Bitcoin Forum
November 27, 2021, 06:00:59 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 [50] 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 ... 108 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Official FutureBit Moonlander 2 Driver and Support Thread  (Read 69152 times)
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
February 01, 2018, 09:22:00 PM
 #981

Yea stock binaries wont work on the BBB, you would need to get your compiler working correctly on that. Unfortunately this is not the thread for this discussion...there are plenty of threads and how-to's on how to properly setup compiler on your specific linux system and compile bfgminer. As for the pi, looks like your running an older kernel. Id try and do a fresh up to date raspian install on it and you should be good to go.

Thanks I will try a newer image on the Pi. Do you know what the min version needed is? Thanks for your help.

Re: the BBB, as I stated before I can actually compile bfgminer with no problem at all if I pull from git luke-jr/bfgminer. I can build and run bfgminer on the device with no error, it just doesn't have the driver support. I did this a test to see if there was any difference regarding the dependencies with you fork, which there does appear to be.

thanks again.


I think what I'm running has kernel version 4.4. There are no dependency differences between my branch, only difference is that it includes the futurbit driver which has not been merged upstream yet.

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1638036059
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638036059

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638036059
Reply with quote  #2

1638036059
Report to moderator
ryanyulinruan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69
Merit: 10

Just another Canadian Cryptocurrency enthusiast!


View Profile
February 01, 2018, 09:27:32 PM
 #982

Just got my Moonlander 2 today! I'm very satisfied!
Assembly: 5/5 - Easy to assemble. Not too many parts. No instruction manual or tools needed
Design: 5/5 - Looks beautiful. Quiet. Simple.
Efficiency: 4/5 - I'm getting about 3.5mh/s without any overclock on a USD hub.
Setup: 5/5 - Super easy to set up! Took less than 3 minutes!

Donate BTC here: 1MW9aJeXcVygR93zGrCrBAqaAZLoVSd9z
soccerdude71
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 01, 2018, 10:08:14 PM
 #983

Thanks...  I have a usb data hub with multiple MLDs.  How would I know which is which in this case?  I feel like there is no way to know...  This is why I posted earlier asking if there was a way to make each MLD a separate worker on the mining pool.


Running windows, I opened "Device Manager" then I unplugged one of the MLD and saw which COM port that one was.
Mine are on COM3 & COM4, from there it was easy as I had marked the "better" MLD and punched in my speed.

quick question.

I have 1 stick that will hash just happy at 924, another won't budge past 796. Can I set them to run those frequencies on the same scrypt?

Yes:

... -S MLD:all --set MLD@COM7:clock=924 --set MLD@COM8:clock=796

(official notation should be --set MLD@\\.\COMx:clock=nnn but this works as well)


So how do I know which MLD is which??? 


thanks
G
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
February 01, 2018, 10:32:11 PM
 #984

Thanks...  I have a usb data hub with multiple MLDs.  How would I know which is which in this case?  I feel like there is no way to know...  This is why I posted earlier asking if there was a way to make each MLD a separate worker on the mining pool.


Running windows, I opened "Device Manager" then I unplugged one of the MLD and saw which COM port that one was.
Mine are on COM3 & COM4, from there it was easy as I had marked the "better" MLD and punched in my speed.

quick question.

I have 1 stick that will hash just happy at 924, another won't budge past 796. Can I set them to run those frequencies on the same scrypt?

Yes:

... -S MLD:all --set MLD@COM7:clock=924 --set MLD@COM8:clock=796

(official notation should be --set MLD@\\.\COMx:clock=nnn but this works as well)


So how do I know which MLD is which??? 


thanks
G

You have two options, either set the scan method to not scan "all" and scan for only one moonlander (i.e. -S MLD:\\.\COMx), create a separate bat for each moonlander and run one in its own instance, or go into Device menu and get more info on the device...this will display its unique serial number (its different than the one on the sticker), and place this number on the device somewhere.

Then you will know which is which. Next update will also implement the enable/disable function in the device menu, so you can just visually see which bfgminer device number corresponds to which moonlander.

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
soccerdude71
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 01, 2018, 10:39:13 PM
Last edit: February 01, 2018, 10:58:32 PM by soccerdude71
 #985

Thank you!  Would you mind showing me how to get the serial #?  I wasn't sure how based on your note below.  And once I see how to track the serial, is there something in the command line I can use to control each MLD (set freq, etc.) apart from running each one separately?


