Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2017, 07:01:57 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 [34] 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Hacking The KNC Firmware: Overclocking  (Read 143259 times)
rmarleal
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
February 10, 2014, 08:49:01 PM
 #661

I have been running it at 251 for a couple of weeks with no problems. Temperatures are under control with open case, frontal fans in 45º on the frontal asics, y a big fan in the top of the case, heatsinks and artic cooler grease on the vrms.
3.3 volts at spi and around 60 amp in all dies.

716 ghs with 10006 WU. At the pool 740ghs.

was that 4VRM Oct boards?


Yes 4VRM Oct Jupiter
1513234917
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513234917

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513234917
Reply with quote  #2

1513234917
Report to moderator
1513234917
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513234917

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513234917
Reply with quote  #2

1513234917
Report to moderator
1513234917
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513234917

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513234917
Reply with quote  #2

1513234917
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
sickpig
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
February 10, 2014, 11:44:43 PM
 #662

I have been running it at 251 for a couple of weeks with no problems. Temperatures are under control with open case, frontal fans in 45º on the frontal asics, y a big fan in the top of the case, heatsinks and artic cooler grease on the vrms.
3.3 volts at spi and around 60 amp in all dies.

716 ghs with 10006 WU. At the pool 740ghs.

impressive.

Wattage at the wall? 

Bitcoin is a participatory system which ought to respect the right of self determinism of all of its users - Gregory Maxwell.
crashoveride54902
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


Dream become broken often


View Profile
February 11, 2014, 04:07:49 AM
 #663

I've been on 241 for about a week now...been oc'in for a few weeks...either my psu or one of modules vrm is going out...The input voltage is dropping slowly...day by day...when i started on 241 that module was at 11.7 input and is now down to 11.1-2 range Sad thinking i might step down to 231

anyone else notice this? I don't have the pcie extenders on so its not them...i hope its just my psu n not the vrms...i thought it might have been the cable cause i shorted out a fan connection once and the hot wire burned the pcie wires...but i changed that out with a new cable and no change Sad

will update if any change...

Dreams of cyprto solving everything is slowly slipping away...Replaced by scams/hacks Sad
tlon19
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 121


View Profile
February 11, 2014, 05:43:15 AM
 #664


i was having the same issue, i was able to overclock my october batch to 680.... but it suddenly started doping ghs so i swapped the power supply and tried to overclock it again but when i do vi /etc/init.b/cgminer.sh i dont see txt in there anymore its empty. im  stuck anyone care to help?
DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
February 11, 2014, 06:30:07 AM
 #665


i was having the same issue, i was able to overclock my october batch to 680.... but it suddenly started doping ghs so i swapped the power supply and tried to overclock it again but when i do vi /etc/init.b/cgminer.sh i dont see txt in there anymore its empty. im  stuck anyone care to help?

empty?  usually means you opening it in wrong directory (opening a non existing file will create it and be empty)

anyway, best to copy it to /config and make and keep your changed copies there

~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
tlon19
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 121


View Profile
February 11, 2014, 07:03:13 AM
 #666

got it thanks!
crashoveride54902
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


Dream become broken often


View Profile
February 11, 2014, 11:36:49 AM
 #667

I've been on 241 for about a week now...been oc'in for a few weeks...either my psu or one of modules vrm is going out...The input voltage is dropping slowly...day by day...when i started on 241 that module was at 11.7 input and is now down to 11.1-2 range Sad thinking i might step down to 231

anyone else notice this? I don't have the pcie extenders on so its not them...i hope its just my psu n not the vrms...i thought it might have been the cable cause i shorted out a fan connection once and the hot wire burned the pcie wires...but i changed that out with a new cable and no change Sad

will update if any change...

