Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 04:39:08 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: = ClockTweak = win32 command line clock/voltage tweaking tool - NOW FREE!  (Read 63747 times)
titbb
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40

PPLNS'ing @ RFCPOOL.com


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 04:56:47 PM
 #301

Also would like to point out that ive successfully clocked my cards over the bios limit in the 11.8 ati drivers. Fanspeed also seems to work nicely on my 5770 card.

Several of us with 5770 and 6770 cards have reported that the program does not detect the fan speed (reports N/A).  What is the model number and manufacturer of your 5770 card?  A special model might be worth the replacement given the maintenance and automation headache I deal with now.

Its an ASUS DirectCu 5770.

But i noticed that sometimes the fanspeed isnt reported accurately for me. This goes for all my cards Sad I set at 85% and my 5770 shows 76, and my 6950 shows 71. Same problem on my other rig.

Might only be reported incorrectly for me, but the 5770 is the closest to the actual speed.

I'm PPLNS'ing @ RFCPOOL.com, need more GHashies!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480739948
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480739948

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480739948
Reply with quote  #2

1480739948
Report to moderator
1480739948
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480739948

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480739948
Reply with quote  #2

1480739948
Report to moderator
MadHacker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
September 01, 2011, 05:10:23 PM
 #302

I get the same issue with my Gigabyte Direct CU 5830 video cards...
even when i set teh fans at 100% the fans are only reported as 67-68% speed
titbb
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40

PPLNS'ing @ RFCPOOL.com


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 05:16:56 PM
 #303

Yeah,

couple of people from our pool http://www.rfcpool.com have the same problem.
Fan speeds are reported incorrectly.

Maybe @phelix has an answer or fix or solution. Its fixed @ 85 for me, so its not that big of a problem, but still annoying its incorrect.

I'm PPLNS'ing @ RFCPOOL.com, need more GHashies!
bully
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 05:24:03 PM
 #304

i bought your program, but all i get when i try the -r parameter is:

[...]

i have 4x5850 cards with dummy plugs, what could be the reason for this behaviour?
catalyst 10.7

as jabba pointed out it could be an outdated driver. I never tried it on anything lower than 10.12.

even if you can solve this problem I would update the driver version to either 10.12 (quite fast and rather stable with sdk 2.1) or one of the latest 11.x drivers (sdk 2.4 or 2.5, I am not sure how well sdk 2.5 is supported yet).

sorry this was a typo, i already have installed v11.7

it seems to work fine under linux (values are reported correctly and overclocking also works)
so let's have a look at catalyst 11.8 :-)
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 946



View Profile
September 01, 2011, 05:25:51 PM
 #305

I get the same issue with my Gigabyte Direct CU 5830 video cards...
even when i set teh fans at 100% the fans are only reported as 67-68% speed

ya same here. using 11.8

from the sound, i'm sure the fans are at 100%, it just appears that the readback is wrong.

MadHacker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
September 01, 2011, 05:28:45 PM
 #306

I can't tell by sound..
I have 8 6970's running at 100% a few feet away from it.
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 05:39:27 PM
 #307

it's not a bug it's a feature!  Wink

in fact the discrepancy you see is because of the way the reported rpms are calculated.

the program reads the actual rpm from the fan speed sensor and divides by the theoretical maximum rpm of the fan. if the fan is blocked or gets older and also because of all kinds of tolerances the reported speed is not exactly the same as the speed you set.

it has been discussed somewhere before I think. I will add it to the FAQ.

edit--------------:
Q: Why is the reported fan speed different from the speed I set?
A: The reported fan speed is the measured rpm in proportion to the theoretical maximum rpm. A difference of 20% or so is still normal. If the air stream is blocked or the fan is broken the reported fan speed will decrease.

this is netxshare's smart design for pyADL. the big advantage is that you have a chance to notice a blocked/broken fan.

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 05:47:35 PM
 #308

Also would like to point out that ive successfully clocked my cards over the bios limit in the 11.8 ati drivers. Fanspeed also seems to work nicely on my 5770 card.

