Bitcoin Forum
January 23, 2018, 08:40:18 PM *
News: Electrum users must upgrade to 3.0.5 if they haven't already. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 [188] 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 ... 279 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Gridcoin (GRC) - first coin utilizing BOINC - Official Thread  (Read 571206 times)
pallas
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1540


Black Belt Developer


View Profile
November 06, 2014, 04:07:30 PM
 #3741

I need a little help setting up my Gridcoin Research mining.

I would like to use my running Boinc to get Gridcoin (not mine Gridcoin by GPU directly).

BOINC is up and running Seti@Home, all working fine for many years now.
Now I installed the Gridcoin Research Wallet, entered my Boinc email address on first startup and edited the gridcoinresearch.conf file to make it find my Boinc installation.

Quote
cpumining=true
email=myown@email.com
addnode=node.gridcoin.us
UpdatingLeaderboard=false
boincdatadir=F:\\BOINC\\data\\

But it is showing this:



I got no Gridcoin so far and I don´t know why.

Can anyone help me getting it fixed?

First of all you need some GRCs to start. Since PoR is based on PoS, you need a minimum balance in order to stake.
Don't worry if the amount is very low: there is a newbie stake rule pushing it up, so you can mint about daily.
You can get some free GRCs here: http://uscore.net/
Or buy classic GRC on an exchange and burn them in order to convert to new GRC (see OP).

1516740018
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516740018

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516740018
Reply with quote  #2

1516740018
Report to moderator
1516740018
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516740018

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516740018
Reply with quote  #2

1516740018
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1516740018
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516740018

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516740018
Reply with quote  #2

1516740018
Report to moderator
Techone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
November 06, 2014, 05:32:46 PM
 #3742

I just bought some Gridcoin (GRC) on Poloniex and tried to send them to my wallet, but Polo says "invalid address".

Am I missing something here?
I got the Gridcoin Wallet "3.1.8.5-research". The addresses always start with "S" but the ones on Polo start with different letters. Whats wrong?
Should I use the "classic" wallet?

Completely confused...
Fitness76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
November 06, 2014, 07:39:25 PM
 #3743

I just bought some Gridcoin (GRC) on Poloniex and tried to send them to my wallet, but Polo says "invalid address".

Am I missing something here?
I got the Gridcoin Wallet "3.1.8.5-research". The addresses always start with "S" but the ones on Polo start with different letters. Whats wrong?
Should I use the "classic" wallet?

Completely confused...

Hi Techone,
I'm fairly new to gridcoin, but it sounds like you need to convert the old gridcoins to the new ones. Here is the link http://pool.gridcoin.us/CoinExchange.aspx

Make sure you follow the instructions and don't send you coins the the burn address from Polo until you complete the steps otherwise you will loose them. I would be happy to try and answer any questions you have.

Have a Good Day

ReddCoin: Rc2p4G8tdHNS5MggnnEPq1KivwkQTSu8Gt     NetCoin: nTsdxYt4KpAYT3rAdVPCsgrAgSXUiEJhUL
traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
November 06, 2014, 09:56:06 PM
 #3744

1. Download the classic wallet and sync it. www.gridcoin.us

2. Withdraw the GRC coins from poloniex to your grc classic wallet!

3. Download and sync POR GRC wallet! www.gridcoin.us

3. Follow these instructions for burning classics GRC to POR GRC! http://pool.gridcoin.us/CoinExchange.aspx

4. Make sure to test small amount first to see how it works!


I just bought some Gridcoin (GRC) on Poloniex and tried to send them to my wallet, but Polo says "invalid address".

Am I missing something here?
I got the Gridcoin Wallet "3.1.8.5-research". The addresses always start with "S" but the ones on Polo start with different letters. Whats wrong?
Should I use the "classic" wallet?

Completely confused...
anonerd
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213


View Profile
November 06, 2014, 11:21:01 PM
 #3745

I just bought some Gridcoin (GRC) on Poloniex and tried to send them to my wallet, but Polo says "invalid address".

Am I missing something here?
I got the Gridcoin Wallet "3.1.8.5-research". The addresses always start with "S" but the ones on Polo start with different letters. Whats wrong?
Should I use the "classic" wallet?

Completely confused...

Adresses starting in "G" (partly mapped to "F") belong to Gridcoin-classic.
Adresses starting in "R" (partly mapped to "S") belong to Gridcoin-research.

