Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 12:50:36 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: = ClockTweak = win32 command line clock/voltage tweaking tool - NOW FREE!  (Read 63895 times)
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 12:48:44 PM
 #1

Not as clumsy or random as a GUI. Elegant mining hardware control, from a more civilized age.

MS Windows command line overclock / underclock, temperature observe and GPU data logging tool for AMD Radeon HD graphic cards.

Features
  • Change core clock from very low values up to BIOS limit = CCC limit (e.g. stock Sapphire HD5850 Xtreme: 159-900Mhz*). Benefit: Increased Hashrate. It is NOT possible to overclock or overvolt higher than with catalyst control center!
  • Change memory clock from very low value up to BIOS limit (e.g. stock Sapphire HD5850 Xtreme: 159-1250Mhz*). Benefit: Lower power dissipation, thus lower temperatures in turn allowing significantly higher core clock.
  • Reduce core voltage**. Benefit: Lower power dissipation.
  • Will preserve your warranty unlike modifying the BIOS which may void it.
  • Works with multiple cards.
  • Fan control.
  • PowerTune support
  • Data logging
  • JSON output
  • Temperature limit and idle watching.

* Depending on core voltage and hardware limits.
** May only work in big steps at the moment, depending on your card. (e.g. stock Sapphire HD5850 Xtreme: 950mV, 1038mV, 1088mV)

New in v0.9.2b: small fix for undervolting allowing idle voltage levels for mining --> very low power consumption

My four Sapphire HD 5850s can run at 870Mhz instead of 725Mhz at stock 1088mV. Because they get very hot in this configuration I run them at 807/269Mhz, 1088mV. Another possible configuration is 699/233Mhz, 1038mV, saving ~40W per card.

Latest Version: 0.9.2b - Download at http://blockchained.com/stuff/clocktweak_installer_v0.9.2b.exe

Donate: 1FrZre72S2jbGG2CN4qG94BS6km7VfpMLU

As a precaution check without load (=without miners) if everything works as intendend with your system. Also test if the limits work as you expect.
This program can destroy your system by overheating etc. - be careful and closely monitor your system temperatures and wattage. Especially on 6xxx and 7xxx systems memory downclocking might be limited. Clocks and voltages can jump back to stock values if you go lower than a certain limit without driver readings (=clocktweak readings) reflecting it.

Note: Adapter / GPU order may be different from your mining software!

If you do not know what a command line is and how to use it this is NOT the right tool for you.

ClockTweak is based on Netxshare's pyADL AMDOverdriveCtrl (Radeon overclocking for Linux).

Support
Read through the FAQ below. Search this thread. Please do not PM unless I ask you to but post in this thread. Newbies go here.

Code:
===============================================================================
                ClockTweak v0.9.2b - bitcoinX.com/clocktweak/
===============================================================================

usage: clocktweak.exe [-h] [-a [ADAPTER]] [-f] [-r] [-ds [VERBOSITY]] [-n]
                      [-y] [-c CORECLOCK] [-m MEMCLOCK] [-v VOLTAGE]
                      [-s FANSPEED] [-p [PERCENT]] [-o [SECONDS]]
                      [-dw [VERBOSITY]] [-tl CELSIUS] [-th CELSIUS]
                      [-i [LOAD]] [-time [thSECONDS]] [-w [CYCLES]]
                      [-j TARGET] [-x]

