Bitcoin Forum
November 27, 2021, 06:30:25 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 ... 108 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Official FutureBit Moonlander 2 Driver and Support Thread  (Read 69152 times)
Megaquake
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 629
Merit: 506


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2017, 02:34:51 AM
 #241

so i got my pluggable usb hub and now im running all 8..

unfortunately they only run for about 3 to 5 minutes until they ALL stop blinking and need to be restarted.. Sad


I am surprised no one has said you most likely have a usb hub that is unable to provide enough current per usb port but that is not the issue as I have 4 running on a usb hub powered by the 25 amp 5v rail and I have the same issue, I have checked the core and mem voltages ~0.75-0.81v and 0.89-0.92v mem

Mines at Kano.is best profit in the world!

在Kano.is的BTC
1638037825
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638037825

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638037825
Reply with quote  #2

1638037825
Report to moderator
1638037825
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638037825

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638037825
Reply with quote  #2

1638037825
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1638037825
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638037825

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638037825
Reply with quote  #2

1638037825
Report to moderator
1638037825
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638037825

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638037825
Reply with quote  #2

1638037825
Report to moderator
Megaquake
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 629
Merit: 506


View Profile WWW
December 07, 2017, 03:01:19 AM
 #242

I do believe it is a problem with power, I did not think I was going to have to buy a USB hub @ ~200 USD to get these going Sad

Mines at Kano.is best profit in the world!

在Kano.is的BTC
aarons6
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1006


View Profile
December 07, 2017, 03:17:02 AM
 #243

so i got my pluggable usb hub and now im running all 8..

unfortunately they only run for about 3 to 5 minutes until they ALL stop blinking and need to be restarted.. Sad


I am surprised no one has said you most likely have a usb hub that is unable to provide enough current per usb port but that is not the issue as I have 4 running on a usb hub powered by the 25 amp 5v rail and I have the same issue, I have checked the core and mem voltages ~0.75-0.81v and 0.89-0.92v mem

its not power related on my side.. these hubs have been powering 8 v1 moonlanders for almost a year.
they now only have 3 v2 each.. so they should have plenty of power.
RdStrcklnd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 1


View Profile
December 07, 2017, 04:03:21 AM
 #244

so i got my pluggable usb hub and now im running all 8..

unfortunately they only run for about 3 to 5 minutes until they ALL stop blinking and need to be restarted.. Sad


I am surprised no one has said you most likely have a usb hub that is unable to provide enough current per usb port but that is not the issue as I have 4 running on a usb hub powered by the 25 amp 5v rail and I have the same issue, I have checked the core and mem voltages ~0.75-0.81v and 0.89-0.92v mem

its not power related on my side.. these hubs have been powering 8 v1 moonlanders for almost a year.
they now only have 3 v2 each.. so they should have plenty of power.

I have two running well on that same hub, maybe try it with two so you can at least see for sure if it's a power issue.
aarons6
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1006


View Profile
December 07, 2017, 04:06:52 AM
 #245

so i got my pluggable usb hub and now im running all 8..

unfortunately they only run for about 3 to 5 minutes until they ALL stop blinking and need to be restarted.. Sad


I am surprised no one has said you most likely have a usb hub that is unable to provide enough current per usb port but that is not the issue as I have 4 running on a usb hub powered by the 25 amp 5v rail and I have the same issue, I have checked the core and mem voltages ~0.75-0.81v and 0.89-0.92v mem

its not power related on my side.. these hubs have been powering 8 v1 moonlanders for almost a year.
they now only have 3 v2 each.. so they should have plenty of power.

I have two running well on that same hub, maybe try it with two so you can at least see for sure if it's a power issue.
i have 3 hubs total. if it was a power issue, the other 2 hubs wouldn't be affected. its like they all just stop working.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3220
Merit: 3862



View Profile
December 07, 2017, 04:53:51 AM
 #246

The fans  on these sticks  may not be  good.

One now shudders making noise  and vibrating the stick.

I pull the two fans and now use external fans  all is well in fact better then when I ran with the little fans  also not as loud.

I can not find it  but someone else  said their fan  became unbalanced and vibrated.

