Bitcoin Forum
December 12, 2017, 05:43:51 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Hacking The KNC Firmware: Overclocking  (Read 143152 times)
ncs0ne
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147


software developer


View Profile
January 12, 2014, 12:54:44 PM
 #381

(...)
trying to add the above, but running into problems...

Quote
Restarting Cgminer daemon: /etc/init.d/cgminer.sh: line 134: can't create /: Is a directory
(...)

?!, somehow when I removed the leading space I must have removed 'dev/null' by accident.
Thanks for pointing out, have editited my post above.

Redirect STDOUT to '/dev/null' instead of '/'.


I'm impressed that you have the balls to play around with it.
Please try one module/port (for ex 'if [ "$p" == "0" ]; then' ), only - just in case it doesn't work as expected.
Maybe even restrict testing to one of the four chips on one board, only.

Therefore remove the 'for'-loop and use one value between 0..3 for the core to play with.
Please share your experiences afterwards, thanks in advance!

1513057431
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513057431

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513057431
Reply with quote  #2

1513057431
Report to moderator
1513057431
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513057431

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513057431
Reply with quote  #2

1513057431
Report to moderator
1513057431
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513057431

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513057431
Reply with quote  #2

1513057431
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513057431
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513057431

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513057431
Reply with quote  #2

1513057431
Report to moderator
1513057431
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513057431

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513057431
Reply with quote  #2

1513057431
Report to moderator
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
January 12, 2014, 12:58:50 PM
 #382

my KnC units have ROI(yes in BTC not fiat) and more so i am happy to play with them in any way and form.

Really i have no idea what i am doing, but the more i play the more vim cmds i am picking up anyway.

resetting or flashing undo's anything i do in Vi anyway,  otherwise i doubt either of my miners would be working.


edit: really i just want to use bfgminer but still have the ability to OC. I might just give up for now, the extra 70GH i get with my saturn is not worth giving up for bfgminer just now.
ncs0ne
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147


software developer


View Profile
January 12, 2014, 01:21:45 PM
 #383

Ah, so you have an October unit, thought November one.

I used my modified starter from before for the latest 0.99-2 (October).
Just added the additional bfgminer lines at the top, the start cmd at the end of do_start(), as well as the kill-cmd in do_stop().

Works fine.

*edit:
here's mine
Code:
#!/bin/sh

PATH=/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin

use_bfgminer=
if [ -f /config/miner.conf ]; then
        . /config/miner.conf  #if bfgminer is enabled, this file contains: use_bfgminer="true"
fi
if [ "$use_bfgminer" = true ] ; then
        DAEMON=/usr/bin/bfgminer
        NAME=bfgminer
        DESC="BFGMiner daemon"
        EXTRA_OPT="-S knc:auto"
else
DAEMON=/usr/bin/cgminer
NAME=cgminer
DESC="Cgminer daemon"
EXTRA_OPT=
fi


set -e

test -x "$DAEMON" || exit 0

do_start() {
# Stop SPI poller
spi_ena=0
i2cset -y 2 0x71 2 $spi_ena

good_ports=""
bad_ports=""

# CLear faults in megadlynx's
for b in 3 4 5 6 7 8 ; do
for d in 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ; do
i2cset -y $b 0x1$d 3 >/dev/null 2>&1 || true
done
done

for p in 0 1 2 3 4 5 ; do
i2cset -y 2 0x71 1 $((p+1))
good_flag=0
ar="$(spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 0x80,3,0,0,0,0,0,0 | tail -c 13)"
                if [ "x$ar" = "x00 30 A0 01" ] ; then
good_flag=1
fi
ar="$(spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 0x80,2,0,0,0,0,0,0 | tail -c 13)"
                if [ "x$ar" = "x00 30 A0 01" ] ; then
good_flag=1
fi
ar="$(spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 0x80,1,0,0,0,0,0,0 | tail -c 13)"
                if [ "x$ar" = "x00 30 A0 01" ] ; then
good_flag=1
fi
ar="$(spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 0x80,0,0,0,0,0,0,0 | tail -c 13)"
                if [ "x$ar" = "x00 30 A0 01" ] ; then
good_flag=1
fi

