l"
start your miners on two cards
run "clocktweak -r -l"

post all the outputs here in a code tag as before.

other things you can try:
with cards in idle and all cooled down set fan speeds of single cards high to determine adapter# for each physical card. also take a look at gpu-z so you know the order in gpu-z. you may want to write it down (I did =) ).

start a single miner on a single card and check with clocktweak / gpu-z which cards gets hot to determine gpu/adapter# for your mining software.

with the miners running change clock / mem speeds of single cards and check if hashrates change.



blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
mike85123
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 10:43:49 AM
 #186

Code:
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\BTC>cd c:\ct

c:\ct>clocktweak -r -l
===============================================================================
                ClockTweak v0.8.0b - bitcoinX.com/clocktweak/
===============================================================================

Adapter#:0 Temp:50 Load: 0 Fan:97 Level:0
CoreL0:980 CoreL2:980 MemL0:300 MemL2:300 mVoltL0:950 mVoltL2:1000

Adapter#:4 Temp:47 Load: 0 Fan:96 Level:0
CoreL0:980 CoreL2:980 MemL0:300 MemL2:300 mVoltL0:950 mVoltL2:1000

Adapter#:8 Temp:48 Load: 0 Fan:97 Level:0
CoreL0:980 CoreL2:980 MemL0:300 MemL2:300 mVoltL0:950 mVoltL2:1000

Adapter#:12 Temp:44 Load: 0 Fan:94 Level:0
CoreL0:980 CoreL2:980 MemL0:300 MemL2:300 mVoltL0:950 mVoltL2:1000


c:\ct>clocktweak -a all -c980 -m300 -v1100 -s95 -y
===============================================================================
                ClockTweak v0.8.0b - bitcoinX.com/clocktweak/
===============================================================================

Set values - starting.
 Adapter #0:
  setting core speed to 980 [MHz]
  setting mem speed to 300 [MHz]
  setting voltage to 1100 [mV]
  setting fan speed to 95%
 Adapter #4:
  setting core speed to 980 [MHz]
  setting mem speed to 300 [MHz]
  setting voltage to 1100 [mV]
  setting fan speed to 95%
 Adapter #8:
  setting core speed to 980 [MHz]
  setting mem speed to 300 [MHz]
  setting voltage to 1100 [mV]
  setting fan speed to 95%
 Adapter #12:
  setting core speed to 980 [MHz]
  setting mem speed to 300 [MHz]
  setting voltage to 1100 [mV]
  setting fan speed to 95%
Set values - finished.

Reading:
#0: Temp:43 Load: 4 Fan:97 Level:0 CoreL2:980 MemL2:300 mVoltL2:1100
#4: Temp:42 Load: 0 Fan:96 Level:0 CoreL2:980 MemL2:300 mVoltL2:1100
#8: Temp:43 Load: 0 Fan:97 Level:0 CoreL2:980 MemL2:300 mVoltL2:1100
#12: Temp:40 Load: 0 Fan:94 Level:0 CoreL2:980 MemL2:300 mVoltL2:1100

c:\ct>clocktweak -r -l
===============================================================================
                ClockTweak v0.8.0b - bitcoinX.com/clocktweak/
===============================================================================

Adapter#:0 Temp:42 Load: 0 Fan:97 Level:0
CoreL0:980 CoreL2:980 MemL0:300 MemL2:300 mVoltL0:950 mVoltL2:1100

Adapter#:4 Temp:42 Load: 0 Fan:96 Level:0
CoreL0:980 CoreL2:980 MemL0:300 MemL2:300 mVoltL0:950 mVoltL2:1100

Adapter#:8 Temp:42 Load: 0 Fan:97 Level:0
CoreL0:980 CoreL2:980 MemL0:300 MemL2:300 mVoltL0:950 mVoltL2:1100

