Bitcoin Forum
April 26, 2024, 10:46:55 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 [173] 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [LOCKED] cpuminer-opt v3.12.3, open source optimized multi-algo CPU miner  (Read 443960 times)
Nokedli
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 23, 2018, 10:14:10 PM
 #3441

still Segmentation fault
same error with other wallet
Even in the event that an attacker gains more than 50% of the network's computational power, only transactions sent by the attacker could be reversed or double-spent. The network would not be destroyed.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
joblo (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1114


View Profile
February 23, 2018, 10:23:13 PM
 #3442

still Segmentation fault
same error with other wallet

If it crashes with BLOCK_VERSION_CURRENT 3 and std_longpoll_rpc_call from 3.8.2 I'm stumped.

AKA JayDDee, cpuminer-opt developer. https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5226770.msg53865575#msg53865575
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
February 23, 2018, 10:31:40 PM
 #3443

The API changes were a request, but it seems the old way was preferred. I'll revert the change
if the majority want.

Edit: there are more changes to the API coming, adding solved block count.

actually the requester on github was talking about what i mentioned above: use H/s in addition to KH/s

Quote
Could you modify api.c to also include hashes/sec?
Quote
159 "ALGO=%s;CPUS=%d;URL=%s;KHS=%.2f;HS=%.2f;ACC=%d;REJ=%d;"
163 algo, opt_n_threads, short_url, (double)global_hashrate / 1000.0, (double)global_hashrate,
Nokedli
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 23, 2018, 10:34:52 PM
 #3444

still Segmentation fault
same error with other wallet

If it crashes with BLOCK_VERSION_CURRENT 3 and std_longpoll_rpc_call from 3.8.2 I'm stumped.

git + 2 patch, no build modification
http://prntscr.com/iixh31
joblo (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1114


View Profile
February 23, 2018, 10:59:24 PM
 #3445

still Segmentation fault
same error with other wallet

If it crashes with BLOCK_VERSION_CURRENT 3 and std_longpoll_rpc_call from 3.8.2 I'm stumped.

git + 2 patch, no build modification
http://prntscr.com/iixh31

Ok, undo those changes, start fresh and make the following change to std_get_new_work:

Code:
       if ( ( memcmp( work->data, g_work->data, algo_gate.work_cmp_size )
              && clean_job )
          || ( *nonceptr >= *end_nonce_ptr )
del:      || ( !opt_benchmark && strcmp( work->job_id, g_work->job_id ) ) )
add:      || ( have_stratum && strcmp( work->job_id, g_work->job_id ) ) )
       {


AKA JayDDee, cpuminer-opt developer. https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5226770.msg53865575#msg53865575
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
joblo (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1114


View Profile
February 23, 2018, 11:02:10 PM
 #3446

The API changes were a request, but it seems the old way was preferred. I'll revert the change
if the majority want.

Edit: there are more changes to the API coming, adding solved block count.

actually the requester on github was talking about what i mentioned above: use H/s in addition to KH/s

Quote
Could you modify api.c to also include hashes/sec?
Quote
159 "ALGO=%s;CPUS=%d;URL=%s;KHS=%.2f;HS=%.2f;ACC=%d;REJ=%d;"
163 algo, opt_n_threads, short_url, (double)global_hashrate / 1000.0, (double)global_hashrate,

It doesn't make sense to me to put both but if that's what people want I'll do it. I'd like some
opinions from other users.

AKA JayDDee, cpuminer-opt developer. https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5226770.msg53865575#msg53865575
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
Nokedli
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 23, 2018, 11:05:05 PM
 #3447

still Segmentation fault
same error with other wallet

If it crashes with BLOCK_VERSION_CURRENT 3 and std_longpoll_rpc_call from 3.8.2 I'm stumped.

git + 2 patch, no build modification
http://prntscr.com/iixh31

Ok, undo those changes, start fresh and make the following change to std_get_new_work:

Code:
       if ( ( memcmp( work->data, g_work->data, algo_gate.work_cmp_size )
              && clean_job )
          || ( *nonceptr >= *end_nonce_ptr )
del:      || ( !opt_benchmark && strcmp( work->job_id, g_work->job_id ) ) )
add:      || ( have_stratum && strcmp( work->job_id, g_work->job_id ) ) )
       {




http://prntscr.com/iixtyv
joblo (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1114


View Profile
February 23, 2018, 11:15:38 PM
Last edit: February 24, 2018, 02:07:11 AM by joblo
 #3448

still Segmentation fault
same error with other wallet

If it crashes with BLOCK_VERSION_CURRENT 3 and std_longpoll_rpc_call from 3.8.2 I'm stumped.

git + 2 patch, no build modification
http://prntscr.com/iixh31

Ok, undo those changes, start fresh and make the following change to std_get_new_work:

Code:
       if ( ( memcmp( work->data, g_work->data, algo_gate.work_cmp_size )
              && clean_job )
          || ( *nonceptr >= *end_nonce_ptr )
del:      || ( !opt_benchmark && strcmp( work->job_id, g_work->job_id ) ) )
add:      || ( have_stratum && strcmp( work->job_id, g_work->job_id ) ) )
       {




http://prntscr.com/iixtyv

One more shot in the dark, replace std_get_new_work with the old version.

If that doesn't work apply all patches above: replace std_get_new_work and
std_longpoll_rpc_call with old versions, and #define BLOCK_VERSION_CURRENT 3
as per old version.

Ater that I'm really stuck.

Edit: This is really strange. I need you to confirm the previous version still works.

I've reviewed the changes I made. There were none to yescrypt but many other algos
were changed.

I made a few changes to common code:

Increasing the block version count, reverting did not help.

Removing getwork code from longpoll. This was my first suspect if my assumption that
getwork doesn't use longpoll. But reversing that change did not help either.

I made a change to how new work is detected to fix an issue with super-fast algos. But
reversing that didn't fix it either.

I made a change to how shares are detected but that only applies when a solution is found.

The last change was to the API which also doesn't apply.

I'm at a loss to explain it.
some getwork code from longpoll

AKA JayDDee, cpuminer-opt developer. https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5226770.msg53865575#msg53865575
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
February 23, 2018, 11:23:18 PM
 #3449

It doesn't make sense to me to put both but if that's what people want I'll do it. I'd like some
opinions from other users.

keep KH/s for backwards compatibility that is
joblo (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1114


View Profile
February 23, 2018, 11:49:50 PM
 #3450

It doesn't make sense to me to put both but if that's what people want I'll do it. I'd like some
opinions from other users.

keep KH/s for backwards compatibility that is

Given that another API change is coming is it worth it to reintroduce kH/s or just take
the compatibility hit for both and get it over with?

AKA JayDDee, cpuminer-opt developer. https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5226770.msg53865575#msg53865575
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
February 24, 2018, 12:01:47 AM
 #3451

my personal choice would be to keep the api backwards compatible and just add stuff to it as cpuminer-opt/cpuminer-multi is widely used

if you feel stuff is not needed anymore just mark it deprecated and remove it at a later stage/version, however i don't see the need to remove the KH/s, it's not like it's a million extra bytes, just some few chars
joblo (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1114


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 02:26:11 AM
 #3452

my personal choice would be to keep the api backwards compatible and just add stuff to it as cpuminer-opt/cpuminer-multi is widely used

if you feel stuff is not needed anymore just mark it deprecated and remove it at a later stage/version, however i don't see the need to remove the KH/s, it's not like it's a million extra bytes, just some few chars

That's ok with me. If there are no objections I'll include it in another bug fix release if the yescrypt/getwork issue
can be solved. I can also include the solution count in the API, it's already coded so it's more work to remove it.

AKA JayDDee, cpuminer-opt developer. https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5226770.msg53865575#msg53865575
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
jperser
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51
Merit: 5


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 05:22:10 AM
 #3453

The API changes were a request, but it seems the old way was preferred. I'll revert the change
if the majority want.

Edit: there are more changes to the API coming, adding solved block count.

