Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2017, 10:09:33 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Hacking The KNC Firmware: Overclocking  (Read 143135 times)
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
February 26, 2014, 02:07:21 AM
 #821

clock setting 291, been running fr over a week now
1513030173
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513030173

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513030173
Reply with quote  #2

1513030173
Report to moderator
1513030173
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513030173

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513030173
Reply with quote  #2

1513030173
Report to moderator
1513030173
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513030173

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513030173
Reply with quote  #2

1513030173
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
tiozes
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 855


View Profile
February 26, 2014, 02:36:31 AM
 #822

clock setting 271, been running fr over a week now

As voltage has to die each orient?
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
February 26, 2014, 02:43:29 AM
 #823

I used the method of flashing 99.2E then back to 99.2, this enables the 8vrm's and then i just proceeded to tune and OC. Been running very stable with low HW and some buzzing noise for about a week.

the volts are pretty even among each pair, nothing additional done, no problems here.
tiozes
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 855


View Profile
February 26, 2014, 04:05:10 AM
 #824

I used the method of flashing 99.2E then back to 99.2, this enables the 8vrm's and then i just proceeded to tune and OC. Been running very stable with low HW and some buzzing noise for about a week.

the volts are pretty even among each pair, nothing additional done, no problems here.

ok, so my jupiter vrm October 4, 8vrms could change, I am not very clear about this.
tolip_wen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 387


View Profile
February 26, 2014, 04:43:05 AM
 #825



Edit to say, after to put again the firm 0.99.1 tune, i have a little problem with voltages.. it was crazy.. now is working well after reset to factory defaults in advanced but a line 12v of my 1100w PSU now is dead, i got a screenshot, any idea of this?



The VRM are designed for 40W, many of us regularly push them to between 50-60W.
At 70W per VRM I think you are on your own in new territory!

Your screenshot shows 70W per die (per VRM also).
70W x 4 die = 280W per ASIC

Add AT LEAST 10% to that because the VRM's use that much before even cooking them by overclocking.

OVER 300 Watt per ASIC is what your power supply was asked to do before failure.
(you were asking for >1200W from a 1100W supply)

I suggest 300W per ASIC is possibly too much.
Almost definately too much for a single PCIe 6 pin power connector.
You can install another on each module, KnCMiner provided for that on the PCB.

YMMV
Smiley

'twisted research and opinion' donations happily accepted @
13362fxFAdrhagmCvSmFy4WoHrNRPG2V57
My sub 1337 vanity address Wink
tolip_wen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 387


View Profile
February 26, 2014, 08:47:59 AM
 #826


@ bondus

The whole Rtune feedback loop has 3 flavors with just the Oct. units.

8 VRM units have 4 output caps for each VRM located right next to the ASIC on top.
4 VRM units have 6 output caps, same 4 plus 2 around the corner of the ASIC.
('same' as in location, value is undetermined)
4 on plus 4 off have 8 output caps per active VRM +/- whatever the idle VRM contributes.

Calculating Rtune depends on # of caps and on an 8 VRM unit it changes.

From the keyboard side what to do?
Would artificially altering the gain change the response time for similar effect?
Could this be tolerated or compensated for?

YMMV
Smiley

'twisted research and opinion' donations happily accepted @
13362fxFAdrhagmCvSmFy4WoHrNRPG2V57
My sub 1337 vanity address Wink
idee2013
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 397


View Profile
February 26, 2014, 09:51:05 AM
 #827

Hi

How it's possible to make script that copies my own cgminer.sh script to /etc/init.d/cgminer.sh on startup?

And how to make script that restarts the miner with like 3 hour intervals? As there has been some downtime with overclocking and unit just shutting down=)

now 500gh/s semi-stable 2 module november saturn, was on during the night. Started clocking each die individually. To make it stable i needed to get rid of those fault 4:s turning up after some time. I think they have timer on them and that causes some overtemp-protection to trigger in after some time.

Values for asic 4 are 361 and asic 0 varies in between 361 and 2C1.