This happens even though  the fan screws are tight and correctly installed,

I have similar issue with fan ( only one of the 3 sticks ordered ).
Time to time starts making really annoying noise ... i also think is's increasing in speed as the noise level is increasing as well (and i can feel unusual vibrations when touch it) but after restarting the miner it's back to normal.
I also tried to tighten/loose the screws but that just change the noise frequency (pitch or what it's called)  Cheesy ... I have quite wide range of fans on hand so will try to find some that fits ... so no big issue.

But have other question.
Wanted to put one of sticks on USB cable and put it between window frames to keep it cold ( i have double windows in my house ) ... miner recognize the stick (green led is on) but won't show any hashrate (just zeros).
Can be the long cable cause of this issue? It's 2 meters long. I tried it with shorter one (1 m) and that works well.

Anyhow, OP you did a great job, thanks for these awesome miniminers.

yeah trying to figure out how many of us  have this fan issue.

and it looks like  that stick  has more issues.

I seem to have 1 good one and one bad one.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
aarons6
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1006


View Profile
December 07, 2017, 07:33:31 AM
 #247

The fans  on these sticks  may not be  good.

One now shudders making noise  and vibrating the stick.

I pull the two fans and now use external fans  all is well in fact better then when I ran with the little fans  also not as loud.

I can not find it  but someone else  said their fan  became unbalanced and vibrated.

This happens even though  the fan screws are tight and correctly installed,

I have similar issue with fan ( only one of the 3 sticks ordered ).
Time to time starts making really annoying noise ... i also think is's increasing in speed as the noise level is increasing as well (and i can feel unusual vibrations when touch it) but after restarting the miner it's back to normal.
I also tried to tighten/loose the screws but that just change the noise frequency (pitch or what it's called)  Cheesy ... I have quite wide range of fans on hand so will try to find some that fits ... so no big issue.

But have other question.
Wanted to put one of sticks on USB cable and put it between window frames to keep it cold ( i have double windows in my house ) ... miner recognize the stick (green led is on) but won't show any hashrate (just zeros).
Can be the long cable cause of this issue? It's 2 meters long. I tried it with shorter one (1 m) and that works well.

Anyhow, OP you did a great job, thanks for these awesome miniminers.

yeah trying to figure out how many of us  have this fan issue.

and it looks like  that stick  has more issues.

I seem to have 1 good one and one bad one.

im starting to think its the driver.. one can run all day long, but throw 5 or 6 more on and they dont work very well. i think  jstefanop tried to explain it once before. sometimes the chip gets jammed up with bad info or something. he said he was trying to make them auto restart.

try upping the diff to 1024..

also when i first got mine the fans were horrible. they made all kinds of noises.. but i unset the screws and i just tightened them down very little.. they are better now.
catcorp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 07, 2017, 01:04:07 PM
 #248

awesome i received my first moonlander!
It's currently running at stock settings and mining around 3.40 Mhs.

Now i'd like to change the settings to the so called  "sweet spot" and actually crank it up a bit to get closer to the 5Mhs. of this miner. How do i do that? Let's see if I understand:

in my .bat i will have to change the mhz to:
Code:
"--set MLD:clock=832"
But that will need a fan for sure?

or go safer? or even more safer?
Code:
"--set MLD:clock=796"
Code:
"--set MLD:clock=756"

I can kinda leave the Core Voltage alone because the stock is .75 or should i twist it a bit to the left to get closer to the .76 / .82 ?

It's my first and i dont want to fry it!


ps getting a lot of "pool 0 stale share detected submitting as user requested"
ethernaly
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 07, 2017, 01:14:46 PM
Last edit: December 07, 2017, 01:27:33 PM by ethernaly
 #249

I tried to configure as suggested using the litecoinpool.org london pool and --set MLD:clock=600 but I get this strange thing:

I saw a warning: failed to sanity check in lowl-vcom.c windows_usb_get_string():508

and only 2.5MH.

If I try to set: --set MLD:clock=954 the bfgminer I've 0MH/s.