My guess is burned out pci-e jacks on the psu itself...don't know if you've already checked. I've had this several times.

tryed a different jack on psu...no change...went back to stock til i can figure this out...even on stock 2 modules are lower input volt then the rest...gona try different psu when i get home

Dreams of cyprto solving everything is slowly slipping away...Replaced by scams/hacks Sad
padrino
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


https://www.bitworks.io


View Profile WWW
February 11, 2014, 01:34:25 PM
 #668


tryed a different jack on psu...no change...went back to stock til i can figure this out...even on stock 2 modules are lower input volt then the rest...gona try different psu when i get home

I hope not but perhaps you are just burning them out? Hoping it's just the PSU and the other will fix it..

1CPi7VRihoF396gyYYcs2AdTEF8KQG2BCR
https://www.bitworks.io
joeventura
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
February 11, 2014, 03:45:22 PM
 #669


Thank you kind sir!!

BitCoinRateWatcher.com One stop for latest rates from MtGox, Bitstamp, CampBx, Coinbase and Bitpay all on one mobile friendly screen.
crashoveride54902
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


Dream become broken often


View Profile
February 12, 2014, 01:33:12 AM
 #670


tryed a different jack on psu...no change...went back to stock til i can figure this out...even on stock 2 modules are lower input volt then the rest...gona try different psu when i get home

I hope not but perhaps you are just burning them out? Hoping it's just the PSU and the other will fix it..

its not the unit...its the psu...more likely the cables...switching them with brand new pcie cables now n crossing fingers...when i have the unit on idle volts are all almost 12v...wish me luck

EDIT: Changed all pcie cables with 1 new and i think 1 hardly used and bam all back upto 11.8v or more Cheesy YAY!!! back to 241 woohoo...well hopefully these cables last awhile cause i don't have anymore thank god i didn't fry my unit yet

Dreams of cyprto solving everything is slowly slipping away...Replaced by scams/hacks Sad
j03
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62



View Profile WWW
February 12, 2014, 03:57:59 AM
 #671

Can't seem to find the rest the chart below anywhere. Anybody know the settings for below 1B1 and above 251? I'm having good luck underclocking some dies and overclocking others. Thanks.

Code:
SPEED     setting
700.0 1B1      372
712.5      382
725.0 1C1      392
737.5      3A2
750.0 1D1      3B2
762.5      3C2
775.0 1E1      3D2
787.5      3E2
800.0 1F1      3F2
812.5              402
825.0 201      412
837.5      422
850.0 211      432
862.5      442
875.0 221      452
887.5      462
900.0 231      472
912.5      482
925.0 241      492
937.5      4A2
950.0 251      4B2

1MYwxy8TniWL37y3ueG2cN6i5eQ49Fr19Q
tolip_wen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 387


View Profile
February 12, 2014, 10:13:32 PM
 #672

Can't seem to find the rest the chart below anywhere. Anybody know the settings for below 1B1 and above 251? I'm having good luck underclocking some dies and overclocking others. Thanks.

Code:
SPEED     setting
700.0 1B1      372
712.5      382
725.0 1C1      392
737.5      3A2
750.0 1D1      3B2
762.5      3C2
775.0 1E1      3D2
787.5      3E2
800.0 1F1      3F2
812.5              402
825.0 201      412
837.5      422
850.0 211      432
862.5      442
875.0 221      452
887.5      462
900.0 231      472
912.5      482
925.0 241      492
937.5      4A2
950.0 251      4B2

Below 1B1 is 1A1 (675)
Below 1A1 is 191 (650)

There is something to be said for the efficiency increase at lower speeds.
I keep it in mind as the efficiency  tradeoff for speed becomes moot at some difficulty level.

Above 251 is 261

ignore the last digit

 950 MHz would be 25 (251)
 975 MHz would be 26 (261)
1000MHz would be 27 (271)
Increase by one

It's hexadecimal so A comes after 9 (instead of 10)


TANGENT alert! Smiley
To calculate the value in the last column
Again ignore the last digit, multiply by 2 and add 1
(determined experimentally)

ex:
using 825MHz because the hex and decimal LOOK the same and the math works.
825.0 MHz    201        412

201, drop the 1
20 x 2 = 40
40 + 1 = 41
add a 2 to the end for last column
412 is the same as 201

Think of it as 20 divided by 1
or
40 divided by 2
(plus 1 for the div by 2 instance)

Most should have a calculator with hex mode, try it on a wierd one with a letter!

