Bitcoin Forum
December 12, 2017, 03:48:20 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Hacking The KNC Firmware: Overclocking  (Read 143151 times)
giletto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 02:53:14 PM
 #421

So actually is no way to OC a nov batch jupiter, right?
Anyone?

▄████████████████████▄
██████████████████████
██████  ██████████████
██████  ██████████████
██████  ██████████████
██████  ██      ██████
██████  █  ████  █████
██████   ██████  █████
██████  ███████  █████
██████  ███████  █████
██████████████████████
██████████████████████
▀████████████████████▀
HERO.        The Future of Banking in Southeast Asia
  ■ Website   ■ Whitepaper   ■ Bounties   ■ Join our Slack
.    PRE-SALE
   starting soon
1513050500
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513050500

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513050500
Reply with quote  #2

1513050500
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513050500
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513050500

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513050500
Reply with quote  #2

1513050500
Report to moderator
1513050500
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513050500

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513050500
Reply with quote  #2

1513050500
Report to moderator
1513050500
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513050500

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513050500
Reply with quote  #2

1513050500
Report to moderator
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 03:33:18 PM
 #422

if anyone needs help OC'ing october batch using new firmware send me a PM and i will get around to helping you tonight using team viewer.

use putty and login to your miners IP.

Login = root
password = miner password

type "screen -r" then hit "q" then type vi /etc/init.d/cgminer.sh , this will allow you to edit and delete.

 delete every line ("d" deletes line, "dd130" should delete every line(give it 20seconds.

then paste the bellow script provided by Ncs0ne, thanks dude! bellow code is set for 211, i run my Saturn 4vrm on 231

hit esc then type  ":"(exits editing mode) type "wq" then hit enter

then type  "/etc/init.d/cgminer.sh restart"

screen -r to reload.


For clarification to others, I had to type " escape, wq and also the colon  [:] for it to work.  I'm so used to using colons to start a series that I didn't realize you meant to type this in as well.  I only had to press right click for it to paste over his scrypt.  Could you please explain what you modified to this over the original version?  I would open it up in a power-txt editor and run doc-diff to see for myself but I'm just not up for doing all that now since i've already updated to yours.  

I didn't edit anything, i got it from another member. I think he over wrote his config so the spi changes are permanent t, that meant the changes were still there when he uploaded new firmware. bellow is what was missing in the new firmware.

Code:
# Re-enable PLL
i2cset -y 2 0x71 1 $((p+1))
for c in 0 1 2 3 ; do
cmd=$(printf "0x84,0x%02X,0,0" $c)
spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 $cmd >/dev/null
cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x02,0x11" $c)
spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 $cmd >/dev/null
cmd=$(printf "0x85,0x%02X,0,0" $c)
spi-test -s 50000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 $cmd >/dev/null
done



Wait, so you are saying that in the 99.2-tune firmware, KNC removed the PLL section of the cgminer.sh file that had the overclock line in it? Interesting.

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 05:49:46 PM
 #423

Trying to stop others from oc?
lenny_
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


DARKNETMARKETS.COM


View Profile WWW
January 14, 2014, 06:42:04 PM
 #424

Any one tried to lower SPI Voltage, to reduce heat and power usage? Any issues?

DARKNET MARKETS >> https://DARKNETMARKETS.COM
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 07:24:04 PM
 #425

yes more HW errors

if i run my 8vrm on default 1.95 spi + 0.0374 volt then they go crazy with HW.

baller1
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
January 15, 2014, 01:39:30 AM
 #426

Trying to stop others from oc?
obviously.

I really don't understand why KNC has had a certain distain for their "original" believers, the oct. buyers/miners.

The last round of fw updates before this one, KNC clearly stated on the main thread that it was going to help Nov. miners most.

Is that 99.2 anything other than a security update? why remove the OC ability.? bizarre. I think anyone who is willing to risk mild OC should be able to have the added security features...
This needs to be complained about and added back by KNC.
arousedrhino
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 347


View Profile
January 15, 2014, 02:59:37 AM
 #427

Trying to stop others from oc?
obviously.

I really don't understand why KNC has had a certain distain for their "original" believers, the oct. buyers/miners.

The last round of fw updates before this one, KNC clearly stated on the main thread that it was going to help Nov. miners most.

Is that 99.2 anything other than a security update? why remove the OC ability.? bizarre. I think anyone who is willing to risk mild OC should be able to have the added security features...
This needs to be complained about and added back by KNC.