Description=cgminer 3.9.0|SUMMARY

MHS av=503541.30
MHS 5s=503582.25

Work Utility=7034.48
Difficulty Accepted=245831.00000000
Difficulty Rejected=1248.00000000
Difficulty Stale=0.00000000
Best Share=376240
Device Hardware%=0.1790
Device Rejected%=0.5065
Pool Rejected%=0.5051
Pool Stale%=0.0000|

ASIC Board    Info
0    

Temperature sensor: 46.0 C
Die ID    Cores ON    Cores OFF    %
0   48   0    100
1   48   0    100
2   48   0    100
3   48   0    100
DC/DC ID    ON/OFF    Status    Input Voltage    Output Voltage    Output Current
0    OFF    OK    11.5 V    0.82 V    35.2 A (28.9 W)
1    OFF    OK    11.4 V    0.822 V    34.6 A (28.4 W)
2      OFF    OK    11.3 V    0.815 V    37.5 A (30.6 W)
3    OFF    OK    11.4 V    0.817 V    37.7 A (30.8 W)
4    OFF    OK    11.3 V    0.821 V    35.9 A (29.5 W)
5    OFF    OK    11.4 V    0.818 V    36.1 A (29.5 W)
6    OFF    OK    11.3 V    0.826 V    29.5 A (24.4 W)
7     OFF    OK    11.3 V    0.82 V    30.2 A (24.8 W)
4    

Temperature sensor: 47.5 C
Die ID    Cores ON    Cores OFF    %
0   48   0    100
1   48   0    100
2   48   0    100
3   48   0    100
DC/DC ID    ON/OFF    Status    Input Voltage    Output Voltage    Output Current
0    OFF    OK    11.5 V    0.82 V    38.2 A (31.3 W)
1    OFF    OK    11.4 V    0.821 V    37.8 A (31 W)
2    OFF    OK    11.5 V    0.822 V    37.4 A (30.7 W)
3    OFF    OK    11.5 V    0.817 V    37.6 A (30.7 W)
4    OFF    OK    11.5 V    0.821 V    37.5 A (30.8 W)
5    OFF    OK    11.4 V    0.816 V    37.8 A (30.8 W)
6    OFF    OK    11.5 V    0.816 V    36.6 A (29.9 W)
7    OFF    OK    11.4 V    0.817 V    36.6 A (29.9 W)

Total DC/DC power output: 471 W

vrm's for asic 0 die 3 make fault 4 risen above that 30.  Asic 0 is heating more than 4 in overall.



has anyone tried this with an oct junit with 8 activted VRMS? i wonder why everyone with  with 8 vrms boards oct reaching only 790Gh/s max.
crashoveride54902
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


Dream become broken often


View Profile
February 26, 2014, 11:13:15 AM
 #828

Hi

How it's possible to make script that copies my own cgminer.sh script to /etc/init.d/cgminer.sh on startup?

And how to make script that restarts the miner with like 3 hour intervals? As there has been some downtime with overclocking and unit just shutting down=)

now 500gh/s semi-stable 2 module november saturn, was on during the night. Started clocking each die individually. To make it stable i needed to get rid of those fault 4:s turning up after some time. I think they have timer on them and that causes some overtemp-protection to trigger in after some time.

Values for asic 4 are 361 and asic 0 varies in between 361 and 2C1.


Description=cgminer 3.9.0|SUMMARY


Total DC/DC power output: 471 W

vrm's for asic 0 die 3 make fault 4 risen above that 30.  Asic 0 is heating more than 4 in overall.



has anyone tried this with an oct junit with 8 activted VRMS? i wonder why everyone with  with 8 vrms boards oct reaching only 790Gh/s max.

because oct. jups just ain't made to oc this much...

Dreams of cyprto solving everything is slowly slipping away...Replaced by scams/hacks Sad
tiozes
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 855


View Profile
February 26, 2014, 01:50:48 PM
 #829



Edit to say, after to put again the firm 0.99.1 tune, i have a little problem with voltages.. it was crazy.. now is working well after reset to factory defaults in advanced but a line 12v of my 1100w PSU now is dead, i got a screenshot, any idea of this?



The VRM are designed for 40W, many of us regularly push them to between 50-60W.
At 70W per VRM I think you are on your own in new territory!

Your screenshot shows 70W per die (per VRM also).
70W x 4 die = 280W per ASIC

Add AT LEAST 10% to that because the VRM's use that much before even cooking them by overclocking.

OVER 300 Watt per ASIC is what your power supply was asked to do before failure.
(you were asking for >1200W from a 1100W supply)

I suggest 300W per ASIC is possibly too much.
Almost definately too much for a single PCIe 6 pin power connector.
You can install another on each module, KnCMiner provided for that on the PCB.

YMMV
Smiley


The power supply was broken, leaving to run a 12v rail.

