Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 11:56:42 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 [628] 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 ... 744 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2029191 times)
Geremia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 445


View Profile WWW
April 25, 2015, 06:37:40 PM
 #12541

Setting the queue to 0 means the miner doesn't have a whole bunch of stale work to complete when p2pool tells it to start fresh.  You are not speeding up p2pool, you are having your miner work on relevant data in a timely fashion.  By default, the Ants set the queue to some absurdly high numbers.
Yes, 8192 by default
The release of cgminer by ck sets it to 1 by default.

I'm not sure why your hash rate would drop by 90%, but the queue setting is not the cause.
I think it had to do with my machine not giving runp2pool.py enough priority at that time. I also had lots of incoming connections, too, which might've slowed things down. I don't think it was the miner's issue.

BTC tip jar | my BTC wiki, BTC StackExchange, Twister posts, & Keybase pages | Tox ID: 65C3E8810738AD9D175234808FCB317A1103632903436203D45411AE97C03F547D390A76B3CF
Join Coinbase. | The best, free book on Bitcoin: Mastering Bitcoin
Nos cum prole pia benedicat Virgo Maria.
1480809402
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480809402

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480809402
Reply with quote  #2

1480809402
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480809402
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480809402

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480809402
Reply with quote  #2

1480809402
Report to moderator
MissouriMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164



View Profile WWW
April 25, 2015, 07:12:46 PM
 #12542

Setting the queue to 0 means the miner doesn't have a whole bunch of stale work to complete when p2pool tells it to start fresh.  You are not speeding up p2pool, you are having your miner work on relevant data in a timely fashion.  By default, the Ants set the queue to some absurdly high numbers.
Yes, 8192 by default
The release of cgminer by ck sets it to 1 by default.

I'm not sure why your hash rate would drop by 90%, but the queue setting is not the cause.
I think it had to do with my machine not giving runp2pool.py enough priority at that time. I also had lots of incoming connections, too, which might've slowed things down. I don't think it was the miner's issue.

This may be related, but if not I still want to pass along this info.

2 days ago there was one or more misbehaving p2pool nodes, causing major havoc on my node for about an hour when I finally blocked the IP's at my firewall.  My hashrate was dropping at times and I was seeing a lot of LOST CONTACT WITH BITCOIND, because my p2pool/python process was maxing the CPU with nonstop processing of transaction errors.  I also had to stop the relaynetworkclient connection because it was passing along the same transactions.

I am not sure which node, or nodes, was causing the problem.  All 4 IP's below were banned by p2pool 3 times within a few hours.  I eventually blocked the IP's at firewall, which fixed the issue.
2015-04-23 16:13:02.749344 Bad peer banned: ('61.161.171.210', 51265)
2015-04-23 16:59:10.000062 Bad peer banned: ('221.213.100.225', 58179)
2015-04-23 17:01:05.902169 Bad peer banned: ('117.9.135.126', 29857)
2015-04-23 17:02:25.937494 Bad peer banned: ('116.53.251.126', 58333)

My hashrate dropped because the issue.

Geremia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 445


View Profile WWW
April 25, 2015, 07:16:14 PM
 #12543

2 days ago there was one or more misbehaving p2pool nodes, causing major havoc on my node for about an hour when I finally blocked the IP's at my firewall.  My hashrate was dropping at times and I was seeing a lot of LOST CONTACT WITH BITCOIND, because my p2pool/python process was maxing the CPU with nonstop processing of transaction errors.  I also had to stop the relaynetworkclient connection because it was passing along the same transactions.

I am not sure which node, or nodes, was causing the problem.  All 4 IP's below were banned by p2pool 3 times within a few hours.  I eventually blocked the IP's at firewall, which fixed the issue.
2015-04-23 16:13:02.749344 Bad peer banned: ('61.161.171.210', 51265)
2015-04-23 16:59:10.000062 Bad peer banned: ('221.213.100.225', 58179)
2015-04-23 17:01:05.902169 Bad peer banned: ('117.9.135.126', 29857)
2015-04-23 17:02:25.937494 Bad peer banned: ('116.53.251.126', 58333)

My hashrate dropped because the issue.
Yes, I think this is what I experienced, too. I'll block those IPs, too. thank you

my "bad peers" are:

117.9.135.126 ← This one was the worst, pestering node
211.72.66.229
125.227.225.237

These IPs are from China and Taiwan.

All yours are from China.

(You can lookup their locations here.)


I'm not sure why it says my own local and WAN addresses are banned, too, though.

