Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 06:03:18 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 [51] 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Hacking The KNC Firmware: Overclocking  (Read 143276 times)
taurus01
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 08:36:38 PM
 #1001

clear your browser cashe

Good idea! But dosent work. I testet it with Google Chrome, Firefox and Internetexplorer too.

Sad

Other ideas?

I listen about a new firmware, calls 1.01.1 - maybe i need that? Can somebody give it to me?

did you hit ctrl+r? you sure you installed 1.01?

Yes i had the 1.01 firmeware. Now i installed 1.01.1-padrino and it works.

If i push ctrl+r i can see this:

a) But what means it?
b) I cant choose more than 0x295 Mhz - what means 0x335 = 940Gh´s - because i cant see more than 0x295 Mhz
c) How mutch Volt is okay vor the dies before they will damage?

?
Means you have a October Jupiter

Ah, are you sure? My seller says it´s are november-batch.... Sad

Is there are save way to find it out?
1513576998
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513576998

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513576998
Reply with quote  #2

1513576998
Report to moderator
1513576998
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513576998

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513576998
Reply with quote  #2

1513576998
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Biffa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile
May 21, 2014, 10:05:34 PM
 #1002

clear your browser cashe

Good idea! But dosent work. I testet it with Google Chrome, Firefox and Internetexplorer too.

Sad

Other ideas?

I listen about a new firmware, calls 1.01.1 - maybe i need that? Can somebody give it to me?

did you hit ctrl+r? you sure you installed 1.01?

Yes i had the 1.01 firmeware. Now i installed 1.01.1-padrino and it works.

If i push ctrl+r i can see this:

a) But what means it?
b) I cant choose more than 0x295 Mhz - what means 0x335 = 940Gh´s - because i cant see more than 0x295 Mhz
c) How mutch Volt is okay vor the dies before they will damage?

?
Means you have a October Jupiter

Ah, are you sure? My seller says it´s are november-batch.... Sad

Is there are save way to find it out?

Hmm, you might have been ripped off then if they said it was November.

When you had the 1.01 firmware, before you uploaded the padrino firmware, what was the maximum speed you could set in Advanced?

If it was 1000Mhz then its a November Jupiter, if it was 775Mhz then it was an October Jupiter.

crashoveride54902
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


Dream become broken often


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 10:08:06 PM
 #1003

clear your browser cashe

Good idea! But dosent work. I testet it with Google Chrome, Firefox and Internetexplorer too.

Sad

Other ideas?

I listen about a new firmware, calls 1.01.1 - maybe i need that? Can somebody give it to me?

did you hit ctrl+r? you sure you installed 1.01?

Yes i had the 1.01 firmeware. Now i installed 1.01.1-padrino and it works.

If i push ctrl+r i can see this:

a) But what means it?
b) I cant choose more than 0x295 Mhz - what means 0x335 = 940Gh´s - because i cant see more than 0x295 Mhz
c) How mutch Volt is okay vor the dies before they will damage?

?
Means you have a October Jupiter

Ah, are you sure? My seller says it´s are november-batch.... Sad

Is there are save way to find it out?

what the guy above me said or just look at the vrms...silver oct. yellow sticker nov...looks like you got hosed...plus with that picture ya put up i can see its oct. and the most you can run on a 4vrm oct is 251 if you do some great extra cooling to it...241 with a cpl extra fans in there...most amps you wanna push is around 60a if you feel lucky 50a or so is safe..been running that for months now...although the bottom of some boards are getting alittle dark hehe

So I put my Kill-A-Watt meter on 1 of my 2 EVGA 1000W PSU's. The meter is reading 1050W, but the web gui only shows that the rig is using 1450W. Why is that PSU maxed out?

is that the PSU that is also powering the control board?  those watt reading you see are only for the chip not everything else like fans, control board and the psu itself

No that PSU is powering 3 of the 6 modules. Other PSU is powering the other 3 and the control board.

psu also loses some watts due to ac to dc convert i think...its not maxed, if it was maxed it woulda more then likely turned off Tongue

Dreams of cyprto solving everything is slowly slipping away...Replaced by scams/hacks Sad
tzortz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
May 22, 2014, 08:27:34 PM
 #1004

Bumped my clocks up some and now I am getting 1.5 TH/s at 1450W. HW errors are .002% and all the temps look good. Thanks padrino!


What cooling are you using? You seem to have it very nicely cooled.

Also, what did you make change the die voltages?

All is Mine!

1H7LUdfx9AFTMSXPsCBror3RDk57zgnc2R
burritoboy9984
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44


View Profile
May 23, 2014, 03:09:09 PM
 #1005

What is a recommended max temp for the VRMs? I don't want to over do it. :-)

Thanks!
tzortz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
May 23, 2014, 10:10:46 PM
 #1006

What is a recommended max temp for the VRMs? I don't want to over do it. :-)

Thanks!

I think you must not exceed 95C at GUI.

At 93C appears an ERROR.