Is it necessary to turn the hardware wheels to overclock it?


edit: I tried with 756, it starts @4.8MH but after a couple of minutes it slow down at 0.8-0.5MH Sad
thebosz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 07, 2017, 06:19:49 PM
Last edit: December 07, 2017, 06:43:32 PM by thebosz
 #250

I've found that my stick was getting stuck constantly when I would use hash-to-coins but it wouldn't get stuck as often on mining-dutch.

I thought that was a clue and narrowed it down: the difficulty was too low on hash-to-coins! I upped the difficulty (actually, I just set it to vardiff) and it's been much happier.

It still will get stuck after an hour or so, but usually doing a "<S> -> <B> -> <Y>" (Settings -> Restart -> Yes) cycle would start it back up again.
catcorp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 07, 2017, 06:42:43 PM
 #251

I've found that my stick was getting stuck constantly when I would use hash-to-coins but it wouldn't get stuck as often on mining-dutch.

I thought that was a clue and narrowed it down: the difficulty was too low on hash-to-coins! I upped the difficulty (actually, I just set it to vardiff) and it's been much happier.

It still will get stuck after an hour or so, but usually doing a " -> -> [Y]" (Settings -> Restart -> Yes) cycle would start it back up again.

I'm on hash to coins with var difficulty and getting a lot of pool 0 stale share detected submitting as user requested when mining Gulden
thebosz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 07, 2017, 06:44:59 PM
 #252


I'm on hash to coins with var difficulty and getting a lot of pool 0 stale share detected submitting as user requested when mining Gulden

You should use --no-submit-stale

I'm mining tips because of the low difficulty. Try a different coin for a bit and see if that works better.
RdStrcklnd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 1


View Profile
December 07, 2017, 06:46:26 PM
 #253

I just noticed that my speeds on litecoinpool.org are in kH/s (I'm currently getting 8.6-8.7 kH/s with two sticks) - isn't that 1,000 times slower than the 8.6-8.7 MH/s I should be getting, or am I understanding it incorrectly?
gnh5002
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 07, 2017, 07:25:09 PM
 #254

I just noticed that my speeds on litecoinpool.org are in kH/s (I'm currently getting 8.6-8.7 kH/s with two sticks) - isn't that 1,000 times slower than the 8.6-8.7 MH/s I should be getting, or am I understanding it incorrectly?

It's right for me, here's the math:

1 kH/s is 1,000 hashes per second (sometimes mistakenly written KH/s).
1 MH/s is 1,000,000 hashes per second.



edit: I see you say 8.6-8.7kH - mine shows 4,542kH/s for one stick right now.. Did you mean something different maybe 8600kH/s? That is what I would expect for 8.6MH/s.
RdStrcklnd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 1


View Profile
December 07, 2017, 07:30:10 PM
 #255

I just noticed that my speeds on litecoinpool.org are in kH/s (I'm currently getting 8.6-8.7 kH/s with two sticks) - isn't that 1,000 times slower than the 8.6-8.7 MH/s I should be getting, or am I understanding it incorrectly?

It's right for me, here's the math:

1 kH/s is 1,000 hashes per second (sometimes mistakenly written KH/s).
1 MH/s is 1,000,000 hashes per second.



edit: I see you say 8.6-8.7kH - mine shows 4,542kH/s for one stick right now.. Did you mean something different maybe 8600kH/s? That is what I would expect for 8.6MH/s.

You're absolutely right, I misread the comma as a decimal point. I'm getting 8.6-8.7 thousand kH/s, or 8.6-8.7 MH/s. Thanks for the help!
catcorp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 07, 2017, 07:35:27 PM
Last edit: December 07, 2017, 07:47:37 PM by catcorp
 #256


I'm on hash to coins with var difficulty and getting a lot of pool 0 stale share detected submitting as user requested when mining Gulden

You should use --no-submit-stale

I'm mining tips because of the low difficulty. Try a different coin for a bit and see if that works better.