Thanks...  I have a usb data hub with multiple MLDs.  How would I know which is which in this case?  I feel like there is no way to know...  This is why I posted earlier asking if there was a way to make each MLD a separate worker on the mining pool.


Running windows, I opened "Device Manager" then I unplugged one of the MLD and saw which COM port that one was.
Mine are on COM3 & COM4, from there it was easy as I had marked the "better" MLD and punched in my speed.

quick question.

I have 1 stick that will hash just happy at 924, another won't budge past 796. Can I set them to run those frequencies on the same scrypt?

Yes:

... -S MLD:all --set MLD@COM7:clock=924 --set MLD@COM8:clock=796

(official notation should be --set MLD@\\.\COMx:clock=nnn but this works as well)


So how do I know which MLD is which???  


thanks
G

You have two options, either set the scan method to not scan "all" and scan for only one moonlander (i.e. -S MLD:\\.\COMx), create a separate bat for each moonlander and run one in its own instance, or go into Device menu and get more info on the device...this will display its unique serial number (its different than the one on the sticker), and place this number on the device somewhere.

Then you will know which is which. Next update will also implement the enable/disable function in the device menu, so you can just visually see which bfgminer device number corresponds to which moonlander.
lennyNO
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 02, 2018, 12:24:53 AM
 #986

You have two options, either set the scan method to not scan "all" and scan for only one moonlander (i.e. -S MLD:\\.\COMx), create a separate bat for each moonlander and run one in its own instance, or go into Device menu and get more info on the device...this will display its unique serial number (its different than the one on the sticker), and place this number on the device somewhere.
Then you will know which is which. Next update will also implement the enable/disable function in the device menu, so you can just visually see which bfgminer device number corresponds to which moonlander.

Fixing the enable/disable would be very useful since I have never been able to detect any logical binding between COM port and MLD#, it seems random.
Also, I have noted that not always is bfgminer able to pick up the MLD serialnumber, or even that it is a MLD connected to a serial port, all fields are empty (windows detects the MLD just fine and assigns a COM port to it, but when bfgminer tries to figure out what is connected to the com port it doesn't get the information that it needs, which is device type and serialnumber). But it will still start hashing it because that's just how the code works. Also that seems to be random, possibly something stuck in the USB hub.

Once one has done a bit of plugging in/out of MLDs into a hub and monitoring the COM ports its easy to follow how com ports are assigned to the USB ports, that helps. Certainly in my case where I have split my 11 MLDs on one hub into two groups (and hence two bfgminer instances). As long as I keep using the same USB ports I know exactly which USB port gets assigned which COM port.
dem0nlord
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 02, 2018, 03:40:49 AM
 #987

Up to 8 of these now which is probably as far as I will go. All are running happily at max speed and completely stable.
https://image.ibb.co/m1hiM6/moonlanders.jpg
achtung082
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 357
Merit: 255


View Profile
February 02, 2018, 07:14:58 AM
 #988


I think what I'm running has kernel version 4.4. There are no dependency differences between my branch, only difference is that it includes the futurbit driver which has not been merged upstream yet.

New image worked first time. Haven't tried anything crazy yet. I will start cranking them up over the weekend.



Support sidehack projects: 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
My Sales Wallet BTC:bc1qxtxsc86lessnrsm52gf7qgmqle75htdr03zdd7 - LTC:LNLKyKkGNCJakZudGjc2qg26yYz7oeo92k - ETH:0xDf1b17872D9Ff22F04270BbDA13556B3E1649E27
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
February 02, 2018, 04:41:28 PM
 #989

Up to 8 of these now which is probably as far as I will go. All are running happily at max speed and completely stable.


woh thats impressive...how are you running so many at max speed for nearly 5 days that stable?? I don't even think I have achieved that in my tests. What kind of hub do you have? lol

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
dvsrk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 02, 2018, 06:56:53 PM
Last edit: February 02, 2018, 07:55:38 PM by dvsrk
 #990

Hi,

I have ORICO 2.0 30 port USB hub connected with couple of moonlander 2 devices but none of them getting detected when connected to raspberry pi 3.  can someone please help me on this? This works perfectly fine on windows 10 machine.

Do i need to install any additional drivers to make it work on my raspberry pi 3? I have already installed the following as per instructions,

Quote
sudo apt install libjansson-dev libcurl4-openssl-dev

thank you.
cjsummers82
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 30


View Profile
February 02, 2018, 08:34:46 PM
Merited by rockmoney (5)
 #991

Up to 8 of these now which is probably as far as I will go. All are running happily at max speed and completely stable.
https://image.ibb.co/m1hiM6/moonlanders.jpg

Impressive....are you running at max frequency?  Do you have core voltage maxed out as well?
aballen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 02, 2018, 08:42:46 PM
 #992

wow man, we need details!!! 

