Bitcoin Forum
November 27, 2021, 05:08:15 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 ... 108 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Official FutureBit Moonlander 2 Driver and Support Thread  (Read 69152 times)
RdStrcklnd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 1


View Profile
December 05, 2017, 03:55:25 PM
Last edit: December 05, 2017, 04:53:02 PM by RdStrcklnd
 #201


Im working on a fix to keep the alive automatically. The current dead/restart logic is bugged in bfgminer, so I'm going to implement it directly in the driver. Should have a new release out in the next few days.

Awesome! I'm having this same problem and I'm looking forward to the update!

Again, you're an incredibly awesome person!

Agreed, thanks for making these sticks! Really looking forward to the update as well, it'd be great if they could restart on their own.

Assuming ample power (I'm only running two of them off the Plugable hub), what are the optimal settings for the frequency and core voltage? On the stock settings I'm getting between 3-3.5 MH/s each stick.
1638032895
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638032895

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638032895
Reply with quote  #2

1638032895
Report to moderator
1638032895
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638032895

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638032895
Reply with quote  #2

1638032895
Report to moderator
1638032895
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638032895

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638032895
Reply with quote  #2

1638032895
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1638032895
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638032895

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638032895
Reply with quote  #2

1638032895
Report to moderator
1638032895
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638032895

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638032895
Reply with quote  #2

1638032895
Report to moderator
sunk818
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 111



View Profile WWW
December 05, 2017, 04:56:59 PM
Last edit: December 05, 2017, 08:14:49 PM by sunk818
 #202

i dunno, these usb sticks are expensive, i dont think id risk it on some home made powered hub.
the pluggable hub is only 40$

I'm questioning whether plugable usb hub can handle the power draw. I was able to get 4 Mh/s on port 1, 4, 7 initially. At a later point one of the ML2 goes to 1 Mh/s on the port. That's what it stabilizes at. Either they are running too hot just with the given fan or the power draw is too great at stock running at 744 Mhz. I'm thinking I need something that can draw more power reliably. Maybe cheapo home made HUB will be better than Unpluggable. Right now, I can only plug in 3 USB ASIC. Any more and there are stability issues or unoptimal performance.

Look at device 1 and 3.


jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
December 05, 2017, 06:14:38 PM
 #203


Im working on a fix to keep the alive automatically. The current dead/restart logic is bugged in bfgminer, so I'm going to implement it directly in the driver. Should have a new release out in the next few days.

Awesome! I'm having this same problem and I'm looking forward to the update!

Again, you're an incredibly awesome person!

Agreed, thanks for making these sticks! Really looking forward to the update as well, it'd be great if they could restart on their own.

Assuming ample power (I'm only running two of them off the Plugable hub), what are the optimal settings for the frequency and core voltage? On the stock settings I'm getting between 3-3.5 MH/s each stick.

756 is what I have found to be the optimal balance between hashrate and power on these chips. 756 runs fine at about .7v, so you can turn core voltage down a bit, and turn down memory voltage as low as your ASIC can handle (~.75-.Cool for best power draw.

Check out my tuning guide in OP on how to fine tune these using --benchmark flag.

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
RdStrcklnd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 1


View Profile
December 05, 2017, 08:29:58 PM
 #204


Im working on a fix to keep the alive automatically. The current dead/restart logic is bugged in bfgminer, so I'm going to implement it directly in the driver. Should have a new release out in the next few days.

Awesome! I'm having this same problem and I'm looking forward to the update!

Again, you're an incredibly awesome person!

Agreed, thanks for making these sticks! Really looking forward to the update as well, it'd be great if they could restart on their own.

Assuming ample power (I'm only running two of them off the Plugable hub), what are the optimal settings for the frequency and core voltage? On the stock settings I'm getting between 3-3.5 MH/s each stick.