BTC tip jar | my BTC wiki, BTC StackExchange, Twister posts, & Keybase pages | Tox ID: 65C3E8810738AD9D175234808FCB317A1103632903436203D45411AE97C03F547D390A76B3CF
Join Coinbase. | The best, free book on Bitcoin: Mastering Bitcoin
Nos cum prole pia benedicat Virgo Maria.
Meuh6879
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078



View Profile
April 25, 2015, 09:04:16 PM
 #12544

my "bad peers" are:

117.9.135.126 ← This one was the worst, pestering node
211.72.66.229
125.227.225.237

1)
116.255.241.111 - 116.255.241.111 , 000 , SMSHoax FakeAV Fraud Trojan
117.011.101.172 - 117.011.101.172 , 000 , Detected AP2P on China Unicom

not relevant.


2)
211.072.061.136 - 211.072.061.143 , 000 , Armed Forces Taichung General Hospital
211.072.066.128 - 211.072.066.255 , 000 , Reuters Limited Taiwan Brauch
211.072.083.172 - 211.072.083.175 , 000 , Creative Images Computer Graphic Co., Ltd

Got it.



3)
125.221.046.000 - 125.221.046.255 , 000 , Xunlei Offline
125.232.071.231 - 125.232.071.231 , 000 , datingnearby.com

not relevant.

French ... but not so much   ---===---   P2P ... it's people at the end   ---===---   P2Pool (10,9 GH/s).
Comment miner des bitcoins ? Un tutoriel est là : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1114415.0
Bitcoin change everything ... an explain of this fact : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=joITmEr4SjY
Geremia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 445


View Profile WWW
April 25, 2015, 09:19:52 PM
 #12545

not relevant
What do you mean "not revelant"? That it's not really a bad node?

BTC tip jar | my BTC wiki, BTC StackExchange, Twister posts, & Keybase pages | Tox ID: 65C3E8810738AD9D175234808FCB317A1103632903436203D45411AE97C03F547D390A76B3CF
Join Coinbase. | The best, free book on Bitcoin: Mastering Bitcoin
Nos cum prole pia benedicat Virgo Maria.
Meuh6879
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078



View Profile
April 25, 2015, 09:29:03 PM
 #12546

you don't have many on P2Pool to carry 4Th/s ... by default.
how many connexion have you assigned to bitcoin core server and P2Pool node process ?
that can be the 100% CPU ... (check max connexion limit, too)

French ... but not so much   ---===---   P2P ... it's people at the end   ---===---   P2Pool (10,9 GH/s).
Comment miner des bitcoins ? Un tutoriel est là : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1114415.0
Bitcoin change everything ... an explain of this fact : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=joITmEr4SjY
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 25, 2015, 11:11:55 PM
 #12547

I don't see why the version wouldn't stick after a restart, but we'll see...
The filesystem you see when S5s are running is in ram only, it is not on the flash storage in the device. It needs to be embedded in the firmware for it to be on the flash storage. One day maybe there will be actual firmware you can use in the regular fashion if we can get coordinated with bitmain. Bitmain USA is more receptive to involving us than their main China group.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
anamichii
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 265


Global economic crisis? i hold my bitcoin..


View Profile
April 26, 2015, 12:04:22 AM
 #12548

i wait my bitcoin 0.10 sync the network.
i already download the torrent..
i already import that bootstrap.dat, and now going bootstrap.dat
but still 19 week waiting..
i reindexing the block.. still same..
i connect to peer that have high connection, still same..
more than 48hrs, still same..

what i must do? Huh
i using windows 7 to running that bitcoin core.
Meuh6879
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078



View Profile
April 26, 2015, 02:56:38 PM
 #12549

and when you open the task manager ?  Grin


French ... but not so much   ---===---   P2P ... it's people at the end   ---===---   P2Pool (10,9 GH/s).
Comment miner des bitcoins ? Un tutoriel est là : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1114415.0
Bitcoin change everything ... an explain of this fact : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=joITmEr4SjY
jonnybravo0311
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
April 26, 2015, 03:31:11 PM
 #12550

Block!  Too bad we didn't get that one with the 85BTC in transaction fees.  I would have felt bad if we had, though.  The poor guy who sent that never meant to send those coins as transaction fees, but the script he used screwed him.  At least since it was included in a block by AntPool, maybe he might get lucky and be reimbursed.  Good luck that happening here, where the transaction fees would have been distributed to every p2pool miner.

