Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2019, 02:13:00 PM *
News: 10th anniversary art contest
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience NewPac / Terminus R606 (BM1387) Official Support Thread  (Read 37361 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (1 post by 1 user deleted.)
shrimplomein
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 1


View Profile
June 01, 2019, 12:16:47 AM
 #801

Thanks for the tip. I'm running with the gekko-lowboost switch now and I do believe it's running more efficiently, and it has not plateaued after an hour of running, whereas previously it would auto-retarget a lower frequency by this point.  I'll re-run several tests with this setting and see where it goes.
1571839980
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571839980

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571839980
Reply with quote  #2

1571839980
Report to moderator
1571839980
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571839980

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571839980
Reply with quote  #2

1571839980
Report to moderator
1571839980
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571839980

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571839980
Reply with quote  #2

1571839980
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1571839980
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571839980

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571839980
Reply with quote  #2

1571839980
Report to moderator
1571839980
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571839980

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571839980
Reply with quote  #2

1571839980
Report to moderator
mstrozier
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88
Merit: 132


View Profile
June 03, 2019, 08:50:11 PM
Last edit: June 09, 2019, 02:04:39 PM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (3)
 #802

Well today my fans arrived and now have them installed on the back of the R606 Smiley  Extremely quiet and has about the same air flow as the Artic fans that come with the kit.    These are the fans if anyone is interested.  https://www.amazon.com/AC-Infinity-MULTIFAN-Receiver-Playstation/dp/B00IJ2J2K0

And below are the pictures after I've installed them.

Pic 1: https://ibb.co/QnXfmdN

Pic 2: https://ibb.co/ZJnVZm5

Pic 3: https://ibb.co/rswG4yf

They are USB powered.  The come prewired with 2 USB cables, one to connect to a power source which I have connected to one of the R606's and the 2nd USB connector is for daisy chaining additional fans (provided power needs are met).  They have a speed controller with typical Off, Low, Med and High.   I left them running on High settings and extremely quiet. Can't even hear them.

All in all, nice little setup and should keep them pretty cool while overclocked.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2632
Merit: 1937



View Profile
June 03, 2019, 09:06:14 PM
Last edit: June 09, 2019, 02:05:09 PM by frodocooper
 #803

yeah my 2 fan setup does very well at freq 767.5 and volt 7 setting.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Sh4d0wC457
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 04, 2019, 06:15:29 AM
 #804

Hello,
today a newpac arrived and I want to adjust the core voltage.
But I only can find measure points for 2pac devices?
One image in this point is very small I found where I can measure core voltage on newpac but the big image is not opening. Is there a bigger one?
Greets
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 524


View Profile
June 04, 2019, 08:31:23 AM
 #805

Hello,
today a newpac arrived and I want to adjust the core voltage.
But I only can find measure points for 2pac devices?
One image in this point is very small I found where I can measure core voltage on newpac but the big image is not opening. Is there a bigger one?
Greets

You shouldnt need to adjust the core voltage on the newpac. All 6 of mine run stock voltage at 600m getting 134ghs each. You can measure the core voltage and the details are within the last couple of pages.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
minefarmbuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 145


We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2019, 02:34:24 PM
 #806

Yea, I've never adjusted vcore on a newpac either.

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
mstrozier
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88
Merit: 132


View Profile
June 04, 2019, 02:44:43 PM
Last edit: June 09, 2019, 02:05:51 PM by frodocooper
 #807

Like the others have stated I haven't had to change my core voltage on the newpacs either.  Any reason why you are looking or needing to change the core voltage?  I run mine at 400Mhz which pulls a steady 90.7Gh/s.  With enough cooling you can go higher as others have.

