Bitcoin Forum
December 12, 2017, 12:27:51 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Hacking The KNC Firmware: Overclocking  (Read 143164 times)
DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 07:55:32 PM
 #301

I think the limit was 200w not 200amps


~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
1513081671
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513081671

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513081671
Reply with quote  #2

1513081671
Report to moderator
1513081671
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513081671

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513081671
Reply with quote  #2

1513081671
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
sickpig
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 07:58:07 PM
 #302

I think the limit was 200w not 200amps

Yeah it could be, I'm going to check the knc thread...

edit: found the thread I was referring to. it seems I was right (strange:) they were talking about Amps. Though 'orama said thea we can push our October VRM till 64 Amps (wow).


Bitcoin is a participatory system which ought to respect the right of self determinism of all of its users - Gregory Maxwell.
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 08:17:48 PM
 #303

i have another 4 VRM board, when i run it from my jupiter control board(along with 4 others 8 VRM) i generally get 110-130gh/s and it draws 170w
when i hook it up to my merc control board, it only gives about 80-90gh/s and ony draws about 120w, which is a shame as it means i can't overclock it with the 8VRM boards  Undecided Huh

tolip_wen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 387


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 08:26:15 PM
 #304

I've managed to get most cores enabled while running 211 but I still get lots of hardware errors and the hashrate reported by the pool is no where near what's reported in CGminer so I'm wondering if there's a problem with the SPI settings but haven't found the sweet spot. Also has the discussion on max safe amps/VRM been settled? I've heard to keep them below 50A, 65A, or 200A total. No way I can get mine stable under 50A so I assume the safe limit is higher...

I'd try a lower clock setting first before adjusting volt.

perhaps '422' (837.5) or '201' (825)

the list again for reference
Code:
SPEED     setting
700.0 1B1      372
712.5      382
725.0 1C1      392
737.5      3A2
750.0 1D1      3B2
762.5      3C2
775.0 1E1      3D2
787.5      3E2
800.0 1F1      3F2
812.5              402
825.0 201      412
837.5      422
850.0 211      432
862.5      442
875.0 221      452
887.5      462
900.0 231      472
912.5      482
925.0 241      492
937.5      4A2
950.0 251      4B2



'twisted research and opinion' donations happily accepted @
13362fxFAdrhagmCvSmFy4WoHrNRPG2V57
My sub 1337 vanity address Wink
sickpig
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 08:27:02 PM
 #305

i have another 4 VRM board, when i run it from my jupiter control board(along with 4 others 8 VRM) i generally get 110-130gh/s and it draws 170w
when i hook it up to my merc control board, it only gives about 80-90gh/s and ony draws about 120w, which is a shame as it means i can't overclock it with the 8VRM boards  Undecided Huh

http://i.imgur.com/RaN6bWp.png

I think you've just found the ghost hno/orama were referring to :-)

Bitcoin is a participatory system which ought to respect the right of self determinism of all of its users - Gregory Maxwell.
sickpig
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 08:28:59 PM
 #306

I've managed to get most cores enabled while running 211 but I still get lots of hardware errors and the hashrate reported by the pool is no where near what's reported in CGminer so I'm wondering if there's a problem with the SPI settings but haven't found the sweet spot. Also has the discussion on max safe amps/VRM been settled? I've heard to keep them below 50A, 65A, or 200A total. No way I can get mine stable under 50A so I assume the safe limit is higher...

I'd try a lower clock setting first before adjusting volt.

perhaps '422' (837.5) or '201' (825)


it seems worthy to give it a try.

Quote
the list again for reference
Code:
SPEED     setting
...
900.0 231     472
912.5     482
925.0 241     492
937.5     4A2
950.0 251     4B2

Is there some brave souls out there who are running with 241/251 ?


