Bitcoin Forum
May 23, 2022, 05:38:13 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 23.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 [44] 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 ... 131 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin High Performance | HP14 released!  (Read 397530 times)
BitRock
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 19, 2013, 07:17:29 PM
 #861


Thanks.

Does anyone know why I cannot stop primecoind? I tried everything for linux.. any ideas?

primecoind stop
"Bitcoin: the cutting edge of begging technology." -- Giraffe.BTC
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1653284293
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1653284293

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1653284293
Reply with quote  #2

1653284293
Report to moderator
1653284293
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1653284293

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1653284293
Reply with quote  #2

1653284293
Report to moderator
Tamis
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 19, 2013, 07:20:13 PM
 #862

Can we all try to reach a consensus as to what is the best sievesize regarding block finds ?

Am right now testing 4M for 24h but i fear i'm loosing my time (and ~12xpm) !
nmersulypnem
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 19, 2013, 07:26:33 PM
 #863

How can the sieve size be altered? I can't find any list of commands fro Primcoin-qt

Also, my currentblocktx seems to always be zero and rarely 1 - same with pooledtx. What does that mean?

primecoind --daemon -seivesize=2000000

Or whatever you need for seivesize.  Does not have to be 2000000

I can't get the command to work in Primecoin-qt. I've tried the above and seivesize=2000000

You are spelling 'sievesize' wrong.


If I'm getting 500pps and it takes 30secs for the network to solve a block, then what's the point of my have a sievesize of 2 million?  Shouldn't it be more like ~20,000?
BitRock
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 19, 2013, 07:36:18 PM
 #864


Thanks.

Does anyone know why I cannot stop primecoind? I tried everything for linux.. any ideas?

primecoind stop

I tried that, it goes to a blank screen. Should I remove gen=1 first? I think it still is running.
try this
sudo pkill primecoind
maco
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 19, 2013, 07:59:08 PM
 #865

try this
sudo pkill primecoind

I tried that too..

primecoind stop
error: no response from server

Then when I go back to launch or watch it... i get this

error: no response from server
error: no response from server

EDIT: now black screen...
Using HP5
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 19, 2013, 08:06:48 PM
 #866

try this
sudo pkill primecoind

I tried that too..

primecoind stop
error: no response from server

Then when I go back to launch or watch it... i get this

error: no response from server
error: no response from server

EDIT: now black screen...
Using HP5


Sounds like it never compiled properly...
xyzzy099
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1057
Merit: 1030



View Profile
July 19, 2013, 08:08:29 PM
 #867

try this
sudo pkill primecoind

I tried that too..

primecoind stop
error: no response from server

Then when I go back to launch or watch it... i get this

error: no response from server
error: no response from server

EDIT: now black screen...
Using HP5


Are you sure it's running in server mode?  Put 'server=1' in your conf file, or start it with the '-server' switch.

Libertarians:  Diligently plotting to take over the world and leave you alone.
mikaelh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 301
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 19, 2013, 10:10:48 PM
 #868

I've installed all the needed extras to run primecoind via apt-get install, then I just uploaded the primecoind program to /usr/local/bin and it worked like a charm. Is there any harm to this? It cuts the time of having to compile it each and every time.

The libgmp installed by apt-get may be sup-optimal for your CPU. My guide shows how to compile your own libgmp. Then you can grab libgmp.so.10 from /usr/local/bin and copy it to every instance.
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1002


View Profile
July 19, 2013, 10:15:00 PM
 #869

I've installed all the needed extras to run primecoind via apt-get install, then I just uploaded the primecoind program to /usr/local/bin and it worked like a charm. Is there any harm to this? It cuts the time of having to compile it each and every time.

The libgmp installed by apt-get may be sup-optimal for your CPU. That's the biggest concern. But it's also easily solved by grabbing libgmp.so.10 from /usr/local/bin and placing it there on every instance you have.

Thanks for your help mikaelh. I did the apt-get install libgmp.How do you grab the libgmp.so.10 from /usr/local/bin?

Side note: how do you send all your coins to one address? Is it the sendmany command? Thanks!

sendtoaddress address balance

sendmany is to send to multiple addresses in a single transaction

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
mikaelh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 301
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 19, 2013, 10:28:38 PM
 #870

I've installed all the needed extras to run primecoind via apt-get install, then I just uploaded the primecoind program to /usr/local/bin and it worked like a charm. Is there any harm to this? It cuts the time of having to compile it each and every time.