Tricky hashes Cheesy

Still waisting energy on Proof-of-Work? Use your Rigs for scientific progress!
Member of Gridcoin-Germany - http://uscore.net (en) - http://uscore.de (de) - http://gridcoin.us (ann)
Techone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
November 07, 2014, 01:14:36 AM
 #3746

Okay, I got some Gridcoins in my Gridcoin-Research wallet now, but:

https://ip.bitcointalk.org/?u=http%3A%2F%2Fi.imgur.com%2FLlsCfyn.jpg&t=546&c=S2BqrCSwvVZWtg

The Boinc Seti@Home Project is still ignored.

My Boinc folder is located in F:\BOINC and the corresponding apps folder is f:\BOINC\data
So, I edited the config file to:

Code:
cpumining=true
email=myemail@mail.net
addnode=node.gridcoin.us
UpdatingLeaderboard=false
boincappdir=f:\BOINC\
boincdatadir=F:\BOINC\data\

Still not working, not showing any participation or mining efforts, just this:

https://ip.bitcointalk.org/?u=http%3A%2F%2Fi.imgur.com%2FLlsCfyn.jpg&t=546&c=S2BqrCSwvVZWtg

What should I do?

traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
November 07, 2014, 01:30:33 AM
 #3747

Since you are new it will probably take 12-24h for your info to get into the system.

Okay, I got some Gridcoins in my Gridcoin-Research wallet now, but:



The Boinc Seti@Home Project is still ignored.

My Boinc folder is located in F:\BOINC and the corresponding apps folder is f:\BOINC\data
So, I edited the config file to:

Code:
cpumining=true
email=myemail@mail.net
addnode=node.gridcoin.us
UpdatingLeaderboard=false
boincappdir=f:\BOINC\
boincdatadir=F:\BOINC\data\

Still not working, not showing any participation or mining efforts, just this:



What should I do?


Techone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
November 07, 2014, 01:54:08 AM
 #3748

I am not new to it, at least not to Boinc.
I use Boinc and Seti@Home since 2001 and the Gridcoin Research wallet is synced for almost one week now. Only the coins came in today.
But it should start mining or at least showing it has connection to Boinc and list my data, shouldn´t it?

My current Boinc RAC for Seti@Home is 29612
traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
November 07, 2014, 03:06:51 AM
 #3749

1 week?

I am not new to it, at least not to Boinc.
I use Boinc and Seti@Home since 2001 and the Gridcoin Research wallet is synced for almost one week now. Only the coins came in today.
But it should start mining or at least showing it has connection to Boinc and list my data, shouldn´t it?

My current Boinc RAC for Seti@Home is 29612
pallas
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1540


Black Belt Developer


View Profile
November 07, 2014, 09:04:48 AM
 #3750

I am not new to it, at least not to Boinc.
I use Boinc and Seti@Home since 2001 and the Gridcoin Research wallet is synced for almost one week now. Only the coins came in today.
But it should start mining or at least showing it has connection to Boinc and list my data, shouldn´t it?

My current Boinc RAC for Seti@Home is 29612

you also need to be in the gridcoin team on all the projects you want to boinc-mine.

traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
November 07, 2014, 01:57:04 PM
 #3751

Good call, I forgot about that!

I am not new to it, at least not to Boinc.
I use Boinc and Seti@Home since 2001 and the Gridcoin Research wallet is synced for almost one week now. Only the coins came in today.
But it should start mining or at least showing it has connection to Boinc and list my data, shouldn´t it?

My current Boinc RAC for Seti@Home is 29612

you also need to be in the gridcoin team on all the projects you want to boinc-mine.
traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
November 07, 2014, 03:25:34 PM
 #3752

WE just got re-tweeted by the official World Community Grid twitter account! Smiley https://twitter.com/WCGrid

Here is the tweet: https://twitter.com/GridcoinNetwork/status/530724371644432384
Techone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
November 08, 2014, 01:37:43 AM
 #3753

I am in Gridcoin Team on all my Boinc projects.

Here is what my wallet currently shows:

I got mature, staking coins, wallet in sync with network, edited the .conf file to let it find my Boinc installation, but still nothing:

http://i.imgur.com/qHP7rf9.jpg?1
traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
November 08, 2014, 03:28:49 AM
 #3754

I think I know what the problem is. I think if the data folder has to be in a seperate dir than the install folder.

I am in Gridcoin Team on all my Boinc projects.

Here is what my wallet currently shows:

I got mature, staking coins, wallet in sync with network, edited the .conf file to let it find my Boinc installation, but still nothing:


Gridcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile WWW
November 08, 2014, 01:57:40 PM
 #3755

I am in Gridcoin Team on all my Boinc projects.

Here is what my wallet currently shows:

I got mature, staking coins, wallet in sync with network, edited the .conf file to let it find my Boinc installation, but still nothing:


Hi Tech1,

The easy way to find out what is wrong is do a "list cpids" from the RPC console.
Look for any individual projects with either an invalid CPID or a team missing or a low RAC.
If you have an issue with every project you will have to work on each problem individually til you have a participating project.