756 is what I have found to be the optimal balance between hashrate and power on these chips. 756 runs fine at about .7v, so you can turn core voltage down a bit, and turn down memory voltage as low as your ASIC can handle (~.75-.Cool for best power draw.

Check out my tuning guide in OP on how to fine tune these using --benchmark flag.

Sounds like just changing the frequency to 756 in the code should be probably work without messing with the hardware screws? I'd rather just start with that.
Lafu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2072
Merit: 2004



View Profile
December 05, 2017, 08:45:21 PM
 #205

I have get today my 2 Moonlanders from Bitshopper  and i try it first on win 7 and it all works fine with stock settings  !   After this i have them now running on my pi 3 and have done some testing with the mhz in the start file and for my 2 on the pi 3 stable working is 768 mhz


Regards  Lafu




▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄    ▄▄▄▄                  ▄▄▄   ▄▄▄▄▄        ▄▄▄▄▄   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄    ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
 ▀████████████████▄  ████                 █████   ▀████▄    ▄████▀  ▄██████████████   ████████████▀  ▄█████████████▀  ▄█████████████▄
              ▀████  ████               ▄███▀███▄   ▀████▄▄████▀               ████   ████                ████                   ▀████
   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█████  ████              ████   ████    ▀██████▀      ██████████████▄   ████████████▀       ████       ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄████▀
   ██████████████▀   ████            ▄███▀     ▀███▄    ████        ████        ████  ████                ████       ██████████████▀
   ████              ████████████▀  ████   ██████████   ████        ████████████████  █████████████▀      ████       ████      ▀████▄
   ▀▀▀▀              ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀   ▀▀▀▀   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀  ▀▀▀▀        ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀        ▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀        ▀▀▀▀▀

#1 CRYPTO CASINO & SPORTSBOOK
▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄▄
▄█▀▄▄▀▀█▀▀▀█▀▀▄▄▀█▄
▄█▀▄▀▀█ ▄█▄▄▄█▄ █▀▀▄▀█▄
▄▀▄██▄▄▀▀▄▄ ▀▄▄▀▀▄▄██▄▀▄
▄█ ████ ███▌▐███ ████ █▄
█ ████ ████ ███ ████ ████ █
█ ████ ███ ▄▄▄▄▄ ███ ████ █
█ ████ █▀▄█▀▀▀▀▀█▄▀█ ████ █
▀█ ████ ██ ▄▀▀▀▄ ██ ████ █▀
▀▄▀██▀█▄▄ ▀▀▀▀▀ ▄▄█▀██▀▄▀
▀█▄▀█▄▄▀▀█████▀▀▄▄█▀▄█▀
▀█▄▀▀██▄▄▄▄▄██▀▀▄█▀
▀▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀
OFFICIAL
BETTING
PARTNER
.INSTANT & FAST..
.TRANSACTION.....
.PROVABLY FAIR..
......& SECURE......
.24/7 CUSTOMER.
.............SUPPORT.
BTC      |    ETH      |  LTC      |     XRP      |     XMR      |    BNB      | more
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
December 05, 2017, 09:05:48 PM
 #206


Im working on a fix to keep the alive automatically. The current dead/restart logic is bugged in bfgminer, so I'm going to implement it directly in the driver. Should have a new release out in the next few days.

Awesome! I'm having this same problem and I'm looking forward to the update!

Again, you're an incredibly awesome person!

Agreed, thanks for making these sticks! Really looking forward to the update as well, it'd be great if they could restart on their own.

Assuming ample power (I'm only running two of them off the Plugable hub), what are the optimal settings for the frequency and core voltage? On the stock settings I'm getting between 3-3.5 MH/s each stick.

756 is what I have found to be the optimal balance between hashrate and power on these chips. 756 runs fine at about .7v, so you can turn core voltage down a bit, and turn down memory voltage as low as your ASIC can handle (~.75-.Cool for best power draw.

Check out my tuning guide in OP on how to fine tune these using --benchmark flag.

