Bitcoin Forum
November 27, 2021, 06:27:57 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 [48] 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 ... 108 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Official FutureBit Moonlander 2 Driver and Support Thread  (Read 69152 times)
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3220
Merit: 3862



View Profile
January 29, 2018, 10:49:17 PM
Last edit: January 29, 2018, 11:25:10 PM by philipma1957

Well I finally got my ball bearing fans in for the stock replacements.

They work well but they are extremely loud compared to the stock sleeve fan.

They are the same type/brand as the stock fan, just ball bearing, direct replacement.

You probably bought one that is really high RPM...these fans can go up to 15k RPM. You only need about 7-10k RPM to properly cool these. Stock fans run around 9-11k.

would a 8000rpm fan cool the sticks sufficiently at 5 MH/s

http://gdstime.com/product/?99_471.html

I now have 8 not 2

 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H-4QqZKMKWA

that is a  pair of scythe ultra kaze

https://www.amazon.com/Scythe-DFS123812H-3000-Ultra-Kaze-120mm/dp/B001JKNMBE/ref=sr_1_1?


I will do a new video


https://youtu.be/d3rqTUNt5XI













I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
1638037677
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638037677

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638037677
Reply with quote  #2

1638037677
Report to moderator
1638037677
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638037677

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638037677
Reply with quote  #2

1638037677
Report to moderator
1638037677
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638037677

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638037677
Reply with quote  #2

1638037677
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1638037677
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638037677

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638037677
Reply with quote  #2

1638037677
Report to moderator
1638037677
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638037677

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638037677
Reply with quote  #2

1638037677
Report to moderator
1638037677
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638037677

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638037677
Reply with quote  #2

1638037677
Report to moderator
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
January 29, 2018, 11:19:32 PM

I am having a strange issue.

I am unable to adjust the clockspeed on my miner if I set it to anything other than 800 it fails to hash anything and stops responding
here are my settings
bfgminer.exe --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://poolurl.com:4224 -u bla.user -p password --no-longpoll -S MLD:\\.\COM5 --set MLD:clock=800 --verbose

This seems to be the only setting that works, If I set it higher, or lower it fails to respond. 800 is not even in your list of preset clock speeds. I've adjusted the power, lowered it, raised it, not difference. It is hashing at about 3.4Mh/s with HW:251/.20% in the last 21hrs.

What do you mean it fails to respond? At 3.4mh your defaulting to stock speed of 600mhz. Sounds like your not editing the clock speed correctly?

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
January 29, 2018, 11:23:31 PM


I received this one in amongst the others that I received today. All are working fine except for this one. After visually inspecting with magnifying glass I could see the 'L1" (inductor ??) appears damaged.

Question: would that be the reason that the device starts mining and then after just a minute or less, constantly drops out and can no longer be restarted by the driver?

Second Question: Does this get handled by the distributor or possibly yourself, or am I just out of luck on this one?







Thats the inductor casing chipping off..it happens sometimes due to thermal stress during reflow. Its not enough to damage an inductor...if it was damaged it would not work at all. Sounds like that stick just need to be tuned better. Trying lowering voltages/clocks and see if that helps. If not you can return it to distributor for replacement in the off chance that the inductor really did get damaged.

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
January 29, 2018, 11:24:33 PM

Well I finally got my ball bearing fans in for the stock replacements.

They work well but they are extremely loud compared to the stock sleeve fan.

They are the same type/brand as the stock fan, just ball bearing, direct replacement.

You probably bought one that is really high RPM...these fans can go up to 15k RPM. You only need about 7-10k RPM to properly cool these. Stock fans run around 9-11k.

would a 8000rpm fan cool the sticks sufficiently at 5 MH/s

http://gdstime.com/product/?99_471.html

Thats the exact same fan that ships with these...

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3220
Merit: 3862



View Profile
January 29, 2018, 11:27:26 PM

To all please check the fan solution I use for 8 sticks



I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
mdtrav
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 30, 2018, 12:00:02 AM

I am having a strange issue.

I am unable to adjust the clockspeed on my miner if I set it to anything other than 800 it fails to hash anything and stops responding
here are my settings
bfgminer.exe --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://poolurl.com:4224 -u bla.user -p password --no-longpoll -S MLD:\\.\COM5 --set MLD:clock=800 --verbose

This seems to be the only setting that works, If I set it higher, or lower it fails to respond. 800 is not even in your list of preset clock speeds. I've adjusted the power, lowered it, raised it, not difference. It is hashing at about 3.4Mh/s with HW:251/.20% in the last 21hrs.

What do you mean it fails to respond? At 3.4mh your defaulting to stock speed of 600mhz. Sounds like your not editing the clock speed correctly?