Adapter#:12 Temp:39 Load: 0 Fan:94 Level:0
CoreL0:980 CoreL2:980 MemL0:300 MemL2:300 mVoltL0:950 mVoltL2:1100


c:\ct>clocktweak -r -l
===============================================================================
                ClockTweak v0.8.0b - bitcoinX.com/clocktweak/
===============================================================================

Adapter#:0 Temp:60 Load:99 Fan:96 Level:2
CoreL0:980 CoreL2:980 MemL0:300 MemL2:300 mVoltL0:950 mVoltL2:1100

Adapter#:4 Temp:41 Load: 0 Fan:96 Level:0
CoreL0:980 CoreL2:980 MemL0:300 MemL2:300 mVoltL0:950 mVoltL2:1100

Adapter#:8 Temp:60 Load:99 Fan:96 Level:2
CoreL0:980 CoreL2:980 MemL0:300 MemL2:300 mVoltL0:950 mVoltL2:1100

Adapter#:12 Temp:38 Load: 0 Fan:94 Level:0
CoreL0:980 CoreL2:980 MemL0:300 MemL2:300 mVoltL0:950 mVoltL2:1100

When mining on 2 of the GPUs, GPUZ is reporting that the GPUs that are NOT mining are running 300 & 300 and the GPUs that are mining are running 980 & 1050. If I change Clock speed, the MH/s do change but from the beginning it always looked like clock and fan speed worked & voltage and memory speed didn't.
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 12:29:47 PM
 #187

please upgrade to the latest version. there is a patch at http://bitcoinx.com/clocktweak

v0.8.0b displays a wrong coreL0 clock speed (coreL2 instead)


still it is kinda awkward that your memL0 and memL2 speed are both at 300. that should not be possible. I assume you did not make a reboot before these readouts. try a memclock of 303 instead of 300. it looks like 300 is your bios limit.

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
mike85123
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 01:12:06 PM
 #188

Code:
c:\ct>clocktweak -a all -c980 -m600 -v1100 -s95 -y
===============================================================================
                ClockTweak v0.9.0b - bitcoinX.com/clocktweak/
===============================================================================

ERR: ADL API function: ADL_Display_PossibleMode_WinXP_Get is missing.
Set values - starting.
 Adapter #0:
  setting core speed to 980 [MHz]
  setting mem speed to 600 [MHz]
  setting voltage to 1100 [mV]
  setting fan speed to 95%
 Adapter #4:
  setting core speed to 980 [MHz]
  setting mem speed to 600 [MHz]
  setting voltage to 1100 [mV]
  setting fan speed to 95%
 Adapter #8:
  setting core speed to 980 [MHz]
  setting mem speed to 600 [MHz]
  setting voltage to 1100 [mV]
  setting fan speed to 95%
 Adapter #12:
  setting core speed to 980 [MHz]
  setting mem speed to 600 [MHz]
  setting voltage to 1100 [mV]
  setting fan speed to 95%
Set values - finished.

Reading:
#0: Temp:67 Load: 0 Fan:96 CoreL2:980 MemL2:600 mVoltL2:1100
#4: Temp:46 Load: 0 Fan:96 CoreL2:980 MemL2:600 mVoltL2:1100
#8: Temp:68 Load: 0 Fan:96 CoreL2:980 MemL2:600 mVoltL2:1100
#12: Temp:42 Load: 0 Fan:94 CoreL2:980 MemL2:600 mVoltL2:1100


c:\ct>clocktweak -r -l
===============================================================================
                ClockTweak v0.9.0b - bitcoinX.com/clocktweak/
===============================================================================

