Bitcoin Forum
February 21, 2020, 10:14:06 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 »
  Print  
Author Topic: excavator by NiceHash - multi-algorithm NVIDIA GPU miner [1.5.6a]  (Read 178651 times)
fr4nkthetank
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834
Merit: 1021


Now the money is free, and so the people will be


View Profile WWW
July 08, 2017, 03:03:50 AM
 #801

no its not spam, I was implying its gained enough traction to warrant its own thread.  its like a compliment in a way  Cool

1582280046
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582280046

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582280046
Reply with quote  #2

1582280046
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1582280046
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582280046

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582280046
Reply with quote  #2

1582280046
Report to moderator
1582280046
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1582280046

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1582280046
Reply with quote  #2

1582280046
Report to moderator
chaxshet
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 08, 2017, 04:20:42 AM
 #802

Hi,
I'm new in using excavator. Im just curious if there is a settings in increasing/decreasing intensity of algo when dual mining?(in claymore +/-)
I'm using only one GTX 1060 for this.
Because when Im doing dual with ETH-SIA, eth hashrate drops from 22.xxMH/s in solo into 10.xx MH/s.
My current config in dual mining:
Code:
[
{"time":0,"commands":[
{"id":1,"method":"algorithm.add","params":["daggerhashimoto","daggerhashimoto.eu.nicehash.com:3353","3Pxy58DuUHYsCvUAKkA8Lg7CiYmtmo3Yns.gpurig1"]},
{"id":2,"method":"algorithm.add","params":["sia","sia.eu.nicehash.com:3360","3Pxy58DuUHYsCvUAKkA8Lg7CiYmtmo3Yns.gpurig1"]}
]},
{"time":3,"commands":[
{"id":1,"method":"worker.add","params":["0","0"]},
{"id":1,"method":"worker.add","params":["1","0"]}
]},
{"time":10,"loop":10,"commands":[
{"id":1,"method":"algorithm.print.speeds","params":[]}
]}
]

Another thing, how can you see your projected daily proifit? Because in using NH miner, there's an indication there.

Thanks!
Ginru
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 08, 2017, 06:56:20 AM
 #803

Hi for all. I'm trying to mining ETH with excavator on Ethermine or nanopool but then I push to "Start job" I get JSON errors. May be I'm doing something wrong?

Ethermine and nanopool not supported stratum protocol Excavator. Only NiceHash and Suprnova.cc.

hmmm and how it must be configured for supernova.cc? where I have to write Worker ID and PW?

you use job identifier as worker ID and you can set password in pools section
the next version of the GUI will have some of those fields renamed for easier setup for suprnova

I hope this screenshot helps a little
http://i.imgur.com/2D6AYDR.png

ok, thx its work. So its work only on nicehash and suprnova? Sad

I think it mostly depends on the algorithm that you are using, are you running daggerhashimoto?
can you tell me pools for daggerhashimoto and Equihash?
sandinthebones
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 538
Merit: 321



View Profile
July 08, 2017, 08:12:19 AM
 #804

and now with crowd - linux linux linux !!! Smiley
cTnko
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 08, 2017, 08:27:24 AM
Last edit: July 08, 2017, 10:52:44 AM by cTnko
 #805

no its not spam, I was implying its gained enough traction to warrant its own thread.  its like a compliment in a way  Cool

Thank you, that's very sweet to say :-)

@Ginru
For daggerhashimoto only nicehash and suprnova are supported (for now).
For equihash i think all pools are supported (i personally use zcash.flypool.org) and it has been working very well for me.

Edit:
I created a thread that will cover just the Excavator GUI - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2009353
This should free up this thread from GUI related questions.

I also released a new version of the GUI (again, most changes were requested by either users here or through github ticket system).
Enjoy!

