Bitcoin Forum
November 30, 2021, 08:29:26 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 ... 108 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Official FutureBit Moonlander 2 Driver and Support Thread  (Read 69167 times)
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3220
Merit: 3878



View Profile
December 18, 2017, 05:38:34 AM
 #521


eyeboots usb 3.0  19 port hub.


https://www.amazon.com/Eyeboot-Port-110-120V-amps-port/dp/B01EB33JOK/ref=sr_1_1?


 it has 16 ports on top and 3 on the side 19 ports total.

with the stock tiny fan you can alternate ports to fit.

my advice is pull the stock fans and use my method if the noise is a non issue.

those fans i use are the scythe ultra craze fan.

https://www.amazon.com/Scythe-DFS123812H-3000-Ultra-Kaze-120mm/dp/B001JKNMBE/ref=sr_1_1?

7 watts per fan moving 133 cfm  2 fans move 266 cfm.

most likely I won't use the stock fans in my setup.

Nice setup, such a bummer that really no one makes some good hubs and the few out there are that style you have and are crazy expensive.

I think I'm going with some of the anker 60w hubs -- I have some batch 1's coming so hopefully I'll get the bugs worked out before Batch 2 units arrive.

Have you taken any temp readings @ 756? -- Anyone know what the desired temp range is for these things?

When I get my setup I'll post up, I recently picked up a FLIR camera as well so hopefully I can do some illustrations of that.

I have a heat gun forgot where it is.

But with the fans I am using the sticks are not hot to the touch which means they are well under 60c

I am guessing under 50c.  The hub can do eight sticks easy.

I have all three hubs from eyeboot

The 49 port usb 2

The 19 port usb 3.0

The 19 port usb 2.0

They are not cheap but I had them from sidehacks compac sticks a few years ago.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
1638260966
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638260966

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638260966
Reply with quote  #2

1638260966
Report to moderator
1638260966
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638260966

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638260966
Reply with quote  #2

1638260966
Report to moderator
1638260966
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638260966

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638260966
Reply with quote  #2

1638260966
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1638260966
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638260966

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638260966
Reply with quote  #2

1638260966
Report to moderator
1638260966
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638260966

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638260966
Reply with quote  #2

1638260966
Report to moderator
1638260966
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638260966

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638260966
Reply with quote  #2

1638260966
Report to moderator
lennyNO
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 18, 2017, 10:10:50 AM
 #522

>> What hubs are you using?

These seem/are eyeboots Smiley

>> Thanks for this video, is there enough clearance with the fans installed on the heatsinks to stack them up side by side like that on the hub you are using?

No there is not. That's a little pain. So either one has to take the minifan off, or use every other USB slot. For high hashing rates (clock > 800Mhz) one needs external fans anyway. One of the eyeboots in the video takes 19 USB's or so, and with using half the slots you can still stack 11. The alternative to removing the minifan is using USB extenders (see post a few pages back).

JAUER
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 18, 2017, 11:27:10 AM
 #523

I've been having trouble with the miner's reliability...
So far, I haven't been able to keep it going for more than 4 hours.
In this forum the two explanations I've been able to gather are that either the power supply is too low, or the memory voltage is too low. I'm fairly sure the power is enough, because the miner starts (correct me if that is a wrong conclusion), and even though I've tinkered with the memory voltage it doesn't seem to make a difference. Not only does it not last, but it doesn't last in an unpredictable way - it can last anywhere from 30mins to 4hrs.
Any help would be much appreciated!


The power supplied to these miners is a very big part of their proper operation.
I run 5 moonlander 2's at around 5Mh each (freq=876, d-1024) and they are taking around 12 watts per.

They would not run on a TRIPLITE 10 port hub due to the circuit board copper power lines not being able
to supply the current required to make them hash at 5Mh. I had to crack open the USB hub and solder wires
along the power paths to the USB ports and remove the power jack and create direct wired connection to the hub.

The power draw will increase as your Mh increases via the Freq set in your .bat file.
Also if you tun up the Mem/Core voltage you power demands will increase.
5Mh each at 12 watts is 2.4 amps per unit or 12 amps @5vdc total draw with 5 units!
Make sure you have enough power to all the Moonlander 2's to work properly.

Try turning down your freq settings to 600 or less and see if you can get them all hashing at lower Mh.
If so then increase the freq step by step until they fail/reset. the setting below is your max freq unless
you supply more power (amps) to the hub. I have not had too many issues with reliability.