I need hashes per second for some of my miners.  I had to modify cpuminer-opt every time a new version comes out.  Here is the output of my modified API looks like:

Code:
 NAME=cpuminer-opt;VER=3.8.2.1;API=1.0;ALGO=scrypt;CPUS=4;URL=pool-us.bloxstor.com:3002;
KHS=0.01;HS=14.02;ACC=2;REJ=0;ACCMN=0.239;DIFF=0.019401;TEMP=39.9;FAN=0;FREQ=0;
UPTIME=503;TS=1519448273|

The current KHS tag doesn't give me enough resolution, so I added HS.  Auto-scaling will break poor coding.  Adding this extra tag will also break poor coding (i.e. if Awesome Miner reports the temperature is 0.019401).  I assume that the programmers at Awesome Miner know to read the tags, not count the ";".  My watchdog code reads all the tags and understands THS, GHS, MHS, KHS, and HS.  My code tracks the lowest non-zero value, then displays it in Engineering notation.

Either dynamic scaling or multiple tags will work for me.  I have seen multiple tags on another miner, that is why I adopted it.  I stopped using Awesome Miner because its limitations (but that is a subject for a different thread).


HORIZEN ►►► Bringing Privacy To Life | https://horizen.global/
joblo (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1114


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 06:25:21 AM
 #3454

The API changes were a request, but it seems the old way was preferred. I'll revert the change
if the majority want.

Edit: there are more changes to the API coming, adding solved block count.

I need hashes per second for some of my miners.  I had to modify cpuminer-opt every time a new version comes out.  Here is the output of my modified API looks like:

Code:
 NAME=cpuminer-opt;VER=3.8.2.1;API=1.0;ALGO=scrypt;CPUS=4;URL=pool-us.bloxstor.com:3002;
KHS=0.01;HS=14.02;ACC=2;REJ=0;ACCMN=0.239;DIFF=0.019401;TEMP=39.9;FAN=0;FREQ=0;
UPTIME=503;TS=1519448273|

The current KHS tag doesn't give me enough resolution, so I added HS.  Auto-scaling will break poor coding.  Adding this extra tag will also break poor coding (i.e. if Awesome Miner reports the temperature is 0.019401).  I assume that the programmers at Awesome Miner know to read the tags, not count the ";".  My watchdog code reads all the tags and understands THS, GHS, MHS, KHS, and HS.  My code tracks the lowest non-zero value, then displays it in Engineering notation.

Either dynamic scaling or multiple tags will work for me.  I have seen multiple tags on another miner, that is why I adopted it.  I stopped using Awesome Miner because its limitations (but that is a subject for a different thread).



I don't like being bound to the legacy of others but I have a compromise proposal.

I can restore the kH/s term alongside the new scaled term for a conversion period to allow
mining managers to update their code to support scaled hash rate, then remove the
legacy kH/s permanently. This will ensure H/s is used when appropriate which satisfies
the feature request.

Any downside to this?

AKA JayDDee, cpuminer-opt developer. https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5226770.msg53865575#msg53865575
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
joblo (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1114


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 06:32:16 AM
 #3455

still Segmentation fault
same error with other wallet

If it crashes with BLOCK_VERSION_CURRENT 3 and std_longpoll_rpc_call from 3.8.2 I'm stumped.

git + 2 patch, no build modification
http://prntscr.com/iixh31

Ok, undo those changes, start fresh and make the following change to std_get_new_work:

Code:
       if ( ( memcmp( work->data, g_work->data, algo_gate.work_cmp_size )
              && clean_job )
          || ( *nonceptr >= *end_nonce_ptr )
del:      || ( !opt_benchmark && strcmp( work->job_id, g_work->job_id ) ) )
add:      || ( have_stratum && strcmp( work->job_id, g_work->job_id ) ) )
       {




http://prntscr.com/iixtyv

One more shot in the dark, replace std_get_new_work with the old version.

If that doesn't work apply all patches above: replace std_get_new_work and
std_longpoll_rpc_call with old versions, and #define BLOCK_VERSION_CURRENT 3
as per old version.

Ater that I'm really stuck.