Sounds like just changing the frequency to 756 in the code should be probably work without messing with the hardware screws? I'd rather just start with that.

Yes just change the "600" to 756 in the start_moonlander file.

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
aironeous
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 05, 2017, 09:20:35 PM
 #207

Pool 0 is hiding block contents from us.

And it doesn't mine anymore. Started doing that on Sunday I think it was.
Astrali
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 281
Merit: 122

Crypto Addicted


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2017, 10:17:49 PM
Last edit: December 05, 2017, 11:08:53 PM by Astrali
 #208

just pluged moonlander to my hub ..

result is this:

Code:
dmesg
[883937.626649] usb 1-1.4.3: new full-speed USB device number 12 using dwc_otg
[883937.750380] usb 1-1.4.3: New USB device found, idVendor=10c4, idProduct=ea60
[883937.750411] usb 1-1.4.3: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
[883937.750428] usb 1-1.4.3: Product: FutureBit Moonlander 2
[883937.750443] usb 1-1.4.3: Manufacturer: FutureBit
[883937.750459] usb 1-1.4.3: SerialNumber: 94a1af1f3e0be711a14ffe5433cb487a
Code:
lsusb
Bus 001 Device 007: ID 067b:0600 Prolific Technology, Inc. IDE Bridge
Bus 001 Device 012: ID 10c4:ea60 Cygnal Integrated Products, Inc. CP210x UART Bridge / myAVR mySmartUSB light
Bus 001 Device 011: ID 0a05:7211 Unknown Manufacturer hub
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 0483:5740 STMicroelectronics STM32F407
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:ec00 Standard Microsystems Corp. SMSC9512/9514 Fast Ethernet Adapter
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:9514 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
device is detected by dmesg - but i cant find it in lsusb - bfgminer wont find it as well.
This line seems to be the moonlander - after i pluged 2 - i got this line twice.

Bus 001 Device 012: ID 10c4:ea60 Cygnal Integrated Products, Inc. CP210x UART Bridge / myAVR mySmartUSB light

Still - BFGminer wont find it.

missing something, or maybe my high quality hub? Cheesy

Greetings - Astrali

Join the mining! pool.cryptopowered.club    Smiley   || Need a miner? Rent one! MiningRigRentals
lennyNO
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 05, 2017, 11:27:01 PM
 #209

Any help much appreciated. Today I got my 6 moonlander 2's. I installed the sw. When I plug 1 or 2 into my USB 2 ports on my computer, everything works fine. For some reason bgfminer shows a MLD 0 miner that doesn't exist, no idea where it comes from. My two moonlanders are MLD 1 and 2. Sofar so good.

What the setup intro does not mention is that when you actually plug in a device it should say "installing USB to UART driver". Under device manager you can see the virtual com ports.

The problem is with my eyeboot USB hub. A real nice thing, looks professional. When I plug a USB HD into this hub, my computer recognises it. But when I plug in a moonlander, the power comes on (green led) but it is not recognized, i.e. I don't get the "installing driver" message. Obviously then bgfminer neither can communicate with the units. Now this is very decent hi-power hub by Eyeboot, so it really ought to work. I know the warnings on cheap hubs but this thing _should_ work.

I really want to get my 6 moonlanders a full speed, so... anyone any suggestions on how to troubleshoot my connections. I will keep trying and see what happens. If I should post this in another forum let me know. Any help much appreciated!!

As a side note, when plugged into my PC and hashing away, the two moonlanders are very quiet!, I barely can hear the fans. But on the HUB they were making a lot of noise!! Maybe the attachment is just not as firm
sunk818
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 111



View Profile WWW
December 05, 2017, 11:39:02 PM
 #210

Your on Mac OS 10.11 or lower. Mac OS 10.12 works out of the box, and 10.13 works with the workaround posted in the OP. Apple has been changing shit in their system libraries like crazy lately and can't support anything other than the latest OSes.