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206



View Profile
April 27, 2015, 11:18:12 AM
 #12551

I finally got a node up and running. How do you change the difficulty of your miner? Are there any interfaces i should look into that allow me more control? I saw some people charging for there public nodes. Once you have one set up how would you charge a fee? It would be worth it if the fees helped me pay for extra bradband.
tomsanders
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
April 27, 2015, 11:41:16 AM
 #12552

Hey guys

Still struggling to get the node to work on my Linux box, when I leave the installation to download the blockchain I come back a few hours later run the command "bitcoin-cli getblockcount" and find out the server has turned itself off then when looking in "top" its not even in there. I then have to restart the bitcoin server for it to work again?

Any ideas why its doing this?

Thanks
Geremia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 445


View Profile WWW
April 27, 2015, 01:55:31 PM
 #12553

I then have to restart the bitcoin server for it to work again?
Yes, if bitcoin-qt or bitcoind unexpectedly quit, you need to restart it. P2Pool needs its running.
Any ideas why its doing this?
I had that problem once or twice. It's probably a bug in bitcoin-qt / bitcoind.

BTC tip jar | my BTC wiki, BTC StackExchange, Twister posts, & Keybase pages | Tox ID: 65C3E8810738AD9D175234808FCB317A1103632903436203D45411AE97C03F547D390A76B3CF
Join Coinbase. | The best, free book on Bitcoin: Mastering Bitcoin
Nos cum prole pia benedicat Virgo Maria.
jonnybravo0311
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
April 27, 2015, 02:16:48 PM
 #12554

I finally got a node up and running. How do you change the difficulty of your miner? Are there any interfaces i should look into that allow me more control? I saw some people charging for there public nodes. Once you have one set up how would you charge a fee? It would be worth it if the fees helped me pay for extra bradband.
To change the difficulty of your miner, you use the "/" and "+" arguments after your BTC address.  For example, if you're mining with an S3, you might want to change the difficulty to 500.  In the config screen, you set your worker like this:

1DeVLDoGvkbbB5n3dPvbpDbwiKGjYckCy9+500/500

The +500 sets your pseudo-share difficulty.  The /500 sets you up to use the p2pool minimum share difficulty.  There has been plenty of discussion on the usage of "+" and "/" in this thread.  The short of it is that the "+" makes the graphs look nice.  The "/" will tell p2pool what difficulty share to accept from you to add to the share chain.  If you set "/" less than the current p2pool network share difficulty, it automatically uses the network share difficulty.  If you set it higher than the network difficulty, it uses what you set.

You can add a fee to your node by passing the --fee parameter on startup of your node.  For example:

Code:
./run_p2pool.py --give-author 0.5 --fee 0.5
That will donate 0.5% to the author and will collect 0.5% fee for you.

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
roy7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


View Profile
April 27, 2015, 02:49:56 PM
 #12555

That will donate 0.5% to the author and will collect 0.5% fee for you.

An important thing to remember is that the way it works is a % of shares founds, not a % of the bitcoin paid by those shares. So each share has a 1% chance of going towards the fee+donation. 99% of the shares are paid totally to you. If you run a public node with 1% in fee+donation, you might not see anything happening at first.

My hope is that one day if there's ever another major p2pool version released with mandatory upgrade, that forrest adds support for the donation (and fee?) to appear right with the share data in the blockchain. Thus if you are 1% donation, and a block is found, 1% of that share's pay goes to forrest and 99% to the share's owner. This smooths it out so you don't randomly lose a share (which you might only be finding once a day as small miner), and provides less variance to miners, pool operators, and forrest himself.

RoyalMiningCo: Pools retired. Was fun!
jonnybravo0311
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
April 27, 2015, 03:06:48 PM
 #12556

That will donate 0.5% to the author and will collect 0.5% fee for you.

An important thing to remember is that the way it works is a % of shares founds, not a % of the bitcoin paid by those shares. So each share has a 1% chance of going towards the fee+donation. 99% of the shares are paid totally to you. If you run a public node with 1% in fee+donation, you might not see anything happening at first.

My hope is that one day if there's ever another major p2pool version released with mandatory upgrade, that forrest adds support for the donation (and fee?) to appear right with the share data in the blockchain. Thus if you are 1% donation, and a block is found, 1% of that share's pay goes to forrest and 99% to the share's owner. This smooths it out so you don't randomly lose a share (which you might only be finding once a day as small miner), and provides less variance to miners, pool operators, and forrest himself.
Great point roy7, and it's worth repeating.  When you charge a fee and/or donate to the author, the percentage you set is translated into a percentage chance that your found share will in fact be credited to the author's BTC address or your node's BTC address.