Up to 8 of these now which is probably as far as I will go. All are running happily at max speed and completely stable.
https://image.ibb.co/m1hiM6/moonlanders.jpg

Impressive....are you running at max frequency?  Do you have core voltage maxed out as well?
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
February 03, 2018, 12:07:40 AM
Merited by rockmoney (10)
 #993

Up to 8 of these now which is probably as far as I will go. All are running happily at max speed and completely stable.


Impressive....are you running at max frequency?  Do you have core voltage maxed out as well?

No way he's running max clocks AND maxed voltage...regulator would definitely blow up or shut down due to over-current protection. Definitely don't recommend running these at max clock, but running one of these at max clock this stable is impressive...8 all one the same hub...thats crazy!

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
firelegend2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 03, 2018, 03:44:14 AM
 #994

I ordered mine a while ago from a link on here.. and it arrived this week huzzah! I am super excited.

For some random reason the USB stick would not fit in my usb-c to usb regular convertor for my computer, but well I probably wasn't supposed to use it that way anyway and I didn't want to risk breaking it by pushing hard. Can someone please recommend a powered hub for me? I've seen from the comments here people are often told they may not have enough power.. I would love to have a proper hub so I don't have to stress it. I only have 1 so I don't need something with 6 ports. Can I use a hub with a pi? I've been slightly confused as to if we are reading directly via USB connection to make the pool name edits etc, as some mentioned wireless stuff.. but I will follow the tutorials on page one as soon as I get a powered hub Smiley it doesn't look too hard. Crossing fingers.
lennyNO
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 03, 2018, 01:43:23 PM
 #995

Up to 8 of these now which is probably as far as I will go. All are running happily at max speed and completely stable.
https://image.ibb.co/m1hiM6/moonlanders.jpg

Impressive....are you running at max frequency?  Do you have core voltage maxed out as well?

No way he's running max clocks AND maxed voltage...regulator would definitely blow up or shut down due to over-current protection. Definitely don't recommend running these at max clock, but running one of these at max clock this stable is impressive...8 all one the same hub...thats crazy!

Hey, @jstephanop, you made this awesome stuff! I am running 6 mlds at 924Hz (plus 5 at 824Mhz) all on the same hub, with the pots tweaked down as per your instructions, my HW rate is a little higher, at .9% and my hashrate it a bit lower, at 5.3Mhz/unit, instead of just over 5.4Mh/s as with @dem0nlord. Been running stable without restarts for weeks now. I got (borrowed) an IR temp meter, the 824Mhz MLDs I am running without stockfan and they are at ca 44degC, the 924Mhz I am running with stockfan, and they are about the same.
aballen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 03, 2018, 02:23:20 PM
 #996

Really interesting.  I have 4 in my office with the window cracked, super cold in there.  With the core voltage a .819 I'm able to run them stable at 832.  <.5% errors.  I have not touched the memory voltage.

Increasing the speed certainly ups the error rate.  Is anything under <2% really optimal?  I want to see it at close to 0 as possible, maybe that is silly, I feel satisfied at<.5%.  I start to worry over 1%.

My tinkering has been minimal, but as an example if I go to a speed of 852 error rate is ~1.2%, and increasing voltage does not seem to help, maybe it just creates more heat, or my increase is too much?

Not trying to be greedy, 4.7mhz is pretty good, but I was hoping to get to 5mhz, so I'm curious how you guys nudged your speeds up.

What are your voltages?


Up to 8 of these now which is probably as far as I will go. All are running happily at max speed and completely stable.
https://image.ibb.co/m1hiM6/moonlanders.jpg

Impressive....are you running at max frequency?  Do you have core voltage maxed out as well?

No way he's running max clocks AND maxed voltage...regulator would definitely blow up or shut down due to over-current protection. Definitely don't recommend running these at max clock, but running one of these at max clock this stable is impressive...8 all one the same hub...thats crazy!