Now he's running a cooler master 1300w, and it seems that everything works normally.

have if I can get more power, which would secure V for each die since I have high temperatures.
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
February 27, 2014, 11:58:12 AM
 #830

is there instructions on permanent writing the clock settings?
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
February 27, 2014, 02:52:20 PM
 #831

any ideas why i get such bad results with 5 boards, which i have done with 4 boards.

It is almost as if when i delete the cgminer and i add the overclock setting  from my text file, it stops the boards from accepthing the OC settings.

Should i be changing certain variables in my text file for the added 5th board?

or are control boards just not able to handle OC settings with 5-6 boards?


thanks
rmarleal
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 04:49:18 PM
 #832

I lost the cgminer.ssh file to do the overclocking after upgrading to the new firmware 1.00 and going back to 0.99.1 Any help here please?

this is what i can see when i use putty

http://i.imgur.com/xY8xBJQ.jpg
Aggrophobia
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910



View Profile
February 28, 2014, 10:38:56 PM
 #833

anyone who can upload modified cgminer.sh-backup? Sad
mekadeka
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 11:53:51 PM
 #834

You know, in hindsight and upon reflecting on it, I find it concerning that KNC sold different equipment under the same model name. That is real problematic and really potentially shady to me.


1Q2tR86kBCdYRHxeMN1TYBrmTprFs94cDv
tyrion70
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 934



View Profile
March 01, 2014, 02:39:00 PM
 #835

anyone who can upload modified cgminer.sh-backup? Sad
http://pastebin.com/xS4U9DXC <-- this ones at 211

bkminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 216

Don't let the nam-shub in your operating system.


View Profile
March 01, 2014, 09:24:57 PM
 #836

Hello, has anyone done anything with the 1.00 update?  Maybe tell me how to get the 1000Mhz setting for an October Jupiter...

Thanks,
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
March 02, 2014, 11:17:45 AM
 #837

any ideas of what variables to change to make 5 boards take the OC settings.

edit: I have tried adding 4 to the end of 0 1 2 3 at the 2 or 3 points i could find this mentioned bellow, but it did not have an effect.

eidt: if anyone can edit the bellow for me so it works with 5 boards i would be extremely grateful and would offer a small reward Wink



Quote
#!/bin/sh

PATH=/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin

use_bfgminer=
if [ -f /config/miner.conf ]; then
        . /config/miner.conf  #if bfgminer is enabled, this file contains: use_bfgminer="true"
fi
if [ "$use_bfgminer" = true ] ; then
        DAEMON=/usr/bin/bfgminer
        NAME=bfgminer
        DESC="BFGMiner daemon"
        EXTRA_OPT="-S knc:auto"
else
   DAEMON=/usr/bin/cgminer
   NAME=cgminer
   DESC="Cgminer daemon"
   EXTRA_OPT=
fi


set -e

test -x "$DAEMON" || exit 0

do_start() {
   # Stop SPI poller
   spi_ena=0
   i2cset -y 2 0x71 2 $spi_ena

   good_ports=""
   bad_ports=""

   # CLear faults in megadlynx's
   for b in 3 4 5 6 7 8 ; do
      for d in 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ; do
         i2cset -y $b 0x1$d 3 >/dev/null 2>&1 || true
      done
   done

   for p in 0 1 2 3 4 5 ; do
      i2cset -y 2 0x71 1 $((p+1))
      good_flag=0
      ar="$(spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 0x80,3,0,0,0,0,0,0 | tail -c 13)"
                if [ "x$ar" = "x00 30 A0 01" ] ; then
         good_flag=1
      fi
      ar="$(spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 0x80,2,0,0,0,0,0,0 | tail -c 13)"
                if [ "x$ar" = "x00 30 A0 01" ] ; then
         good_flag=1
      fi
      ar="$(spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 0x80,1,0,0,0,0,0,0 | tail -c 13)"
                if [ "x$ar" = "x00 30 A0 01" ] ; then
         good_flag=1
      fi
      ar="$(spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 0x80,0,0,0,0,0,0,0 | tail -c 13)"
                if [ "x$ar" = "x00 30 A0 01" ] ; then
         good_flag=1
      fi

      if [ "$good_flag" = "1" ] ; then
         good_ports=$good_ports" $p"
      else
         bad_ports=$bad_ports" $p"
      fi
   done

   if [ -n "$good_ports" ] ; then
      for p in $good_ports ; do
         # Re-enable PLL
         i2cset -y 2 0x71 1 $((p+1))
         for c in 0 1 2 3 ; do
            cmd=$(printf "0x84,0x%02X,0,0" $c)
            spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 $cmd >/dev/null
            cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x02,0x91" $c)
            spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 $cmd >/dev/null
            cmd=$(printf "0x85,0x%02X,0,0" $c)
            spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 $cmd >/dev/null
         done
         