arguments:
  -h, --help            show this help message and exit
  -a [ADAPTER], --adapter [ADAPTER]
                        Choose adapter(s). Without an adapter number given:
                        list valid adapters. A keyword "all" is available.
                        Examples: -a all, -a 0, -a 2 -a 4
  -f, --force           -a, -s: Force adapter choice or low fan speeds. Use
                        with care.
  -r, --readonly        Read current information. Default is all adapters.
  -ds [VERBOSITY], -l [VERBOSITY], --detailscreen [VERBOSITY]
                        -r: Screen output detail. 1: single line, 2: default,
                        3: long
  -n, --naked           -r: Suppress header.
  -y, --yes             By setting this flag you acknowledge that you know
                        exactly what you are doing and that you read the
                        readme.txt and the following: The author of this
                        program will not be responsible for anything it does
                        to your computer system or your graphic cards. To make
                        any changes it is necessary to set this flag.
  -c CORECLOCK, --core CORECLOCK
                        Set core clock for level 2 [MHz]. Example: -c 720
  -m MEMCLOCK, --memory MEMCLOCK
                        Set memory clock for level 2 [MHz]. Example: -m 240
  -v VOLTAGE, --voltage VOLTAGE
                        Set voltage for level 2 [mV]. Example: -v 1050
  -s FANSPEED, --speed FANSPEED
                        Set fan speed in percent. Keyword "auto" sets to
                        automatic (=default). Examples: -s 100, -s 90, -s auto
  -p [PERCENT], --powertune [PERCENT]
                        6xxx cards only. Without value get powertune value.
                        Set powertune value to PERCENT (-20 to +20).
                        Experimental, use separately.
  -o [SECONDS], --observe [SECONDS]
                        Start observe mode. Cyclically print -r to screen.
  -dw [VERBOSITY], --detailwrite [VERBOSITY]
                        -o: Log output detail. 1: single line, 2: default, 3:
                        long
  -tl CELSIUS, --temperaturelow CELSIUS
                        -o: Exit with errorlevel 10 if highest temperature is
                        lower than CELSIUS for longer than thSECONDS if
                        2*thSECONDS after startup.
  -th CELSIUS, --temperaturehigh CELSIUS
                        -o: Exit with errorlevel 11 if any temperature is
                        higher than CELSIUS.
  -i [LOAD], --idle [LOAD]
                        -o: Exit with errorlevel 12 if lowest GPU load is
                        below LOAD for longer than thSECONDS.
  -time [thSECONDS]     -o, -tl, -th, -i: Set approximate time horizon for
                        observed limits (default: 300).
  -w [CYCLES], --write [CYCLES]
                        -o: Write to logfile every CYCLES observe-cycles (if
                        disk space > 100MB at start). Default: 10
  -j TARGET, --json TARGET
                        -r, -o, -w: Switch output to json format. Valid
                        targets are "screen", "file","extrafile" and
                        "singleentryfile". Examples: -j screen, -j screen -j
                        extrafile
  -x, --explore         Explore adapters for debugging purposes.


Tested Card Types
HD5670 - tested (RaTTuS); fan control?
HD5750 - tested (SteveFL); fan control?
HD5770 - tested; no fan control (Raigekisai)
HD5830 - tested (grue)
HD5850 - tested (phelix)
HD5870 - tested (Beremat)
HD5970 - tested (jabba)
HD6770 - tested, no fan control (MegaBux); probably limited memclock underclocking*
HD6790 - tested (hawks5999); probably limited memclock underclocking*
HD6850 - tested (ujin); probably limited memclock underclocking*
HD6870 - tested, (mike85123, OCedHrt); probably limited memclock underclocking*
HD6950 - tested (coznefx); probably limited memclock underclocking*
HD6970 - tested (Jazkal); probably limited memclock underclocking*
HD6990 - tested (proudhon - thanks a lot for your support!); probably limited memclock underclocking*
HD7970 - does not always work; probably limited memclock underclocking*

*On some (all?) 6xxx and 7xxx systems underclocking memory seems to be limited to coreclock - 125Mhz. In these cases the driver and thus ClockTweak do not reflect these limits so you will not even notice. Use a wattmeter or compare temperatures after five minutes of mining to verify.

Manufacturers
Asus DirectCU TOP - tested (KiLeRrosS)
Biostar -
Club 3d -
Gigabyte - tested (coznefx)
HIS Reference Implementation - tested (gamecom)
MSI - tested (Raigekisai)
Sapphire - tested (phelix)
XFX - tested (Raigekisai)
...

This is only an overview as there is a huge number of different combinations of card types and manufactureres out there. You might want to search this thread for your particular card to find more information on what works and what does not.

Multiple cards
crossfire - tested (Raigekisai)
4 Cards - tested (phelix)
more than 4 cards - tested (jabba with 5 cards)

Setup
Two monitors attached - tested (cdb000)
Two different cards - tested (Beremat)

Windows OS version
XP - tested (phelix)
Vista - tested (RaTTuS)
Server 2008 - tested (Lexiko)
7 - tested (KiLeRrosS)
64bit - tested (RaTTuS); there may be problems

Big thanks to everyone for posting test results!

Scripts using on clocktweak
Lexiko's Auto temperature control .bat script


FAQ
Q: Why does ClockTweak give me an error if I try to set the core clock / voltage above xxx?
A: You run into the BIOS limit. Either go along with lower values, try another tool or use RBE to modify your BIOS. Some people can beyond BIOS limits with driver version 11.6 / 11.7 / 11.8.