Smiley

'twisted research and opinion' donations happily accepted @
13362fxFAdrhagmCvSmFy4WoHrNRPG2V57
My sub 1337 vanity address Wink
PONCHIK
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
February 12, 2014, 10:28:33 PM
 #673

How in a November Jupiter change frequency? Will Explain me, please....
bondus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
February 12, 2014, 10:56:10 PM
 #674

1GHz baby!

I accidentally managed to turn on all 8 VRMs on my old 8VRM Jupiter.
Since they were all on and we can control the voltage with the tuning firmware I decided to try some more overclocking.

When running these with all VRMs on they have a base voltage of about 0.9V, so it had to be lowered in the advanced tuning page to get a reasonable voltage. -0.5V works fine.

Currents and temperatures are reasonable.

Total power consumption on the inside of the VRMs is 850W. I guess that will be 950-1000W at the wall. Since my PSU is only 1050W I do not dare to go higher.

The November units will be crazy once you get the tuning FW!

http://i.imgur.com/3w5XCx0.png
http://i.imgur.com/2Ajx7N9.png
Mysil2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
February 13, 2014, 12:07:57 AM
 #675

1GHz baby!

I accidentally managed to turn on all 8 VRMs on my old 8VRM Jupiter.
Since they were all on and we can control the voltage with the tuning firmware I decided to try some more overclocking.

When running these with all VRMs on they have a base voltage of about 0.9V, so it had to be lowered in the advanced tuning page to get a reasonable voltage. -0.5V works fine.

Currents and temperatures are reasonable.

Total power consumption on the inside of the VRMs is 850W. I guess that will be 950-1000W at the wall. Since my PSU is only 1050W I do not dare to go higher.

The November units will be crazy once you get the tuning FW!


Wow, nice! Since you say old Jupiter, this is October, right? I have an all 8VRM October Jupiter - would you describe how you managed to turn on the VRMs?

1BLUeBirdV2RBnyJBQZvNXsCMm3VVqoPTj
j03
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62



View Profile WWW
February 13, 2014, 03:25:24 AM
 #676


Below 1B1 is 1A1 (675)
Below 1A1 is 191 (650)

There is something to be said for the efficiency increase at lower speeds.
I keep it in mind as the efficiency  tradeoff for speed becomes moot at some difficulty level.

Above 251 is 261

ignore the last digit

 950 MHz would be 25 (251)
 975 MHz would be 26 (261)
1000MHz would be 27 (271)
Increase by one

It's hexadecimal so A comes after 9 (instead of 10)


TANGENT alert! Smiley
To calculate the value in the last column
Again ignore the last digit, multiply by 2 and add 1
(determined experimentally)

ex:
using 825MHz because the hex and decimal LOOK the same and the math works.
825.0 MHz    201        412

201, drop the 1
20 x 2 = 40
40 + 1 = 41
add a 2 to the end for last column
412 is the same as 201

Think of it as 20 divided by 1
or
40 divided by 2
(plus 1 for the div by 2 instance)

Most should have a calculator with hex mode, try it on a wierd one with a letter!

Smiley


Aha. Thanks tolip_wen. Seems so obvious now Smiley

1MYwxy8TniWL37y3ueG2cN6i5eQ49Fr19Q
sickpig
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
February 13, 2014, 07:14:57 AM
 #677

1GHz baby!

I accidentally managed to turn on all 8 VRMs on my old 8VRM Jupiter.
Since they were all on and we can control the voltage with the tuning firmware I decided to try some more overclocking.

When running these with all VRMs on they have a base voltage of about 0.9V, so it had to be lowered in the advanced tuning page to get a reasonable voltage. -0.5V works fine.

