Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 10:28:07 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 [629] 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 ... 744 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2028616 times)
windpath
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile WWW
April 27, 2015, 03:48:27 PM
 #12561

I'm also have an issue of not recieving funds from the last block that was found it gives me an amount but it doesn't show up in my wallet transactions.
I was hoping to use my exchange to cut down on fees. I know they say not to do that but i have been doing it on my exchange from all of my mining and it works just fine. Is there a reason for me not to on the p2p network.

I'd suggest mining to a wallet you control....

If you post or PM the address I'll take a look.


1480717687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480717687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480717687
Reply with quote  #2

1480717687
Report to moderator
1480717687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480717687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480717687
Reply with quote  #2

1480717687
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480717687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480717687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480717687
Reply with quote  #2

1480717687
Report to moderator
1480717687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480717687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480717687
Reply with quote  #2

1480717687
Report to moderator
1480717687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480717687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480717687
Reply with quote  #2

1480717687
Report to moderator
jonnybravo0311
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
April 27, 2015, 03:49:52 PM
 #12562

I'm also have an issue of not recieving funds from the last block that was found it gives me an amount but it doesn't show up in my wallet transactions.
I was hoping to use my exchange to cut down on fees. I know they say not to do that but i have been doing it on my exchange from all of my mining and it works just fine. Is there a reason for me not to on the p2p network.
Unlike most other pools, p2pool pays you from the reward generation transaction.  In other words, you get newly minted coins.  Some exchanges don't play nicely with newly minted coins - they expect the coins to come from a known input transaction, not generated.  That's why you don't mine to an exchange.

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
yslyung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Mine Mine Mine


View Profile
April 27, 2015, 03:53:02 PM
 #12563

just make a .bat file either in .exe or linux version with the cmds you want or need then make a shortcut on desktop

looks something like this for linux version running in windows :

run_p2pool.py --give-author 0 YourBitcoinAddInYourBitcoin.confIfBlankItWillGoToYourWallet FollowedWithOtherCmdsYouWishToAdd

Spaces are important ! don't forget to port forward
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206



View Profile
April 27, 2015, 03:55:47 PM
 #12564

I'm also have an issue of not recieving funds from the last block that was found it gives me an amount but it doesn't show up in my wallet transactions.
I was hoping to use my exchange to cut down on fees. I know they say not to do that but i have been doing it on my exchange from all of my mining and it works just fine. Is there a reason for me not to on the p2p network.
Unlike most other pools, p2pool pays you from the reward generation transaction.  In other words, you get newly minted coins.  Some exchanges don't play nicely with newly minted coins - they expect the coins to come from a known input transaction, not generated.  That's why you don't mine to an exchange.
I really don't like the idea of mining to a wallet that could crash potentially bad idea. Maybe there should be an added change in code to support exchange deposits would be nice. Thanks dude the fast replies.
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206



View Profile
April 27, 2015, 04:03:43 PM
 #12565

just make a .bat file either in .exe or linux version with the cmds you want or need then make a shortcut on desktop

looks something like this for linux version running in windows :

run_p2pool.py --give-author 0 YourBitcoinAddInYourBitcoin.confIfBlankItWillGoToYourWallet FollowedWithOtherCmdsYouWishToAdd

Spaces are important ! don't forget to port forward

ok so i would make the .bat file in my p2p folder? can wait to try this wish i had a more comprehensive tutorial. I will make one Once I figure things out to hopefully get more people into this.
jonnybravo0311
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
April 27, 2015, 04:05:31 PM
 #12566

I'm also have an issue of not recieving funds from the last block that was found it gives me an amount but it doesn't show up in my wallet transactions.
I was hoping to use my exchange to cut down on fees. I know they say not to do that but i have been doing it on my exchange from all of my mining and it works just fine. Is there a reason for me not to on the p2p network.
Unlike most other pools, p2pool pays you from the reward generation transaction.  In other words, you get newly minted coins.  Some exchanges don't play nicely with newly minted coins - they expect the coins to come from a known input transaction, not generated.  That's why you don't mine to an exchange.
I really don't like the idea of mining to a wallet that could crash potentially bad idea. Maybe there should be an added change in code to support exchange deposits would be nice. Thanks dude the fast replies.

That would be up to the exchanges.  They'd have to alter their code to allow for generated coins.

As for wallets crashing, if you're mining on your own p2pool node, sure that's bad because the p2pool code requires a connection to a functional Bitcoin daemon.  Then again, you're taking that chance no matter on which pool you're mining.  Heck, you can mine to a paper wallet if you really want to.  As long as you've got the public/private keys in your control it doesn't matter.

Personally, I run a p2pool node on a VPS.  The Bitcoin daemon is compiled and built with no wallet functionality.  It's job is to feed the p2pool node work.  The addresses I use for mining are completely separate of that box.  I make regular backups of my wallet.dat file and keep those backups stored safely.  If I execute any large transactions, I make a backup immediately afterwards.