Otoh, if you dont see any cpids, you might have installed boinc in the non-default location.
To make gridcoin see boinc in that case populate this in your gridcoinresearch.conf file:
boincdatadir=c:\\programdata\\boinc\\

Change the path to the correct path.

Good luck-


Gridcoin: scientia humana libertas
Gridcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile WWW
November 08, 2014, 02:00:45 PM
 #3756


I think that calculator uses wrong BTC/GRC: that's the change for the old GRC, each of which converts to 10 research GRCs, so the BTC/GRC change should be divided by ten.

Not necessarily - it reflects the current GRC/BTC price.  We are optimistic the price will not crash by 10* when we switch tickers.

Currently you can convert a classic GRC, which is about 4000 satoshi, to 10 research GRC, so a research GRC is exchanged at 400 satoshi, and this is the only way you can buy a research GRC with BTC.

I stand by my statement regardless.  Our price is going to be somewhere between where it is now and the reverse split amount.

The market is a free market, so no one knows right now what the result of the calculation will be. (So making a change to the calculator would not be prudent).



Gridcoin: scientia humana libertas
Gridcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile WWW
November 08, 2014, 02:03:13 PM
 #3757

I am getting about 1-2 per day with a fairly sizable balance, the rest is interest payments. Lots of little payments!

More or less how many PoR blocks do you find in 24 hours? since now i haven't found one single block Sad
I, for example, have zero payments since 31.10.2014. I asked for help here and at cryptocointalk for 2 weeks. And i still have that problems.
Hi Zulz, just bump the post if someone missed it over there.
Did your nodes stake PoR after 11-1 yet?  I recall one of the last updates addressed newbie nodes in Phase II.

Gridcoin: scientia humana libertas
Techone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
November 08, 2014, 03:24:18 PM
 #3758

I am in Gridcoin Team on all my Boinc projects.

Here is what my wallet currently shows:

I got mature, staking coins, wallet in sync with network, edited the .conf file to let it find my Boinc installation, but still nothing:

http://i.imgur.com/qHP7rf9.jpg?1
Hi Tech1,

The easy way to find out what is wrong is do a "list cpids" from the RPC console.
Look for any individual projects with either an invalid CPID or a team missing or a low RAC.
If you have an issue with every project you will have to work on each problem individually til you have a participating project.

Otoh, if you dont see any cpids, you might have installed boinc in the non-default location.
To make gridcoin see boinc in that case populate this in your gridcoinresearch.conf file:
boincdatadir=c:\\programdata\\boinc\\

Change the path to the correct path.

Good luck-



Here is the output of the cpids command:

Code:
{
"Command" : "cpids"
},
{
"Project" : "einstein@home",
"CPID" : "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx",
"RAC" : 9399.00000000,
"Team" : "gridcoin",
"Verified RAC" : 2970.00000000,
"Verified Team" : "gridcoin",
"Is my CPID Valid?" : true,
"CPID Link" : "http://boinc.netsoft-online.com/get_user.php?cpid=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx",
"Errors" : ""
},

Code:
{
"Project" : "seti@home",
"CPID" : "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx",
"RAC" : 18614.00000000,
"Team" : "gridcoin",
"Verified RAC" : 16895.00000000,
"Verified Team" : "seti.germany",
"Is my CPID Valid?" : false,
"CPID Link" : "http://boinc.netsoft-online.com/get_user.php?cpid=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx",
"Errors" : "CPID invalid. Check E-mail address."
}
]

The first one seems valid, but the Seti@Home Project shows "check email address". However, the email address is the same on both projects and seems to work for the Einstein@Home Project.

In addition the Seti@Home Cpid shows "Verified Team" : "seti.germany", and "Team" : "gridcoin", at the same time. Why´s that?
Techone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
November 08, 2014, 03:32:18 PM
 #3759

Update:

After restarting my wallet it now shows it is Status: "Boinc Mining" with Einstein@Home, but Seti@Home still has no valid CPID with the "check email address" entry.
I am perfectly sure both projects use the same email, I even double checked it a minute ago. It is the same for all projects and in the config file.
traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
November 08, 2014, 05:15:54 PM
 #3760

hmm, maybe wait another day and see it it updates! I have been running SETI before and always worked!

Update:

After restarting my wallet it now shows it is Status: "Boinc Mining" with Einstein@Home, but Seti@Home still has no valid CPID with the "check email address" entry.
I am perfectly sure both projects use the same email, I even double checked it a minute ago. It is the same for all projects and in the config file.
Pages: « 1 ... 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 [188] 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 ... 279 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!