Also make sure you download the latest miner software with the auto reset feature.

 
Thanks for the help - but now you mention it, there is something else that seems a bit odd. I installed the latest driver with the auto-restart feature, although hat hasn't come into play when my miner stops. Any thoughts on that?
JAUER
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 18, 2017, 11:38:51 AM
 #524

Thinking about it, I'm not sure if the new driver I've been trying to download is the new one. I've been doing it through my RPi's terminal, and both the new driver and old are named the exact same thing... so maybe it has just been downloading the same thing over and over again? Any ideas on how to specify the new driver?
Astrali
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 281
Merit: 122

Crypto Addicted


View Profile WWW
December 18, 2017, 12:06:12 PM
 #525

This is my current solution.

added an external power supply 5V 10A to the USB hub (directly connected to the USB ports without any chip limitations).

3x Moonlander 2 running at 4.3 mh/s and a cheap USB fan blowing to the small heatsinks (just to be sure).
Wall to the fans on the back got about 2-3cm distance so the air can flow just fine.

All connected to Raspberry 2 - works like a charm!

http://84.200.24.120/3Moonlanders.jpg

Greetings - Astrali

Join the mining! pool.cryptopowered.club    Smiley   || Need a miner? Rent one! MiningRigRentals
Fenboy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 83
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 18, 2017, 03:01:36 PM
 #526

Using a Gridseed it is possible to change and display the frequency in the "Manage devices" menu. Would be nice if it would be possible with the Moonlanders as well.

+1  Cool
Fenboy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 83
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 18, 2017, 03:18:02 PM
 #527

This is my current solution.

added an external power supply 5V 10A to the USB hub (directly connected to the USB ports without any chip limitations

Exactly what I am going to try. Waiting on a cheap 10 port USB hub to be delivered, have 12A 5v supply so should be able to power 6x Moonlanders
Astrali
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 281
Merit: 122

Crypto Addicted


View Profile WWW
December 18, 2017, 04:17:05 PM
 #528

This is my current solution.

added an external power supply 5V 10A to the USB hub (directly connected to the USB ports without any chip limitations

Exactly what I am going to try. Waiting on a cheap 10 port USB hub to be delivered, have 12A 5v supply so should be able to power 6x Moonlanders

12A already is a lot .. please check temperature on your hub and cables then Smiley
it already gets warm on my 3 devices!
i just bought an overpowered PSU for stability reasons.

Would be cool if you share your experience

Join the mining! pool.cryptopowered.club    Smiley   || Need a miner? Rent one! MiningRigRentals
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
December 18, 2017, 08:15:21 PM
 #529

Thinking about it, I'm not sure if the new driver I've been trying to download is the new one. I've been doing it through my RPi's terminal, and both the new driver and old are named the exact same thing... so maybe it has just been downloading the same thing over and over again? Any ideas on how to specify the new driver?

You should see build number 38-g106390a9 if you are running latest version at the top. Just download the latest release binary on my releases page and copy it over to your pi...

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
dvsrk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 18, 2017, 09:29:51 PM
 #530

Hello all,

Can someone suggest if the following USB HUB is a good buy to run multiple moonlander 2 USB miners with its optimum performance? appreciate your quick help on this,

https://www.amazon.com/Sipolar-Bitcoin-Mining-Black-Industrial/dp/B01K4EHLBW/ref=sr_1_5?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1513632237&sr=1-5&keywords=sipolar+USB+2.0+hub

Thank you.
racebyu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346
Merit: 260


View Profile
December 18, 2017, 10:55:45 PM
 #531

The new software has been running great so far no issues.
Here are some photos of my modified 10 port hub, wire soldered on power
tracks to top of caps solder points.
With the wire mod and 5vdc @ 10amp supply can get 5Mh per unit (Freq=876, D=1024)

Tripp-Lite 10 port hub:


Modified power rails:


Hardwired to circuit board:


25Mh, x5 usb miner hashrate:

markcarline2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 18, 2017, 10:58:37 PM
 #532

Hello all,

Can someone suggest if the following USB HUB is a good buy to run multiple moonlander 2 USB miners with its optimum performance? appreciate your quick help on this,

https://www.amazon.com/Sipolar-Bitcoin-Mining-Black-Industrial/dp/B01K4EHLBW/ref=sr_1_5?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1513632237&sr=1-5&keywords=sipolar+USB+2.0+hub

Thank you.

Don't think it's got enough power per port...