I added the code at the end of the line and it seems to be discarding the stale ones, but right now the Moonlander is giving me lots of discarding messages after eachother and just 2.8 mhs instead of the 4 Mhs just 10 minutes ago.
Why is the mhs going down and why do i still get those messages? Gulden not the right coin?

http://i68.tinypic.com/2cx8ak8.png
thebosz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 07, 2017, 08:11:39 PM
 #257



I added the code at the end of the line and it seems to be discarding the stale ones, but right now the Moonlander is giving me lots of discarding messages after eachother and just 2.8 mhs instead of the 4 Mhs just 10 minutes ago.
Why is the mhs going down and why do i still get those messages? Gulden not the right coin?

http://i68.tinypic.com/2cx8ak8.png

It looks like you're running into the dreaded "stick died and didn't auto restart" problem.

Is the red light blinking on the stick?

It probably isn't.

You should restart the miner (either press <S> then <B> and then <Y> or press <Q> to quit and then rerun the startup script)

If it still doesn't blink the red light, pull the stick out and then plug it back in and restart the miner.

If it still doesn't work, your settings probably need to be adjusted. Check the "Tuning" section for details.
wavelengthsf
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 117


View Profile
December 07, 2017, 09:07:50 PM
 #258

The fans  on these sticks  may not be  good.

One now shudders making noise  and vibrating the stick.

I pull the two fans and now use external fans  all is well in fact better then when I ran with the little fans  also not as loud.

I can not find it  but someone else  said their fan  became unbalanced and vibrated.

This happens even though  the fan screws are tight and correctly installed,

I have similar issue with fan ( only one of the 3 sticks ordered ).
Time to time starts making really annoying noise ... i also think is's increasing in speed as the noise level is increasing as well (and i can feel unusual vibrations when touch it) but after restarting the miner it's back to normal.
I also tried to tighten/loose the screws but that just change the noise frequency (pitch or what it's called)  Cheesy ... I have quite wide range of fans on hand so will try to find some that fits ... so no big issue.

But have other question.
Wanted to put one of sticks on USB cable and put it between window frames to keep it cold ( i have double windows in my house ) ... miner recognize the stick (green led is on) but won't show any hashrate (just zeros).
Can be the long cable cause of this issue? It's 2 meters long. I tried it with shorter one (1 m) and that works well.

Anyhow, OP you did a great job, thanks for these awesome miniminers.

yeah trying to figure out how many of us  have this fan issue.

and it looks like  that stick  has more issues.

I seem to have 1 good one and one bad one.

Try to loosen the screws. I originally had mine too tight and the fans would be very loud, but if I loosened them a lot, it definitely helps.

lennyNO
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 07, 2017, 10:04:34 PM
 #259

I wrote earlier that I was struggling to getting my ML2s to be recognised by my Vista PC when connected via an eyeboot hub. I did get some good support from someone at eyeboot, I will test out the feedback but in the meantime I bought a deadcheap 2nd hand win10 laptop and now all (6) ML2s are hashing away at 4.5Mh/s at 795Mhz and default pot settings. I did add two external cheap USB fans to keep the temps under control, the heatsink gets pretty hot at these settings without extra cooling. So in all I am quite happy now. 

Of course as the global hashrate is exploding and the LTC price being under pressure as everyone seems to jump on BTC the LTC returns are rapidly diminishing, so I wish I had bought the max number of ML2s the hub can handle. But with the 6 I am just below 30Mh/s which is nice, for now. In a month or two it is probably another story...   
RdStrcklnd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 1


View Profile
December 07, 2017, 10:17:08 PM
 #260

I wrote earlier that I was struggling to getting my ML2s to be recognised by my Vista PC when connected via an eyeboot hub. I did get some good support from someone at eyeboot, I will test out the feedback but in the meantime I bought a deadcheap 2nd hand win10 laptop and now all (6) ML2s are hashing away at 4.5Mh/s at 795Mhz and default pot settings. I did add two external cheap USB fans to keep the temps under control, the heatsink gets pretty hot at these settings without extra cooling. So in all I am quite happy now.  

Of course as the global hashrate is exploding and the LTC price being under pressure as everyone seems to jump on BTC the LTC returns are rapidly diminishing, so I wish I had bought the max number of ML2s the hub can handle. But with the 6 I am just below 30Mh/s which is nice, for now. In a month or two it is probably another story...  

I'm not sure where you're located, but Holybitcoin has them in stock and shipping in 24 hours if you wanted to pick up some more. I just bought a third myself.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 ... 108 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!