Q: Why does ClockTweak give me an error if I try to set the memory clock below xxx?
A: You run into the BIOS limit. Either go along with higher values, try another tool or use RBE to modify your BIOS. Some people can beyond BIOS limits with driver version 11.6 / 11.7 / 11.8.

Q: How can I reset my card to default mem clock speeds also for level 0 (2D)?
A: There is no comfort function for this yet. Either reboot or ask me for procedure using hidden options explained in the readme.

Q: Why is the reported fan speed different from the speed I set?
A: The reported fan speed is the measured rpm in proportion to the theoretical maximum rpm. A difference of 20% or so is still normal. If the air stream is blocked or the fan is broken the reported fan speed will decrease.


blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481374236
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481374236

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481374236
Reply with quote  #2

1481374236
Report to moderator
RedLine888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163



View Profile
May 26, 2011, 12:57:23 PM
 #2

Can I chande the voltage on non-ref 5870s (GV-R587UD-1GD) and can I go down to 330 mhz if MSI AB allows only 600.

If I helped and You do wanna thank:
1FoiQYVPtUwWWnrYe1oYV3GCtJP8YBe1fv
Feel free to PM if you're in a need of any help
-------------------------------------------------------------------
fasti
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 01:02:46 PM
 #3

I have asus 6950 DC II which has quite unique voltage control(only the program that asus provides has worked so far). Does your program work for it?

1QCcAR3e3wdxr7CcJ8ND1NmWuvLttCJScH
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 02:31:16 PM
 #4

Can I chande the voltage on non-ref 5870s (GV-R587UD-1GD) and can I go down to 330 mhz if MSI AB allows only 600.
yes it should work. On my HD5850 I can drag down the Memory Clock all the way to 159Mhz.

I have asus 6950 DC II which has quite unique voltage control(only the program that asus provides has worked so far). Does your program work for it?
does it use the catalyst driver? then it should work

I will give refunds if ClockTweak does not work as advertised, at least for people with some reputation on the forum.


blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
fasti
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 02:51:09 PM
 #5

I tested Catalyst Control Center and overdrive options, none of them raised voltage on my 6950 DC II. MSI Afterburner is unable to change it.

1QCcAR3e3wdxr7CcJ8ND1NmWuvLttCJScH
KiLeRrosS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4



View Profile
May 27, 2011, 12:55:36 AM
 #6

http://img861.imageshack.us/img861/8352/clocktweak2.png

It is still in beta phase, so please help testing. You will get a full refund if you are the first to test ClockTweak in one of the following environments and post a screenshot / copy of outputs "-a" and "-r". in this thread.
BTC address: 1B7Rh9fENB5aSDB5KYsbHM2Jv8nkjATU23  Smiley

I use your program, unfortunately I can not change the voltage on any GPU.
I have 2pcs Asus EAH5850 DirectCU TOP/2DIS/1GD5, Win7 64-bit


What's wrong?

http://img197.imageshack.us/img197/1558/clocktweak.png


1JbKD728jXin9nwpG6m2jvaQ2YpcBPi7jf
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 09:40:12 AM
 #7

Thank you for your tests! I send you back your 0.4BTC.

could you also post the adapter list, output of clocktweak -a

your card is already at the voltage limit from the bios. I realize with most cards it will only be possible to undervolt without modifying the bios - I will edit the description. you should be able to set the voltage to 1117mV for example - but try it at a lower clock speed first.

the advantage of a lower voltage is less power consumption and also less heat.


still you should be able to overclock quite a bit and remain stable.

I think your card comes at 725MHz core / 1000Mhz mem stock clocks? so with 930Mhz you overclocked the core quite a bit and 300Mhz mem clock also sounds good for mining.


blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
cdb000
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106



View Profile
May 27, 2011, 10:31:40 AM
 #8

It is still in beta phase, so please help testing. You will get a full refund if you are the first to test ClockTweak in one of the following environments and post a screenshot / copy of outputs "-a" and "-r". in this thread.


The following captured on 32 bit WinXP with a single Sapphire HD5870, 2 monitors attached.
Clocks were not set using clocktweak, I use ATT Tray Tools for this.