if [ "$good_flag" = "1" ] ; then
good_ports=$good_ports" $p"
else
bad_ports=$bad_ports" $p"
fi
done

if [ -n "$good_ports" ] ; then
for p in $good_ports ; do
# Re-enable PLL
i2cset -y 2 0x71 1 $((p+1))
for c in 0 1 2 3 ; do
cmd=$(printf "0x84,0x%02X,0,0" $c)
spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 $cmd >/dev/null
cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x02,0x11" $c)
spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 $cmd >/dev/null
cmd=$(printf "0x85,0x%02X,0,0" $c)
spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 $cmd >/dev/null
done

# re-enable all cores
i=0
while [[ $i -lt 192 ]] ; do
i2cset -y 2 0x2$p $i 1
i=$((i+1))
done
spi_ena=$(( spi_ena | (1 << $p) ))
done
fi
if [ -n "$bad_ports" ] ; then
for p in $bad_ports ; do
# Disable PLL
i2cset -y 2 0x71 1 $((p+1))
for c in 0 1 2 3 ; do
cmd=$(printf "0x84,0x%02X,0,0" $c)
spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 $cmd >/dev/null
done

# disable all cores
i=0
while [[ $i -lt 192 ]] ; do
i2cset -y 2 0x2$p $i 0
i=$((i+1))
done
spi_ena=$(( spi_ena & ~(1 << $p) ))
done
fi

# Disable direct SPI
i2cset -y 2 0x71 1 0

# Enable SPI poller
i2cset -y 2 0x71 2 $spi_ena

start-stop-daemon -b -S -x screen -- -S cgminer -t cgminer -m -d "$DAEMON" --api-listen -c /config/cgminer.conf $EXTRA_OPT
}

do_stop() {
        killall -9 bfgminer cgminer 2>/dev/null || true
}
case "$1" in
  start)
        echo -n "Starting $DESC: "
do_start
        echo "$NAME."
        ;;
  stop)
        echo -n "Stopping $DESC: "
do_stop
        echo "$NAME."
        ;;
  restart|force-reload)
        echo -n "Restarting $DESC: "
        do_stop
        do_start
        echo "$NAME."
        ;;
  *)
        N=/etc/init.d/$NAME
        echo "Usage: $N {start|stop|restart|force-reload}" >&2
        exit 1
        ;;
esac

exit 0

elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
January 12, 2014, 03:05:07 PM
 #384

Thank you very much for your help ncs0ne!!

got my 8vrm upto 600 - 610 and running BFG Smiley


done the exact same thing to my saturn 4VRM machine but no BFG ever??



Sonic_AFB
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
January 12, 2014, 03:14:08 PM
 #385

This is the info of temp and volt's i have after OC

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/1280x1024q90/545/ilc2.jpg
http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/1280x1024q90/34/7t1l.jpg
http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/1280x1024q90/21/va5z.jpg
http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/1280x1024q90/34/x9u8.jpg

Is all fine?
jelin1984
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610



View Profile
January 12, 2014, 06:50:41 PM
 #386

Your tempature is a little high

Put some extra cooling at Jupiter
CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
January 12, 2014, 06:53:43 PM
 #387

Your tempature is a little high

Put some extra cooling at Jupiter

Please do not post misleading information. 58 is anything but high temperature.


If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
January 12, 2014, 06:56:52 PM
 #388

i have a board running close to 80c just fine
jelin1984
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610



View Profile
January 12, 2014, 06:59:48 PM
 #389

Ok so my fault
pedrosoft
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
January 12, 2014, 08:33:57 PM
 #390

Just two questions:
a) max temps ? 70-75-80 Celsius?
b) max watt and amp ?

Thanks  !  Cheesy
crashoveride54902
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


Dream become broken often


View Profile
January 12, 2014, 08:52:01 PM
 #391

Just two questions:
a) max temps ? 70-75-80 Celsius?
b) max watt and amp ?

