Bitcoin Forum
January 26, 2022, 06:57:06 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 ... 108 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Official FutureBit Moonlander 2 Driver and Support Thread  (Read 69703 times)
wavelengthsf
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 117


View Profile
November 28, 2017, 07:46:53 PM
 #81


Awesome, thanks wavelengthsf! I'll only be running 2, think it will be fine running them both at 796mhz?

Yes, just run them on ports 1 and 7 (for example)
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1643223426
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1643223426

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1643223426
Reply with quote  #2

1643223426
Report to moderator
1643223426
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1643223426

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1643223426
Reply with quote  #2

1643223426
Report to moderator
Finless
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 28, 2017, 08:08:44 PM
 #82

So I am just learning ASIC mining coming from GPU mining.  This looks like a reasonable little stick.
I know this might sound like a stupid question so flame if you like Smiley

What are the odds of getting a coin solo mining?  Like the lottery?  Or better odds?

Thanks,
Bob
charlie137
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 220


(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ


View Profile WWW
November 28, 2017, 09:41:46 PM
 #83

So I am just learning ASIC mining coming from GPU mining.  This looks like a reasonable little stick.
I know this might sound like a stupid question so flame if you like Smiley

What are the odds of getting a coin solo mining?  Like the lottery?  Or better odds?

Thanks,
Bob


you can point it to antpool as solo and maybe hit the spot once in 40 years, or in next 13 mins) but id use ant router for that. there's no competition comparing to L3-like miners, but you can have a lot of fun mining new coins like mut/interstellar/morty/mad/bco/etc..

/__      ___ (  /    
\\--`-'-|`---\\ |      AXErunners
 |' _/   ` __/ / 
 '._  W    ,--'     
    |_:_._/
Finless
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 28, 2017, 10:44:54 PM
 #84

So I am just learning ASIC mining coming from GPU mining.  This looks like a reasonable little stick.
I know this might sound like a stupid question so flame if you like Smiley

What are the odds of getting a coin solo mining?  Like the lottery?  Or better odds?

Thanks,
Bob


you can point it to antpool as solo and maybe hit the spot once in 40 years, or in next 13 mins) but id use ant router for that. there's no competition comparing to L3-like miners, but you can have a lot of fun mining new coins like mut/interstellar/morty/mad/bco/etc..

Thanks I figured so......

Bob
aarons6
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1006


View Profile
November 29, 2017, 02:25:41 AM
 #85

So I am just learning ASIC mining coming from GPU mining.  This looks like a reasonable little stick.
I know this might sound like a stupid question so flame if you like Smiley

What are the odds of getting a coin solo mining?  Like the lottery?  Or better odds?

Thanks,
Bob


you can point it to antpool as solo and maybe hit the spot once in 40 years, or in next 13 mins) but id use ant router for that. there's no competition comparing to L3-like miners, but you can have a lot of fun mining new coins like mut/interstellar/morty/mad/bco/etc..

Thanks I figured so......

Bob


according to litecoin pools calc 1 stick that does roughly 4mhs at 756 speed

Expected Time per Block   15663 days 11 hours
Probability of a Block in 7 days   0.05%
Probability of a Block in 14 days   0.11%
Probability of a Block in 30 days   0.23%
Probability of a Block in 365 days   2.76%


so yeah not the best odds..
RdStrcklnd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 1


View Profile
November 29, 2017, 04:02:21 PM
 #86

Anyone got theirs from Holybitcoin yet?
beaverbob140
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 29, 2017, 07:49:07 PM
 #87

Hello,
I am attempting to get this to work on an oDroid C2. It worked great at all frequncies in my windows machine, but id like to get it to work on this oDroid running Ubuntu.
I was able to compile everything and get BFGMiner to recognize the Moonlander 2, but now it won't do any work, i've tried various frequency and voltage variations, could it be I just don't have enough USB current?

This is what im getting as of now:

bfgminer version 5.2.0-147-gff6ef5b - Started: [2017-11-29 14:36:21] - [  0 days 00:06:22]
 [M]anage devices [P]ool management Settings [D]isplay options                      [H]elp [Q]uit
 Pool 0: us.litecoinpool.or  Diff:1m  +Strtm  LU:[14:42:26]  User:beaverbob140.1
 Block: ...42bdc6cf0f7a2f67  Diff:1.26M ( 9.02T)  Started: [14:41:06]  I: 0.00 BTC/hr
 ST:3  F:0  NB:3  AS:0  BW:[ 74/  6 B/s]  E:0.00  BS:0
 0            |   0.0/  0.0/  0.0 h/s | A:0 R:0+0(none) HW:0/none
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 MLD 0:       |   0.0/  0.0/  0.0 h/s | A:0 R:0+0(none) HW:0/none
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2017-11-29 14:41:02] Stratum from pool 0 detected new block
 [2017-11-29 14:41:06] Stratum from pool 0 detected new block

Thank You
aarons6
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1006


View Profile
November 29, 2017, 10:54:07 PM
 #88

Hello,
I am attempting to get this to work on an oDroid C2. It worked great at all frequncies in my windows machine, but id like to get it to work on this oDroid running Ubuntu.
I was able to compile everything and get BFGMiner to recognize the Moonlander 2, but now it won't do any work, i've tried various frequency and voltage variations, could it be I just don't have enough USB current?