Bitcoin is a participatory system which ought to respect the right of self determinism of all of its users - Gregory Maxwell.
tolip_wen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 387


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 08:59:53 PM
 #307

I've managed to get most cores enabled while running 211 but I still get lots of hardware errors and the hashrate reported by the pool is no where near what's reported in CGminer so I'm wondering if there's a problem with the SPI settings but haven't found the sweet spot. Also has the discussion on max safe amps/VRM been settled? I've heard to keep them below 50A, 65A, or 200A total. No way I can get mine stable under 50A so I assume the safe limit is higher...

I'd try a lower clock setting first before adjusting volt.

perhaps '422' (837.5) or '201' (825)


it sems worthy to give it a try.

Quote
the list again for reference
Code:
SPEED     setting
...
900.0 231      472
912.5      482
925.0 241      492
937.5      4A2
950.0 251      4B2

Is there some brave souls out there who are running with 241/251 ?



I have one die running 950MHz  (251)  for over a month.
Most others are way slower though.

'twisted research and opinion' donations happily accepted @
13362fxFAdrhagmCvSmFy4WoHrNRPG2V57
My sub 1337 vanity address Wink
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 09:05:09 PM
 #308



I think you've just found the ghost hno/orama were referring to :-)

any links?
CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 10:01:37 PM
 #309

I have one die running 950MHz  (251)  for over a month.
Most others are way slower though.


Amps and average temp for that die?

If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
Adeel06
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 212


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 10:03:26 PM
 #310

I second that.  I'm getting between 575 and 625 on my day 1 shipment miner (which arrived on day 5) .  The Beaglebone board went south on mine the second week I had it and I lost 2 weeks due to incompetence by KNC.  This is truly amazing and I thank you so very much for sharing the info.  Still wish I had my 2 weeks back when the difficulty was still 86,933,018, but this takes a little pain away from the wound and I salute you for it.  Curious if any of you guys bit on the new miner?  If so I look forward to seeing what you can accomplish.  I didn't bite on that one myself after getting burned the first time... but will be watching.  Many thanks!


- .m.w. -


and all you did was issue this:

sed sBD1BF1B </etc/init.d/cgminer.sh >/config/zzz.sh ; /config/zzz.sh restart

??

The sed command changes one register and gives you a mild 7% boost in speed. In order to see the fastest speeds you need to read though the hieroglyphics on this thread and figure out what they are saying. when I figured it out, I am getting almost 15% over factory speeds.

The main thing you need to do is ssh into your miner and use a text editor to edit /etc/init.d/cgminer.sh

try:
vi /etc/init.d/cgminer.sh


Use the cursor keys on your keyboard to scroll down till you see this code, the important parts you will change are in bold:

Quote
                                                           
                                if [ $p -eq 2 ]                                            
                                then                                                      
                                        cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x01,0xF1" $c)          
                                        if [ $c -eq 1 ]                                    
                                        then                                              
                                                cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x03,0xE2" $c)  
                                        fi                                                

When you see someone say "Try 201" (which gives about 12% speed increase) you would edit the code to look like:

Quote
                                                           
                                if [ $p -eq 2 ]                                            
                                then                                                      
                                        cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x02,0x01" $c)          
                                        if [ $c -eq 1 ]                                    
                                        then                                              
                                                cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x03,0xE2" $c)  
                                        fi                                                

Hit escape when finished. Then hit the : key, then x to save.

relaunch cgminer with the command line:
/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh restart

Don't blame me if shit blows up. I'm just one newbie helping another.


I personally use 211, but have extra fans inside the case for extra cooling, just to be safe. A list of codes and corresponding speeds are listed several times in this thread, I suggest trying several until you find one that gives you a good boost in speed without going over 40-42watts per die, since they are rated at 40W per VRM.

Good luck.

I still can't figure out how to even get into the miner to change the code. Once I ssh into the miner, how do I download the config files to edit them? Jesus I'm a newb.
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 10:08:01 PM
 #311

Can help via team viewer if you wish. Just PM your details.
CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 10:08:35 PM
 #312


I still can't figure out how to even get into the miner to change the code. Once I ssh into the miner, how do I download the config files to edit them? Jesus I'm a newb.