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
tomsanders
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
April 27, 2015, 04:58:33 PM
 #12567

Hi Guys

I seem to have found the issue,

The VPS used didn't have enough ram to run properly, up'd the ram and it seems to be all good now Smiley .........just got to wait for the blockchain to download and then I can carry on with the installation.

Thanks
roy7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


View Profile
April 27, 2015, 05:54:52 PM
 #12568

I really don't like the idea of mining to a wallet that could crash potentially bad idea. Maybe there should be an added change in code to support exchange deposits would be nice. Thanks dude the fast replies.

As jonnybravo mentioned, the exchanges are the ones who don't process deposits properly when they are in the coinbase of the block (the newly minted reward coins). Nothing p2pool can do about that.

You could mine to an online wallet at a variety of places if you don't want to run a wallet locally. On my PC I use Electrum. Doesn't require downloading the blockchain, syncs very quickly, and gives you a seed you can print out and store in case you ever need to recreate your wallet from scratch.

RoyalMiningCo: Pools retired. Was fun!
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206



View Profile
April 27, 2015, 07:11:35 PM
 #12569

just make a .bat file either in .exe or linux version with the cmds you want or need then make a shortcut on desktop

looks something like this for linux version running in windows :

run_p2pool.py --give-author 0 YourBitcoinAddInYourBitcoin.confIfBlankItWillGoToYourWallet FollowedWithOtherCmdsYouWishToAdd

Spaces are important ! don't forget to port forward

Ok I reread your post I would put in my bitcoin.conf nice got that set up any other codes i should put in there to increase payout?
The size of the block etc. Set Broadband cap.... For so reason i can't get over diff over 1k putting out 2.5 k on this node are there intervals that it should be set at.
I apologize for all the questions i just dont have the time to comb through this thread would be nice to organize the info in this thread so it's easier to access what you need.  A screen shot of python run_p2pool.py --help would be nice.
roy7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


View Profile
April 27, 2015, 07:48:48 PM
 #12570

I apologize for all the questions i just dont have the time to comb through this thread would be nice to organize the info in this thread so it's easier to access what you need.

You might find this useful:

A guide for mining efficiently on P2Pool, includes FUD repellent and FAQ

If it is any help to you, the script I use on my linux machine reads:

Code:
screen -d -m -S btcp2pool ~/code/p2pool/run_p2pool.py --irc-announce --outgoing-conns 10 --address yourbitcoinaddressforfeestogoto --fee 0 --give-author .5 --net bitcoin bitcoinuser bitcoinpassword

Obviously, replace the address with your own if you have a fee. Since I have --fee 0 at the moment I might not even need --address. The "bitcoinuser" and "bitcoinpassword" are the rpcuser and rpcpassword set in your bitcoin.conf file.

RoyalMiningCo: Pools retired. Was fun!
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206



View Profile
April 27, 2015, 08:30:08 PM
 #12571

I apologize for all the questions i just dont have the time to comb through this thread would be nice to organize the info in this thread so it's easier to access what you need.

You might find this useful:

A guide for mining efficiently on P2Pool, includes FUD repellent and FAQ

If it is any help to you, the script I use on my linux machine reads:

Code:
screen -d -m -S btcp2pool ~/code/p2pool/run_p2pool.py --irc-announce --outgoing-conns 10 --address yourbitcoinaddressforfeestogoto --fee 0 --give-author .5 --net bitcoin bitcoinuser bitcoinpassword

Obviously, replace the address with your own if you have a fee. Since I have --fee 0 at the moment I might not even need --address. The "bitcoinuser" and "bitcoinpassword" are the rpcuser and rpcpassword set in your bitcoin.conf file.
I was looking at that thread but i thought it was out dated.
jonnybravo0311
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
April 27, 2015, 09:01:35 PM
 #12572

I apologize for all the questions i just dont have the time to comb through this thread would be nice to organize the info in this thread so it's easier to access what you need.

You might find this useful:

A guide for mining efficiently on P2Pool, includes FUD repellent and FAQ

If it is any help to you, the script I use on my linux machine reads:

Code:
screen -d -m -S btcp2pool ~/code/p2pool/run_p2pool.py --irc-announce --outgoing-conns 10 --address yourbitcoinaddressforfeestogoto --fee 0 --give-author .5 --net bitcoin bitcoinuser bitcoinpassword

Obviously, replace the address with your own if you have a fee. Since I have --fee 0 at the moment I might not even need --address. The "bitcoinuser" and "bitcoinpassword" are the rpcuser and rpcpassword set in your bitcoin.conf file.
I was looking at that thread but i thought it was out dated.
Everything there still applies.  @roy7, you put the address still in case some miners connect to your node without a proper BTC address.  Even if you're not collecting fees, the node will consider any improperly formatted BTC address mining as a donation.