Bitcoin address: 1zVhTXVGoRoCwGFdRiJLXV5xHaL9qLXnj

--- Clocktweak output ---

C:\clocktweak\clocktweak>clocktweak.exe
===============================================================================
                ClockTweak v0.7b - bitcoinX.com/clocktweak/
===============================================================================

This tool lets you change core clock, memory clock and voltage on AMD Radeon
graphic cards within BIOS limits. Use with care so you don't harm your system.

usage: clocktweak.exe [-h] [-i] [-a [ADAPTER]] [-r] [-l] [-y] [-c CORECLOCK]
                      [-m MEMCLOCK] [-v VOLTAGE]

optional arguments:
  -h, --help            show this help message and exit
  -i, --info            Prints some info and hints.
  -a [ADAPTER], --adapter [ADAPTER]
                        Adapter to use. With no argument given adapters are
                        listed.
  -r, --readonly        Reads core clock, memory clock and voltage of selected
                        adapter.
  -l, --long            Display -r data in long format with some additional
                        info.
  -y, --yes             By setting this flag you acknowledge that you know
                        exactly what you are doing and that you read the
                        following: The author of this program will not be
                        responsible for anything it does to your computer
                        system and your graphic cards. To be able to make any
                        changes it is necessary to set this flag.
  -c CORECLOCK, --core CORECLOCK
                        Set core clock for level 2 [MHz]. Example: -c 720
  -m MEMCLOCK, --memory MEMCLOCK
                        Set memory clock for level 2 [MHz]. Example: -m 240
  -v VOLTAGE, --voltage VOLTAGE
                        Set voltage for level 2 [mV]. Example: -c 1050

C:\clocktweak\clocktweak>clocktweak.exe  -a
===============================================================================
                ClockTweak v0.7b - bitcoinX.com/clocktweak/
===============================================================================

Compatible graphic cards found:
Adapter:0  ID:-495066216  Name:ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
Adapter:1  ID:-495066216  Name:ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series

C:\clocktweak\clocktweak>clocktweak.exe  -r
===============================================================================
                ClockTweak v0.7b - bitcoinX.com/clocktweak/
===============================================================================

#0: Temp:76 Load:98 Fan:43 Level:2 CoreL2:980 MemL2:1000 mVoltL2:1163
#1: Temp:76 Load:98 Fan:43 Level:2 CoreL2:980 MemL2:1000 mVoltL2:1163
---

 This was captured on 32 bit Win7 with a Sapphire HD5870 and an XFX HD5870, clocks have been
 set on these using AMD GPU clock tool. The XFX is clocks at 960, the Sapphire at 975.

--- clocktweak output ---

C:\clocktweak>clocktweak.exe -a
===============================================================================
                ClockTweak v0.7b - bitcoinX.com/clocktweak/
===============================================================================

Compatible graphic cards found:
Adapter:0  ID:-1884532672  Name:ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
Adapter:3  ID:-1884238400  Name:ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series

C:\clocktweak>clocktweak.exe -r
===============================================================================
                ClockTweak v0.7b - bitcoinX.com/clocktweak/
===============================================================================

#0: Temp:68 Load:98 Fan:54 Level:2 CoreL2:960 MemL2:320 mVoltL2:1163
#3: Temp:74 Load:99 Fan:41 Level:2 CoreL2:975 MemL2:325 mVoltL2:1163

----

 No screenshots - I get an error message about upload directory full when I try to attach one.
KiLeRrosS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4



View Profile
May 27, 2011, 12:27:06 PM
 #9

phelix
I became interested in your program because I wanted to up voltage. I care about increasing MHhas/s, and the same 930/300, I managed to get the program AMD ATI Tool.

Now I use ClockTweak using batch - the PC always starts with the proper performance Smiley

Today evening I will try to test the program with the Sapphire HD5830.

1JbKD728jXin9nwpG6m2jvaQ2YpcBPi7jf
proudhon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148



View Profile
May 27, 2011, 12:42:30 PM
 #10

OS: Windows 7x64
Manufacturer: HIS
Card: 6990
Setup: Single Monitor

Clocks were set with AMD's utility, but I going to start messing around using ClockTweak.  I've never bothered lowering my memory clocks, so I'll let you know how it goes.



Send refund to:  1Kji4dqXxedXYUyBJHYSUbAqQGwULiS8Zv
proudhon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148



View Profile
May 27, 2011, 01:27:14 PM
 #11

So, it looks like changes are only being applied to one of the GPU cores of my 6990.  I wondered if that would be the case when I saw that it reported only a single adapter, as you can see in my screenshot above.
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 02:09:01 PM
 #12

thank you guys! I send you both the refunds.