Several of us with 5770 and 6770 cards have reported that the program does not detect the fan speed (reports N/A).  What is the model number and manufacturer of your 5770 card?  A special model might be worth the replacement given the maintenance and automation headache I deal with now.

why don't you leave the fan at default speed? I will try to work something out for the next release.

do you see the fan rpm reported in other programs for the x770? I think it does not read out fan speeds or the drivers do not tell the program that is why it bails out.




blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
MegaBux
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 10:01:47 PM
 #309

why don't you leave the fan at default speed? I will try to work something out for the next release.

do you see the fan rpm reported in other programs for the x770? I think it does not read out fan speeds or the drivers do not tell the program that is why it bails out.

I really don't need to change the fan speed since I'm generally running at 100% all the time (one card runs at 50% though since it is well ventilated).  However, being able to collect the fan speed will allow me to write a script that will let me auto-tweek the speed based on temperature, if needed.

Currently, I am using MSI Afterburner to monitor fan speed.  This program, along with the ATI Catalyst program both report the speed as a percentage so there must be some API in place to retrieve this data; maybe I can pop a question to the RivaTuner author and ask which API he uses for this purpose.  Since I am not using the ATI program actively, my default fan control is in fact whatever MSI Afterburner chooses to do.

My goal is to ultimately use your tool without relying on MSI Afterburner to monitor and report fan speeds (if possible).
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1806



View Profile
September 07, 2011, 05:40:48 AM
 #310

Awesome tool. Unfortunately, I cannot lower the mem clock more than 125mhz lower than the clock rate on 6990s(can't do it with any other applications either.)

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - GekkoScience DL580 Breakout Boards are In Stock!
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
September 07, 2011, 08:55:26 AM
 #311

Awesome tool. Unfortunately, I cannot lower the mem clock more than 125mhz lower than the clock rate on 6990s(can't do it with any other applications either.)

what driver version do you use and what is the cards' manufacturer ? I am pretty sure other people did not have this problem.

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1806



View Profile
September 08, 2011, 05:10:19 AM
 #312

Awesome tool. Unfortunately, I cannot lower the mem clock more than 125mhz lower than the clock rate on 6990s(can't do it with any other applications either.)

what driver version do you use and what is the cards' manufacturer ? I am pretty sure other people did not have this problem.
Sapphire 6990, using 11.8 drivers. I should clarify though, the tool will let me set any clock speed I want, and the memory clock will show at that rate when I run with -o switch. I did a quick test to prove that the clock rates being shown were inaccurate and I would like someone else with 6990s to confirm my results.

Test 1
1 6990 core running at 830/1275, 100% fan, stock clocks, mining for 5 min
Max temp 74c

Test 2
1 6990 core running at 830/705, 100% fan, mining for 5 minutes
Max temp 70c

Test 3
1 6990 core running at 830/704(according to clocktweak), 100% fan, mining for 5 minutes
Max temp 74c

This is actually a pretty well known issue with 6990s and it appears to be a bios limitation. Any mem clock 126mhz or more below core will automatically set mem clock back to stock speed. I was hoping maybe you had figured a way around it.



ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - GekkoScience DL580 Breakout Boards are In Stock!
MadHacker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
September 08, 2011, 08:03:22 AM
 #313

Awesome tool. Unfortunately, I cannot lower the mem clock more than 125mhz lower than the clock rate on 6990s(can't do it with any other applications either.)

what driver version do you use and what is the cards' manufacturer ? I am pretty sure other people did not have this problem.
Sapphire 6990, using 11.8 drivers. I should clarify though, the tool will let me set any clock speed I want, and the memory clock will show at that rate when I run with -o switch. I did a quick test to prove that the clock rates being shown were inaccurate and I would like someone else with 6990s to confirm my results.

Test 1
1 6990 core running at 830/1275, 100% fan, stock clocks, mining for 5 min
Max temp 74c

Test 2
1 6990 core running at 830/705, 100% fan, mining for 5 minutes
Max temp 70c

Test 3
1 6990 core running at 830/704(according to clocktweak), 100% fan, mining for 5 minutes
Max temp 74c

This is actually a pretty well known issue with 6990s and it appears to be a bios limitation. Any mem clock 126mhz or more below core will automatically set mem clock back to stock speed. I was hoping maybe you had figured a way around it.