All is Mine!

1H7LUdfx9AFTMSXPsCBror3RDk57zgnc2R
burritoboy9984
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44


View Profile
May 24, 2014, 02:20:06 AM
 #1007

What is a recommended max temp for the VRMs? I don't want to over do it. :-)

Thanks!

I think you must not exceed 95C at GUI.

At 93C appears an ERROR.



Thanks!
Tigggger
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1053



View Profile
May 26, 2014, 12:06:40 PM
 #1008

My november jupiter had been running along nicely around 750GH, but recently the speeds have dropped.

Looking under advanced I see the following



Die 1 and Die 4 are both showing 0 voltage, if I leave it alone in a few minutes it starts up again and hashes normally, runs for a few minutes and then back to 0 again.

Before I start messing with clocks and voltages thought I'd ask if anyone else has had this and the best way to fix it.

daddyfatsax
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 857


Anger is a gift.


View Profile
May 26, 2014, 02:11:19 PM
 #1009

Bumped my clocks up some and now I am getting 1.5 TH/s at 1450W. HW errors are .002% and all the temps look good. Thanks padrino!


What cooling are you using? You seem to have it very nicely cooled.

Also, what did you make change the die voltages?

The i30 coolers, but I removed the thermal paste and replaced it with PK1. Taking the modules out of the case helped a lot. The modules need airflow on the bottom of the PCB. Actually flipped one on its side and pointed a 120 mm fan at it, temps dropped 10C.

No voltage changes. HW error % is .003.
crashoveride54902
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


Dream become broken often


View Profile
May 26, 2014, 02:21:35 PM
 #1010

My november jupiter had been running along nicely around 750GH, but recently the speeds have dropped.

Looking under advanced I see the following



Die 1 and Die 4 are both showing 0 voltage, if I leave it alone in a few minutes it starts up again and hashes normally, runs for a few minutes and then back to 0 again.

Before I start messing with clocks and voltages thought I'd ask if anyone else has had this and the best way to fix it.

was running my nov rig at 0.000v n 335...but one die would drop out..so i slowly started droping the volts n oc til it was happy staying on all the time Smiley but you have 3 vrms that aren't happy and on different dies so idk if that is your problem or not...also those vrms are little toasty...I would go that high if it was my rig...you'll melt the solder off it Cheesy

Dreams of cyprto solving everything is slowly slipping away...Replaced by scams/hacks Sad
Tigggger
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1053



View Profile
May 26, 2014, 06:32:35 PM
 #1011

was running my nov rig at 0.000v n 335...but one die would drop out..so i slowly started droping the volts n oc til it was happy staying on all the time Smiley but you have 3 vrms that aren't happy and on different dies so idk if that is your problem or not...also those vrms are little toasty...I would go that high if it was my rig...you'll melt the solder off it Cheesy

Thanks for the advice, dropped the clocks and the voltages and they seem to be more stable now and are staying on.

However contrary to what I would expect the VRM's are getting even hotter than my other boards Huh



bobsmoke
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 312



View Profile
May 27, 2014, 08:13:59 PM
 #1012

Just got saturn back online ... directly from hosting

Current firmware revision: 1.01

SPI: 1.95v
SPI Frequency: 201442 Hz


die 1 -0.1099v 750Mhz
die 2 -0.1099v 750Mhz
die 3 -0.1099v 750Mhz
die 4 -0.1099v 750Mhz

C/DC   Voltage (V)   Current (A)   Power (W)   Temperature (°C)
0   0.7764   46.3750   36.006   0.000
2   0.7783   47.0000   36.580   0.000
4   0.7988   47.6250   38.043   0.000
7   0.7822   48.1875   37.692   0.000

temp : 58.0 °C
Power : 147.791 W

286h/s @ pool ...


What are others getting from a Saturn Overclocked?
I should try first but .... If changing the die# to 775Mhz does it make a difference or I need to change as well the voltage?

thx
tzortz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
May 27, 2014, 10:57:44 PM
 #1013

was running my nov rig at 0.000v n 335...but one die would drop out..so i slowly started droping the volts n oc til it was happy staying on all the time Smiley but you have 3 vrms that aren't happy and on different dies so idk if that is your problem or not...also those vrms are little toasty...I would go that high if it was my rig...you'll melt the solder off it Cheesy

Thanks for the advice, dropped the clocks and the voltages and they seem to be more stable now and are staying on.

However contrary to what I would expect the VRM's are getting even hotter than my other boards Huh




Lower your frequency, or heatsink/cool your vrm's.

You will all have them at zero if you keep them at +95C each.

All is Mine!

1H7LUdfx9AFTMSXPsCBror3RDk57zgnc2R
crashoveride54902
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


Dream become broken often


View Profile
May 28, 2014, 12:32:05 AM
 #1014

was running my nov rig at 0.000v n 335...but one die would drop out..so i slowly started droping the volts n oc til it was happy staying on all the time Smiley but you have 3 vrms that aren't happy and on different dies so idk if that is your problem or not...also those vrms are little toasty...I would go that high if it was my rig...you'll melt the solder off it Cheesy

Thanks for the advice, dropped the clocks and the voltages and they seem to be more stable now and are staying on.