"5V/650mA sufficient current per port"
Christmaskkid
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 18, 2017, 11:10:05 PM
 #533

so I have three miners on a usb hub, one was running fine all by itself but as soon as i connect the other two it says ASIC stopped hashing, attempting to restart..what could be my problem? I tried to add devices but when i go into the "add devices" option i use the "all" selection and when i had one miner even on the hub it connected and worked..so why can't they all connect when I click "all"
(p.s. when they are all connected they come up as MLD0 MLD1 MLD2)
thanks
(p.s.s) (im not sure how to search serial ports since it is a hub..or is that the number on the moonlander..thanks
edit now it is telling me device is not configured...how do i configure my devices

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3220
Merit: 3878



View Profile
December 18, 2017, 11:15:00 PM
 #534

Hello all,

Can someone suggest if the following USB HUB is a good buy to run multiple moonlander 2 USB miners with its optimum performance? appreciate your quick help on this,

https://www.amazon.com/Sipolar-Bitcoin-Mining-Black-Industrial/dp/B01K4EHLBW/ref=sr_1_5?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1513632237&sr=1-5&keywords=sipolar+USB+2.0+hub

Thank you.

Don't think it's got enough power per port...

"5V/650mA sufficient current per port"


Yep a lack of juice per port

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
dvsrk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 18, 2017, 11:16:57 PM
 #535

Hello all,

Can someone suggest if the following USB HUB is a good buy to run multiple moonlander 2 USB miners with its optimum performance? appreciate your quick help on this,

https://www.amazon.com/Sipolar-Bitcoin-Mining-Black-Industrial/dp/B01K4EHLBW/ref=sr_1_5?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1513632237&sr=1-5&keywords=sipolar+USB+2.0+hub

Thank you.

Don't think it's got enough power per port...

"5V/650mA sufficient current per port"


Yep a lack of juice per port

Any good suggestions that are available on Amazon? Thanks.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3220
Merit: 3878



View Profile
December 18, 2017, 11:39:44 PM
 #536

Hello all,

Can someone suggest if the following USB HUB is a good buy to run multiple moonlander 2 USB miners with its optimum performance? appreciate your quick help on this,

https://www.amazon.com/Sipolar-Bitcoin-Mining-Black-Industrial/dp/B01K4EHLBW/ref=sr_1_5?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1513632237&sr=1-5&keywords=sipolar+USB+2.0+hub

Thank you.

Don't think it's got enough power per port...

"5V/650mA sufficient current per port"


Yep a lack of juice per port

Any good suggestions that are available on Amazon? Thanks.

2.1 amps per port  vs .650 amps per port

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01KPOEX9O/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_ep_dp_neJYybAT9BA7R

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Eyedol-X
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 508



View Profile
December 19, 2017, 12:11:56 AM
 #537

if my goal is 4.5mh per stick, do I need more than 1.0 amp per port?
racebyu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346
Merit: 260


View Profile
December 19, 2017, 12:22:53 AM
 #538

if my goal is 4.5mh per stick, do I need more than 1.0 amp per port?

Yes, more like 2A+ per port to be sure.
Mine at 5Mh draw 2.4 amps each.
These units are very efficient at 3.7Mh approx 5 watts
but power draw increases none linear with Mh increase.
Eyedol-X
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 508



View Profile
December 19, 2017, 12:31:47 AM
 #539

if my goal is 4.5mh per stick, do I need more than 1.0 amp per port?

Yes, more like 2A+ per port to be sure.
Mine at 5Mh draw 2.4 amps each.
These units are very efficient at 3.7Mh approx 5 watts
but power draw increased exponentially with Mh increase.

What kind of amps at 3.7Mh?

I'm trying to determine if I can get away with 1 amp or not as the costs associated to go to 2amp USB hubs is quite a big jump in price.
racebyu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346
Merit: 260


View Profile
December 19, 2017, 12:53:50 AM
 #540

if my goal is 4.5mh per stick, do I need more than 1.0 amp per port?

Yes, more like 2A+ per port to be sure.
Mine at 5Mh draw 2.4 amps each.
These units are very efficient at 3.7Mh approx 5 watts
but power draw increased exponentially with Mh increase.

What kind of amps at 3.7Mh?

I'm trying to determine if I can get away with 1 amp or not as the costs associated to go to 2amp USB hubs is quite a big jump in price.

I think you should be around 5w to get 3.7Mh.
5watts at 5vdc = 1 amp per usb miner power draw.
Multiply by miners you are intending on running for total current required.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 ... 108 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!