Bitcoin Forum
November 27, 2021, 04:52:18 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 ... 108 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Official FutureBit Moonlander 2 Driver and Support Thread  (Read 69152 times)
dagoofman
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 14, 2017, 05:28:31 AM
 #421

I'd imagine you just need to modify your batch file so that it only points at the correct serial port instead of all, then the bogus one won't be showing there.




Woot worked u rock ty 4 your help
1638031938
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638031938

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638031938
Reply with quote  #2

1638031938
Report to moderator
1638031938
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638031938

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638031938
Reply with quote  #2

1638031938
Report to moderator
1638031938
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638031938

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638031938
Reply with quote  #2

1638031938
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1638031938
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638031938

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638031938
Reply with quote  #2

1638031938
Report to moderator
dartec
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 14, 2017, 07:51:07 AM
 #422

Just a bit of a dumb question ...

Do these devices need to be plugged in directly into the USB port/hub, or could you use an USB extension from the hub to the device?
Something like this:  https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/LokSaverCable

TIA.

markcarline2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 14, 2017, 07:54:45 AM
 #423

I've just ordered a couple of these usb 3 right angle ones, will be reporting back when tested....

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.co.uk%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F282430334062
soifigured
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 14, 2017, 08:07:34 AM
 #424

Just a bit of a dumb question ...

Do these devices need to be plugged in directly into the USB port/hub, or could you use an USB extension from the hub to the device?
Something like this:  https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/LokSaverCable

TIA.



You can use them with USB extensions.  I'm using usb extensions to put a little space between mine, they still hash well.  I'm using ones from monoprice.com.  They can be had for pretty cheap through them.
Astrali
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 281
Merit: 122

Crypto Addicted


View Profile WWW
December 14, 2017, 01:11:01 PM
 #425

been using an extender cable on the moonlander directly connected to pc cause i had not enough space to directly plug it.
it ran quite stable! should work Smiley

Join the mining! pool.cryptopowered.club    Smiley   || Need a miner? Rent one! MiningRigRentals
hercthx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 14, 2017, 01:46:26 PM
 #426

Here's something, I had to reboot my router this morning, on internet restore, I had to restart My MLD BFGminer exe's. I know this is more of a BFG question but just in case someone here has a solution, is there a way to set the MLD BFG to auto resume on internet restore? Current BFG is the 5.4.2-34 futurebit provided to run with MLDs.
dem0nlord
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 14, 2017, 01:54:52 PM
 #427

Here's something, I had to reboot my router this morning, on internet restore, I had to restart My MLD BFGminer exe's. I know this is more of a BFG question but just in case someone here has a solution, is there a way to set the MLD BFG to auto resume on internet restore? Current BFG is the 5.4.2-34 futurebit provided to run with MLDs.

Possibly fixed by the newer code if you can compile from the git tree.
JustAnotherPLT
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 14, 2017, 04:35:06 PM
 #428

So I've updated with the new coding that you have posted but I'm still running into problems. When I initially boot BGFminer it starts up fine and runs all day with no problems. The moment I add a pool to switch to, it gets hung up and flashes yellow. I'm literally stuck mining one pool. I've tried everything and cant figure it out. I'm operating on OSX 10.13.2.

https://ibb.co/fdqHPm

https://ibb.co/jQQOx6
dem0nlord
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 14, 2017, 04:44:22 PM
 #429

So I've updated with the new coding that you have posted but I'm still running into problems. When I initially boot BGFminer it starts up fine and runs all day with no problems. The moment I add a pool to switch to, it gets hung up and flashes yellow. I'm literally stuck mining one pool. I've tried everything and cant figure it out. I'm operating on OSX 10.13.2.

https://ibb.co/fdqHPm

https://ibb.co/jQQOx6

Can tell by your version number at the top that isn't the latest code, you're running code from Nov 14th. How did you git/compile it?
soifigured
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 14, 2017, 04:45:02 PM
 #430

Rasberry Pi  Raspbian OS

So this relates to the Moonlanders,  but is more of a Raspbian question

When I reboot my pi,  it reassigns all USBs   ttyUSB0 becomes 2,   4 becomes 8.....etc....