This is what im getting as of now:

bfgminer version 5.2.0-147-gff6ef5b - Started: [2017-11-29 14:36:21] - [  0 days 00:06:22]
 [M]anage devices [P]ool management Settings [D]isplay options                      [H]elp [Q]uit
 Pool 0: us.litecoinpool.or  Diff:1m  +Strtm  LU:[14:42:26]  User:beaverbob140.1
 Block: ...42bdc6cf0f7a2f67  Diff:1.26M ( 9.02T)  Started: [14:41:06]  I: 0.00 BTC/hr
 ST:3  F:0  NB:3  AS:0  BW:[ 74/  6 B/s]  E:0.00  BS:0
 0            |   0.0/  0.0/  0.0 h/s | A:0 R:0+0(none) HW:0/none
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 MLD 0:       |   0.0/  0.0/  0.0 h/s | A:0 R:0+0(none) HW:0/none
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2017-11-29 14:41:02] Stratum from pool 0 detected new block
 [2017-11-29 14:41:06] Stratum from pool 0 detected new block

Thank You

yeah you cant run these straight from the board.. you will need a hub.. one that can provide more than 1a per port.
crushed
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104
Merit: 11


View Profile
November 29, 2017, 10:59:50 PM
 #89

Anyone got theirs from Holybitcoin yet?

Yes. I got mine on Friday or Saturday I think. I'm on the east coast in a major metro area.
RdStrcklnd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 1


View Profile
November 30, 2017, 02:16:00 AM
 #90

Anyone got theirs from Holybitcoin yet?

Yes. I got mine on Friday or Saturday I think. I'm on the east coast in a major metro area.

Cool, thanks crushed. Hopefully mine will get here soon.
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1966
Merit: 1316


View Profile
November 30, 2017, 02:21:49 AM
 #91

Hello,
I am attempting to get this to work on an oDroid C2. It worked great at all frequncies in my windows machine, but id like to get it to work on this oDroid running Ubuntu.
I was able to compile everything and get BFGMiner to recognize the Moonlander 2, but now it won't do any work, i've tried various frequency and voltage variations, could it be I just don't have enough USB current?

This is what im getting as of now:

bfgminer version 5.2.0-147-gff6ef5b - Started: [2017-11-29 14:36:21] - [  0 days 00:06:22]
 [M]anage devices [P]ool management Settings [D]isplay options                      [H]elp [Q]uit
 Pool 0: us.litecoinpool.or  Diff:1m  +Strtm  LU:[14:42:26]  User:beaverbob140.1
 Block: ...42bdc6cf0f7a2f67  Diff:1.26M ( 9.02T)  Started: [14:41:06]  I: 0.00 BTC/hr
 ST:3  F:0  NB:3  AS:0  BW:[ 74/  6 B/s]  E:0.00  BS:0
 0            |   0.0/  0.0/  0.0 h/s | A:0 R:0+0(none) HW:0/none
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 MLD 0:       |   0.0/  0.0/  0.0 h/s | A:0 R:0+0(none) HW:0/none
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2017-11-29 14:41:02] Stratum from pool 0 detected new block
 [2017-11-29 14:41:06] Stratum from pool 0 detected new block

Thank You

Yea no way your going to get 2 A out of that thing on a USB port. If you turn down the core voltage all the way, and set frequency to base 384 you MIGHT be able to get to to run like that. At that setting it draws 500ma which should be enough for even that board.

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
soifigured
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 30, 2017, 04:36:19 AM
 #92

I got my boards today and I'm starting to assemble them.  I noticed a few of them had solder coming through the vias on the large heatsink side of the pwa.  Can I just grab an iron and a wick to clean these up?

https://photos.app.[Suspicious link removed]/sJ0SvAx75fBQvL3e2

edit:  guess I can't link external pictures...
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1966
Merit: 1316


View Profile
November 30, 2017, 05:26:31 AM
 #93

I got my boards today and I'm starting to assemble them.  I noticed a few of them had solder coming through the vias on the large heatsink side of the pwa.  Can I just grab an iron and a wick to clean these up?



edit:  guess I can't link external pictures...

No that’s normal, I wouldn’t take an iron to the board unless your experienced and know what your doing. The thermal material on heatsink is thick enough to compensate for any extra solder on the back.