They didn't add any security features, they just changed the cgminer.conf file. You can limit the ip addresses via it. Previously KNC just let any address access the miner. See https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/README look for api-allow

In the original cgminer.conf they had it as:

"api-listen" : true,
"api-network" : true,
"api-allow" : "W:0/0"


From the cgminer readme it states:
Options for both config file and command line:
--api-allow         Allow API access (if enabled) only to the given list of [W:]IP[/Prefix] address[/subnets]
                    This overrides --api-network and you must specify 127.0.0.1 if it is required
                    W: in front of the IP address gives that address privileged access to all api commands
--api-listen        Listen for API requests (default: disabled)
                    By default any command that does not just display data returns access denied
                    See --api-allow to overcome this
--api-network       Allow API (if enabled) to listen on/for any address (default: only 127.0.0.1)

I just removed them so that the api is disabled and there is no api access at all. You could also just specify the addresses you want to allow as well. All they did was edit the cgminer.conf file via a web interface to make things more secure. You can do the same via ssh.
r1senfa17h
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 226



View Profile
January 15, 2014, 04:46:01 AM
 #428

So is anyone trying 241 on a whole board yet for long period of time? i'm on 231 with 55a per vrm right now...tryed 241 but would have to up the volts even more as i had alotta cores go off...just wondering

Yes, I have been running 241 on 4 of my 8-VRM boards for about 1 week without issue. My amps range from 57-61. Total HR is 1012 GH/s across 6-boards and 1.2% HW errors. Temps max out at about 60°c. Total power draw is ~1300w at the wall.

1N3o5Kyvb4iECiJ3WKScKY8xTVXxf1hMvA
temen
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 06:29:01 AM
 #429

Hi

I have november saturn and it's been running with 371-373GH/s for 2 days now. Poolside it's showing 365 as average due to downtime went to fiddling, and perhaps hardware error that do occurs sometimes "in bursts". Amps are between 26-27 and temps for asics 55 and 47 degress. Total wattage drawn ( that is shown on bertmod for the asics )is above 350w.

Im running cgminer wizkid 3.8.5 with november 0.99.1 firmware and bertmod. Tried 0.99.2 but it did go slower. cgminer 3.9 also slower. Copied this 0x86 cgminer.sh from this thread and started playing with it.  It's trial and error. Hardware error 0.2%. Once I saw amps from 8 vrm's go 40 startup and was sure that asics were gone. After hardware reset they got all dies and cores back. 

Initially it doesn't get over 360 easily, but when asics are hot, restarting with 3.8.5 sometimes "levels" it to 373, instead of 360.

When i got saturn, one asic was always 67 degrees. During the mont the temp went down to 50 degrees. Some "burn in" happening here or what?!

My 2 asic boards are labeled both "1", is this some specification category or should it state asic number? Nevertheless all cores are on on both boards.

When asics are cold I get insane 1 minute before it levels up, sometimes it shows above 800 gh/s. When vrm:s (or perhaps asic itself) starts to heat it settles down.

How many watts can be put through this asic? I think Im well above safe maximum here=)

bitparking user fa73xxxx search the statistics with "fa73" term. Currently it shows 365gh/s on the pool. 

Let's see how long it lasts

sickpig
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 06:59:02 AM
 #430

@temen: what is the oc value you are using? 211/231/241/251?

Bitcoin is a participatory system which ought to respect the right of self determinism of all of its users - Gregory Maxwell.
temen
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 08:26:41 AM
 #431


I RECOMMEND NOT TO TRY THIS!

DON'T TRY THIS if not willing to sacrifice your board! I think some of the firmwares turned on the protection on VRMs, like before I could easily get 40 amps/VRM on 8 vrm board, so this could blow the whole system! This might have saved me from blowing them allready!

If i recall it's 265. AND "space" pressed after the last digit, before this "comma" or whatever the next mark was.

Value 291 was good for me also. And 302. But these all required much effort and ready to push Q-key. They might "level" higher speed after 20 attemps and VRM:s on my machine sometimes give "FAULT 96". Dont know what this is. But for now I haven't blown anything.

Some values just go crazy, AMPS at max, speed almost zero so again: USE CAUTION.

I don't know if this is just my specific case that this works, I can post the line from my cgminer.sh file.

I dont know what will happen on 4 vrm machines?!