@cdb000
these are very interesting programs. until now I had never found ATT and only an older version of the GPU Tool.
ATT I can only get work with one card, the same as with a lot of other programs. Do you use any of the tweak options for mining?
The GPU tool seems to be really sophisticated I will take a close look at what it can do.

@proudhon
Seems like you found the first problem already. it applies to dual gpu cards like the 5970 and the 6990. I will look into it.

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
proudhon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148



View Profile
May 27, 2011, 02:20:04 PM
 #13

thank you guys! I send you both the refunds.

@cdb000
these are very interesting programs. until now I had never found ATT and only an older version of the GPU Tool.
ATT I can only get work with one card, the same as with a lot of other programs. Do you use any of the tweak options for mining?
The GPU tool seems to be really sophisticated I will take a close look at what it can do.

@proudhon
Seems like you found the first problem already. it applies to dual gpu cards like the 5970 and the 6990. I will look into it.

I'm really digging this tool, BTW.  Easy and no GUI fuss.  Thanks.  This'll definitely be my preferred method of tweaking once you fix the dual GPU issue.
cdb000
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106



View Profile
May 27, 2011, 03:18:43 PM
 #14

@cdb000
these are very interesting programs. until now I had never found ATT and only an older version of the GPU Tool.
ATT I can only get work with one card, the same as with a lot of other programs. Do you use any of the tweak options for mining?
The GPU tool seems to be really sophisticated I will take a close look at what it can do.

I found that ATT would only work for one card, so I use it on the XP box which has only 1 card (don't be misled by the clocktweak output - the machine has 1 card with 2 monitors) I only use it to set the clocks, I never bothered with the tweaks simply because I am too lazy to spend time messing with it - "If it isn't broken, don't fix it". It is convenient because it can run at startup without human intervention. The XP machine is my desktop, and tends to need occasional reboots. I stick with XP on this because there is a game I like to play that I have not been able to get working correctly on Win7.

AMD GPU Clock Tool allows more cards. It works for me on a machine with 4 HD5870s, but I have not been able to use it to set voltages. It does have the useful ability to log temperatures to a file. The version I have is 0.9.26.0 and I have no idea whether it is up to date or not. I can't remember where I downloaded it, but it turns up in quite a few places with a Google search.
My 4 dedicated mining machines run Win7 which seems to be stable enough that the irritation of having to set clocks manually on a reboot isn't that great. (1 reboot in 3 months, caused by power failure)

I am hoping that clocktweak will allow me to set voltages. I will experiment this evening when I am at hope. I am too much of a coward to try setting voltages remotely in case a do something that needs a hard reboot to recover - VNC has its limits.

With difficulty rising, it may be that the last few Bitcents can be mined by underclocking and undervoltaging the cards to reduce power use and improve hashes per Watt.
proudhon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148



View Profile
May 27, 2011, 04:20:02 PM
 #15

phelix, ygpm
nzbtc
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 04:29:43 PM
 #16

Does this let me lower my mem clock on a saphire HD5850 to 300? I can do this with the Trixx utility, but not with the ATI Control Panel.

13EXX23oQX7CA1qLrM2EDemnYNZDdmngsS
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 06:02:32 PM
 #17

Does this let me lower my mem clock on a saphire HD5850 to 300? I can do this with the Trixx utility, but not with the ATI Control Panel.
you should be able to set the mem clock down to 159

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 08:34:35 PM
 #18

experimenting with the wattmeter, I just noticed that though my cards happily accept all voltage values the voltage regulator has only a couple of steps... will investigate some more and keep you posted.

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
ius
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 08:48:18 PM
 #19

The VRM output voltage for HD5800 series cards (ie. VT1165 VRM) can only be set in steps of 0.0125 V above a minimum of 0.450 V, if I'm not mistaken.

PGP: 0xCC06E446 Bitcoin: 19kdfgW1KXQgV7SCLEPAojtHxN9xotGkGH
justinjja
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
May 28, 2011, 07:39:11 PM
 #20

Do you have the 5850 xtremes?
If you do and you make the tool able to Overvolt all the cards I would gladly buy this (Sapphire TRIXX only allows you to overvolt ur first card)
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!