         # re-enable all cores
         i=0
         while [[ $i -lt 192 ]] ; do
            i2cset -y 2 0x2$p $i 1
            i=$((i+1))
         done
         spi_ena=$(( spi_ena | (1 << $p) ))
      done
   fi
   if [ -n "$bad_ports" ] ; then
      for p in $bad_ports ; do
         # Disable PLL
         i2cset -y 2 0x71 1 $((p+1))
         for c in 0 1 2 3 ; do
            cmd=$(printf "0x84,0x%02X,0,0" $c)
            spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 $cmd >/dev/null
         done
         
         # disable all cores
         i=0
         while [[ $i -lt 192 ]] ; do
            i2cset -y 2 0x2$p $i 0
            i=$((i+1))
         done
         spi_ena=$(( spi_ena & ~(1 << $p) ))
      done
   fi

   # Disable direct SPI
   i2cset -y 2 0x71 1 0

   # Enable SPI poller
   i2cset -y 2 0x71 2 $spi_ena

   start-stop-daemon -b -S -x screen -- -S cgminer -t cgminer -m -d "$DAEMON" --api-listen -c /config/cgminer.conf $EXTRA_OPT
}

do_stop() {
        killall -9 bfgminer cgminer 2>/dev/null || true
}
case "$1" in
  start)
        echo -n "Starting $DESC: "
   do_start
        echo "$NAME."
        ;;
  stop)
        echo -n "Stopping $DESC: "
   do_stop
        echo "$NAME."
        ;;
  restart|force-reload)
        echo -n "Restarting $DESC: "
        do_stop
        do_start
        echo "$NAME."
        ;;
  *)
        N=/etc/init.d/$NAME
        echo "Usage: $N {start|stop|restart|force-reload}" >&2
        exit 1
        ;;
esac

exit 0
tiozes
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 855


View Profile
March 02, 2014, 05:06:27 PM
 #838

The Bermod 0.4 operates in the firm 1.0? Júpiter october 4vrm
j03
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62



View Profile WWW
March 02, 2014, 06:36:12 PM
 #839



Edit to say, after to put again the firm 0.99.1 tune, i have a little problem with voltages.. it was crazy.. now is working well after reset to factory defaults in advanced but a line 12v of my 1100w PSU now is dead, i got a screenshot, any idea of this?



The VRM are designed for 40W, many of us regularly push them to between 50-60W.
At 70W per VRM I think you are on your own in new territory!

Your screenshot shows 70W per die (per VRM also).
70W x 4 die = 280W per ASIC

Add AT LEAST 10% to that because the VRM's use that much before even cooking them by overclocking.

OVER 300 Watt per ASIC is what your power supply was asked to do before failure.
(you were asking for >1200W from a 1100W supply)

I suggest 300W per ASIC is possibly too much.
Almost definately too much for a single PCIe 6 pin power connector.
You can install another on each module, KnCMiner provided for that on the PCB.

YMMV
Smiley

Good advice! Greed is NOT good Mr. Gecko!

1MYwxy8TniWL37y3ueG2cN6i5eQ49Fr19Q
crashoveride54902
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


Dream become broken often


View Profile
March 02, 2014, 06:59:17 PM
 #840

any ideas of what variables to change to make 5 boards take the OC settings.

edit: I have tried adding 4 to the end of 0 1 2 3 at the 2 or 3 points i could find this mentioned bellow, but it did not have an effect.

eidt: if anyone can edit the bellow for me so it works with 5 boards i would be extremely grateful and would offer a small reward Wink



Quote
#!/bin/sh

PATH=/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin

use_bfgminer=
if [ -f /config/miner.conf ]; then
        . /config/miner.conf  #if bfgminer is enabled, this file contains: use_bfgminer="true"
fi
if [ "$use_bfgminer" = true ] ; then
 

exit 0

you can try this....http://pastebin.com/AsGZKu4E

no clue if it'll work, i just used the individual die setting to try n oc all your mods...i've set'em all at 291 for ya...Let me know if it worked Smiley

The Bermod 0.4 operates in the firm 1.0? Júpiter october 4vrm

yes its working for me on 1.0fw

Dreams of cyprto solving everything is slowly slipping away...Replaced by scams/hacks Sad
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!