Bitcoin Forum
November 27, 2021, 06:02:05 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 ... 108 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Official FutureBit Moonlander 2 Driver and Support Thread  (Read 69152 times)
officebuilding
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 06, 2018, 01:27:33 PM
 #781

So I can remove d=128 due to litecoin pool, and I can turn the wheel also if the usb stick is attached?
Yes you can remove the d=128, but I wouldn't attempt to change the voltage with the stick plugged in!
1638036125
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638036125

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638036125
Reply with quote  #2

1638036125
Report to moderator
1638036125
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638036125

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638036125
Reply with quote  #2

1638036125
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1638036125
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638036125

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638036125
Reply with quote  #2

1638036125
Report to moderator
JustAnotherPLT
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 06, 2018, 02:35:19 PM
 #782

So I've slowly been able to get most things working on the Moonlander 2. With that said, why do some "Misbehave" which ultimately won't allow me to mine. What is misbehaving and how do I fix the issue?

An example would be

URL: prohashing.com:3333
User: xxxxx
Password: c=Verge

lennyNO
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 06, 2018, 04:05:22 PM
 #783

So I can remove d=128 due to litecoin pool
Yes, in fact it is recommended. On litecoinpool.org.

Quote
and I can turn the wheel also if the usb stick is attached?
You mean the potmeter! No that's not recommended, unless you have good access and know what you are doing. You need to be seriously careful when fiddling with the potmeters while the Moonlander is powered: if the screwdriver slips and creates a short on the circuitboard it may end as goodbye Moonlander. If accidentally you turn the potmeter too much you may fry the ASIC or damage the potmeter (see page 1). So better not do it, just unplug and take it easy.
RdStrcklnd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 1


View Profile
January 06, 2018, 05:47:39 PM
 #784

So I've slowly been able to get most things working on the Moonlander 2. With that said, why do some "Misbehave" which ultimately won't allow me to mine. What is misbehaving and how do I fix the issue?

An example would be

URL: prohashing.com:3333
User: xxxxx
Password: c=Verge



Not sure about misbehaving, but you can get rid of that password argument, that will tell it to only mine Verge (you want it to mine whatever happens to be the most profitable at the moment). You can still take 100% of your payout in Verge.
JustAnotherPLT
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 06, 2018, 10:03:51 PM
 #785

So I've slowly been able to get most things working on the Moonlander 2. With that said, why do some "Misbehave" which ultimately won't allow me to mine. What is misbehaving and how do I fix the issue?

An example would be

URL: prohashing.com:3333
User: xxxxx
Password: c=Verge



Not sure about misbehaving, but you can get rid of that password argument, that will tell it to only mine Verge (you want it to mine whatever happens to be the most profitable at the moment). You can still take 100% of your payout in Verge.

Yea I was wanting it as a lotto vs pool mining. I have it running on http://ltc.tbdice.org for now but really wanted to solo mine Verge. I seem to get a bit of misbehaving despite best efforts. I get it on multiple websites as well.
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
January 07, 2018, 03:04:21 AM
 #786

So I've slowly been able to get most things working on the Moonlander 2. With that said, why do some "Misbehave" which ultimately won't allow me to mine. What is misbehaving and how do I fix the issue?

An example would be

URL: prohashing.com:3333
User: xxxxx
Password: c=Verge



Not sure about misbehaving, but you can get rid of that password argument, that will tell it to only mine Verge (you want it to mine whatever happens to be the most profitable at the moment). You can still take 100% of your payout in Verge.

I think your talking about the coinbase check? Lots of multipools wont provide the proper coinbase so bfgminer thinks something fishy is going on. Just add #skipcbcheck at the end of the URL and that will fix the issue.

Keep in mind pro hashing has a very high default diff, so it could take up to an hour to find a share (as long as the red light is flashing and bfgminer is displaying the right hashrate your fine and hashing, and wont effect profitability, just your share submission and variance/pool hashrate will fluctuate wildly.

One of you guys should start a thread in their forums and request a moonlander port...I know plenty have been posting on this and if enough chime in they will add a lower diff port so you guys have a more constant share submission.  


FYI I talked with the miningpoolhub operator and he agreed to lower min diff down to 4k for you guys, so that pool should work better as well.

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
BikerBudgie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 07, 2018, 04:44:10 PM
 #787

Hi-  I recently purchased one of these on ebay and setup today following your great guide. However I constantly get the error message

"MLD 0: ASIC has stopped hashing, attempting to restart"

this has been going on for several hours now, 10 or 20 lines of the above, and occasionally  "Stratum from pool 0 detected new block"

i have googled and read for hours but i cant find this anywhere? could the stick i have purchased be faulty or am i doing something daft?

Thanks
BB

additional - all running as standard, registered to LitecoinPool.org
neochi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 07, 2018, 05:00:39 PM
 #788

I had this to. The power from the USB port was not enough.
BikerBudgie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 07, 2018, 06:00:10 PM
 #789

I had this to. The power from the USB port was not enough.

Cheers! thats sorted it out
iamwillard
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 07, 2018, 07:53:07 PM
 #790

Is there a way to control the fan speed? I bought a replacement fan with the same specs 5v 0.2a but is rated at a higher speed so therefore much louder than the original fan. Can I control the fan speed through the software or do I need to control it through hardware? Thanks.
asiago
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 08, 2018, 12:07:33 AM
 #791

I think your talking about the coinbase check? Lots of multipools wont provide the proper coinbase so bfgminer thinks something fishy is going on. Just add #skipcbcheck at the end of the URL and that will fix the issue.