Thanks  !  Cheesy

nobody knows, or you get misleading info from 2 ppl from knc...hno said nothing over 50a is safe n bit..something said 64a is safe..so up to you on who ya believe and i have no idea on safe max temps...but as always the cooler the better Smiley

Dreams of cyprto solving everything is slowly slipping away...Replaced by scams/hacks Sad
Ghrindy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47

Stardust Dude


View Profile
January 13, 2014, 12:03:42 AM
 #392

Best settings so far for my oct jupiter (4 VRM):

FW: 0.99.1-tune (oct)
OC: 231
Advanced tuning: None (default from stock version) see "Other findings"

Before OC:
Avg.HR: 560 Gh/s, poolside: 520-530 Gh/s
WU: 8045
HW err%: 3%
Pool rejects%: 0.6%
Watts: 550 W (bertmod)

After OC:
Avg.HR: 650 Gh/s, poolside: 620-640 Gh/s
WU: 9083
HW err%: 5-7%
Pool rejects%: 0.9%
Watts: 680-690 W (bertmod)
ASIC1: 56.0 ℃ , avg 53 Amps
ASIC2: 42.0 ℃ , avg 52 Amps
ASIC3: 61.5 ℃ , avg 56 Amps (highest die: 61 Amps)
ASIC4: 51.5 ℃ , avg 54 Amps
...

small update:

FW: 0.99.2-tune (oct)
OC: 231
Advanced tuning:
* SPI volt: default (1.95)
* SPI freq: default (201442)
* die voltage:

Code:
{
  "asic_1_voltage": {
    "die1": "-0.1121",
    "die2": "-0.1121",
    "die3": "-0.1121",
    "die4": "-0.0938"
  },
  "asic_3_voltage": {
    "die1": "-0.1011",
    "die2": "-0.1121",
    "die3": "-0.1121",
    "die4": "-0.0886"
  },
  "asic_4_voltage": {
    "die1": "-0.1121",
    "die2": "-0.1121",
    "die3": "-0.1040",
    "die4": "-0.1069"
  },
  "asic_5_voltage": {
    "die1": "-0.1069",
    "die2": "-0.1121",
    "die3": "-0.1121",
    "die4": "-0.0886"
  },
  "spi_frequency": "201442",
  "spi_voltage": "1.95",
  "auto_spi_voltage": true
}


After OC:
Avg.HR: 660 Gh/s, poolside: 650 Gh/s
WU: 9246
HW err%: 2,6%
Watts: +- 700 W (via advanced-page in 0.99.2)
ASIC1: 56.0 ℃ , avg 55 Amps
ASIC2: 43.0 ℃ , avg 54 Amps
ASIC3: 62.5 ℃ , avg 56 Amps (highest die: 62 Amps)
ASIC4: 52.5 ℃ , avg 55 Amps

tips for OC:
keep an eye on Amps per die (in Advanced-page) and aim for 50-55 Amps range per die.
Then change die-voltage accordingly (2-5 steps on max 2 die's at a time) -> save and restart cgminer
-> wait 2 min. for first impressions -> wait at least 10-15 min to see if performance stabilises! 
(if you OC too much, the first couple min u'll have great results, but after 10 min performance decreases fast)

The fun part of bitcoin is ... it´s not about bitcoin!
“The best way to predict the future is to invent it.” – Alan Curtis Kay, 1971
mvalley
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131


View Profile
January 13, 2014, 12:47:16 AM
 #393

Anyone try this on a Nov Saturn? I think the Nov units are high clocked already so I'm not sure if I can squeeze out much more performance from them. My numbers look like this:

ASIC Board    Info
0    

Temperature sensor: 53.0 C
Die ID    Cores ON    Cores OFF    %
0   48   0    100
1   48   0    100
2   48   0    100
3   48   0    100
DC/DC ID    ON/OFF    Status    Input Voltage    Output Voltage    Output Current
0    OFF    OK    11.9 V    0.833 V    24.6 A (20.5 W)
1    OFF    OK    11.9 V    0.835 V    24.6 A (20.5 W)
2    OFF    OK    12 V    0.831 V    24 A (19.9 W)
3    OFF    OK    11.9 V    0.829 V    23.8 A (19.7 W)
4    OFF    OK    11.9 V    0.832 V    23.3 A (19.4 W)
5    OFF    OK    11.9 V    0.828 V    23.4 A (19.4 W)
6    OFF    OK    11.9 V    0.828 V    24.6 A (20.4 W)
7    OFF    OK    11.8 V    0.829 V    24.8 A (20.6 W)
5    