ERR: ADL API function: ADL_Display_PossibleMode_WinXP_Get is missing.
Adapter#:0 Temp:67 Load:77 Fan:96 Level:2   CoreL0:100 CoreL1:775 CoreL2:980
MemL0:300 MemL1:1050 MemL2:600 mVoltL0:950 mVoltL1:1100 mVoltL2:1100
Adapter#:4 Temp:45 Load: 0 Fan:96 Level:0   CoreL0:100 CoreL1:775 CoreL2:980
MemL0:300 MemL1:1050 MemL2:600 mVoltL0:950 mVoltL1:1100 mVoltL2:1100
Adapter#:8 Temp:68 Load:98 Fan:97 Level:2   CoreL0:100 CoreL1:775 CoreL2:980
MemL0:300 MemL1:1050 MemL2:600 mVoltL0:950 mVoltL1:1100 mVoltL2:1100
Adapter#:12 Temp:41 Load: 0 Fan:94 Level:0   CoreL0:100 CoreL1:775 CoreL2:980
MemL0:300 MemL1:1050 MemL2:600 mVoltL0:950 mVoltL1:1100 mVoltL2:1100

I had tried it in 0.9 already and dropped it back to see if the new version caused the problem. GPU-Z is still showing the same results as my last post.
2weiX
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 02:44:23 PM
 #189

I repeat my question:

Does anyone have a working number for Sapphire 6950 1GB voltage?
Shipped with 1.1v, GPU ist 840, memory downclocked to 800.

Would LOVE to set the voltage a little lower. Anyone?
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 08:38:31 PM
 #190

I had tried it in 0.9 already and dropped it back to see if the new version caused the problem. GPU-Z is still showing the same results as my last post.

what driver version do you use? it seems to accept clock speed levels out of order.

if you like you can try the hidden options (mentioned in the readme)  -memlevelX  and -corelevelX 

you can try this procedure:

clocktweak -y -a all -m 280 -memlevel0
clocktweak -y -a all -m 290 -memlevel1
clocktweak -y -a all -m 300 -l




blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 08:43:29 PM
 #191

I repeat my question:

Does anyone have a working number for Sapphire 6950 1GB voltage?
Shipped with 1.1v, GPU ist 840, memory downclocked to 800.

Would LOVE to set the voltage a little lower. Anyone?

please post the output of -r -l

which driver version do you use?



blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
Lexiko
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 358


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 09:22:00 PM
 #192

Made a simple auto temperature control .bat script using ClockTweak tool http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=28319.0

It can to control gpu core temperature by changing core speed depends on Minumum and Maximum margin values.

P.S. phelix, I made it my own way, so last features with errorlevel were not useful Smiley

P.P.S. phelix, don't you want to compile linux version of clocktweak?  Now it is more functional than other linux tools.

Jabba
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 10:33:13 PM
 #193

To get other voltages you just need to get a copy of your bios by using GPU-Z.
Then take RBE Bios editor and check the different states for their clock and voltage. Voilá there you go. Take the next lower voltage setting and start tweaking - big fun!

Jabba
enmaku
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
July 12, 2011, 11:49:43 PM
 #194

So now that you've got JSON implemented, I think I'll start work on some monitoring software based on clocktweak Smiley

I bashed something together for myself but it's very hackish, nothing trapped for or commented, messy code and bashed together in the quickest language I knew (Classic ASP).

It's up at http://codinginmysleep.com/miners/ for critique. Pretty basic interface, color-coded HUD at the top for each miner and the simple clocktweak -r -n output below. Not pretty but it functions. Would anyone be interested in something of this nature?

Lexiko
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 358


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 12:10:41 AM
 #195

So now that you've got JSON implemented, I think I'll start work on some monitoring software based on clocktweak Smiley

I bashed something together for myself but it's very hackish, nothing trapped for or commented, messy code and bashed together in the quickest language I knew (Classic ASP).

It's up at http://codinginmysleep.com/miners/ for critique. Pretty basic interface, color-coded HUD at the top for each miner and the simple clocktweak -r -n output below. Not pretty but it functions. Would anyone be interested in something of this nature?
Pretty)
But u didn't need a json . I'am doing in such way:

Code:
echo off
SET Miner=Miner1
FOR /F "tokens=1,3,5 delims=:# " %%A IN ('c:\windows\clocktweak.exe -r ^| Find "Temp"') DO (
wget "http://myserver.com/bitgraph/collector.php?MinerName=%MINER%&Temp=%%B&CardId=%%A&Load=%%C"
)