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
aironeous
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 30, 2017, 06:52:19 AM
Last edit: November 30, 2017, 08:09:12 AM by aironeous
 #94

Received and working without driver download, just installed new bfg miner link for 5.4 you gave and edited the sh file. KDE Neon based on Ubuntu 16.04. I should also mention I'm on kernel 4.9 which is not the official.
Thanks to you and to asicpuppy.com

Edit: Wait, I spoke too soon. It sees the second Moonlander but it won't start the second one. Let me read this thread some more.
OK, read thread. Probably a power issue. So I need to get a powered USB hub
soifigured
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 30, 2017, 11:22:59 AM
 #95

Got some assembled and up and running.  I'm noticing some are slowing down to about 2MH after running for an hour or so.  Is this a self preservation feature?  Are they running too hot?  I hit all the small heatsinks with my pyrometer and temps are all about 60C.
beaverbob140
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 30, 2017, 02:30:02 PM
 #96

I picked up a hub that can supply 15w (3amp) per port and still the same thing, it appears, but does no work. I'm out of ideas at this point, i guess I'll stick with windows that just stops hashing every night for no reason and come up with a restart script.
Thank you for the input and help.


Hello,
I am attempting to get this to work on an oDroid C2. It worked great at all frequncies in my windows machine, but id like to get it to work on this oDroid running Ubuntu.
I was able to compile everything and get BFGMiner to recognize the Moonlander 2, but now it won't do any work, i've tried various frequency and voltage variations, could it be I just don't have enough USB current?

This is what im getting as of now:

bfgminer version 5.2.0-147-gff6ef5b - Started: [2017-11-29 14:36:21] - [  0 days 00:06:22]
 [M]anage devices [P]ool management Settings [D]isplay options                      [H]elp [Q]uit
 Pool 0: us.litecoinpool.or  Diff:1m  +Strtm  LU:[14:42:26]  User:beaverbob140.1
 Block: ...42bdc6cf0f7a2f67  Diff:1.26M ( 9.02T)  Started: [14:41:06]  I: 0.00 BTC/hr
 ST:3  F:0  NB:3  AS:0  BW:[ 74/  6 B/s]  E:0.00  BS:0
 0            |   0.0/  0.0/  0.0 h/s | A:0 R:0+0(none) HW:0/none
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 MLD 0:       |   0.0/  0.0/  0.0 h/s | A:0 R:0+0(none) HW:0/none
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2017-11-29 14:41:02] Stratum from pool 0 detected new block
 [2017-11-29 14:41:06] Stratum from pool 0 detected new block

Thank You

Yea no way your going to get 2 A out of that thing on a USB port. If you turn down the core voltage all the way, and set frequency to base 384 you MIGHT be able to get to to run like that. At that setting it draws 500ma which should be enough for even that board.
wavelengthsf
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 117


View Profile
November 30, 2017, 02:32:54 PM
 #97

I picked up a hub that can supply 15w (3amp) per port and still the same thing, it appears, but does no work. I'm out of ideas at this point, i guess I'll stick with windows that just stops hashing every night for no reason and come up with a restart script.
Thank you for the input and help.



If your windows is stopping in the middle of the night, make sure you've disabled the "Smart" power management for USB hubs.

Here's a guide:
https://helpdeskgeek.com/how-to/prevent-windows-from-powering-off-usb-device/

beaverbob140
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 30, 2017, 02:39:37 PM
 #98

You are awesome, thank you!. I hardly ever use windows so I didn't even think of it; it was on. We shall see tonight. I'll also try a different hub later today on the oDroid, I really want a nice compact package.


I picked up a hub that can supply 15w (3amp) per port and still the same thing, it appears, but does no work. I'm out of ideas at this point, i guess I'll stick with windows that just stops hashing every night for no reason and come up with a restart script.
Thank you for the input and help.



If your windows is stopping in the middle of the night, make sure you've disabled the "Smart" power management for USB hubs.

Here's a guide:
https://helpdeskgeek.com/how-to/prevent-windows-from-powering-off-usb-device/


wavelengthsf
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 117


View Profile
November 30, 2017, 02:46:50 PM
 #99

You are awesome, thank you!. I hardly ever use windows so I didn't even think of it; it was on. We shall see tonight. I'll also try a different hub later today on the oDroid, I really want a nice compact package.


Another thing to check on your oDroid is the UART to USB drivers. Make sure they're the latest version.
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1966
Merit: 1316


View Profile
November 30, 2017, 09:11:13 PM
 #100

You are awesome, thank you!. I hardly ever use windows so I didn't even think of it; it was on. We shall see tonight. I'll also try a different hub later today on the oDroid, I really want a nice compact package.


Another thing to check on your oDroid is the UART to USB drivers. Make sure they're the latest version.

If the driver wasn't working it wouldn't get as far as that screen (it would show no devices detected). It just fails to start hashing due to power/hub issues. If you guys are testing new setups always check on the lowest power setting first (384 base frequency and ~.65v core voltage), then slowly start turning up core voltage/clocks.

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 ... 108 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!