Hey, @jstephanop, you made this awesome stuff! I am running 6 mlds at 924Hz (plus 5 at 824Mhz) all on the same hub, with the pots tweaked down as per your instructions, my HW rate is a little higher, at .9% and my hashrate it a bit lower, at 5.3Mhz/unit, instead of just over 5.4Mh/s as with @dem0nlord. Been running stable without restarts for weeks now. I got (borrowed) an IR temp meter, the 824Mhz MLDs I am running without stockfan and they are at ca 44degC, the 924Mhz I am running with stockfan, and they are about the same.
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
February 03, 2018, 05:47:03 PM
 #997

Really interesting.  I have 4 in my office with the window cracked, super cold in there.  With the core voltage a .819 I'm able to run them stable at 832.  <.5% errors.  I have not touched the memory voltage.

Increasing the speed certainly ups the error rate.  Is anything under <2% really optimal?  I want to see it at close to 0 as possible, maybe that is silly, I feel satisfied at<.5%.  I start to worry over 1%.

My tinkering has been minimal, but as an example if I go to a speed of 852 error rate is ~1.2%, and increasing voltage does not seem to help, maybe it just creates more heat, or my increase is too much?

Not trying to be greedy, 4.7mhz is pretty good, but I was hoping to get to 5mhz, so I'm curious how you guys nudged your speeds up.

What are your voltages?


Up to 8 of these now which is probably as far as I will go. All are running happily at max speed and completely stable.


Impressive....are you running at max frequency?  Do you have core voltage maxed out as well?

No way he's running max clocks AND maxed voltage...regulator would definitely blow up or shut down due to over-current protection. Definitely don't recommend running these at max clock, but running one of these at max clock this stable is impressive...8 all one the same hub...thats crazy!

Hey, @jstephanop, you made this awesome stuff! I am running 6 mlds at 924Hz (plus 5 at 824Mhz) all on the same hub, with the pots tweaked down as per your instructions, my HW rate is a little higher, at .9% and my hashrate it a bit lower, at 5.3Mhz/unit, instead of just over 5.4Mh/s as with @dem0nlord. Been running stable without restarts for weeks now. I got (borrowed) an IR temp meter, the 824Mhz MLDs I am running without stockfan and they are at ca 44degC, the 924Mhz I am running with stockfan, and they are about the same.

Anything past high 4's pretty much comes down to silicon lottery. While the batch of chips I have been getting has been pretty good in terms of variance, you just might get a chip that runs at max clocks cool all day long, and one chip just wont go past 4.5 without alot of power/tweaking.

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
soccerdude71
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 03, 2018, 09:28:53 PM
 #998

What is a typical or acceptable HW rate?

Also, I have 9 miners setup...  Notice that 5 and 10 are very low.  I have tried every frequency, and nothing changes.  suggestions?  Suggestions for all of them in general?


thanks!
G



https://imgur.com/a/mfIxV

crypto_curious
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 842
Merit: 143


View Profile
February 03, 2018, 11:43:34 PM
 #999

Just received 3 miners from Asicpuppy. Thanks! Assembled them without problems, now they are hashing away at 756MHz (4.3 MH/s). Great stuff!
blockchain49er
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 04, 2018, 02:48:57 PM
 #1000

I ordered 2 Moonlander 2 and have them hashing. The problem is that no matter what I do one of the sticks have an error rate of 5-10%. I've tried modifying clock settings, different USB ports, different computers, powered USB hubs, etc.

One stick is <.5% error rate and the other is 5-10% consistently. I've gone as low at 600MHz and as high as 796 each with similar results.

I've purchased directly from the developer on eBay. Not sure if I have a defective unit or I need to tweak the pots maybe?

Interested to hear any ideas on how to troubleshoot this.

Try raising the memory and core voltage. Also some units do show higher error rate, but does not actually affect the hashrate (i.e. the uart controller sometimes spits out garbage, but all the "real" shares still come out properly). Are you also seeing a corresponding 5-10% drop in hashrate?

So the plot thickens (well not really... I think I just have a bad device).

These devices shipped with the following voltages Core: 0.714VDC  Mem: 0.771VDC. I changed them to their supposed defaults listed in the first post and was able to get it to Core: 0.751  Mem: 0.854. Now the error rate is consistent with the other 2 devices, except I constantly get these errors after a few hours:

[2018-02-03 10:45:24] FutureBit Write error: Permission denied
[2018-02-03 10:45:24] MLD 1: ASIC has stopped hashing, attempting to restart
[2018-02-03 10:45:24] FutureBit Write error: Permission denied

I've dropped the frequency from 756 (where the others are running happily) to 600 and all steps in between. I've been troubleshooting this for days and keep ending with the same result no matter which USB port or hub I use. I've run this thing solo, with the other two, basically every combination I've tried gets these errors.

Not sure what else to try at this point.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 [50] 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 ... 108 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!