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
windpath
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile WWW
April 28, 2015, 01:28:23 AM
 #12573

Can someone take a look at this. Anything you see that i should change?
[IMG removed]

The run_p2pool.py line does not go in bitcoin.conf, that is the command to start p2pool (as you are on windows I'm guessing you use the exe), not sure how to pass args in win, but I would try start => cmd, move to p2pool dir and try to run it from there...

Geremia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 445


View Profile WWW
April 28, 2015, 05:57:30 PM
 #12574

How does P2Pool detect bad peers, which it bans? What constitutes a bad peer?

BTC tip jar | my BTC wiki, BTC StackExchange, Twister posts, & Keybase pages | Tox ID: 65C3E8810738AD9D175234808FCB317A1103632903436203D45411AE97C03F547D390A76B3CF
Join Coinbase. | The best, free book on Bitcoin: Mastering Bitcoin
Nos cum prole pia benedicat Virgo Maria.
Geremia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 445


View Profile WWW
April 28, 2015, 06:31:36 PM
 #12575

How do we update P2Pool without loosing all our downloaded sharechain?

BTC tip jar | my BTC wiki, BTC StackExchange, Twister posts, & Keybase pages | Tox ID: 65C3E8810738AD9D175234808FCB317A1103632903436203D45411AE97C03F547D390A76B3CF
Join Coinbase. | The best, free book on Bitcoin: Mastering Bitcoin
Nos cum prole pia benedicat Virgo Maria.
roy7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


View Profile
April 28, 2015, 07:00:12 PM
 #12576

How do we update P2Pool without loosing all our downloaded sharechain?

If you cloned it from github I think all you need to do is "git pull" in the p2pool directory.

RoyalMiningCo: Pools retired. Was fun!
Geremia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 445


View Profile WWW
April 28, 2015, 07:55:25 PM
 #12577

How do we update P2Pool without loosing all our downloaded sharechain?

If you cloned it from github I think all you need to do is "git pull" in the p2pool directory.
Oh nice thanks

Also, is there a proper way to reboot P2Pool?

BTC tip jar | my BTC wiki, BTC StackExchange, Twister posts, & Keybase pages | Tox ID: 65C3E8810738AD9D175234808FCB317A1103632903436203D45411AE97C03F547D390A76B3CF
Join Coinbase. | The best, free book on Bitcoin: Mastering Bitcoin
Nos cum prole pia benedicat Virgo Maria.
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206



View Profile
April 28, 2015, 08:06:30 PM
 #12578

How do we update P2Pool without loosing all our downloaded sharechain?

run two programs at the same time once the first one downloads the chains and says that there are two running close the other one
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206



View Profile
April 28, 2015, 09:52:10 PM
 #12579

"bitcoinuser" and "bitcoinpassword" are the rpcuser and rpcpassword set in your bitcoin.conf file.
What's the difference between bitcoin and rpc?

Any other windows 7 user who are trying to implement code you can do it by creating a shortcut of run_p2pool.exe to the desktop. Right click the select properties. Once there find the target do not erase this. What you want to do is put a space at the very end after run_p2pool.exe and start typing in your code.

run_p2pool.exe --irc-announce --outgoing-conns 10 --address yourbitcoinaddressforfeestogoto --fee 0 --give-author .5 --net bitcoin bitcoinuser bitcoinpassword

The code im referring to can be found under Option Reference at https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/P2Pool

I failed at making a .bat like you could make for cgminer but you may be able to do it that way too if anyone knows how to make it start from there please post.


windpath
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile WWW
April 28, 2015, 09:55:18 PM
 #12580

"bitcoinuser" and "bitcoinpassword" are the rpcuser and rpcpassword set in your bitcoin.conf file.
What's the difference between bitcoin and rpc?

Any other windows 7 user who are trying to implement code you can do it by creating a shortcut of run_p2pool.exe to the desktop. Right click the select properties. Once there find the target do not erase this. What you want to do is put a space at the very end after run_p2pool.exe and start typing in your code.

run_p2pool.exe --irc-announce --outgoing-conns 10 --address yourbitcoinaddressforfeestogoto --fee 0 --give-author .5 --net bitcoin bitcoinuser bitcoinpassword

The code im referring to can be found under Option Reference at https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/P2Pool

I failed at making a .bat like you could make for cgminer but you may be able to do it that way too if anyone knows how to make it start from there please post.


The RPC is an API for your bitcoin node, without the user and pass set p2pool wont be able to get the info it needs from bitcoin to mine....

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/API_reference_%28JSON-RPC%29

Pages: « 1 ... 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 [629] 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 ... 744 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!