Bitcoin Forum
November 16, 2018, 07:36:18 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 [653] 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 ... 815 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2566766 times)
Duce
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 10, 2015, 04:56:32 AM
 #13041

Tell him to leave the entrances of his
house wide open while your at it man.

What has opening ports got to do with
not getting paid for share chain block
solves.

Simple, you run a Bitcoind just for your P2P Node, you never have any coins there so it is not at risk (8333). My comment about no peers covers 9333. 9332 if you want others to use your node for mining. My answer was only directed at the 0 peers as indicated. Now in the present condition, yes 0 peers could have been indicative of an increase in traffic saturating your connection which could cause an interrupt and thus you just lost all of your peers.

As I said, JB was probably on the right track for his answer. The port information is common knowledge in the P2P community but I put it out there in case he was not aware.
"Bitcoin: the cutting edge of begging technology." -- Giraffe.BTC
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542396978
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542396978

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542396978
Reply with quote  #2

1542396978
Report to moderator
1542396978
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542396978

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542396978
Reply with quote  #2

1542396978
Report to moderator
1542396978
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542396978

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542396978
Reply with quote  #2

1542396978
Report to moderator
MiningSev0
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205
Merit: 105

Old Account was Sev0 (it was hacked)


View Profile
July 10, 2015, 07:17:40 AM
 #13042

Hey Guys thank you for your good work.
A Friend of Mine is Running a p2pool node in his Server.
Since the Last 3 days we got every hour a short 'lost contact to bitcoind'-period is it beacuse of the blockchain spamming? Huh

It's realy frustrating...
Any ideas?

Meuh6879
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 10, 2015, 07:29:31 AM
 #13043

shutdown are regulary ... it's not a P2Pool issue but an restarting job like every hour with a job plan manager.

BEFORE (job plan manager restart every 1 hour)


AFTER (serverdoc survey and restart when needed)
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 10, 2015, 09:09:13 AM
 #13044


I've been mining on p2pool for well over a year without any problems.
Then came the hard upgrade and I've been having problems ever since Sad

I've upgraded to bitcoind to 0.10.2
I've upgraded to p2pool 14.0

BUT . . .

my local p2pool status says:

P2Pool: 11391 shares in chain (2750 verified/11391 total) Peers: 7 (1 incoming)
 Local: 4285GH/s in last 10.0 minutes Local dead on arrival: ~0.0% (0-1%) Expected time to share: 50.9 minutes
 Shares: 18 (0 orphan, 0 dead) Stale rate: ~0.0% (0-18%) Efficiency: ~112.5% (92-113%) Current payout: (0.0365)=0.0365 BTC
 Pool: 689TH/s Stale rate: 11.1% Expected time to block: 3.6 days


but it's WRONG

Coin Cadence says my payout is now zero, and that the Pool rate is 1.5PH/s

*** I deleted the data directory yesterday, either the shares download has failed, or it's taking forever ***
*** the local p2pool global pool rate started higher and has been slowly going down **
*** the local p2pool payout started low and has been going up, while the Coin Cadence payout has been doing the opposite, it started high and worked it's way down to zero! ***

suggestions?
What have I done to break it and how can I fix it?

ADVthaAnksNCE



(2750 verified/11391 total) once this is caught up you should see an improvement

Donate Bitcoin
1Mz7ZHxPhoH1ZK2yQvo62NdHvvsS2quhzc
Donate TRX
TB3WiLEj6iuSBU5tGUKyZkjB4vqrBDvoYM
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 10, 2015, 09:15:26 AM
 #13045

Hi all, having some trouble with my p2pool node.

After the BTCGuild shutdown I decided to play my own game and run my own p2pool node. Got it up and running (Linux), bitcoind is running, miners are connecting and finding shares at the expected rate, but even after a week online I still get "Current Payout=0" and no payments to the address.

Quick help would be appreciated, because others might be connecting to my node and it's one thing to waste my own hash, but worse to waste someone else's. Thanks in advance.
Wow BTCGuild a casualty of centralized pools. You are running 14.0. Whats you log look like when you run p2pool?