Edit: This is really strange. I need you to confirm the previous version still works.

I've reviewed the changes I made. There were none to yescrypt but many other algos
were changed.

I made a few changes to common code:

Increasing the block version count, reverting did not help.

Removing getwork code from longpoll. This was my first suspect if my assumption that
getwork doesn't use longpoll. But reversing that change did not help either.

I made a change to how new work is detected to fix an issue with super-fast algos. But
reversing that didn't fix it either.

I made a change to how shares are detected but that only applies when a solution is found.

The last change was to the API which also doesn't apply.

I'm at a loss to explain it.
some getwork code from longpoll

This problem is bugging me, it defies logic. I'm beginning to suspect it may be an isolated issue.
If anyone else is solo mining with v3.8.3.1 using getwork or gbt please post your results, success
or failure, Please include the algo, your CPU, OS, any deveation from defaults and any relevant
console output.

AKA JayDDee, cpuminer-opt developer. https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5226770.msg53865575#msg53865575
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
4ward
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 473
Merit: 18


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 10:13:36 AM
 #3456

It doesn't make sense to me to put both but if that's what people want I'll do it. I'd like some
opinions from other users.

keep KH/s for backwards compatibility that is

Given that another API change is coming is it worth it to reintroduce kH/s or just take
the compatibility hit for both and get it over with?

Current api is compatible with Ccminer, so I think changing it would break compatibility with many tools that people may use

If you are reworking the api, then perhaps keeping existing one and activating it with a switch would be the "safe" way,
but it would introduce additional code which I'm not sure you want to maintain.

Perhaps set a cutoff date of when the old API will be discontinued?

I personally mine on my own fork of MegaMiner (https://github.com/yuzi-co/Megaminer) and changing the api is easy for me.


On a sidenote, the feature I would love to see would be continuous hash rate reporting, not only when a share is found (which can take a while on some algos with current),
but reporting it continuously

felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
February 24, 2018, 11:16:21 AM
Last edit: February 24, 2018, 11:46:37 AM by felixbrucker
 #3457


Any downside to this?


i use H/s as often as possible and just format it into the appropriate unit on display. A change to not always use H/s and remove KH/s (after some time) will require some conversion to bring it down to H/s first, push it through the app and finally convert it back to whatever is the appropriate format. It wont be a large overhead in programming but it will be unnecessary. I do not know of any app using the api returned hashrate just as is, it wouldn't make sense.

This is how i currently extract data from api:

Code:
  const result = {
accepted: parseFloat(obj.ACC),
acceptedPerMinute: parseFloat(obj.ACCMN),
algorithm: obj.ALGO,
difficulty: parseFloat(obj.DIFF),
hashrate: parseFloat(obj.KHS) * 1000,
miner: `${obj.NAME} ${obj.VER}`,
rejected: parseFloat(obj.REJ),
uptime: obj.UPTIME,
cpus: parseFloat(obj.CPUS),
temperature: parseFloat(obj.TEMP),
  };

this would need to change to this:

Code:
  const units = [
{key: 'PH/s', factor: 5},
{key: 'TH/s', factor: 4},
{key: 'GH/s', factor: 3},
{key: 'MH/s', factor: 2},
{key: 'KH/s', factor: 1},
{key: 'H/s', factor: 0},
  ];
  const unit = units.find(currUnit => obj[currUnit.key]);
  let hashrate = 0;
  if (unit) {
hashrate = parseFloat(obj[unit.key]) * (Math.pow(1000, unit.factor));
  }
  const result = {
accepted: parseFloat(obj.ACC),
acceptedPerMinute: parseFloat(obj.ACCMN),
algorithm: obj.ALGO,
difficulty: parseFloat(obj.DIFF),
hashrate,
miner: `${obj.NAME} ${obj.VER}`,
rejected: parseFloat(obj.REJ),
uptime: obj.UPTIME,
cpus: parseFloat(obj.CPUS),
temperature: parseFloat(obj.TEMP),
  };

With H/s always present it would be just like the first example except i do not need to do
Code:
* 1000