Code:
08.07.2017 @ 0.4
- Added Settings section
- Added "Start Excavator GUI on Windows Startup" functionality (disabled by default)
- Excavator console & file logging levels are now configurable in the GUI
- Excavator AMD support is now configurable in the GUI (disabled by default)
- Backup Pool threshold is now configurable (15-300 seconds)
- Job share counters will now reset only when necessary
- AMD Support disabled by default (Can be enabled in Settings section)
- Adjusted some input fields to allow more clearer setup for suprnova
Subw
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 08, 2017, 11:02:19 AM
 #806

and now with crowd - linux linux linux !!! Smiley

it's ridiculous how things changed over last years, once free open source miners now replaced with closed, fee based miners released for windows and on top of it now we should beg for linux releases. sad...
laik2
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 632
Merit: 266



View Profile WWW
July 08, 2017, 01:59:44 PM
 #807

and now with crowd - linux linux linux !!! Smiley

it's ridiculous how things changed over last years, once free open source miners now replaced with closed, fee based miners released for windows and on top of it now we should beg for linux releases. sad...
Sad part here is not that, sad part is that we as miners make no contributions to open source developers and they prefer to write closed source miners or work for big companies who pay them to do so. The saddest part is actually even worse, even if someone tries to do something for the OSS community other developers who already switched to the "dark side" will either not help or will mislead the development process...

Miners Mining Platform [ MMP OS ] - https://app.mmpos.eu/
cTnko
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 08, 2017, 03:01:53 PM
Last edit: July 08, 2017, 03:14:21 PM by cTnko
 #808

@Subw
@laik2

Guys, please don't take this the wrong way, i mean this in the nicest way possible and this is just my 50 cents on the matter.

Have you done any long time open source or closed source development? I have done decent amounts of both.
And while i do really enjoy open source software, have you ever considered the downside of it?

When it comes to miners that are OSS, shady people like to create malicious builds that are distributed as malware (that's why so many miners are flagged as malicious in a lot of antiviruses).
Most OSS licenses allow devs to do pretty much anything they want with the code, which is prone to hostile forks of the code and development take-overs.
Imagine you were working actively on your OSS project for couple of months, you earn "funny" amount of funds every month from the donations (since people very rarely donate), then someone forks your code, add couple of features that you simply refuse to have for whatever reason unethical/malicious/dangerous.. etc, suddenly no one cares about your project even though you did all the heavy lifting.
This is also the primary reason so many miners have an 1-2% dev fee (from statistical standpoint this is usually within a margin of error), if you are an active developer creating quality software, you will never get paid enough from donations, "that's why" so many developers are either hired by a company that values their skill and time, or the devs close the source and apply a fee to compensate.
Unless we are talking about a hobby project (which mining software usually isn't) you can't expect for the dev/s to invest hours and hours of development into a project and get "nothing" in return.

For example Excavator, is it the fastest miner currently out there? For some algorithms yes, for some not, but i still use it since all the features it packs outweigh the couple missed hashes.
Does it bother me that it is closed source? Not at all, it does what i need it to do and it does it well.

I would never bash a project for being closed source, are there OSS alternatives? Yes!
You can use whichever software you prefer, just don't expect for the code to magically appear, compile, test and get released, time is the most valuable thing you have and that's what every software has in its heart, a lof of man-hours.

Like i said, this is my 50 cents on the matter, both OSS and closed source development has its positives and negatives, for me personally, its the quality that matters the most.
zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 300


Miner Developer


View Profile
July 08, 2017, 03:34:19 PM
 #809

I have been bombarded with bug reports and requests for a Linux port...
I will get back to Linux as soon as I take care of critical bugs. I promise!

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
MarcusDe
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 789
Merit: 503



View Profile WWW
July 09, 2017, 08:58:37 AM
 #810

@cTnko:

Please could you make your own thread of GUI add-on?
Don't get me wrong, maybe it is great piece of code, but it's just add-on for people who are too lazy/too stupid to RTFM.
And of course it does not add any speed or other changes to excavator itself.

People, it is that hard to read API and make text file? :-D

Every time I look into this tread it's 10 posts from happy copy&paste noobs and wow! 1 post from excavator autors about software itself.


gctom
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 09, 2017, 11:24:18 AM
 #811

Nice work!

6x 1070 GTX each at 29MH/s no dual settings.
I get the same hashrate as with claymore. @+400Mem, 85% tdp.

My only issue is that it takes a few min to reach this speed and I fear that nicehash benchmark won't run long enough to use the top speed for the profit calculation  Undecided

npittas
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 09, 2017, 11:57:47 AM
 #812

Do I need to remove all VBios mods from my rx470s in order to use the miner? I would love to try the miner but I cannot re-flash 7 cards just to test the hashing rate... If there is another way please let me know.
zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 300


Miner Developer


View Profile
July 09, 2017, 12:25:38 PM
 #813

I suppose you could try excavator with one card first...
Also, I am still working on bugs for AMD cards, so I suggest you wait for Version 1.2.11a.