Here's a sample of the log:
2015-07-09 19:58:35.462721 P2Pool: 17388 shares in chain (17393 verified/17393 total) Peers: 6 (0 incoming)
2015-07-09 19:58:35.462788  Local: 0H/s in last 10.0 minutes Local dead on arrival: Huh Expected time to share: Huh
2015-07-09 19:58:35.462852  Shares: 6 (1 orphan, 1 dead) Stale rate: ~33.3% (9-71%) Efficiency: ~78.9% (35-107%) Current payout: (0.0000)=0.0000 BTC
2015-07-09 19:58:35.462925  Pool: 1641TH/s Stale rate: 15.5% Expected time to block: 1.5 days

This is after I took my hash off of it (I had 5 TH on it) which is why there is no hash, but you can see it found shares.

Startup string is:
run_p2pool.py --give-author 0.5 --net bitcoin -f 0.5 --address 1MyAddress

Check your bitcoin if you dont have a green bar with a check mark on the bottom of your bitcoin core wallet you need to port forward 8333(bitcoin) and 9332(p2pool) through your modem and let the ports through your firewall. There should be directions at bitcoin core website on how to run a full node.

Donate Bitcoin
1Mz7ZHxPhoH1ZK2yQvo62NdHvvsS2quhzc
Donate TRX
TB3WiLEj6iuSBU5tGUKyZkjB4vqrBDvoYM
MiningSev0
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205
Merit: 105

Old Account was Sev0 (it was hacked)


View Profile
July 10, 2015, 09:25:09 AM
 #13046

shutdown are regulary ... it's not a P2Pool issu but an restarting job like every hour with a job plan manager.

BEFORE (job plan manager restart every 1 hour)


AFTER (serverdoc survey and restart when needed)

But we didn't changed anything - only the Update to 14
Any sugesstions where to search?

Meuh6879
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 10, 2015, 10:00:43 AM
 #13047

But we didn't changed anything - only the Update to 14
Any sugesstions where to search?

the problem is not P2Pool ... it's the bitcoind or bitcoin core.
MiningSev0
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205
Merit: 105

Old Account was Sev0 (it was hacked)


View Profile
July 10, 2015, 11:53:15 AM
 #13048

But we didn't changed anything - only the Update to 14
Any sugesstions where to search?

the problem is not P2Pool ... it's the bitcoind or bitcoin core.
Ok, than everything i could Do is waiting  Shocked  Undecided
Or do you know a Workaround?

Meuh6879
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 10, 2015, 12:25:48 PM
 #13049

Request send now ... but this bug in since the 0.9.2  Undecided  Sad : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1116851.msg11840984#msg11840984
p3yot33at3r
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 11, 2015, 03:25:03 PM
 #13050

Another yummy block  Smiley

A proper one too, that contributes to the network. Unlike some other pools empty blocks........ Wink

A few more would be super nice.......
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
July 11, 2015, 03:46:10 PM
 #13051

OK I think I see the problem now. I actually was getting paid for the shares, and because I could not have bitcoind and bitcoin-qt open at the same time I couldn't see it. That problem was solved by installing an Electrum wallet on the machine that can be open with bitcoind.

I'm pretty sure you don't have to run bitcoind to use p2pool.  bitcoin-qt works just fine for that purpose.  At least that's how I did it when I was running p2pool on windows.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
notbatman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750
Merit: 1012



View Profile
July 11, 2015, 09:57:05 PM
 #13052

OK I think I see the problem now. I actually was getting paid for the shares, and because I could not have bitcoind and bitcoin-qt open at the same time I couldn't see it. That problem was solved by installing an Electrum wallet on the machine that can be open with bitcoind.

I'm pretty sure you don't have to run bitcoind to use p2pool.  bitcoin-qt works just fine for that purpose.  At least that's how I did it when I was running p2pool on windows.

M

You need to run bitcoind now, bitcoin-core no longer supports mining. It's located in the bitcoin\daemon directory.
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1360
Merit: 1000


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
July 11, 2015, 10:36:49 PM
 #13053

OK I think I see the problem now. I actually was getting paid for the shares, and because I could not have bitcoind and bitcoin-qt open at the same time I couldn't see it. That problem was solved by installing an Electrum wallet on the machine that can be open with bitcoind.

I'm pretty sure you don't have to run bitcoind to use p2pool.  bitcoin-qt works just fine for that purpose.  At least that's how I did it when I was running p2pool on windows.