I figured since it was not one of your specified clock speeds it was defaulting to something.

This is the error I get.

http://puu.sh/zcuiU/7fa3e36764.png


I've done some more testing, clock speed 700 seems to work fine at around 4Mh/s I occasionally get an error(JSON-RPC non method decode failed: (null) Unknown startum msg:{"id":null, "result":[],"error": true} )Not sure if it is the miner or the pool causing that error.
Going to clock speed 720 kind of works, 3.7mhs but stops hashing and needs to restart per bfg miner.

I have the power at roughly .86
TimBuck2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 80
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
January 30, 2018, 12:30:24 AM



Thats the inductor casing chipping off..it happens sometimes due to thermal stress during reflow. Its not enough to damage an inductor...if it was damaged it would not work at all. Sounds like that stick just need to be tuned better. Trying lowering voltages/clocks and see if that helps. If not you can return it to distributor for replacement in the off chance that the inductor really did get damaged.

OK. I will work with the tuning a bit more. I thought the same thing initially - that it would not work at all if it were a major problem.

I will spend a little more time trying to tune it properly and see what I come up with.

Thanks.
 
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
January 30, 2018, 01:28:28 AM

I am having a strange issue.

I am unable to adjust the clockspeed on my miner if I set it to anything other than 800 it fails to hash anything and stops responding
here are my settings
bfgminer.exe --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://poolurl.com:4224 -u bla.user -p password --no-longpoll -S MLD:\\.\COM5 --set MLD:clock=800 --verbose

This seems to be the only setting that works, If I set it higher, or lower it fails to respond. 800 is not even in your list of preset clock speeds. I've adjusted the power, lowered it, raised it, not difference. It is hashing at about 3.4Mh/s with HW:251/.20% in the last 21hrs.

What do you mean it fails to respond? At 3.4mh your defaulting to stock speed of 600mhz. Sounds like your not editing the clock speed correctly?

I figured since it was not one of your specified clock speeds it was defaulting to something.

This is the error I get.




I've done some more testing, clock speed 700 seems to work fine at around 4Mh/s I occasionally get an error(JSON-RPC non method decode failed: (null) Unknown startum msg:{"id":null, "result":[],"error": true} )Not sure if it is the miner or the pool causing that error.
Going to clock speed 720 kind of works, 3.7mhs but stops hashing and needs to restart per bfg miner.

I have the power at roughly .86

Your overclocking higher than your power hub can support...this is why it works at default frequency and you start getting issues as you go higher. Turn down the voltage, as the stock setting for these are higher than they need to be, and that will allow you to pull less power and clock higher.

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
mdtrav
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 30, 2018, 01:29:48 AM

I wonder if my Amazon Hub is just not putting clean power down. I put it back to stock power and I can run it at clock=796, it's seems to working fine now. averaging 4.5mhs
lennyNO
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 30, 2018, 12:40:36 PM

To all please check the fan solution I use for 8 sticks
Hi, it seems you are using the (expensive! Smiley ) eyeboot hub. What clockfrequency are you using? As you have just above 4Mh/s per MLD it seems you are running these at 724Mhz? I I found that placing the mld's in this way they get rather close, i.e. the backside heatsink of one mld is almost touching the front heatsink of the next.

I have 11 MLDs on the same hub, of which 6 I am running at 924Mhz (all still with stockfan) and 5 at 824Mhz (all without stockfan), and -- as per jstephanop's instructions -- dialed the core and mem AS LOW AS POSSIBLE. The temps are managable, because I suck in cold air right now (winter here), but as summer comes I have to do something. I for sure are not going to have units run at 924Mhz back to back in this hub, it would get way too hot!! Right now I use all the every-other USB ports on the top (2x4) and the 3 side usb ports (total 11), but I hope to be able to move all 11 units to the top (first and foremost to save space). That is a little challenge because I have the impression that the MLDs that are the end of the internal powerlines see too much of a voltage drop and don't get enough power. I have problems with that earlier when trying all units on the top of the hub. I need to look into that again too, maybe I am stuck with the side-usb slots no matter what.

I also looked at the 3D printed casing someone showed here earlier, with push/pull fans on either end. For the eyeboot hub it would have to be like you have the fans, on the side. Maybe I can use some smaller fans. Still looking into that as well.
bakuna
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 30, 2018, 08:19:53 PM

I think I had one of mine die sometime this morning -- it shoes 100% HW error rate at 700mhz. It hashes at like 83.2kh and constantly stops hashing/restarts.

This is a completely different unit than the one I mentioned a few posts ago.

What frequency were you running it before it died?