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
cTnko
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 09, 2017, 12:44:27 PM
 #814

@cTnko:

Please could you make your own thread of GUI add-on?
Don't get me wrong, maybe it is great piece of code, but it's just add-on for people who are too lazy/too stupid to RTFM.
And of course it does not add any speed or other changes to excavator itself.

People, it is that hard to read API and make text file? :-D

Every time I look into this tread it's 10 posts from happy copy&paste noobs and wow! 1 post from excavator autors about software itself.



The GUI has its own thread as i mentioned it couple posts back (so i wouldn't clutter the official miner thread).
And you are wrong about it being an addon, while it doesn't add any speed (seems that's all you care about), it does add quite a bit of extra functionality which utilize what Excavator API has to offer.
Not to mention quite a few features that you wouldn't be able to utilize at all with a .json config file or .bat configuration changes.

Calling people "too lazy/too stupid" to read the manual is just rude, especially considering you didn't "read the manual" for the GUI.
cryptouse
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 09, 2017, 05:03:57 PM
 #815

hi,
for first awesome project, but I have small problem
I got stable 140 Mh/s with ethereum but with zec I have only 1500 h/s any idea why ?
I have 6x 1060
cTnko
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 09, 2017, 06:26:44 PM
 #816

hi,
for first awesome project, but I have small problem
I got stable 140 Mh/s with ethereum but with zec I have only 1500 h/s any idea why ?
I have 6x 1060

Hi, are you using 2 workers per card (you have 6 cards, so 12 workers total), also did you overclock the core ?
MarcusDe
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 789
Merit: 503



View Profile WWW
July 09, 2017, 07:02:59 PM
 #817

@cTnko:

Please could you make your own thread of GUI add-on?
Don't get me wrong, maybe it is great piece of code, but it's just add-on for people who are too lazy/too stupid to RTFM.
And of course it does not add any speed or other changes to excavator itself.

People, it is that hard to read API and make text file? :-D

Every time I look into this tread it's 10 posts from happy copy&paste noobs and wow! 1 post from excavator autors about software itself.



The GUI has its own thread as i mentioned it couple posts back (so i wouldn't clutter the official miner thread).
And you are wrong about it being an addon, while it doesn't add any speed (seems that's all you care about), it does add quite a bit of extra functionality which utilize what Excavator API has to offer.
Not to mention quite a few features that you wouldn't be able to utilize at all with a .json config file or .bat configuration changes.

Calling people "too lazy/too stupid" to read the manual is just rude, especially considering you didn't "read the manual" for the GUI.

Oh well, if your GUI has its own thread then I'm sorry. Thank you, and good luck :-)

wallstreetwoods
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 09, 2017, 07:34:45 PM
 #818

Hi, I'm trying to run Excavator on one RX470, and keep getting the following error message, any thoughts?

[[2017-07-09 14:32:34.574823] [thread=0x00002bb0] [error]]

   Assertion failed: ReadPCI(topology.pcie.bus, 0, 0, 0x24, sizeof(config_registers_addr), &config_registers_addr) in openclhelp.cpp(283).
cryptouse
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 09, 2017, 10:14:04 PM
 #819

hi,
for first awesome project, but I have small problem
I got stable 140 Mh/s with ethereum but with zec I have only 1500 h/s any idea why ?
I have 6x 1060

Hi, are you using 2 workers per card (you have 6 cards, so 12 workers total), also did you overclock the core ?

hi, yes I have two workes and overcloked mem, but still I got the same speed, while overclocking did gave me a burst on eth it did not on equihash 
cTnko
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 09, 2017, 10:24:21 PM
 #820

hi,
for first awesome project, but I have small problem
I got stable 140 Mh/s with ethereum but with zec I have only 1500 h/s any idea why ?
I have 6x 1060

Hi, are you using 2 workers per card (you have 6 cards, so 12 workers total), also did you overclock the core ?

hi, yes I have two workes and overcloked mem, but still I got the same speed, while overclocking did gave me a burst on eth it did not on equihash 

Memory overclocking doesn't really do much for equihash, its the core speed that matters the most.
This might be a far fetched idea, but have you checked your P-State ? (you can do that with nvidia inspector).
What is the hashrate you expected from the cards that you have?
Friend of mine is running an overclocked 1060 with 100W tdp limit, it hashes around 270 h/s for him.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!