I'M not to blame for ANY damages or mishaps! They could blow instantly!




temen
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 09:32:13 AM
 #432

This the code ive been using:

 if [ -n "$good_ports" ] ; then
                for p in $good_ports ; do
                        # Re-enable PLL
                        i2cset -y 2 0x71 1 $((p+1))
                        for c in 0 1 2 3 ; do
                                cmd=$(printf "0x84,0x%02X,0,0" $c)
                                spi-test -s 55000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 $cmd >/
                                cmd=$(printf "0x86,0x%02X,0x02,0x65" $c)
                                spi-test -s 55000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 $cmd >/
                                cmd=$(printf "0x85,0x%02X,0,0" $c)
                                spi-test -s 55000 -OHC -D /dev/spidev1.0 $cmd >/
                        done

As what comes to this 55000 after spi-test i dont know if it has anything to do with anything. And now there isn't this " space" after 265 I see, at some point it was there .

my procedure:

power off
power on
open 2 ssh
load bertmod
after that get wizkid cgminer
after that go to copy your config file so it overwrites this init.d/cgminer.sh file
then etc/init.d/cgminer.sh restart (I think this is the part where it updates the settings as sometimes changes didnt take any effect before doing it this way )
wait that 3.9. cgminer makes asics hot
then q
run 3.8.5

Voila! works for me

ImI
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile
January 16, 2014, 04:52:32 PM
 #433


Hi,

i just started to fiddle with my 4VRM jupiter.

I tuned to 2.5V SPI and 256k SPIFrequenzy first and then started with 201.

It fires up, Amps go to around 50 and Temps around 60C, and then the miner suddenly shuts down.

Its most probable a PSU shutdown (i am using a Seasonic 1050 Gold) cause after some minutes it boots just normal again.

Any ideas?

DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
January 16, 2014, 05:30:40 PM
 #434


Hi,

i just started to fiddle with my 4VRM jupiter.

I tuned to 2.5V SPI and 256k SPIFrequenzy first and then started with 201.

It fires up, Amps go to around 50 and Temps around 60C, and then the miner suddenly shuts down.

Its most probable a PSU shutdown (i am using a Seasonic 1050 Gold) cause after some minutes it boots just normal again.

Any ideas?



if anyone is looking for a solid psu for jupiters, the Hale90v2 line from NZXT are great (850w, 1000w, 1200w)

"Noise suppression is where the money is at on this unit, with a maximum of 21mV on the 12V rail at full load. Few units on the market can do this and we're glad to see another on the list. Efficiency for the unit is also spectacular as we see numbers that are almost at 80 PLUS Platinum levels, yet the unit is only Gold rated. I checked the results multiple times just to confirm and they are both correct and in line with what the unit presented when undergoing the official 80 PLUS tests."

http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/5451/nzxt-hale90-v2-1000-watt-80-plus-gold-power-supply-review/index5.html


~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
CeeCee
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 235


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 05:38:37 PM
 #435


Hi,

i just started to fiddle with my 4VRM jupiter.

I tuned to 2.5V SPI and 256k SPIFrequenzy first and then started with 201.

It fires up, Amps go to around 50 and Temps around 60C, and then the miner suddenly shuts down.

Its most probable a PSU shutdown (i am using a Seasonic 1050 Gold) cause after some minutes it boots just normal again.

Any ideas?



dont change anything under the advanced tab. set everything to default and try 211. it is working very good for me.
temen
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 05:56:56 PM
 #436

I cant paste any images here, i see, avascript (void) says the link for "insert image".

Somebody asked for "advanced" tab images, but i don't have any advanced tab on my miner page?! It shows only voltages for vrms (asic 0, voltages are 0,825

STATUS=S
When=1389894564
Code=11
Msg=Summary
Description=cgminer 3.9.0|SUMMARY
Elapsed=2433
MHS av=370243.17
MHS 5s=361734.32
Found Blocks=0
Getworks=79
Accepted=569
Rejected=0
Hardware Errors=78
Utility=14.03
Discarded=154
Stale=0
Get Failures=0
Local Work=215334
Remote Failures=0
Network Blocks=4
Total MH=900701886.6114
Work Utility=5172.80
Difficulty Accepted=199150.00000000
Difficulty Rejected=0.00000000
Difficulty Stale=0.00000000
Best Share=186928
Device Hardware%=0.0372
Device Rejected%=0.0000
Pool Rejected%=0.0000
Pool Stale%=0.0000|