And thinking of cooling  @philipma1957  these fans after running for 24 hours made a nice difference on my R606's.  I had one unit that no matter the voltage it kept plateau on anything over 681MHz.  Now that I have installed the fans both units, they are running at 725Mhz averaging 982.9Gh/s each with no ASIC resets on volt setting 6.  Smiley
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212
Merit: 1490

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
June 04, 2019, 02:46:08 PM
 #808

If you're going to run them at low speed (100-300MHz) you can probably even turn it down. Poking between ground (say, the USB jack) and the two exposed pads just above center will get you the voltage across 1 chip, and across both chips. If you're just tuning, set your speed and then adjust up if it's unstable (low hashrate, high errors) or adjust down until it stops being stable then turn it back up a little bit. You can do a lot just by watching the numbers in cgminer. VH's auto-tuning routines make this even easier by testing for stability for you.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
mobomofo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 87
Merit: 4


View Profile
June 04, 2019, 08:08:48 PM
 #809

On my R606 - the three red voltage lights are blinking on/off every second. How do I set the voltage to lock them in - ie to remain lit?
gcanelson
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 105
Merit: 44


View Profile
June 05, 2019, 02:56:31 AM
Last edit: June 09, 2019, 02:07:10 PM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #810

I took the `pause' out of the cgminer statement(s) so they'd loop if necessary, and I have restarted the two instances that have been dropping out. Everything looks normal so far, I'll report back on this, say Monday or Tuesday.

So... naturally both cgminer instances have been chugging away - and both show the start date as last Friday - no looping required... Maybe we scared them!

At any rate, I'll keep an eye on these two rascals.

The block, an obstacle in the path of the weak, became a stepping-stone in the path of the strong.
419mining
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 155
Merit: 63

https://www.419mining.com


View Profile WWW
June 05, 2019, 07:57:45 PM
Last edit: June 09, 2019, 02:07:25 PM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #811

On my R606 - the three red voltage lights are blinking on/off every second. How do I set the voltage to lock them in - ie to remain lit?

This has to do with the temperature sensor, its a warning saying there is a problem. you should still be able to set your voltage though. Talked to the seller you purchased your R606 from, they should be able to assist you further.

*** Checkout the latest in GekkoScience Tech  - Order NOW: use 'Gekkoship' coupon for free US shipping***
mobomofo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 87
Merit: 4


View Profile
June 06, 2019, 03:05:10 AM
Last edit: June 09, 2019, 02:07:57 PM by frodocooper
 #812

This has to do with the temperature sensor, its a warning saying there is a problem. you should still be able to set your voltage though. Talked to the seller you purchased your R606 from, they should be able to assist you further.

Thank you 419mining!
kingofhammers
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 7


View Profile
June 07, 2019, 12:19:13 AM
Last edit: June 09, 2019, 02:08:54 PM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (3)
 #813

So after a while of running these little machines I have an update.

I'm running on a Pi and getting exactly what was advertised, here's a cgminer screenshot: https://imgur.com/qnqb71q.

I'm on power setting 4 and am pulling roughly 78W per unit so ~1TH/s at 100W, which is pretty damn good for how quiet these things are.

I did end up changing my power supply a few weeks ago to a SeaSonic SSR-650FX which handles the load easily. Also much quieter than the bitmain AWM7 or whatever that turbo induction power supply was.

I'm not sure if I'm on the most current version of VH's cgminer, everything is running pretty well so I see no need to change it.

It looks like if I were to upgrade my cpu and run an actual computer as the controller I'd be able to squeeze a bit more hash power from these units without incurring a significant power draw. But I haven't gotten around to wiping windows off an older HP machine and doing an Ubuntu build, I might never get around to it, who knows.
DieselWeaseI
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 15


View Profile
June 07, 2019, 02:16:53 AM
Last edit: June 09, 2019, 02:10:13 PM by frodocooper
 #814

yup...you're topping off right where I was at when I was on the pi. I'm loving my Odroid N2 setup being able to turn it up all the way if I want. I've settled at 700MHz for my R606 and have my early Father's Day gift (Newpac) running at 500MHz.

The N2 is a bit overkill cost-wise for a basic miner controller, but I'm also going to try running some staking wallets on it as well as my cgminer for the Gekko stuff and bfgminer for the Futurebit stuff.
Searing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240
Merit: 1201


CryptoTalk.Org - Get Paid for every Post!


View Profile
June 09, 2019, 02:29:30 AM
Last edit: June 09, 2019, 02:11:03 PM by frodocooper
 #815

I am simply going to get mine up on a laptop.