I have a HIS 6990 running at 900/300 working just fine, (watercooled)  using 11.8 drivers
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
September 08, 2011, 10:35:47 AM
 #314

Awesome tool. Unfortunately, I cannot lower the mem clock more than 125mhz lower than the clock rate on 6990s(can't do it with any other applications either.)

what driver version do you use and what is the cards' manufacturer ? I am pretty sure other people did not have this problem.
Sapphire 6990, using 11.8 drivers. I should clarify though, the tool will let me set any clock speed I want, and the memory clock will show at that rate when I run with -o switch. I did a quick test to prove that the clock rates being shown were inaccurate and I would like someone else with 6990s to confirm my results.

Test 1
1 6990 core running at 830/1275, 100% fan, stock clocks, mining for 5 min
Max temp 74c

Test 2
1 6990 core running at 830/705, 100% fan, mining for 5 minutes
Max temp 70c

Test 3
1 6990 core running at 830/704(according to clocktweak), 100% fan, mining for 5 minutes
Max temp 74c

This is actually a pretty well known issue with 6990s and it appears to be a bios limitation. Any mem clock 126mhz or more below core will automatically set mem clock back to stock speed. I was hoping maybe you had figured a way around it.




as MadHacker noted it works for some (most?) people so there should be a chance of getting it to work by modifying the bios with rbe

blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1806



View Profile
September 08, 2011, 01:39:39 PM
 #315

Awesome tool. Unfortunately, I cannot lower the mem clock more than 125mhz lower than the clock rate on 6990s(can't do it with any other applications either.)

what driver version do you use and what is the cards' manufacturer ? I am pretty sure other people did not have this problem.
Sapphire 6990, using 11.8 drivers. I should clarify though, the tool will let me set any clock speed I want, and the memory clock will show at that rate when I run with -o switch. I did a quick test to prove that the clock rates being shown were inaccurate and I would like someone else with 6990s to confirm my results.

Test 1
1 6990 core running at 830/1275, 100% fan, stock clocks, mining for 5 min
Max temp 74c

Test 2
1 6990 core running at 830/705, 100% fan, mining for 5 minutes
Max temp 70c

Test 3
1 6990 core running at 830/704(according to clocktweak), 100% fan, mining for 5 minutes
Max temp 74c

This is actually a pretty well known issue with 6990s and it appears to be a bios limitation. Any mem clock 126mhz or more below core will automatically set mem clock back to stock speed. I was hoping maybe you had figured a way around it.




I have a HIS 6990 running at 900/300 working just fine, (watercooled)  using 11.8 drivers


Have you confirmed those speeds are accurate? I can set my clocks to 900/300 as well but my test proves the settings did not actually take.

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - GekkoScience DL580 Breakout Boards are In Stock!
MadHacker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
September 08, 2011, 02:20:19 PM
 #316

Awesome tool. Unfortunately, I cannot lower the mem clock more than 125mhz lower than the clock rate on 6990s(can't do it with any other applications either.)

what driver version do you use and what is the cards' manufacturer ? I am pretty sure other people did not have this problem.
Sapphire 6990, using 11.8 drivers. I should clarify though, the tool will let me set any clock speed I want, and the memory clock will show at that rate when I run with -o switch. I did a quick test to prove that the clock rates being shown were inaccurate and I would like someone else with 6990s to confirm my results.

Test 1
1 6990 core running at 830/1275, 100% fan, stock clocks, mining for 5 min
Max temp 74c

Test 2
1 6990 core running at 830/705, 100% fan, mining for 5 minutes
Max temp 70c

Test 3
1 6990 core running at 830/704(according to clocktweak), 100% fan, mining for 5 minutes
Max temp 74c

This is actually a pretty well known issue with 6990s and it appears to be a bios limitation. Any mem clock 126mhz or more below core will automatically set mem clock back to stock speed. I was hoping maybe you had figured a way around it.




I have a HIS 6990 running at 900/300 working just fine, (watercooled)  using 11.8 drivers


Have you confirmed those speeds are accurate? I can set my clocks to 900/300 as well but my test proves the settings did not actually take.

confirmed speed with clocktweak and GPUz.
I know GPUz is a reliable app.
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1806



View Profile
September 08, 2011, 02:33:00 PM
 #317

Awesome tool. Unfortunately, I cannot lower the mem clock more than 125mhz lower than the clock rate on 6990s(can't do it with any other applications either.)

what driver version do you use and what is the cards' manufacturer ? I am pretty sure other people did not have this problem.
Sapphire 6990, using 11.8 drivers. I should clarify though, the tool will let me set any clock speed I want, and the memory clock will show at that rate when I run with -o switch. I did a quick test to prove that the clock rates being shown were inaccurate and I would like someone else with 6990s to confirm my results.