Imagine you're only finding a share a day, and the share you found was the one the node used for a fee/donation.

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206



View Profile
April 27, 2015, 03:33:06 PM
 #12557

I then have to restart the bitcoin server for it to work again?
Yes, if bitcoin-qt or bitcoind unexpectedly quit, you need to restart it. P2Pool needs its running.
Any ideas why its doing this?
I had that problem once or twice. It's probably a bug in bitcoin-qt / bitcoind.
Try downloading the newest bitcoin qt 10.0.1 if you havent yet
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206



View Profile
April 27, 2015, 03:41:25 PM
 #12558

I finally got a node up and running. How do you change the difficulty of your miner? Are there any interfaces i should look into that allow me more control? I saw some people charging for there public nodes. Once you have one set up how would you charge a fee? It would be worth it if the fees helped me pay for extra bradband.
To change the difficulty of your miner, you use the "/" and "+" arguments after your BTC address.  For example, if you're mining with an S3, you might want to change the difficulty to 500.  In the config screen, you set your worker like this:

1DeVLDoGvkbbB5n3dPvbpDbwiKGjYckCy9+500/500

The +500 sets your pseudo-share difficulty.  The /500 sets you up to use the p2pool minimum share difficulty.  There has been plenty of discussion on the usage of "+" and "/" in this thread.  The short of it is that the "+" makes the graphs look nice.  The "/" will tell p2pool what difficulty share to accept from you to add to the share chain.  If you set "/" less than the current p2pool network share difficulty, it automatically uses the network share difficulty.  If you set it higher than the network difficulty, it uses what you set.

You can add a fee to your node by passing the --fee parameter on startup of your node.  For example:

Code:
./run_p2pool.py --give-author 0.5 --fee 0.5
That will donate 0.5% to the author and will collect 0.5% fee for you.

Thanks you.
this is a massive the thread so sorry that i asked the question i was scanning through it and couldnt find an answer. The code you refer to ./run_p2pool.py that would be used in linux? I'm running windows. Where do i input that code through python? I never understood that part wish it was spelled out better in by op. Next pc is def a lunix based. I'm tired of compiling windows programs.
jonnybravo0311
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
April 27, 2015, 03:44:37 PM
 #12559

I finally got a node up and running. How do you change the difficulty of your miner? Are there any interfaces i should look into that allow me more control? I saw some people charging for there public nodes. Once you have one set up how would you charge a fee? It would be worth it if the fees helped me pay for extra bradband.
To change the difficulty of your miner, you use the "/" and "+" arguments after your BTC address.  For example, if you're mining with an S3, you might want to change the difficulty to 500.  In the config screen, you set your worker like this:

1DeVLDoGvkbbB5n3dPvbpDbwiKGjYckCy9+500/500

The +500 sets your pseudo-share difficulty.  The /500 sets you up to use the p2pool minimum share difficulty.  There has been plenty of discussion on the usage of "+" and "/" in this thread.  The short of it is that the "+" makes the graphs look nice.  The "/" will tell p2pool what difficulty share to accept from you to add to the share chain.  If you set "/" less than the current p2pool network share difficulty, it automatically uses the network share difficulty.  If you set it higher than the network difficulty, it uses what you set.

You can add a fee to your node by passing the --fee parameter on startup of your node.  For example:

Code:
./run_p2pool.py --give-author 0.5 --fee 0.5
That will donate 0.5% to the author and will collect 0.5% fee for you.

Thanks you.
this is a massive the thread so sorry that i asked the question i was scanning through it and couldnt find an answer. The code you refer to ./run_p2pool.py that would be used in linux? I'm running windows. Where do i input that code through python? I never understood that part wish it was spelled out better in by op. Next pc is def a lunix based. I'm tired of compiling windows programs.
I'm not a Windows guy, so I can't offer you much help there.  I would imagine it's somewhat similar... maybe something like: c:\path\to\python.exe run_p2pool.py...

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206



View Profile
April 27, 2015, 03:47:06 PM
 #12560

I'm also have an issue of not recieving funds from the last block that was found it gives me an amount but it doesn't show up in my wallet transactions.
I was hoping to use my exchange to cut down on fees. I know they say not to do that but i have been doing it on my exchange from all of my mining and it works just fine. Is there a reason for me not to on the p2p network.
Pages: « 1 ... 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 [628] 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 ... 744 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!