I hope this explains it
Nokedli
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 11:28:54 AM
Last edit: February 24, 2018, 12:47:08 PM by Nokedli
 #3458

still Segmentation fault
same error with other wallet

If it crashes with BLOCK_VERSION_CURRENT 3 and std_longpoll_rpc_call from 3.8.2 I'm stumped.

git + 2 patch, no build modification
http://prntscr.com/iixh31

Ok, undo those changes, start fresh and make the following change to std_get_new_work:

Code:
       if ( ( memcmp( work->data, g_work->data, algo_gate.work_cmp_size )
              && clean_job )
          || ( *nonceptr >= *end_nonce_ptr )
del:      || ( !opt_benchmark && strcmp( work->job_id, g_work->job_id ) ) )
add:      || ( have_stratum && strcmp( work->job_id, g_work->job_id ) ) )
       {




http://prntscr.com/iixtyv

One more shot in the dark, replace std_get_new_work with the old version.

If that doesn't work apply all patches above: replace std_get_new_work and
std_longpoll_rpc_call with old versions, and #define BLOCK_VERSION_CURRENT 3
as per old version.

Ater that I'm really stuck.

Edit: This is really strange. I need you to confirm the previous version still works.

I've reviewed the changes I made. There were none to yescrypt but many other algos
were changed.

I made a few changes to common code:

Increasing the block version count, reverting did not help.

Removing getwork code from longpoll. This was my first suspect if my assumption that
getwork doesn't use longpoll. But reversing that change did not help either.

I made a change to how new work is detected to fix an issue with super-fast algos. But
reversing that didn't fix it either.

I made a change to how shares are detected but that only applies when a solution is found.

The last change was to the API which also doesn't apply.

I'm at a loss to explain it.
some getwork code from longpoll

This problem is bugging me, it defies logic. I'm beginning to suspect it may be an isolated issue.
If anyone else is solo mining with v3.8.3.1 using getwork or gbt please post your results, success
or failure, Please include the algo, your CPU, OS, any deveation from defaults and any relevant
console output.

http://prntscr.com/ij3bkh
http://prntscr.com/ij3flq
windows 10 local wallet
3.8.2.1 -> http://prntscr.com/ij3qkp

interzone/c11 simply crashed -> 3.8.2.1 http://prntscr.com/ij3pma
BWK/nist5 also crashed -> 3.8.2.1 http://prntscr.com/ij3ou2
Solaris/xevan http://prntscr.com/ij3lnl -> 3.8.2.1 http://prntscr.com/ij3nmc
UTC/scryptjane:14 http://prntscr.com/ij3zoo -> 3.8.2.1 http://prntscr.com/ij40du
on localhost / win 10
Amstellodamois
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 11:42:10 AM
 #3459

Is there a page of the thread presenting benchmarks?
(Wondering what a really shitty CPU would do - like a G4400)
joblo (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1114


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 03:38:41 PM
Last edit: February 24, 2018, 04:38:07 PM by joblo
 #3460


http://prntscr.com/ij3bkh
http://prntscr.com/ij3flq
windows 10 local wallet
3.8.2.1 -> http://prntscr.com/ij3qkp

interzone/c11 simply crashed -> 3.8.2.1 http://prntscr.com/ij3pma
BWK/nist5 also crashed -> 3.8.2.1 http://prntscr.com/ij3ou2
Solaris/xevan http://prntscr.com/ij3lnl -> 3.8.2.1 http://prntscr.com/ij3nmc
UTC/scryptjane:14 http://prntscr.com/ij3zoo -> 3.8.2.1 http://prntscr.com/ij40du
on localhost / win 10

Excellent data, it wil take some time to analyze it.

Edit: I have an initial question about this data that will affect the bug fix release.
You initially reported that yescryptr16 crashed but this shows that it was hashing
and submitting rejects. Were both of these tests with the same code? I need to know
if v3.8.3.1 can hash or if it crashes before starting to hash.

AKA JayDDee, cpuminer-opt developer. https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5226770.msg53865575#msg53865575
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
Pages: « 1 ... 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 [173] 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!