Temperature sensor: 53.0 C
Die ID    Cores ON    Cores OFF    %
0   48   0    100
1   48   0    100
2   48   0    100
3   48   0    100
DC/DC ID    ON/OFF    Status    Input Voltage    Output Voltage    Output Current
0    OFF    OK    11.9 V    0.828 V    25.4 A (21 W)
1    OFF    OK    11.9 V    0.826 V    24.4 A (20.2 W)
2    OFF    OK    11.9 V    0.826 V    24.5 A (20.2 W)
3    OFF    OK    12 V    0.828 V    25 A (20.7 W)
4    OFF    OK    12 V    0.826 V    24.6 A (20.3 W)
5    OFF    OK    12 V    0.828 V    24.3 A (20.1 W)
6    OFF    OK    11.9 V    0.828 V    24.5 A (20.3 W)
7    OFF    OK    12 V    0.829 V    25.2 A (20.9 W)


LATOKEN  ●  TRADE REAL ASSETS IN CRYPTO  ●  JOIN ICO NOW
SLACK  |  TELEGRAM
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
Sonic_AFB
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
January 13, 2014, 01:05:30 AM
 #394

so, with my temps can i try "850.0 211" without much risks?
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
January 13, 2014, 01:14:13 AM
 #395

so, with my temps can i try "850.0 211" without much risks?

i run 231 on 4vrm and 211 on 8vrm(just started)
crashoveride54902
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


Dream become broken often


View Profile
January 13, 2014, 01:36:13 AM
 #396

so, with my temps can i try "850.0 211" without much risks?

i run 231 on 4vrm and 211 on 8vrm(just started)

i run 231 on both 4 and 8 vrms modules both are fine

Dreams of cyprto solving everything is slowly slipping away...Replaced by scams/hacks Sad
pedrosoft
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
January 13, 2014, 08:32:21 AM
 #397

so, with my temps can i try "850.0 211" without much risks?

i run 231 on 4vrm and 211 on 8vrm(just started)

i run 231 on both 4 and 8 vrms modules both are fine

Your temps, amp and watt please ?  Smiley
lenny_
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


DARKNETMARKETS.COM


View Profile WWW
January 13, 2014, 01:25:59 PM
 #398

Hi,

I am using Oct Jupiter with 0.99.1-tune firmware. After I pressed "Reset factory settings" on Advanced tab, I can no longer access Advanced tab at all. Instead I have browser message with "Fetch advanced configuration/status failed." and "OK" button. Restarting, flashing to earlier firmware and flashing back to 0.99.1-tune does not resolved the issue. Jupiter itself is mining away nicely, but I can't access Advanced tab anymore.
Any one had similar problem?

DARKNET MARKETS >> https://DARKNETMARKETS.COM
CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
January 13, 2014, 01:36:31 PM
 #399

Hi,

I am using Oct Jupiter with 0.99.1-tune firmware. After I pressed "Reset factory settings" on Advanced tab, I can no longer access Advanced tab at all. Instead I have browser message with "Fetch advanced configuration/status failed." and "OK" button. Restarting, flashing to earlier firmware and flashing back to 0.99.1-tune does not resolved the issue. Jupiter itself is mining away nicely, but I can't access Advanced tab anymore.
Any one had similar problem?
Ctrl+F5?

If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
jelin1984
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610



View Profile
January 13, 2014, 01:44:00 PM
 #400

at 0.99.2 firmware does not have these one
how will can do overclocked?Huh?




is at the command prompt:

vi /etc/init.d/cgminer.sh

Use the cursor keys on your keyboard to scroll down till you see this code:

Look for the line that says:

cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x01,0xF1" $c)


NOTE: some of the characters at the end (especially the F1) may be different.

The key is the line with the 0x86, when you see that you are on the right line.


change this:

cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x01,0xF1" $c)

to this:


cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x02,0x11" $c)
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!