I am using 4 v1.2 Mooonlanders and 8 v2.0 Moonlanders,  so I need to specify the USB in order to get them to work with the correct bfgminer.

Any idea on how I can lock them down to their # even after reboot?

This problem may or may not continue once jstefanop enables the new bfgminer to run both,  but I'm guessing I'll still need to identify by ttyUSB#

I haven't tried this with the moonlanders yet, but I know when using bfg with older gridseeds you could call them out by serial number.  When you go to manage devices in bfg you can find the serial number of the device (It is different than what is found on the sticker).  Give that a shot, I'm very curious to see if it works out.  I don't have any syntax examples with me.  It's been a good long while since I've used a gridseed but I'll try to post one up after I get home from work tonight.

You can also call out the devices by usb bus instead of port.  Not sure if the rpi has more than one usb bus though.
sunk818
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 111



View Profile WWW
December 14, 2017, 04:46:35 PM
 #431

So I've updated with the new coding that you have posted but I'm still running into problems. When I initially boot BGFminer it starts up fine and runs all day with no problems. The moment I add a pool to switch to, it gets hung up and flashes yellow. I'm literally stuck mining one pool. I've tried everything and cant figure it out. I'm operating on OSX 10.13.2.

You're not getting accepted shares because the difficulty is too high. Are you sure you're interpreting the screen correctly? 706 difficulty is extremely high for a Moonlander2. Maybe you can try multipool and litecoinpool as your two pools. Set up worker on multipool as vardiff. Then see if you have the same issue.

sunk818
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 111



View Profile WWW
December 14, 2017, 04:53:26 PM
 #432

Here's something, I had to reboot my router this morning, on internet restore, I had to restart My MLD BFGminer exe's. I know this is more of a BFG question but just in case someone here has a solution, is there a way to set the MLD BFG to auto resume on internet restore? Current BFG is the 5.4.2-34 futurebit provided to run with MLDs.

That's really more of a question for bfgminer author. I quit bfgminer after x of shares submitted (e.g. --shares 1) 1m accepted share is .001. So, --shares 1 would mean you'd need 1000m accepted shares and bfgminer would quit. You just put bfgminer in a loop. I give it a rest for one minute, then start up again.

jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
December 14, 2017, 05:11:45 PM
 #433

So I've updated with the new coding that you have posted but I'm still running into problems. When I initially boot BGFminer it starts up fine and runs all day with no problems. The moment I add a pool to switch to, it gets hung up and flashes yellow. I'm literally stuck mining one pool. I've tried everything and cant figure it out. I'm operating on OSX 10.13.2.

You're not getting accepted shares because the difficulty is too high. Are you sure you're interpreting the screen correctly? 706 difficulty is extremely high for a Moonlander2. Maybe you can try multipool and litecoinpool as your two pools. Set up worker on multipool as vardiff. Then see if you have the same issue.

Actually 706 is the network difficulty (which is 706 * 65k scrypt dif). Your pool diffs are 1 and 1m which is actually 64k diff (way too high for MLD2) and 1m which is diff 64 which is fine. Im assuming your having difficulties with pro-hashing, which has a default diff of 64k.

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
JustAnotherPLT
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 14, 2017, 05:22:37 PM
 #434

I've probably royally messed this up but here is steps and pictures of EVERYTHING I've done. Maybe someone can help.

1) Downloaded BGFminer-5.4.FutureBut2-Mac64

2) Control clicked on "start-moonlander-2" and used textedit and change the code to this'
Code:
#!/bin/sh
cd -- "$(dirname "$0")"
cd bin
./bfgminer --scrypt -S MLD:all --set MLD:clock=756
pause
exit

3) Went to GitHub and clicked on the comments. Then cut and pasted the coding in the picture below to "driver-futurebit.c", saved and closed.
https://ibb.co/nCDtx6

4)Everytime I start up BFGminer using the start-moonlader-2 it automatically starts mining the picture below.
https://ibb.co/jzhH76

5) I deleted the pool that's misbehaving.

