Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2019, 04:17:34 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience NewPac / Terminus R606 (BM1387) Official Support Thread  (Read 39039 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (1 post by 1 user deleted.)
evade_57
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 74
Merit: 8


View Profile
May 20, 2019, 07:42:03 PM
Last edit: May 22, 2019, 01:10:37 AM by evade_57
Merited by frodocooper (2)
 #701

Running 12 Newpac's here on 2 GS hubs using and RP 3+, no issues at 250mhz. Both plugged into the Pi3+ directly with a usb mouse and wireless (usb) keyboard.

Each hub as 2 Arctic 92mm USB fans plugged in for cooling. Temperatures are approx. 80F at the heatsink using the temp gun recommended by Philipma1957. Room temp is 72F.

Power supply is Corsair 550T Gold. Power consumption is around 75W max.

I have to stress that the NewPac's and GS hubs are a perfect combo. I've ordered a third setup from MFB because these work so well together.

Kudos to Sidehack, great products.
1574093854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574093854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574093854
Reply with quote  #2

1574093854
Report to moderator
1574093854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574093854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574093854
Reply with quote  #2

1574093854
Report to moderator
The Bitcoin Forum is turning 10 years old! Join the community in sharing and exploring the notable posts made over the years.
1574093854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574093854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574093854
Reply with quote  #2

1574093854
Report to moderator
1574093854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574093854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574093854
Reply with quote  #2

1574093854
Report to moderator
1574093854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574093854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574093854
Reply with quote  #2

1574093854
Report to moderator
lrowland21093
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80
Merit: 13


View Profile
May 20, 2019, 08:28:33 PM
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #702

As an experiment I setup a Raspberry Pi Zero W with the GS hub and three R606's.
After a full day the hash rate on all three match the Pi 3b+ speed which is 900Gh.  These are also the numbers I saw on a Windows 10 PC.
Next is the TinkerBoard but it will probably just be the same. 

I think the only two constraints (as others have mentioned) are the USB traffic and the possibly the network connection.
The fact that it worked at all with the Pi Zero was surprising let alone at the same speed.
minefarmbuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 149


We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
May 21, 2019, 06:20:50 PM
 #703

I've ordered a third setup from MFG because these work so well together.

MFG? Sounds like bad chinese food.

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
evade_57
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 74
Merit: 8


View Profile
May 22, 2019, 01:11:36 AM
Last edit: May 22, 2019, 10:23:12 AM by frodocooper
 #704

MFG? Sounds like bad chinese food.

Apologies, corrected. Awesome service to Canada, appreciated. Grin
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2968
Merit: 1201


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 22, 2019, 02:58:49 AM
Last edit: May 22, 2019, 02:52:22 PM by kano
 #705

I've ordered a third setup from MFG because these work so well together.

MFG? Sounds like bad chinese food.
Actually, to avoid the racial slur ... MSG would also be Doritos, KFC, Chik-Fil-A and Pringles ... USA companies.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
minefarmbuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 149


We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
May 22, 2019, 06:43:23 PM
Last edit: May 22, 2019, 11:48:37 PM by frodocooper
 #706

Apologies, corrected. Awesome service to Canada, appreciated. Grin

No apology needed. Just glad everything went well.

Actually, to avoid the racial slur ... MSG would also be Doritos, KFC, Chik-Fil-A and Pringles ... USA companies.

Racial slur? Not sure those count in comedy. The best retort would have been to jest at american expense than being so literal. I think it's called banter.

We have a unit on it's way back to GS. Looks like just a loose usb, maybe a rough transit or something but these are pretty sturdy in general. Feel like I could safely flip it in my hand, not that anyone should. Demo is still pumping, close to 900gh/s average.

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
evade_57
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 74
Merit: 8


View Profile
May 22, 2019, 08:07:25 PM
Last edit: May 22, 2019, 11:49:59 PM by frodocooper
 #707

... The fact that it worked at all with the Pi Zero was surprising let alone at the same speed.

The Pi's seem to prefer a wired connection for best performance from my experience.  I think the Pi's wireless component shares some of the resources as the USB ports also. My two R808's maxed out a Pi 3 so additional 2Pacs were run on a separate Pi 3. The Pi 3+ never exceeds 12% resource utilization in Raspbian with the 12 NewPac's.

Someone here might have better insight into how the Pi handles resources. I am going to try three GS hubs and 18 NewPacs on the 3+ but have another Pi should the USB ports be overwhelmed. A/B enabled should allow it to work, fingers crossed.
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1988
Merit: 1361


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
May 22, 2019, 08:35:06 PM
Last edit: May 22, 2019, 11:50:57 PM by frodocooper
 #708

Actually, the LAN port is also on the USB bus so aside from the inherent flakeyness of WiFi causing dropped data & requiring re-transmission the amount of resources used should be the same.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
DieselWeaseI
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 15


View Profile
May 22, 2019, 10:05:11 PM
 #709

fwiw...when I went hardwired on my pi, I did get a better hashrate and a bit higher freq than on wifi, but I couldn't turn it up all the way like I can on my Win10 desktop before running into issues. I think it was around 675MHz when cgminer would freak out and the miner would drop back down to 200MHz and try climbing up again. I tried different boost settings, but nothing helped. I'm back on my Win10 machine at 763Mhz and 1.020Th/s.

I know some other users are reporting that things are OK on their pi's, but when I look at the pools stats for the same pool we're on, I'm consistently hashing 100Gh/s more with the settings I'm able to run on my Windows box. I'm not sure they're turned up all the way on their pi's.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2646
Merit: 1972



View Profile
May 22, 2019, 10:44:47 PM
Last edit: May 22, 2019, 11:51:51 PM by frodocooper
 #710

I'm back on my Win10 machine at 763Mhz and 1.020Th/s.

