Bitcoin Forum
October 17, 2019, 12:12:29 PM *
News: If you like a topic and you see an orange "bump" link, click it. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 [43] 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience NewPac / Terminus R606 (BM1387) Official Support Thread  (Read 36770 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (1 post by 1 user deleted.)
olseh
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 128
Merit: 9


View Profile
June 21, 2019, 07:39:09 AM
 #841

@Sidehack: What is status of R606 and delevering outside the states?

International shipping is open

Former username "heslo"
1571314349
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571314349

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571314349
Reply with quote  #2

1571314349
Report to moderator
1571314349
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571314349

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571314349
Reply with quote  #2

1571314349
Report to moderator
1571314349
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571314349

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571314349
Reply with quote  #2

1571314349
Report to moderator
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
419mining
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 63

https://www.419mining.com


View Profile WWW
June 21, 2019, 12:26:59 PM
Last edit: June 22, 2019, 11:37:59 AM by frodocooper
 #842

@Sidehack: What is status of R606 and delevering outside the states?

Not to step on Sidehack's toes, but most of the resellers listed on the first post offer international

MinerSupply on Amazon.com (forum user Rockmoney)
MineFarmBuy.com (forum user minefarmbuy)
419Mining.com (forum user 419mining)

Limited direct sales are also available; contact kalahn@gekkoscience.com for information.

419Mining, LLS (us)  is also on eBay -  https://www.ebay.com/str/419mining

*** Checkout the latest in GekkoScience Tech  - Order NOW: use 'Gekkoship' coupon for free US shipping***
Gems41
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 21, 2019, 01:52:09 PM
Last edit: June 22, 2019, 11:37:00 AM by frodocooper
 #843

Hi there,

Does anybody know how to overclock the Newpac and 2pac miners on cgminer, via Raspien (Raspberry Pi)?

I'm currently running 1 - Newpac and 2 - 2Pac's on an Orico USB hub - via a Raspberry Pi 3 B+ (Raspien latest version) on CGminer (latest version), however I just can't seem to overclock them.  Embarrassed

- I have tried using these commands in terminal with my details before running cgminer --gekko-newpac-freq 200 --gekko-2pac-freq 150, however they just mine at their standard rate of 100mHz.  Huh

Besides this issue my setup and mining session is running perfectly on CGminer, no problems at all.

Am I missing a step somewhere?

Can anyone help me out?

Thanks,
Gems41
minefarmbuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 145


We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
June 21, 2019, 03:23:39 PM
 #844

Those are default settings I believe. Never used anything but win, is it not as simple as changing the numbers in your file or "details"?

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2772
Merit: 1022


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 21, 2019, 10:02:02 PM
 #845

- I have tried using these commands in terminal with my details before running cgminer --gekko-newpac-freq 200 --gekko-2pac-freq 150, however they just mine at their standard rate of 100mHz.  Huh

I don't have any of these sticks so I don't have any first hand experience with them.

However, does CGMiner attempt to try the higher frequency and then adjust down?  Or does it not even try the speed you specify?

Also which build of CGMiner do you have?

Have you tried the different type of sticks by themselves to isolate the issue?

Have you tried them without the USB Hub?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
419mining
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 63

https://www.419mining.com


View Profile WWW
June 21, 2019, 10:40:49 PM
Last edit: June 22, 2019, 11:37:26 AM by frodocooper
 #846

Gems, can you send a screen shot? in cgminer you should see something to the effect of "0: GSI 1003XXXX: BM1387:2+ 100/100/100 . This will show what speed cgminer is telling your newpacs to run at.
the 100's stand for Current speed (100MHz) / target speed (100MHz) / peak effective speed (100MHz)

you may need to enable wide screen print, in CGMiner, press D for display settings, the I for wide screen. then space to return to the print out.

*** Checkout the latest in GekkoScience Tech  - Order NOW: use 'Gekkoship' coupon for free US shipping***
shrimplomein
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 1


View Profile
June 22, 2019, 11:22:41 AM
Last edit: June 22, 2019, 11:37:40 AM by frodocooper
 #847

Noob question: If I have 3 x R606 miners, do I need to run 3 instances of cgminer? Or is there a way to run just one instance of cgminer and control all 3 miners?
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 524


View Profile
June 22, 2019, 11:41:13 AM
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #848

Noob question: If I have 3 x R606 miners, do I need to run 3 instances of cgminer? Or is there a way to run just one instance of cgminer and control all 3 miners?

If they are all linked to the same pc then a single instance of cgminer will pick them all up. However it will try to run them all at the frequency you set it to, which can be problematic if you have a unit thats not as fast as the others. But a single instance for each one means you can tweak them individually to get the best performance from each.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
ZimbaCardi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 116
Merit: 31


View Profile
June 22, 2019, 02:10:43 PM
 #849

I thought there was a way to set each one by it's serial number but can't find the post, something like "gekko-newpac-s 10040024-freq 150" or similar.
shrimplomein
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 1


View Profile
June 22, 2019, 02:12:01 PM
Last edit: June 23, 2019, 10:37:56 AM by frodocooper
Merited by vapourminer (1)
 #850

If they are all linked to the same pc then a single instance of cgminer will pick them all up. However it will try to run them all at the frequency you set it to, which can be problematic if you have a unit thats not as fast as the others. But a single instance for each one means you can tweak them individually to get the best performance from each.