ASIC Board    Info
0    

Temperature sensor: 57.0 C
Die ID    Cores ON    Cores OFF    %
0   48   0    100
1   48   0    100
2   48   0    100
3   48   0    100
DC/DC ID    ON/OFF    Status    Input Voltage    Output Voltage    Output Current
0    OFF    OK    11.7 V    0.825 V    25.3 A (20.9 W)
1    OFF    OK    11.6 V    0.828 V    26.1 A (21.6 W)
2    OFF    OK    11.6 V    0.823 V    26.5 A (21.8 W)
3    OFF    OK    11.6 V    0.824 V    26.3 A (21.7 W)
4    OFF    OK    11.6 V    0.828 V    26.8 A (22.2 W)
5    OFF    OK    11.6 V    0.826 V    27.2 A (22.5 W)
6    OFF    OK    11.5 V    0.828 V    26.7 A (22.1 W)
7    OFF    OK    11.6 V    0.824 V    27.1 A (22.3 W)

4    

Temperature sensor: 46.0 C
Die ID    Cores ON    Cores OFF    %
0   48   0    100
1   48   0    100
2   48   0    100
3   48   0    100
DC/DC ID    ON/OFF    Status    Input Voltage    Output Voltage    Output Current
0    OFF    OK    11.7 V    0.829 V    27 A (22.4 W)
1    OFF    OK    11.6 V    0.828 V    26.9 A (22.3 W)
2    OFF    OK    11.6 V    0.828 V    26.8 A (22.2 W)
3    OFF    OK    11.6 V    0.824 V    27.3 A (22.5 W)
4    OFF    OK    11.7 V    0.829 V    27.6 A (22.9 W)
5    OFF    OK    11.6 V    0.826 V    26.7 A (22.1 W)
6    OFF    OK    11.7 V    0.825 V    26.4 A (21.8 W)
7    OFF    OK    11.7 V    0.826 V    25.8 A (21.3 W)

Total DC/DC power output: 351 W

the dump has been taken like after 15-20min after starting cgminer 3.9.

I started now cgminer3.9 with modified cgminer.sh ( 0x86 setting 265 again ). It seems to stable but there might be tendency for to go down. Average on cgminer shows 369. I want to see if poolside shows bigger rate than with 3.8.5. With it it was 365, but on the kncminer stats page it said 374gh/s.

Changin the last digit to 6 kills everything, vrms just go to error and after that only 2 were on status "ok", all other with fault xx or off.

I wish there was more info that what these registers really are and how they affect things.




ImI
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile
January 16, 2014, 06:11:05 PM
 #437


Hi,

i just started to fiddle with my 4VRM jupiter.

I tuned to 2.5V SPI and 256k SPIFrequenzy first and then started with 201.

It fires up, Amps go to around 50 and Temps around 60C, and then the miner suddenly shuts down.

Its most probable a PSU shutdown (i am using a Seasonic 1050 Gold) cause after some minutes it boots just normal again.

Any ideas?



dont change anything under the advanced tab. set everything to default and try 211. it is working very good for me.

i did and again miner shuts down after ≈ 10sec

what PSU do you use?
NilBit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 08:30:45 PM
 #438

I beleive that KnC has released documentation for the clock settings, so hopefully soon we will see the closck settings integrated in cgminer and bfgminer settings:

https://github.com/KnCMiner/jupiter-hw-docs/blob/master/AN_108_Command_Processor_for_MPSSE_and_MCU_Host_Bus_Emulation_Modes.pdf



joeventura
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
January 16, 2014, 09:33:23 PM
 #439


Hi,

i just started to fiddle with my 4VRM jupiter.

I tuned to 2.5V SPI and 256k SPIFrequenzy first and then started with 201.

It fires up, Amps go to around 50 and Temps around 60C, and then the miner suddenly shuts down.

Its most probable a PSU shutdown (i am using a Seasonic 1050 Gold) cause after some minutes it boots just normal again.

Any ideas?



dont change anything under the advanced tab. set everything to default and try 211. it is working very good for me.

i did and again miner shuts down after ≈ 10sec

what PSU do you use?


leaving everything at default and just changing to 211 your rig shuts down but does not with the default?

If so, try your Jupiter with 3 modules plugged in, if that works then you are just at the edge of your power supply.

Three modules at 231 should run between 495 and 511GH just FYI


BitCoinRateWatcher.com One stop for latest rates from MtGox, Bitstamp, CampBx, Coinbase and Bitpay all on one mobile friendly screen.
ImI
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile
January 16, 2014, 10:03:35 PM
 #440

leaving everything at default and just changing to 211 your rig shuts down but does not with the default?

exactly

If so, try your Jupiter with 3 modules plugged in, if that works then you are just at the edge of your power supply.

Its a 1050W PSU so i dont expect it to be at the limit, yet. I suspect that the Seasonic is very sensitive when it comes to little power peaks and shuts itself down.

What PSU are known to work with those overclocked jupiters?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!