Keep in mind pro hashing has a very high default diff, so it could take up to an hour to find a share (as long as the red light is flashing and bfgminer is displaying the right hashrate your fine and hashing, and wont effect profitability, just your share submission and variance/pool hashrate will fluctuate wildly.

One of you guys should start a thread in their forums and request a moonlander port...I know plenty have been posting on this and if enough chime in they will add a lower diff port so you guys have a more constant share submission.  


FYI I talked with the miningpoolhub operator and he agreed to lower min diff down to 4k for you guys, so that pool should work better as well.

The workaround I've applied for the aggressive pool director on Prohashing is to stick to one coin at a time - usually litecoin.  Even set to a single coin, accepted shares on that pool are sporadic - I'll get a group of 3-4 in a 4 or 5 minute interval and then nothing at all for up to an hour sometimes.  Do it with the password field, like so:

Code:
./bfgminer --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://prohashing.com:3333#xnsub#skipcbcheck -u xxxx -p "n=glinda w=11 p=0.1 c=litecoin" -S ALL --set MLD:clock=768

If you keep a set of coin-specific config files, and keep a close eye on the prohashing live charts, you can sometimes snipe a really good share - this morning I got a couple of accepted shares worth about 40k ltc each when BitcoinScrypt hit the top of the chart (it had a profitability somewhere around 13k iirc).

I posted a low-diff-moonlander-port request on the forum, if any of you others would like to add some 'me too' replies, I'm sure that'd be a bit helpful.  Link: https://forums.prohashing.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=3073
crawlingspleen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 08, 2018, 05:25:02 AM
 #792

I have read all 40 pages of this and it has answered 99% of my questions and the other ones I figured out, so THANK YOU ALL!!


Now that the temperatures aren't near freezing in TX I have had to drop my speed from 900- 832 (at moment of typing but I believe it will go lower without additional cooling) all of this without adjusting the pots.

I was on litecoinpool and hit the minimum so I cashed in (?) and tried my luck the past several days on other places, currently on prohash getting paid in Verge.
thestockfadi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 08, 2018, 08:23:30 AM
 #793

Hi-  I recently purchased one of these on ebay and setup today following your great guide. However I constantly get the error message

"MLD 0: ASIC has stopped hashing, attempting to restart"

this has been going on for several hours now, 10 or 20 lines of the above, and occasionally  "Stratum from pool 0 detected new block"

i have googled and read for hours but i cant find this anywhere? could the stick i have purchased be faulty or am i doing something daft?

Thanks
BB

additional - all running as standard, registered to LitecoinPool.org

I had that same problem with 2 of my laptops. It's a USB port issue and nothing more. I finally had to fire up one of my old desktops so I could get my moonlanders working. And they've been working their a$$ off ever since! You can try lowering the core voltage on your stick otherwise you're going to have to find a USB port which can handle the juicy juice
JustAnotherPLT
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 08, 2018, 04:06:42 PM
 #794

I just got my USB hub for my raspberry pi 3 with NOOB that I posted on here last week. Now I cant get the raspberry to find the moonlander. Any suggestions on what I should do?

I've also tried this with no luck.

Code:
Enter "auto", "all", or a serial port to probe for mining devices.
Prefix by a driver name and colon to only probe a specific driver.
For example: erupter:/dev/ttyUSB39
Enter target:
neochi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 08, 2018, 04:15:28 PM
 #795

What HUB you use? What show lsusb on you raspberry ?

I had the issue that the plug was not put is tight to the hub.  Roll Eyes
JustAnotherPLT
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 08, 2018, 04:27:13 PM
 #796

What HUB you use? What show lsusb on you raspberry ?

I had the issue that the plug was not put is tight to the hub.  Roll Eyes

I’m using https://www.amazon.com/Plugable-port-USB-3-0-hub/dp/B008ZGKWQI and have tried all ports on it.


http://i67.tinypic.com/16m22y0.jpg
neochi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 08, 2018, 04:32:17 PM
 #797

What HUB you use? What show lsusb on you raspberry ?

I had the issue that the plug was not put is tight to the hub.  Roll Eyes

I’m using https://www.amazon.com/Plugable-port-USB-3-0-hub/dp/B008ZGKWQI and have tried all ports on it.


http://i67.tinypic.com/16m22y0.jpg


Please go to you shell and execute "lsusb" with connected and aktiv hub and past the output here.

Did you do in the setup the following commands?

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt.get upgrade
sudo rpi-update


Thanks
thestockfadi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 08, 2018, 04:35:03 PM
 #798

anyone familiar with IPOminer.com?  is it better than litecoinpool? I finally figured out how to mine at other pools, but not sure if I should even bother with this place. Any advice would be appreciated.
JustAnotherPLT
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 08, 2018, 04:49:23 PM
 #799

What HUB you use? What show lsusb on you raspberry ?

I had the issue that the plug was not put is tight to the hub.  Roll Eyes

I’m using https://www.amazon.com/Plugable-port-USB-3-0-hub/dp/B008ZGKWQI and have tried all ports on it.


http://i67.tinypic.com/16m22y0.jpg


Please go to you shell and execute "lsusb" with connected and aktiv hub and past the output here.

Did you do in the setup the following commands?

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt.get upgrade
sudo rpi-update


Thanks

I did not try those commands, I will in a few minutes.

Here is lsusb

http://i65.tinypic.com/22nvk4.jpg
Patjebitcoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 08, 2018, 05:27:32 PM
 #800

Can you try putting a non usb powered hub between your powered hub and your RPI.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 ... 108 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!