Test 1
1 6990 core running at 830/1275, 100% fan, stock clocks, mining for 5 min
Max temp 74c

Test 2
1 6990 core running at 830/705, 100% fan, mining for 5 minutes
Max temp 70c

Test 3
1 6990 core running at 830/704(according to clocktweak), 100% fan, mining for 5 minutes
Max temp 74c

This is actually a pretty well known issue with 6990s and it appears to be a bios limitation. Any mem clock 126mhz or more below core will automatically set mem clock back to stock speed. I was hoping maybe you had figured a way around it.




I have a HIS 6990 running at 900/300 working just fine, (watercooled)  using 11.8 drivers


Have you confirmed those speeds are accurate? I can set my clocks to 900/300 as well but my test proves the settings did not actually take.

confirmed speed with clocktweak and GPUz.
I know GPUz is a reliable app.
I can confirm my settings as well... Problem is, the clock readings are inaccurate. Can you run my test or something similar? Try running at 900/1275, 900/800, and 900/300 and let us know your temps. I suspect your 900/300 temps will be no different than your 900/1275 temps. If it's the same across all 3 settings then water-cooling is masking the issue. I also challenge anyone who thinks they have significantly downclocked their memory on 6990s without a bios flash to run through my test.

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - GekkoScience DL580 Breakout Boards are In Stock!
phelix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


nmc:id/phelix


View Profile
September 08, 2011, 03:59:27 PM
 #318

Awesome tool. Unfortunately, I cannot lower the mem clock more than 125mhz lower than the clock rate on 6990s(can't do it with any other applications either.)

what driver version do you use and what is the cards' manufacturer ? I am pretty sure other people did not have this problem.
Sapphire 6990, using 11.8 drivers. I should clarify though, the tool will let me set any clock speed I want, and the memory clock will show at that rate when I run with -o switch. I did a quick test to prove that the clock rates being shown were inaccurate and I would like someone else with 6990s to confirm my results.

Test 1
1 6990 core running at 830/1275, 100% fan, stock clocks, mining for 5 min
Max temp 74c

Test 2
1 6990 core running at 830/705, 100% fan, mining for 5 minutes
Max temp 70c

Test 3
1 6990 core running at 830/704(according to clocktweak), 100% fan, mining for 5 minutes
Max temp 74c

This is actually a pretty well known issue with 6990s and it appears to be a bios limitation. Any mem clock 126mhz or more below core will automatically set mem clock back to stock speed. I was hoping maybe you had figured a way around it.




I have a HIS 6990 running at 900/300 working just fine, (watercooled)  using 11.8 drivers


Have you confirmed those speeds are accurate? I can set my clocks to 900/300 as well but my test proves the settings did not actually take.

confirmed speed with clocktweak and GPUz.
I know GPUz is a reliable app.
I can confirm my settings as well... Problem is, the clock readings are inaccurate. Can you run my test or something similar? Try running at 900/1275, 900/800, and 900/300 and let us know your temps. I suspect your 900/300 temps will be no different than your 900/1275 temps. If it's the same across all 3 settings then water-cooling is masking the issue. I also challenge anyone who thinks they have significantly downclocked their memory on 6990s without a bios flash to run through my test.

GPU-Z is / was rumored for having a bug in displaying memory clocks on some systems (repost somewhere earlier in this thread).

CrazyBlane's method is good for checking. Wattmeter might also help.


blockchained.com ■ bitcointalk top posts
MadHacker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
September 08, 2011, 04:07:30 PM
 #319

Awesome tool. Unfortunately, I cannot lower the mem clock more than 125mhz lower than the clock rate on 6990s(can't do it with any other applications either.)

what driver version do you use and what is the cards' manufacturer ? I am pretty sure other people did not have this problem.
Sapphire 6990, using 11.8 drivers. I should clarify though, the tool will let me set any clock speed I want, and the memory clock will show at that rate when I run with -o switch. I did a quick test to prove that the clock rates being shown were inaccurate and I would like someone else with 6990s to confirm my results.

