Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 02:28:35 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 [145] 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 ... 226 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1200 TH] EMC: 0 Fee DGM. Anonymous PPS. US & EU servers. No Registration!  (Read 461527 times)
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 13, 2012, 02:11:45 AM
 #2881

Well my BFL permanently died yesterday, so I've only been able to switch 2xIcarus to it to see what happens - so yeah with a U of ~1 a minute it may take a while to see how it's going Smiley

Edit: heh interesting - of course it's now looking for 1999.... or less

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
1481164115
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481164115

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481164115
Reply with quote  #2

1481164115
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481164115
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481164115

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481164115
Reply with quote  #2

1481164115
Report to moderator
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
August 13, 2012, 02:50:36 AM
 #2882

So it occurred to me that a higher difficulty might affect intensity settings in cgminer. 

How does a diff10 setting affect what your intensity should be set to?  Lets say you have a 5970 at 800 MH/s... I9 is about right for that, but if it's diff 10 is that going to screw you?

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
JayCoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


Crypt'n Since 2011


View Profile WWW
August 13, 2012, 02:59:49 AM
 #2883

So it occurred to me that a higher difficulty might affect intensity settings in cgminer. 

How does a diff10 setting affect what your intensity should be set to?  Lets say you have a 5970 at 800 MH/s... I9 is about right for that, but if it's diff 10 is that going to screw you?


When I ran p2pool with testing different share difficulties, Hashrates stayed consistant on cgminer with the same intensity setting.

Hello There!
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
August 13, 2012, 03:07:27 AM
 #2884

Yeah, hashrates will stay the same, but will it increase your stales is the question, since, if cgminer was actually doing a diff 10 nonce, you wouldn't make it all the way through.  However, as Kano has said, I guess cgminer is actually going through diff 1 nonce and taking the diff 10 shares and submitting them.  Makes perfect sense, so perhaps it doesn't matter.

It sure blows your U and /m out of the water though.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
wogaut
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
August 13, 2012, 04:00:41 AM
 #2885

Inaba,

I just noticed, I'm one of your diff10 testers  Wink

I see how U can be higher with diff10, but overall I'm not sure why it wouldn't take longer to find a valid block at diff-10 instead diff-1.
Can you elaborate?


kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 13, 2012, 04:24:47 AM
 #2886

Inaba,

I just noticed, I'm one of your diff10 testers  Wink

I see how U can be higher with diff10, but overall I'm not sure why it wouldn't take longer to find a valid block at diff-10 instead diff-1.
Can you elaborate?


The time to find a block is dependent on the pool hash rate trying to find it.

Though ... I guess I should have asked if the 10diff shares are part of the same pool or not Smiley


Anyway, surprise! The BFL was dead due to USB issues ... and ... it's alive (after relegating my Icarus down to the garage and playing with USB cables for half an hour with the BFL)
OK all my hashing going to EMC 10diff now (2 rigs) to see how it goes for a while Smiley

I get multiple LP messages each LP but other than that it seems all OK
(I presume EMC does the LP like that normally?)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
August 13, 2012, 04:28:15 AM
 #2887

I'm not sure if I understand what you're asking, but I'll try to answer it:

It won't take longer to find a valid block because the real difficulty is over 2 million, so whether or not you find a diff1 or diff10 (or diff1000) share won't make any difference to how often you'll find a 2 million difficulty block.  The only reason we do difficulty 1 blocks is to make accounting simple for slower miners.  Back before GPU mining and even during the era of GPU mining, if you were trying to solve a > difficulty 1 block, it's entirely possible you would not get a single share before a LP invalidated your work, so you'd get no credit.  Moving to the lower possible difficulty lets everyone from the slowest to the fastest an equal chance of submitting a share and getting credit for it.

Anyway, there seems to be something wrong with the diff10 calculations and would have ended up overpaying a few people.  I've disabled diff10 shares for the night.  I will take a look at it tomorrow when I'm not so tired and poke at it some more.  The server is still up and running, just serving diff1 shares now.  No need to change anything for anyone who's changed over.


If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
August 13, 2012, 04:30:58 AM
 #2888

Inaba,

I just noticed, I'm one of your diff10 testers  Wink

I see how U can be higher with diff10, but overall I'm not sure why it wouldn't take longer to find a valid block at diff-10 instead diff-1.
Can you elaborate?


The time to find a block is dependent on the pool hash rate trying to find it.

Though ... I guess I should have asked if the 10diff shares are part of the same pool or not Smiley


Anyway, surprise! The BFL was dead due to USB issues ... and ... it's alive (after relegating my Icarus down to the garage and playing with USB cables for half an hour with the BFL)
OK all my hashing going to EMC 10diff now (2 rigs) to see how it goes for a while Smiley

I get multiple LP messages each LP but other than that it seems all OK
(I presume EMC does the LP like that normally?)

Hah sorry Kano... something is slightly wrong with the DGM formula for 10diff and I'm way too tired to try to wrap my brain around what that might be.  I will have 10diff back tomorrow when I get a chance to look closer at it.