6)Moonlannder runs fine until I add another pool. Password for any pool I add is d=128.

7) Pro-Hash AND Mining-Dutch are the ones I'm trying to mine. Mining-Dutch has no issues with Litecoin but anything else is a problem.
dem0nlord
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 14, 2017, 05:28:41 PM
 #435


3) Went to GitHub and clicked on the comments. Then cut and pasted the coding in the picture below to "driver-futurebit.c", saved and closed.
 

Yeah that's not going to do anything for you. You need to clone that branch of the git tree and then compile a new binary. I don't use Macs or Windows so I can't comment on exactly how to do that process on them.
Dischg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 14, 2017, 05:40:15 PM
 #436

Got my moonies running at a clock speed of 796 and they're running totally SOLID at 4.52Mh/s and the error rate is averaged at .09% (which I know is nothing). How far can I get the error rate up to til it becomes a problem or unprofitable?

Also, really ridiculous question here...

I actually started ASIC mining because my office is the coldest room in my house. I could've just bought a stupid little heater, but I thought I could do this and add a little heat my room AND make a little scratch on the side. Right now, these babies are barely even warm so I'm gonna have to jack them up a lot to create any heat. For now, I'm just seeing how long they'll go without locking up (I'm at almost 11 hours!). So what is the sweet spot in temp that people are encountering? Speed vs. errors and lock ups?
sunk818
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 111



View Profile WWW
December 14, 2017, 05:45:24 PM
 #437

6)Moonlannder runs fine until I add another pool. Password for any pool I add is d=128.

7) Pro-Hash AND Mining-Dutch are the ones I'm trying to mine. Mining-Dutch has no issues with Litecoin but anything else is a problem.

Try leaving the password empty. prohashing.com has vardiff (variable difficulty). You're setting the difficulty too high for scrypt algorithm. scrypto algorithm is not the same as SHA256 algorithm.

For mining-dutch.nl 3321 is the low diff for litecoin so that seems to be the right port for you.

sunk818
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 111



View Profile WWW
December 14, 2017, 06:18:37 PM
 #438

So what is the sweet spot in temp that people are encountering? Speed vs. errors and lock ups?

You might want to get an Antminer L3+ if you want to generate more heat (and noise). These aren't going to warm up your room. I have ten ML2 running and they barely generate a swarm breeze @ 832Mhz.

JustAnotherPLT
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 14, 2017, 06:30:58 PM
 #439

6)Moonlannder runs fine until I add another pool. Password for any pool I add is d=128.

7) Pro-Hash AND Mining-Dutch are the ones I'm trying to mine. Mining-Dutch has no issues with Litecoin but anything else is a problem.

Try leaving the password empty. prohashing.com has vardiff (variable difficulty). You're setting the difficulty too high for scrypt algorithm. scrypto algorithm is not the same as SHA256 algorithm.

For mining-dutch.nl 3321 is the low diff for litecoin so that seems to be the right port for you.

I tried that as well. It's almost as if by adding another pool it locks things up.
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
December 14, 2017, 06:56:10 PM
 #440

New driver release is out, sorry for the delay and thanks for being patient. I added some last minute debugging code to better help people with issue and rule out any hardware problems. The compile binaries include the big restart fix, so these should technically hash forever without needing any manual restarts (as long as the power supply is semi-stable and you haven't really screwed up the voltages).

Let me know if the binaries run fine on respective systems...might have mis-compiled something while trying to keep track of every architecture  Undecided

https://github.com/jstefanop/bfgminer/releases/tag/bfgminer-5.4.2-futurebit2-beta2

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 ... 108 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!