It will do GET request for each gpu installed something like this:
Code:
http://myserver.com/bitgraph/collector.php?MinerName=Miner1&Temp=76&CardId=0&Load=98"
http://myserver.com/bitgraph/collector.php?MinerName=Miner1&Temp=73&CardId=3&Load=98"

enmaku
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
July 13, 2011, 12:11:28 AM
 #196

So now that you've got JSON implemented, I think I'll start work on some monitoring software based on clocktweak Smiley

I bashed something together for myself but it's very hackish, nothing trapped for or commented, messy code and bashed together in the quickest language I knew (Classic ASP).

It's up at http://codinginmysleep.com/miners/ for critique. Pretty basic interface, color-coded HUD at the top for each miner and the simple clocktweak -r -n output below. Not pretty but it functions. Would anyone be interested in something of this nature?
Pretty)
But u didn't need a json . I'am doing in such way:

Code:
echo off
SET Miner=Miner1
FOR /F "tokens=1,3,5 delims=:# " %%A IN ('c:\windows\clocktweak.exe -r ^| Find "Temp"') DO (
wget "http://myserver.com/bitgraph/collector.php?MinerName=%MINER%&Temp=%%B&CardId=%%A&Load=%%C"
)

It will do GET request for each gpu installed something like this:
Code:
http://myserver.com/bitgraph/collector.php?MinerName=Miner1&Temp=76&CardId=0&Load=98"
http://myserver.com/bitgraph/collector.php?MinerName=Miner1&Temp=73&CardId=3&Load=98"

Yeah I didn't *need* JSON but it sure makes things easier to have it Smiley

2weiX
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 07:28:47 AM
 #197

I repeat my question:

Does anyone have a working number for Sapphire 6950 1GB voltage?
Shipped with 1.1v, GPU ist 840, memory downclocked to 800.

Would LOVE to set the voltage a little lower. Anyone?

please post the output of -r -l

which driver version do you use?




clocktweak output:


driver version 8.850.0.0 (4/19/2011)
catalyst 11.6
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 02:55:31 PM
 #198

Made a simple auto temperature control .bat script using ClockTweak tool http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=28319.0

It can to control gpu core temperature by changing core speed depends on Minumum and Maximum margin values.

P.S. phelix, I made it my own way, so last features with errorlevel were not useful Smiley

P.P.S. phelix, don't you want to compile linux version of clocktweak?  Now it is more functional than other linux tools.

+1

nice work! an advantage of doing it your way instead of using the errorlevel method is that you can control each gpu separately. I am still a bit sceptical about the sweet spot / clock vs hashrate linearity issue. I hope to find time to build a sweet spot scanner soon.

Maybe there is another way to throttle the gpu - e.g. by slowing down a cpu core by issuing HLT commands or by somehow slowing down the gpu (powertune is perfect but only available on 6xxx cards).

I will think about a linux version - unfortunately my experience with linux is limited.

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 02:57:58 PM
 #199

To get other voltages you just need to get a copy of your bios by using GPU-Z.
Then take RBE Bios editor and check the different states for their clock and voltage. Voilá there you go. Take the next lower voltage setting and start tweaking - big fun!

Jabba

+1

I think it is possible to see the voltage states with ati tray tools, too. Would be nice to be able to read these using clocktweak..........

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
July 13, 2011, 03:03:24 PM
 #200

So now that you've got JSON implemented, I think I'll start work on some monitoring software based on clocktweak Smiley

I bashed something together for myself but it's very hackish, nothing trapped for or commented, messy code and bashed together in the quickest language I knew (Classic ASP).

It's up at http://codinginmysleep.com/miners/ for critique. Pretty basic interface, color-coded HUD at the top for each miner and the simple clocktweak -r -n output below. Not pretty but it functions. Would anyone be interested in something of this nature?

Classic ASP?  Python rulez!

I like the color coding.

p.s. could it be that some of your cards are a little lazy? Mine have to work hard at 99% load all the time.

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!