As for the LP, are you sure you're not connecting to both EMC servers, one as a backup or anything?  That would give you two of the same LP, no?  I'm not seeing multiple LPs with the same block on this end? 

Although now that I think about it, it could be cause I was working on the server and when I restart it, it sends the LPs out again in case it missed anyone during the time it went down and restarted.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 13, 2012, 04:54:44 AM
 #2889

Well ... actually I have 10 pools in the list (now) - but I have the default pool mode, failover, so only mining on pool 0 most of the time
(except when failing over)

I simply just added the 10diff one to my pool list, restarted and switched to it.
But yeah the other 2 EMC Pools are in the list - but I'd not expect them to be sending me any info

Next time I'll try with some debug/protocol debug on and see what the messages I was getting actually were

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Gladamas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


Bitcoin today is what the internet was in 1998.


View Profile
August 13, 2012, 06:25:45 AM
 #2890

Inaba, would it be possible for the user to set a custom difficulty for their miners on the website? It would be nice, with the ASICs coming out, to be able to set your own difficulty depending on what hardware you have.

Thanks!

1GLADMZ5tL4HkS6BAWPfJLeZJCDHAd9Fr3 - LQ6Zx8v7fHVBiDX5Lmhbp6oEDB7dUFjANu
GPG 0xF219D5BB3C467E12 - Litecoin Forum
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
August 13, 2012, 01:26:17 PM
 #2891

Something like that is  in the works Gladamas. I wanted to get the DGM stuff working properly before I move on to more than one difficulty.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
wogaut
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
August 13, 2012, 05:26:19 PM
 #2892

I'm not sure if I understand what you're asking, but I'll try to answer it:

It won't take longer to find a valid block because the real difficulty is over 2 million, so whether or not you find a diff1 or diff10 (or diff1000) share won't make any difference to how often you'll find a 2 million difficulty block.  The only reason we do difficulty 1 blocks is to make accounting simple for slower miners.  Back before GPU mining and even during the era of GPU mining, if you were trying to solve a > difficulty 1 block, it's entirely possible you would not get a single share before a LP invalidated your work, so you'd get no credit.  Moving to the lower possible difficulty lets everyone from the slowest to the fastest an equal chance of submitting a share and getting credit for it.

Anyway, there seems to be something wrong with the diff10 calculations and would have ended up overpaying a few people.  I've disabled diff10 shares for the night.  I will take a look at it tomorrow when I'm not so tired and poke at it some more.  The server is still up and running, just serving diff1 shares now.  No need to change anything for anyone who's changed over.

Inaba,

thank you, that answered my question.

Wolfgang

nedbert9
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252

Inactive


View Profile
August 13, 2012, 05:43:40 PM
 #2893

DobZombie: Send me a PM with your pool name and I can take a look.

On another note:

For you faster miners out there, I would like to request that you guys help me out testing the new Difficulty 10 server.  http://diff10.eclipsemc.com:8337  ... everything is the same, it's just a new hostname.  That server will be spitting out Difficulty 10 shares.  It seems to be working fine in my internal testing, but I would like to get some more miners on it and see how it goes.

I don't recommend it for slower miners though, as you may end up with more stales than usual.



on diff10 for now.
Gladamas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


Bitcoin today is what the internet was in 1998.


View Profile
August 13, 2012, 07:01:40 PM
 #2894

Something like that is  in the works Gladamas. I wanted to get the DGM stuff working properly before I move on to more than one difficulty.

Thank you, no problem, and no rush at all. I was just curious if that was possible Smiley

1GLADMZ5tL4HkS6BAWPfJLeZJCDHAd9Fr3 - LQ6Zx8v7fHVBiDX5Lmhbp6oEDB7dUFjANu
GPG 0xF219D5BB3C467E12 - Litecoin Forum
stoppots
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 271


View Profile
August 13, 2012, 07:45:21 PM
 #2895

freakin whammies, go plague some other pool  Angry
evanesce
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 127



View Profile
August 13, 2012, 09:00:43 PM
 #2896

We having some awful bad luck this round!

Edit: for future reference this was for block 193760 which took almost 12 hours at a 0.32% luck score... all that for my ~BTC0.03 heh
bogidu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69


View Profile
August 13, 2012, 09:57:59 PM
 #2897

this is the round that never ends. . . .  it just goes on and on my friend. . . .  .*sigh*
stick_theman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 372


View Profile
August 13, 2012, 10:00:51 PM
 #2898

Hang on tight, men!  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQzUl7DB3Nw
evanesce
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 127



View Profile
August 13, 2012, 10:01:10 PM
 #2899

this is the round that never ends. . . .  it just goes on and on my friend. . . .  .*sigh*
Finally LOL
stoppots
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 271


View Profile
August 13, 2012, 10:18:56 PM
 #2900

common now no more whammies
Pages: « 1 ... 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 [145] 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 ... 226 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!