cool thanks gt_addict.  I found this interesting post as well, where morlok8k talks about using the serial numbers as a means to configure different frequencies (I think): https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5053833.360

Zimbacard, just saw your post mentioning the same!
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 524


View Profile
June 22, 2019, 02:58:49 PM
 #851

Yea that is possible but i never managed to get it to work. Im not exactly what you call computer literate but I can hold my own....just.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
419mining
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 63

https://www.419mining.com


View Profile WWW
June 22, 2019, 03:05:29 PM
 #852

I thought there was a way to set each one by it's serial number but can't find the post, something like "gekko-newpac-s 10040024-freq 150" or similar.

shrimplomein pointed it out as well but what your referring to discussed in great detail by Morlok8k here at this specific post.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5053833.msg50023699#msg50023699

*** Checkout the latest in GekkoScience Tech  - Order NOW: use 'Gekkoship' coupon for free US shipping***
Gems41
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 23, 2019, 11:58:29 AM
Last edit: June 26, 2019, 04:07:03 AM by frodocooper
 #853

Gems, can you send a screen shot? in cgminer you should see something to the effect of "0: GSI 1003XXXX: BM1387:2+ 100/100/100 . This will show what speed cgminer is telling your newpacs to run at.
the 100's stand for Current speed (100MHz) / target speed (100MHz) / peak effective speed (100MHz)

you may need to enable wide screen print, in CGMiner, press D for display settings, the I for wide screen. then space to return to the print out.

Hey 419mining,

I enabled the wide screen print, and this is what my session looks like:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1qxuX_wDs0cTBQJnFJit3MYKTQK-nKe7d/view?usp=sharing

Cheers,
Gems

Those are default settings I believe. Never used anything but win, is it not as simple as changing the numbers in your file or "details"?

Yes! I thought of that but I'm not sure how to do this on the Pi, as there is no BAT file to edit.

Don't know if anyone can help with that?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2772
Merit: 1022


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 23, 2019, 12:37:32 PM
Last edit: June 26, 2019, 04:07:30 AM by frodocooper
 #854

Here is a link to step by step Pi setup instructions

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5053833.msg50968875#msg50968875

Also check the top post for Pi instructions as well.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
419mining
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 63

https://www.419mining.com


View Profile WWW
June 23, 2019, 02:41:21 PM
Last edit: June 26, 2019, 04:08:16 AM by frodocooper
 #855

Here is a link to step by step Pi setup instructions

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5053833.msg50968875#msg50968875

Also check the top post for Pi instructions as well

Gems, I would follow these instructions and start over, I don't believe you are running the latest version of cgminer, that would help immensely.

*** Checkout the latest in GekkoScience Tech  - Order NOW: use 'Gekkoship' coupon for free US shipping***
Gems41
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 23, 2019, 05:08:03 PM
Last edit: June 26, 2019, 04:08:01 AM by frodocooper
 #856

Yes, got it working  Grin It seems the key step I was missing was setting up the .sh file. So I followed the instructions posted by mstrozier and my gekko's are all overclocked now and seem to be working well.

Thanks so much for your help os2sam and 419mining.
Gage-Miner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 23, 2019, 06:58:19 PM
 #857

I need help.

I dont know what I am doing.

Here us what I have:

1 X R606
4 X NewPac
1 X Raspberry Pi
1 X 7 port hub (Gekko Science)
1 X DPS-1200FB-1A Power Supply; 1 × Bundle PCIe Power Cable – 24″ (6 pack) – 8Pin

I had it working at 1 point before i added the r606.

I ended up wiping and now have fresh install of raspian.

Followed steps on page 1

How do you create a start file that fires everything up.

The file that has stratum, password, freq and all that stuff.

So lost and looking for help.

Thanks to any one

Also huge props to 419mining for super fast shipping and service.

Thank again in advance

-Josh
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2772
Merit: 1022


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 23, 2019, 07:19:50 PM
Last edit: June 26, 2019, 04:09:23 AM by frodocooper
 #858

Yes, got it working  Grin It seems the key step I was missing was setting up the .sh file. So I followed the instructions posted by mstrozier and my gekko's are all overclocked now and seem to be working well.

Thanks so much for your help os2sam and 419mining.

And thanks to mstrozier for the step by step instructions for us Linux newbies. Smiley

How do you create a start file that fires everything up.

The file that has stratum, password, freq and all that stuff.

Here's the link to the instructions that helped me get going.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5053833.msg50968875#msg50968875

You may need to run the different types of devices in separate sessions of CGMiner.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
hersh9
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 23, 2019, 08:40:55 PM
Last edit: June 23, 2019, 09:08:46 PM by hersh9
 #859

HELP, I've maxed out my monthly data!

I must be doing something wrong. I've used 800 GB data in 4 days running one R606. (I've averaged 750 gh/s on different pools, running windows 7 control with most services turned off, and I'm using Xfinity internet 1G speed in USA)

I love the R606 so much I ordered a second unit; however, i've got to get this figured out. I get 1024GB monthly usage on my internet.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212
Merit: 1489

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
June 23, 2019, 09:05:55 PM
 #860

Seems really unlikely. I've run 100KW of miners on under 500kbit bandwidth, which would take five months to download 800GB. The connection is shared with test stations that run up to 15x R606 for 24 hours at a time - maxing out that shared 3Mbit connection would take two weeks of 100% bidirectional use to move 800GB.

There's probably something you're missing, like a few orders of magnitude or someone stealing your wifi.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 [43] 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!