Test 1
1 6990 core running at 830/1275, 100% fan, stock clocks, mining for 5 min
Max temp 74c

Test 2
1 6990 core running at 830/705, 100% fan, mining for 5 minutes
Max temp 70c

Test 3
1 6990 core running at 830/704(according to clocktweak), 100% fan, mining for 5 minutes
Max temp 74c

This is actually a pretty well known issue with 6990s and it appears to be a bios limitation. Any mem clock 126mhz or more below core will automatically set mem clock back to stock speed. I was hoping maybe you had figured a way around it.




I have a HIS 6990 running at 900/300 working just fine, (watercooled)  using 11.8 drivers


Have you confirmed those speeds are accurate? I can set my clocks to 900/300 as well but my test proves the settings did not actually take.

confirmed speed with clocktweak and GPUz.
I know GPUz is a reliable app.
I can confirm my settings as well... Problem is, the clock readings are inaccurate. Can you run my test or something similar? Try running at 900/1275, 900/800, and 900/300 and let us know your temps. I suspect your 900/300 temps will be no different than your 900/1275 temps. If it's the same across all 3 settings then water-cooling is masking the issue. I also challenge anyone who thinks they have significantly downclocked their memory on 6990s without a bios flash to run through my test.

GPU-Z is / was rumored for having a bug in displaying memory clocks on some systems (repost somewhere earlier in this thread).

CrazyBlane's method is good for checking. Wattmeter might also help.

Well my system is running fine at the moment...
so don't want to mess with it.

this weekend i'll take a look. i do have a wattmeter.. however the wattage jumps around a bit with 5 cards so not sure how it will help.
I have a quad 120mm rad for the 6990 and i want to figure out how many fans i can shut down before my temps rise to much anyways.
MadHacker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
September 09, 2011, 01:51:00 AM
 #320

Awesome tool. Unfortunately, I cannot lower the mem clock more than 125mhz lower than the clock rate on 6990s(can't do it with any other applications either.)

what driver version do you use and what is the cards' manufacturer ? I am pretty sure other people did not have this problem.
Sapphire 6990, using 11.8 drivers. I should clarify though, the tool will let me set any clock speed I want, and the memory clock will show at that rate when I run with -o switch. I did a quick test to prove that the clock rates being shown were inaccurate and I would like someone else with 6990s to confirm my results.

Test 1
1 6990 core running at 830/1275, 100% fan, stock clocks, mining for 5 min
Max temp 74c

Test 2
1 6990 core running at 830/705, 100% fan, mining for 5 minutes
Max temp 70c

Test 3
1 6990 core running at 830/704(according to clocktweak), 100% fan, mining for 5 minutes
Max temp 74c

This is actually a pretty well known issue with 6990s and it appears to be a bios limitation. Any mem clock 126mhz or more below core will automatically set mem clock back to stock speed. I was hoping maybe you had figured a way around it.




I have a HIS 6990 running at 900/300 working just fine, (watercooled)  using 11.8 drivers


Have you confirmed those speeds are accurate? I can set my clocks to 900/300 as well but my test proves the settings did not actually take.

confirmed speed with clocktweak and GPUz.
I know GPUz is a reliable app.
I can confirm my settings as well... Problem is, the clock readings are inaccurate. Can you run my test or something similar? Try running at 900/1275, 900/800, and 900/300 and let us know your temps. I suspect your 900/300 temps will be no different than your 900/1275 temps. If it's the same across all 3 settings then water-cooling is masking the issue. I also challenge anyone who thinks they have significantly downclocked their memory on 6990s without a bios flash to run through my test.

GPU-Z is / was rumored for having a bug in displaying memory clocks on some systems (repost somewhere earlier in this thread).

CrazyBlane's method is good for checking. Wattmeter might also help.

Well my system is running fine at the moment...
so don't want to mess with it.

this weekend i'll take a look. i do have a wattmeter.. however the wattage jumps around a bit with 5 cards so not sure how it will help.
I have a quad 120mm rad for the 6990 and i want to figure out how many fans i can shut down before my temps rise to much anyways.


OK i was wrong.. I admit it.
GPUz does show my memory speeds at full speed 1250mhz
that sux.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!