However contrary to what I would expect the VRM's are getting even hotter than my other boards Huh




Lower your frequency, or heatsink/cool your vrm's.

You will all have them at zero if you keep them at +95C each.

or just take'em outta the case and get some motherboard standoffs to hold them up and then a fan in front...easy setup and cools them off way better then having them in a case...but ya what tzortz said...its really hot in there Tongue

Just got saturn back online ... directly from hosting

Current firmware revision: 1.01

SPI: 1.95v
SPI Frequency: 201442 Hz


die 1 -0.1099v 750Mhz
die 2 -0.1099v 750Mhz
die 3 -0.1099v 750Mhz
die 4 -0.1099v 750Mhz

C/DC   Voltage (V)   Current (A)   Power (W)   Temperature (°C)
0   0.7764   46.3750   36.006   0.000
2   0.7783   47.0000   36.580   0.000
4   0.7988   47.6250   38.043   0.000
7   0.7822   48.1875   37.692   0.000

temp : 58.0 °C
Power : 147.791 W

286h/s @ pool ...


What are others getting from a Saturn Overclocked?
I should try first but .... If changing the die# to 775Mhz does it make a difference or I need to change as well the voltage?

thx


you can do 231 or 241 oc with 4 vrm boards for 320 or so...just don't push the vrms over 60a tops i'd say...and that itself is pushing it and if you don't have extra cooling..if you get heatsinks n extra fans you can use 251 max i'd say for 8vrm with extra cooling you can do 291 no problem

Dreams of cyprto solving everything is slowly slipping away...Replaced by scams/hacks Sad
tzortz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
May 28, 2014, 12:36:53 AM
 #1015

Yes, I agree with you crashoveride.
He needs to get everything out.

But still is very hot with such low frequency+voltage.

Whats your ambient, tigggger?

All is Mine!

1H7LUdfx9AFTMSXPsCBror3RDk57zgnc2R
bobsmoke
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 312



View Profile
May 28, 2014, 06:13:25 AM
 #1016


you can do 231 or 241 oc with 4 vrm boards for 320 or so...just don't push the vrms over 60a tops i'd say...and that itself is pushing it and if you don't have extra cooling..if you get heatsinks n extra fans you can use 251 max i'd say for 8vrm with extra cooling you can do 291 no problem

Thank you!
Noob question, what is the 231 or 241 value?
crashoveride54902
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


Dream become broken often


View Profile
May 28, 2014, 10:05:00 AM
 #1017


you can do 231 or 241 oc with 4 vrm boards for 320 or so...just don't push the vrms over 60a tops i'd say...and that itself is pushing it and if you don't have extra cooling..if you get heatsinks n extra fans you can use 251 max i'd say for 8vrm with extra cooling you can do 291 no problem

Thank you!
Noob question, what is the 231 or 241 value?

its the oc setting ya use...either with padrino FW or ssh and editing a file

I've been reading through and fiddling around but maybe I can save some time here..

Are there definite/optimal settings for Oct Jupes?

5 Total 2 with die issues.

ya pretty much max settings for oct jups...if ya try 251 w/o extra cooling you'll get temp warning on vrms

Dreams of cyprto solving everything is slowly slipping away...Replaced by scams/hacks Sad
Tigggger
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1053



View Profile
May 28, 2014, 11:02:44 AM
 #1018

Yes, I agree with you crashoveride.
He needs to get everything out.

But still is very hot with such low frequency+voltage.

Whats your ambient, tigggger?

Thanks to you both

I went mad ordering Antminers a while ago so despite having 2 air conditioning units temps are higher than I would like in the room

Got some stick on heatsinks for the vrm's and some of the antminers will be going soon which will hopefully help

McBitcoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
May 28, 2014, 01:03:16 PM
 #1019


Hey all,
        I've recently got a 750 Jupiter and was hoping to squeeze a little more processing power out of it. It's running of a 950W PSU and runs around the 45 degree mark so theres room there to get a bit more out of it.

I've had a look through this forum but there is a lot of info opinion flying about, I was hoping to get some idea of voltages and frequencies to try? I'd like to get a couple hundred Gh/s more out of it if possible.

http://i.imgur.com/y6kytAa.jpg

Cheers fellas
Tigggger
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1053



View Profile
May 28, 2014, 02:19:07 PM
 #1020

Well the mystery of my super hot board has been solved.

When i took the lid off to fit the VRM heatsinks everything was working fine, then about halfway through doing them I noticed the fan stop, as I observed it over the course of an hour it was stopping/starting quite frequently, this was leading to the hot temps and dies shutting down. New fan fitted temps way lower, no dies shutting off and time to start raising the clocks Smiley


Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 [51] 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!