I am settled at 767.5 and around 1.033th.

on a ryzen 2700 cpu win 10 build.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
kingofhammers
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 7


View Profile
May 22, 2019, 11:17:34 PM
 #711

I know some other users are reporting that things are OK on their pi's, but when I look at the pools stats for the same pool we're on, I'm consistently hashing 100Gh/s more with the settings I'm able to run on my Windows box. I'm not sure they're turned up all the way on their pi's.

I attribute this to my own laziness. I have all the stuff to make a headless rig without using my pi, I just need to put it all together and do it.
lrowland21093
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80
Merit: 13


View Profile
May 23, 2019, 02:57:03 AM
Merited by frodocooper (2)
 #712

When running on a Win10 machine I do get about 100Gh higher but the second I use the machine for anything else it drops back by quite a bit.  I like running them off the Raspberry even if it is a little slower.  The Pi's work well and use less power.  With the great GS hub it makes everything very streamlined.  I did just pickup a Pi "HAT" that has a hardwired network connection that may help (though I think it is still on the USB bus so it may not make any difference).  The HAT is called a "MakerSpot 5-Port Stackable USB Docking Hub" and has USB and a network connection.  There are lots of similar Pi add-ons that might help like this one with USB and network connections.  Of course the Pi Zero's are so cheap it was worth the experiment ($5 if you happen to be near a Micro Center in the US).

Anyway, a few hundred Gh for such a lower amount of power seems worth it to me.  With that said I do get the desire to squeeze as many hash as possible out of these little boxes!
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2646
Merit: 1972



View Profile
May 23, 2019, 03:05:18 AM
 #713

When running on a Win10 machine I do get about 100Gh higher but the second I use the machine for anything else it drops back by quite a bit.  I like running them off the Raspberry even if it is a little slower.  The Pi's work well and use less power.  With the great GS hub it makes everything very streamlined.  I did just pickup a Pi "HAT" that has a hardwired network connection that may help (though I think it is still on the USB bus so it may not make any difference).  Here is the HAT that first the Pi nicely: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07CQ11TCJ
Of course the Pi Zero's are so cheap it was worth the experiment ($5 if you happen to be near a Micro Center in the US).

Anyway, a few hundred Gh for such a lower amount of power seems worth it to me.  With that said I do get the desire to squeeze as many hash as possible out of these little boxes!

My win 10 is one of a few.

I don’t knock rasp pi,s but sometimes a Newegg refurbished i5 win 10 is for sale.

I got an older hp with an i5 4560 eight gb ram .

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2240
Merit: 1505

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
May 23, 2019, 03:08:00 AM
 #714

Yeah but then you're stuck running Windows 10.

My testers are old Dell 755 machines I bought from a surplus sale for $13 apiece and loaded with Debian 7. I've run 10 pods at a time at 550MHz stable.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
DieselWeaseI
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 15


View Profile
May 23, 2019, 03:16:06 AM
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #715

Yeah but then you're stuck running Windows 10.

My testers are old Dell 755 machines I bought from a surplus sale for $13 apiece and loaded with Debian 7. I've run 10 pods at a time at 550MHz stable.

psshhh...550 is still using training wheels. you built a better cube than that.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2646
Merit: 1972



View Profile
May 23, 2019, 03:18:12 AM
 #716

Yeah but then you're stuck running Windows 10.

My testers are old Dell 755 machines I bought from a surplus sale for $13 apiece and loaded with Debian 7. I've run 10 pods at a time at 550MHz stable.

yeah  you can  put in linux  or if your skill set sucks use win10 pro.

here is are 2  good units from newegg.


https://www.newegg.com/p/N82E16883998892?Item=N82E16883998892

https://www.newegg.com/p/N82E16883998891?Item=N82E16883998891

the top has a good i5 and ssd win10 pro and 8 gb ram  199

the other is 194


your  terminus is 300  if you want 2 or 3 of them  600-900 using this unit with the windows ten pro  is not so bad.

slapping  linux in an i5 like  a i5 2500  would be cheaper. and if you have linux skills  it is the better move.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2240
Merit: 1505

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
May 23, 2019, 03:20:36 AM
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #717

I'm skeptical that "win10 pro" actually exists. The last truly professional [non-server] OS Microsoft put out was 2k.

550 is not "training wheels", it's stock settings. I verify they work at stock, and then I sell them to you and you run them until they catch on fire but it's not my fault because I know they worked at stock.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2646
Merit: 1972



View Profile
May 23, 2019, 03:53:48 AM
 #718

I'm skeptical that "win10 pro" actually exists. The last truly professional [non-server] OS Microsoft put out was 2k.

550 is not "training wheels", it's stock settings. I verify they work at stock, and then I sell them to you and you run them until they catch on fire but it's not my fault because I know they worked at stock.

Linux makes better use of a pc’s resources .

It runs a pc a lot quicker then windows or Mac OS .

But for some they don’t get to work it enough to learn it.

If you are like me you forget the newer stuff cause all the old pre pc mainframe info is still taking up storage in your head Grin

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
WilcoWi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66
Merit: 40


View Profile
May 24, 2019, 07:00:49 PM
Last edit: May 25, 2019, 09:58:35 AM by frodocooper
 #719

I use both, i don't mind if to use windows or linux. Like em both.
evade_57
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 74
Merit: 8


View Profile
May 24, 2019, 11:17:02 PM
Last edit: May 25, 2019, 09:59:06 AM by frodocooper
 #720

@sidehack

The Raspberry Pi 4 will be coming out with four USB 3 ports. Safe to say this may be a problem? A review of the prototype can be found on Youtube.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!