Upgraded from macOS 10.10.5 to 10.12.6. I don't know if I needed to install the UART driver, but your dmg worked out of the box. (I may have installed the newest UART prior.)

I wanted to run 700Mhz, but too unstable. Getting better hash rates collectively at stock 600 Mhz.

Look, got 8 running right now. Smiley




sunk818
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 111



View Profile WWW
December 05, 2017, 11:46:40 PM
 #211

Can you state what OS you are running (e.g. Windows 10 64-bit? Linux? Mac?)
Did you install the driver prior to plugging in the USB devices?
Did you check Device Manager to see if there are any USB devices with a <?> (unknown device), You might try removing that and restarting computer.

bgfminer shows a MLD 0 miner ... . My two moonlanders are MLD 1 and 2.

As you can see from my screenshot, MLD 0 is your first device. MLD 1 & 2 are your 2nd and 3rd device. I suggest you try a full reboot. Something is not being cleared.

Quote
when I plug in a moonlander, the power comes on (green led) but it is not recognized, i.e. I don't get the "installing driver" message.

Did you try using a different USB port on the Eyeboot?

Can you attach a flash drive to the offending USB port and see if it recognized? Again, might be a bad device recognition on that particular port that needs to be removed in Device Manager.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3220
Merit: 3862



View Profile
December 06, 2017, 12:12:23 AM
 #212

Any help much appreciated. Today I got my 6 moonlander 2's. I installed the sw. When I plug 1 or 2 into my USB 2 ports on my computer, everything works fine. For some reason bgfminer shows a MLD 0 miner that doesn't exist, no idea where it comes from. My two moonlanders are MLD 1 and 2. Sofar so good.

What the setup intro does not mention is that when you actually plug in a device it should say "installing USB to UART driver". Under device manager you can see the virtual com ports.

The problem is with my eyeboot USB hub. A real nice thing, looks professional. When I plug a USB HD into this hub, my computer recognises it. But when I plug in a moonlander, the power comes on (green led) but it is not recognized, i.e. I don't get the "installing driver" message. Obviously then bgfminer neither can communicate with the units. Now this is very decent hi-power hub by Eyeboot, so it really ought to work. I know the warnings on cheap hubs but this thing _should_ work.

I really want to get my 6 moonlanders a full speed, so... anyone any suggestions on how to troubleshoot my connections. I will keep trying and see what happens. If I should post this in another forum let me know. Any help much appreciated!!

As a side note, when plugged into my PC and hashing away, the two moonlanders are very quiet!, I barely can hear the fans. But on the HUB they were making a lot of noise!! Maybe the attachment is just not as firm

I can get 3 different eyeboot hubs working

which one do you have?

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
lennyNO
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 06, 2017, 12:26:04 AM
 #213

>> Can you state what OS you are running (e.g. Windows 10 64-bit? Linux? Mac?)
Vista 32 bit, I installed the 32 bit driver and it works just fine on the USB ports on the computer. USB 2.0 ports. The HUB is USB 3

>> Did you install the driver prior to plugging in the USB devices?
Yes.

>> Did you check Device Manager to see if there are any USB devices with a <?> (unknown device), You might try removing that and restarting computer.
Yes, that is the problem, they are coming up as unknown device. I did a full reboot, but it is the same problem.

>> Did you try using a different USB port on the Eyeboot?
Yes, it is on all of them it seems.

>> Can you attach a flash drive to the offending USB port and see if it recognized?
Yes I did that and that worked fine.

It seems that through the hub windows does not recognize what device the moonlander is. And I can neither install the driver manually. When I connect a moonlander directly to a usb port on my PC and go in device manager under com port and see for the driver, I see there are actually three driver files: two sys files and one dll. And those are picked up just fine. But not when I connect to the Eyeboot hub.

Frustrating!!
lennyNO
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 06, 2017, 12:39:33 AM
 #214

>> I can get 3 different eyeboot hubs working which one do you have?