700mhz, highest I've ever run it was 756mhz.


I知 so lost right now. I知 helping my 10 year old son build a rig with a Moonlander 2 on a RPi3.... I知 running at a 100% HW..... it just showed up in the mail today... first , I知 sorry to attach this to your post... I知 so new I don稚 even know how to start my own post... please help a dad who痴 trying his best.... thanks
Astrali
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 281
Merit: 122

Crypto Addicted


View Profile WWW
January 30, 2018, 09:58:32 PM

To all please check the fan solution I use for 8 sticks
Hi, it seems you are using the (expensive! Smiley ) eyeboot hub. What clockfrequency are you using? As you have just above 4Mh/s per MLD it seems you are running these at 724Mhz? I I found that placing the mld's in this way they get rather close, i.e. the backside heatsink of one mld is almost touching the front heatsink of the next.

I have 11 MLDs on the same hub, of which 6 I am running at 924Mhz (all still with stockfan) and 5 at 824Mhz (all without stockfan), and -- as per jstephanop's instructions -- dialed the core and mem AS LOW AS POSSIBLE. The temps are managable, because I suck in cold air right now (winter here), but as summer comes I have to do something. I for sure are not going to have units run at 924Mhz back to back in this hub, it would get way too hot!! Right now I use all the every-other USB ports on the top (2x4) and the 3 side usb ports (total 11), but I hope to be able to move all 11 units to the top (first and foremost to save space). That is a little challenge because I have the impression that the MLDs that are the end of the internal powerlines see too much of a voltage drop and don't get enough power. I have problems with that earlier when trying all units on the top of the hub. I need to look into that again too, maybe I am stuck with the side-usb slots no matter what.

I also looked at the 3D printed casing someone showed here earlier, with push/pull fans on either end. For the eyeboot hub it would have to be like you have the fans, on the side. Maybe I can use some smaller fans. Still looking into that as well.


hi, its my case Smiley

its designed to use short USB cables to connect to the hub. this way you can use every port of the hub no matter how close spacing is.
i normally dont run my moonlanders above 800 but i tried going up to 5 mh/s and the air coming out of the printed case was just slightly warm - so i would say airflow is doing a good job Smiley

i cant measure inside cause i would stop a fan on doing that.. but they ran stable for many hours until i decided to move back my speed again.

so if you got someone with a 3d printer close to you - this is a nice solution - and you can use all your usb hub ports in the way you like Smiley

Greetings - Astrali

Join the mining! pool.cryptopowered.club    Smiley   || Need a miner? Rent one! MiningRigRentals
sandacus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 30, 2018, 11:16:55 PM

Hi,

Thank you for the excellent and detailed instructions for installing and using BFG Miner with the Futurebit Moonlander 2. I have the latest BFG Miner up and running on a Raspberry Pi 3, running Raspbian.

My problem; the RPi will not recognise, (i.e., it doesn't detect it all) the Futurebit Moonlander 2 when I put it either directly into the RPi, or when I plug it into a powered USB port, although the Moonlander does show the green LED and the fan spins when in the all the USB ports.

Troubleshooting I have done so far; 1) Checked that a regular USB memory stick works on both the RPi directly and the powered USB hub, which it does; 2) checked whether the Moonlander shows up on my laptop (MacBook Pro, OSX High Sierra), which it does not (but the green LED comes on and the fan spins).

Please can someone suggest some more troubleshooting, or perhaps something I have overlooked (I am a noob after all!)?

Thanks,
Sandacus.
aballen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 30, 2018, 11:44:50 PM

Questions on difficulty

  • is 128 the best setting for ML2?  Would 256 get better performance, more hashes etc?
  • Does setting the difficulty mean it is fixed, or is that just a recommended start point?

blockchain49er
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 31, 2018, 01:20:50 AM

I ordered 2 Moonlander 2 and have them hashing. The problem is that no matter what I do one of the sticks have an error rate of 5-10%. I've tried modifying clock settings, different USB ports, different computers, powered USB hubs, etc.

One stick is <.5% error rate and the other is 5-10% consistently. I've gone as low at 600MHz and as high as 796 each with similar results.

I've purchased directly from the developer on eBay. Not sure if I have a defective unit or I need to tweak the pots maybe?

Interested to hear any ideas on how to troubleshoot this.
mdtrav
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 31, 2018, 01:22:33 AM

I ordered 2 Moonlander 2 and have them hashing. The problem is that no matter what I do one of the sticks have an error rate of 5-10%. I've tried modifying clock settings, different USB ports, different computers, powered USB hubs, etc.

One stick is <.5% error rate and the other is 5-10% consistently. I've gone as low at 600MHz and as high as 796 each with similar results.