The libgmp installed by apt-get may be sup-optimal for your CPU. That's the biggest concern. But it's also easily solved by grabbing libgmp.so.10 from /usr/local/bin and placing it there on every instance you have.

Thanks for your help mikaelh. I did the apt-get install libgmp.How do you grab the libgmp.so.10 from /usr/local/bin?

Side note: how do you send all your coins to one address? Is it the sendmany command? Thanks!

I meant from /usr/local/lib. Assuming that you have followed my guide on how to compile your own libgmp. Note that you also need to use my instructions for compiling primecoind after that to make sure that the binary is using libraries from /usr/local/lib.
vingaard
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1011



View Profile
July 19, 2013, 11:37:44 PM
 #871

Yihaaaaaa!!! Another block in only 5h using hp5 build in a i5-2500 @3.3GHz running at about 3500 pps!!! (I know that it's only luck but I don't mind... I'm happy!!!  Grin )
arnuschky
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 517
Merit: 501


View Profile
July 20, 2013, 02:28:24 AM
 #872


So just compile my own libgmp and that's it?

EDIT: I Guess recompile primecoind then as well.

No need for that (that's the magic of dynamic linking). Just make sure that your primecoind uses the correct version:

Code:
ldd /usr/loca/bin/primecoind | grep

This shows you if primecoind is dynamically loading the correct lib.
redphlegm
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 246
Merit: 250


My spoon is too big!


View Profile
July 20, 2013, 02:43:44 AM
 #873


So just compile my own libgmp and that's it?

EDIT: I Guess recompile primecoind then as well.

No need for that (that's the magic of dynamic linking). Just make sure that your primecoind uses the correct version:

Code:
ldd /usr/loca/bin/primecoind | grep

This shows you if primecoind is dynamically loading the correct lib.

I think you mean
Code:
ldd /usr/local/bin/primecoind | grep gmp

... assuming they copied primecoind to /usr/local/bin (which some may not have) in which case, if they're in the directory containing the primecoind binary:

Code:
ldd ./primecoind | grep gmp

Whiskey Fund: (BTC) 1whiSKeYMRevsJMAQwU8NY1YhvPPMjTbM | (Ψ) ALcoHoLsKUfdmGfHVXEShtqrEkasihVyqW
rethaw
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 255



View Profile
July 20, 2013, 04:07:45 AM
 #874

Code:
sudo ldconfig /usr/local/lib/libgmp*

Try that and print the output of:

Code:
ldd ./primecoind | grep gmp

maco
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 20, 2013, 05:00:49 AM
 #875

try this
sudo pkill primecoind

I tried that too..

primecoind stop
error: no response from server

Then when I go back to launch or watch it... i get this

error: no response from server
error: no response from server

EDIT: now black screen...
Using HP5


Are you sure it's running in server mode?  Put 'server=1' in your conf file, or start it with the '-server' switch.


Thanks I will try that. Do I need to use local host up in config?
rethaw
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 255



View Profile
July 20, 2013, 05:49:23 AM
 #876

Code:
sudo ldconfig /usr/local/lib/libgmp*

Try that and print the output of:

Code:
ldd ./primecoind | grep gmp

What I got:  libgmp.so.10 => /usr/local/lib/libgmp.so.10 (0x00007f5e53b24000)

Changed ./primecoind to /usr/local/bin

How do I know the custom gmp for my CPU is working as it should be if I've already installed primecoind? Thanks.  Smiley

Now its pointing to the more recent libgmp. Let us know your results!

superfluouso
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 201
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 20, 2013, 07:22:24 AM
Last edit: July 20, 2013, 08:27:23 AM by superfluouso
 #877

So..uh..my pps on all my systems just got hammered by like 20%...difficulty still at 8.99...anyone else notice this?

edit: Never mind - only lasted 5-10 minutes then went back to normal. Odd.
Tuck Fheman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 363
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2013, 07:31:43 AM
 #878

anyone (other than me) tried sievesize=1000003 for the lulz?

will update later

PSL
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 166
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 20, 2013, 08:22:45 AM
 #879

My ATOM CPU D525 running at 1.8GHz found a block; primespersec is about 450. This is lottery and my CPU had a lucky day... ;-)
mikaelh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 301
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 20, 2013, 11:50:33 AM
 #880

I have released Linux binaries for -hp5.

Please note that my binaries were linked against Berkeley DB 4.8.30. Sunny King's original binaries are linked against version 4.8.24 which should be compatible. If you have compiled from source before, your database format may be incompatible with my binaries. Always make sure to backup your database files and your wallet first.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 [44] 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 ... 131 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!