You don't download the file locally. You use vi (visual editor) to edit it remotely.
I will advice people to do some research, instead of following instructions blindly.
It is so much better to know what exactly you are doing and it is not very difficult to understand it either.
Just use Google.

If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 751


View Profile WWW
January 08, 2014, 10:51:30 PM
 #313

Please trim your quotations. Having 50+ lines of text that you're quoting for one or two lines of text that you're adding makes this thread very difficult to read. Better yet, don't quote anything at all; just hit "Reply".

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
sickpig
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 11:43:13 PM
 #314



I think you've just found the ghost hno/orama were referring to :-)

any links?

I have heard more than once hno (on IRC) and 'Orama (here @btctalk) referring to unexplainable situations related to KnC miners with phrases like "it's like chasing ghost".

And the situation described here seems to be rightly ascribed to this kind of "phenomena"

Bitcoin is a participatory system which ought to respect the right of self determinism of all of its users - Gregory Maxwell.
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
January 09, 2014, 12:00:39 AM
 #315

I got the dead die revived by placing it in the jup on its own.

set to drfault. Got max spi setting 3.5? Dead die revived. But other threr dead.... chasing ghosts indeed.
Biffa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile
January 09, 2014, 01:07:46 AM
 #316

I still can't figure out how to even get into the miner to change the code. Once I ssh into the miner, how do I download the config files to edit them? Jesus I'm a newb.

Once you have generated the /config/zzz.sh you can use winSCP from www.winscp.net to download and edit the file on your local machine if you don't fancy playing with vi in the ssh session.

But you still need to do the ssh session to start with and generate the /config/zzz.sh file this is a safety precaution so that you aren't modifying the default files on your miner and if you screw up all you need to do is reboot to get back to stock.

joeventura
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
January 09, 2014, 01:28:50 AM
 #317

Can help via team viewer if you wish. Just PM your details.

The student becomes the teacher  LOL

Well done!!

BitCoinRateWatcher.com One stop for latest rates from MtGox, Bitstamp, CampBx, Coinbase and Bitpay all on one mobile friendly screen.
DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
January 09, 2014, 05:12:40 AM
 #318

I still can't figure out how to even get into the miner to change the code. Once I ssh into the miner, how do I download the config files to edit them? Jesus I'm a newb.

Once you have generated the /config/zzz.sh you can use winSCP from www.winscp.net to download and edit the file on your local machine if you don't fancy playing with vi in the ssh session.

But you still need to do the ssh session to start with and generate the /config/zzz.sh file this is a safety precaution so that you aren't modifying the default files on your miner and if you screw up all you need to do is reboot to get back to stock.

just use winscp (on windows, mac/linux use terminal) to go grab your /etc/init.d/cgminer.sh file and copy it locally to your computer.

then use a decent text editor (crimson editor is very nice and free on windows) and then make as many different configurations as you want and call them things like oc201.sh or whatever you have each set for.

then send them back to the miner in /config/oc (make that oc dir with 'mkdir oc' or use winscp to create it) so then you have an organized area


or just use vi but most people will be all thumbs with that






~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
capa
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137



View Profile
January 09, 2014, 10:03:59 AM
 #319

I've asked EK-Waterblocks http://www.ekwb.com/ to design a waterblock for the KnC hardware, my aim is for a higher stable overclock;

http://thinkcell.ekwb.com/idea/knc-miner-waterblock/

As you can see from the thread the KnC response has not been positive so far.  Cry

I'd like to know anyone else is interested in this small project,

Target = 1Th 6 module KnC

capa
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137



View Profile
January 09, 2014, 11:34:09 AM
 #320

EK seem interested, they are based in Ljubljana Slovenia EU.

Anyone near there willing to help?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!