This one https://www.eyeboot.com/19-port-40a-usb3-hub.html  It is really nice, except that my pc doesn't recognize the device (moonlander) when I plug it in, comes up as 'unknown device'. I have not figure out yet how to force a driver...
Astrali
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 281
Merit: 122

Crypto Addicted


View Profile WWW
December 06, 2017, 01:32:24 AM
 #215

just pluged moonlander to my hub ..

result is this:

Code:
dmesg
[883937.626649] usb 1-1.4.3: new full-speed USB device number 12 using dwc_otg
[883937.750380] usb 1-1.4.3: New USB device found, idVendor=10c4, idProduct=ea60
[883937.750411] usb 1-1.4.3: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
[883937.750428] usb 1-1.4.3: Product: FutureBit Moonlander 2
[883937.750443] usb 1-1.4.3: Manufacturer: FutureBit
[883937.750459] usb 1-1.4.3: SerialNumber: 94a1af1f3e0be711a14ffe5433cb487a
Code:
lsusb
Bus 001 Device 007: ID 067b:0600 Prolific Technology, Inc. IDE Bridge
Bus 001 Device 012: ID 10c4:ea60 Cygnal Integrated Products, Inc. CP210x UART Bridge / myAVR mySmartUSB light
Bus 001 Device 011: ID 0a05:7211 Unknown Manufacturer hub
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 0483:5740 STMicroelectronics STM32F407
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:ec00 Standard Microsystems Corp. SMSC9512/9514 Fast Ethernet Adapter
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:9514 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
device is detected by dmesg - but i cant find it in lsusb - bfgminer wont find it as well.
This line seems to be the moonlander - after i pluged 2 - i got this line twice.

Bus 001 Device 012: ID 10c4:ea60 Cygnal Integrated Products, Inc. CP210x UART Bridge / myAVR mySmartUSB light

Still - BFGminer wont find it.

missing something, or maybe my high quality hub? Cheesy

Greetings - Astrali


my "special" hub can handle 2 (with 3A) on windows and works fine. problem seems to be my raspberry Sad

Join the mining! pool.cryptopowered.club    Smiley   || Need a miner? Rent one! MiningRigRentals
RdStrcklnd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 1


View Profile
December 06, 2017, 04:03:37 AM
 #216

just pluged moonlander to my hub ..

result is this:

Code:
dmesg
[883937.626649] usb 1-1.4.3: new full-speed USB device number 12 using dwc_otg
[883937.750380] usb 1-1.4.3: New USB device found, idVendor=10c4, idProduct=ea60
[883937.750411] usb 1-1.4.3: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
[883937.750428] usb 1-1.4.3: Product: FutureBit Moonlander 2
[883937.750443] usb 1-1.4.3: Manufacturer: FutureBit
[883937.750459] usb 1-1.4.3: SerialNumber: 94a1af1f3e0be711a14ffe5433cb487a
Code:
lsusb
Bus 001 Device 007: ID 067b:0600 Prolific Technology, Inc. IDE Bridge
Bus 001 Device 012: ID 10c4:ea60 Cygnal Integrated Products, Inc. CP210x UART Bridge / myAVR mySmartUSB light
Bus 001 Device 011: ID 0a05:7211 Unknown Manufacturer hub
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 0483:5740 STMicroelectronics STM32F407
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:ec00 Standard Microsystems Corp. SMSC9512/9514 Fast Ethernet Adapter
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:9514 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
device is detected by dmesg - but i cant find it in lsusb - bfgminer wont find it as well.
This line seems to be the moonlander - after i pluged 2 - i got this line twice.