Currents and temperatures are reasonable.

Total power consumption on the inside of the VRMs is 850W. I guess that will be 950-1000W at the wall. Since my PSU is only 1050W I do not dare to go higher.

The November units will be crazy once you get the tuning FW!


Very good.

A few quest:

- are you able you able to turn on all the vrms at will? If yes how?
- what oc settings are you using?
- any mod to get better cooling?


Bitcoin is a participatory system which ought to respect the right of self determinism of all of its users - Gregory Maxwell.
DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
February 13, 2014, 07:45:03 AM
 #678

1GHz baby!

I accidentally managed to turn on all 8 VRMs on my old 8VRM Jupiter.
Since they were all on and we can control the voltage with the tuning firmware I decided to try some more overclocking.

When running these with all VRMs on they have a base voltage of about 0.9V, so it had to be lowered in the advanced tuning page to get a reasonable voltage. -0.5V works fine.

Currents and temperatures are reasonable.

Total power consumption on the inside of the VRMs is 850W. I guess that will be 950-1000W at the wall. Since my PSU is only 1050W I do not dare to go higher.

The November units will be crazy once you get the tuning FW!


Very good.

A few quest:

- are you able you able to turn on all the vrms at will? If yes how?
- what oc settings are you using?
- any mod to get better cooling?




and sadly if KNC were able to get enough VRMs in the beginning that whole ruse of 'we don't use 8' nonsense would of been avoided and all those lame firmwares would not of been needed either during the scramble to make 4 work..

very nice to see what was intended


~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
February 13, 2014, 09:07:17 AM
 #679

1GHz baby!

I accidentally managed to turn on all 8 VRMs on my old 8VRM Jupiter.
Since they were all on and we can control the voltage with the tuning firmware I decided to try some more overclocking.



Great place share!

edit: Did you just add the x86 line with clock speed multiple times for each VRM to achieve this?
bondus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
February 13, 2014, 10:51:13 AM
 #680

1GHz baby!

I accidentally managed to turn on all 8 VRMs on my old 8VRM Jupiter.
Since they were all on and we can control the voltage with the tuning firmware I decided to try some more overclocking.

When running these with all VRMs on they have a base voltage of about 0.9V, so it had to be lowered in the advanced tuning page to get a reasonable voltage. -0.5V works fine.

Currents and temperatures are reasonable.

Total power consumption on the inside of the VRMs is 850W. I guess that will be 950-1000W at the wall. Since my PSU is only 1050W I do not dare to go higher.

The November units will be crazy once you get the tuning FW!


Very good.

A few quest:

- are you able you able to turn on all the vrms at will? If yes how?
- what oc settings are you using?
- any mod to get better cooling?



The accident that turned on the VRMs was that I loaded a November FW (0.99.2-E) onto an October Jupiter (bad idea). The machine did not hash with the November firmware, I realized my mistake and put back the proper October firmware. Once it started working again I saw that all 8 VRMs were running.

A pure accident.

My guess is that the November firmware has configured the GE VRMs as if they were the Ericsson units that are in the Novembers. Both VRMs talk the same SMBus protocol and are somewhat compatible. For some reason once they are turned on the October firmware do not turn them off again.

The whole process does not feel very safe.


I am using a 0x0271 setting.

Machine is totally stock, I haven't even opened the box.


When these machines were delivered they ran with all 8VRMs turned on at 0.9V. They ran like that for a couple of weeks when they were new with no major problems. It was not until FW 0.93 (or was it 0.95?) they disabled half of the VRMs.

A speculation to why they turned off 4 of the VRMs is that they ran out of components and had to manufacture boards with only 4 VRMs, and to make things "fair" for different customers they decided to run all boards with just 4 VRMs. They gimped the 8 VRM boards.
Another option is that it is unsafe to run with 8 VRMs. That there is something wrong with the boards.








Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 [34] 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!