I've purchased directly from the developer on eBay. Not sure if I have a defective unit or I need to tweak the pots maybe?

Interested to hear any ideas on how to troubleshoot this.

Could be your powered hub, I have issues with my junky amazon basics hub if I try to go too high on power.

You pretty much need a powered hub for these guys.
lennyNO
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 31, 2018, 01:31:40 AM

hi, its my case Smiley
Yes I know Smiley Have you got it all working yet? Last time you were waiting for cables and fans...

Quote
its designed to use short USB cables to connect to the hub. this way you can use every port of the hub no matter how close spacing is.
I hope you have control over the resistance of the powerwires in these usb bridge cables!! A 30cm cable can have as much as 0.2Ohm. I am running at 924Mhz and at that clockspeed may draw 2-3A. 0.5V voltage drop is a lot, it can be make or break.
Also you would be burning another I^2*R = 1.5W/MLD is dissipation per jumper cable alone! Below 800Mhz of course it ends up noticably less. Good for you, not for me hehe.

If you are in the US, you can order anything cheap and at no or minimal shipping cost, but where I live I have to import everything meaning high shipping costs and importduties. It's crazy. So I try to avoid it if I can.  Impossible to get short bridge cables here locally.

Quote
so if you got someone with a 3d printer close to you - this is a nice solution - and you can use all your usb hub ports in the way you like Smiley
Yes neat. I will probably try to make something from simple materials. Step by step. I have seen videos on youtube of people putting a L3+ into a cooler boxes, and that's probably the route I have to go, I need to get the fan noise down, temp down, and make it easy to move around. I have 11MLDs and like to keep it simple as possible. I don't have a garage like the other guy!
lennyNO
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 31, 2018, 01:42:16 AM

I ordered 2 Moonlander 2 and have them hashing. The problem is that no matter what I do one of the sticks have an error rate of 5-10%. I've tried modifying clock settings, different USB ports, different computers, powered USB hubs, etc.

One stick is <.5% error rate and the other is 5-10% consistently. I've gone as low at 600MHz and as high as 796 each with similar results.

I've purchased directly from the developer on eBay. Not sure if I have a defective unit or I need to tweak the pots maybe?

Interested to hear any ideas on how to troubleshoot this.

1) What happens if you put the 'bad' stick into the usb port where you otherwise have the good stick, and only run one stick. Do you then still see the same problem???
2) Run at the very lowest clock frequency, 384Mhz. Try again. Do you still get the problem?

If 1) solves the problem you have a powersupply issue. It is not always given that you can run 2 MLDs on one PC, it depends on how the ports are powered. (and in any case there is a limit to the powerdraw even on one port, depends on type of PC). Even powered hubs are not very reliable, unless you get the seriously heavy duty ones.

If 1) makes no difference, but 2) solves the problem, yes maybe something isn't right with the pots and you need to turn the one for the MLD with the higher hw rate a bit up (especially if not only the core potmeter).

Good luck!

TimBuck2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 80
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
January 31, 2018, 01:48:57 AM


I知 so lost right now. I知 helping my 10 year old son build a rig with a Moonlander 2 on a RPi3.... I知 running at a 100% HW..... it just showed up in the mail today... first , I知 sorry to attach this to your post... I知 so new I don稚 even know how to start my own post... please help a dad who痴 trying his best.... thanks

First, are you running the USB Miner on a external powered USB hub and not just sticking it in the pi3? If you are trying to just plug it into the pi3 USB port you will never get anywhere since the power the pi3 provides is nearly 0

Second, if you are using an external powered USB hub, describe the one that you are using. It seems as though the majority of the problems arise from inadequately powered USB hubs.

Third, if all the above is good to go, what are the parameters you are using in the command line - mainly what is the core frequency that you are setting?

jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
January 31, 2018, 07:25:00 PM

I ordered 2 Moonlander 2 and have them hashing. The problem is that no matter what I do one of the sticks have an error rate of 5-10%. I've tried modifying clock settings, different USB ports, different computers, powered USB hubs, etc.

One stick is <.5% error rate and the other is 5-10% consistently. I've gone as low at 600MHz and as high as 796 each with similar results.

I've purchased directly from the developer on eBay. Not sure if I have a defective unit or I need to tweak the pots maybe?

Interested to hear any ideas on how to troubleshoot this.

Try raising the memory and core voltage. Also some units do show higher error rate, but does not actually affect the hashrate (i.e. the uart controller sometimes spits out garbage, but all the "real" shares still come out properly). Are you also seeing a corresponding 5-10% drop in hashrate?

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 [48] 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 ... 108 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!