M

You need to run bitcoind now, bitcoin-core no longer supports mining. It's located in the bitcoin\daemon directory.
Add
Code:
server=1
daemon=1
rpcuser=something
rpcpassword=somethingmore
to bitcoin.conf in %appdata%/bitcoin directory

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
Meuh6879
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 11, 2015, 10:57:40 PM
 #13054

... you reference to this ? http://bitcoin.stackexchange.com/questions/2640/p2pool-crashes-the-bitcoin-client

... 0.5.0 version of Bitcoin-QT ?

 Roll Eyes i can espect that developpers (of bitcoin) have solve this issue since a long time ...

no ? (it's a real and dumb question)
jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 818
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
July 12, 2015, 01:00:08 AM
 #13055



I had an issue like the above on my two p2pool nodes as well. It appears to be due to bitcoind getting overloaded from the stress test. I added this to my .bitcoin/bitcoin.conf file:

Code:
minrelaytxfee=0.0001
mintxfee=0.0001

After that, performance improved and the periodic bitcoind dropouts stopped.

I don't know what the threshold is for getting it to work. It's possible that 0.00005 or lower might work as well. Anyone want to play around with different values? I've got over 350 TH/s on my nodes, so I don't want to do anything with them that would cause unnecessary downtime.

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
squidicuz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 12, 2015, 05:35:07 AM
 #13056


I had an issue like the above on my two p2pool nodes as well. It appears to be due to bitcoind getting overloaded from the stress test. I added this to my .bitcoin/bitcoin.conf file:

Code:
minrelaytxfee=0.0001
mintxfee=0.0001

After that, performance improved and the periodic bitcoind dropouts stopped.

I don't know what the threshold is for getting it to work. It's possible that 0.00005 or lower might work as well. Anyone want to play around with different values? I've got over 350 TH/s on my nodes, so I don't want to do anything with them that would cause unnecessary downtime.

I am using a min relay fee of .12 mBTC at the moment, at least until this spam clears out.  A higher fee results in less transactions you are trying to mine with your node.  I guess your node was hanging due to the large mempool when doing getblocktemplate.

Anyone else that is still experiencing bitcoind hangouts, please try increasing your minrelaytxfee?
p3yot33at3r
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 12, 2015, 10:43:55 AM
 #13057


Code:
minrelaytxfee=0.0001
mintxfee=0.0001


What are the standard settings if nothing is specified in the .conf file? I read about changing these in a guide alse where, but it was a little dated so decided against it.

Edit: Aaaaand another block!!  Grin
Meuh6879
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 12, 2015, 11:22:32 AM
 #13058

I had an issue like the above on my two p2pool nodes as well. It appears to be due to bitcoind getting overloaded from the stress test. I added this to my .bitcoin/bitcoin.conf file:

Code:
minrelaytxfee=0.0001
mintxfee=0.0001

After that, performance improved and the periodic bitcoind dropouts stopped.

I don't know what the threshold is for getting it to work. It's possible that 0.00005 or lower might work as well. Anyone want to play around with different values? I've got over 350 TH/s on my nodes, so I don't want to do anything with them that would cause unnecessary downtime.

Aha ! (yes) ... that's why i have, now, a saturated Upload ...  Tongue

jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 818
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
July 12, 2015, 03:11:25 PM
 #13059


Code:
minrelaytxfee=0.0001
mintxfee=0.0001


What are the standard settings if nothing is specified in the .conf file? I read about changing these in a guide alse where, but it was a little dated so decided against it.

Edit: Aaaaand another block!!  Grin

I believe the defaults are 0 -- i.e., bitcoind will fill blocks with zero-fee transactions if no fee-paying transactions are available, as long as those free transactions are large and old enough.

I will probably upgrade our main node's hardware soon so it can better handle these spammy transaction volumes. I'm trying to decide if I should wait for Skylake to be released (August, supposedly) or just fork out for an i7 4790k now. Currently, the faster of my nodes runs on a Core i3 3.3 GHz (dual-core) with 4 GiB of RAM. I have seen the RAM get saturated on these nodes before and revert to swapping. I've got an 8 GiB RAM upgrade kit that arrived yesterday, and that also might be enough to solve the problem.

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
Meuh6879
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 12, 2015, 03:32:32 PM
 #13060

This day, "input already spend" overload my upload bandwidth ...
When i shutdown the P2Pool node, this isn't display (debug.log).

Have you somes tips to solve this ?
It's the first time that it's happend ...  Huh

Bandwidth on P2Pool graphic is, it's true, saturated.

Pages: « 1 ... 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 [653] 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 ... 815 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!