Bus 001 Device 012: ID 10c4:ea60 Cygnal Integrated Products, Inc. CP210x UART Bridge / myAVR mySmartUSB light

Still - BFGminer wont find it.

missing something, or maybe my high quality hub? Cheesy

Greetings - Astrali


my "special" hub can handle 2 (with 3A) on windows and works fine. problem seems to be my raspberry Sad

If it helps troubleshoot, I used your instructions on my Pi 3 and my two sticks are hashing perfectly. The only changes I made were to start with:

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

before I cut and pasted your instructions and to change:

./start_moonlander.sh
to
./start_moonlander2.sh

in the last step.

Good luck, and thanks again for all the help!
CaptainChaos
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 06, 2017, 05:02:10 AM
 #217


The sticks are not very happy on the same hub it is possible but not worth the effort.

Pull all the compacs load the driver for the moonlander once you have them running.

Delete the sillab driver software  but  don’t stop mining the moonlander.

Then load the compacs and they will not be overwritten

Then run the compacs and the moonlander .

Not really worth doing it.  As any  crash will mean pulling the compacs.

Loading the moonlander then deleting the driver program.

Putting the compacs back and running the

I simply run the, on two PCs easypeasy

Ok, glad to pull the Gekkos for later and run on a different Pi w/ powered hub.  After installing just 1 Moonlander 2 I rebooted the Pi.  I went into the bfgminer_5.4.2-futurebit2_linux_armv6 directory on the RPI3 and ran my startup script, pointed to tbdice but I still can't see the stick.  Also went into /dev and looked for anything marked ttyUSB* but there were none.  Do I need to do something else to get the driver loaded?

thanks,
Jim

It was in fact the USB 3.0 hub.  I replaced with a Plugable USB 2.0 powered 60w hub and it works great.  Thanks for the help figuring that out, Philip and Mark.

Happy mining to all!

-Jim
Astrali
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 281
Merit: 122

Crypto Addicted


View Profile WWW
December 06, 2017, 06:38:00 AM
 #218

If it helps troubleshoot, I used your instructions on my Pi 3 and my two sticks are hashing perfectly. The only changes I made were to start with:

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

before I cut and pasted your instructions and to change:

./start_moonlander.sh
to
./start_moonlander2.sh

in the last step.

Good luck, and thanks again for all the help!

i'll try the dist upgrade as well Smiley
maybe this can fix it.

Thanks!

Happy my instructions that i blindly wrote helped Wink

Warm greetings - Astrali

Join the mining! pool.cryptopowered.club    Smiley   || Need a miner? Rent one! MiningRigRentals
sunk818
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 111



View Profile WWW
December 06, 2017, 07:00:06 AM
 #219

Can you mine using bfgminer with the Moonlander2 (ML2) plugged directly into your computer's USB? You may need to turn down the MHZ from 600 to 300 (in the Start_Moonlander2.bat file) just to underpower it and see if you can hash with it.

>> Can you state what OS you are running (e.g. Windows 10 64-bit? Linux? Mac?)
Vista 32 bit, I installed the 32 bit driver and it works just fine on the USB ports on the computer. USB 2.0 ports. The HUB is USB 3

It seems that through the hub windows does not recognize what device the moonlander is. And I can neither install the driver manually. When I connect a moonlander directly to a usb port on my PC and go in device manager under com port and see for the driver, I see there are actually three driver files: two sys files and one dll. And those are picked up just fine. But not when I connect to the Eyeboot hub.

Yes, very frustrating. Do you have a Windows 7 or Windows 10 workstation you can try to mine with? Try ML2 directly and with Eyeboot in between.

You might try contacting Eyeboot for advice. I suggest asking who the chipset manufacturer for Eyeboot USB HUB is and whether there are newer drivers available. For example, the chipset manufacturer could be VIA and you could possibly upgrade the driver for the USB controller.

Game_of_Coins
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 06, 2017, 02:26:36 PM
 #220

I see people running these sticks with Rpi s with powered hubs so I wonder... Is this software going to run on armv7 device running kernel 2.6.x. Any maemo freaks here...? That woud be fun...
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 ... 108 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!