Anyone here using Lunbuntu? (Light Unbuntu) I assume that will work fine?

I have a mess of old Compaq Evo N800v 'evil' 1gb ram laptops. Older than dirt. Completely unsuitable for anything above Win XP, nor are they suitable it seems for regular Unbutu 14.01 or above.  They were used to monitor the KNC Scrypt Miners in my Basement (free heat) over the years. Thus, will try those bricks first. I assume...being near the 'evil' KNC Titans in my basement (which the 'evil' KNC Titans would try to brick themselves on any 'eye contact' or 'sense of fear' on your part in daring to go into the basement...or whatever...yeah..they were that evil).

I figured I'd better ask if Lunbuntu is even possible to run this stuff before I fire them up and try. Truthfully, Lunbuntu is the ONLY version I've found that worked. Indeed, this could be all moot with the newest version of Lunbuntu.

Thanks

Brad

 
                                . ██████████.
                              .████████████████.
                           .██████████████████████.
                        -█████████████████████████████
                     .██████████████████████████████████.
                  -█████████████████████████████████████████
               -███████████████████████████████████████████████
           .-█████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
        .████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
       .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       ..████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████..
       .   .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       .      .████████████████████████████████████████████████.

       .       .██████████████████████████████████████████████
       .    ██████████████████████████████████████████████████████
       .█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
        .███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
           .█████████████████████████████████████████████████████
              .████████████████████████████████████████████████
                   ████████████████████████████████████████
                      ██████████████████████████████████
                          ██████████████████████████
                             ████████████████████
                               ████████████████
                                   █████████
.CryptoTalk.org.|.MAKE POSTS AND EARN BTC!.🏆
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2940
Merit: 1197


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 10, 2019, 02:35:07 AM
 #816

Xubuntu is pretty light also - it's just ubuntu with xfce4 instead of that other bloated trash Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Searing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240
Merit: 1201


CryptoTalk.Org - Get Paid for every Post!


View Profile
June 10, 2019, 06:01:02 PM
Last edit: June 12, 2019, 11:39:05 AM by frodocooper
 #817

Xubuntu is pretty light also - it's just ubuntu with xfce4 instead of that other bloated trash Smiley

Well...Lunbuntu does not work, I guess that is the next step to use Xunbuntu. Good to have options.

I could use a 'real' laptop, but not unless I have to. As to the Pi option, that may be beyond my skill set.

I am from the KNC Titan ASIC 'plug and play' days. As soon as you say cgminer and start tossing around

cgminer instructions, I get very nervous. I'm so lame I sold my old gekko USB sticks because I could never figure out how to get them up (this was with help).

Indeed I am that clueless. The GekkoMiner r606 has been sitting here a couple of weeks

I suppose I SHOULD finally toss it up or make a valiant attempt.

But then again, being clueless does have it's downsides.

This will be a 'crowning achievement' if I pull it off.

edit: (Then we can move on to the Bitcoin Hub that I did get up a year or so ago, and it is now down, the Bitmain USB hub for LTC, which 'seems' to be still working. But not the Bitmain USB hub for LTC, that I can't seem to get to work in any manner. So it goes, my goals are high, my skills are few. Sad

 
                                . ██████████.
                              .████████████████.
                           .██████████████████████.
                        -█████████████████████████████
                     .██████████████████████████████████.
                  -█████████████████████████████████████████
               -███████████████████████████████████████████████
           .-█████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
        .████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
       .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       ..████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████..
       .   .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       .      .████████████████████████████████████████████████.

       .       .██████████████████████████████████████████████
       .    ██████████████████████████████████████████████████████
       .█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
        .███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
           .█████████████████████████████████████████████████████
              .████████████████████████████████████████████████
                   ████████████████████████████████████████
                      ██████████████████████████████████
                          ██████████████████████████
                             ████████████████████
                               ████████████████
                                   █████████
.CryptoTalk.org.|.MAKE POSTS AND EARN BTC!.🏆
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2772
Merit: 1022


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 11, 2019, 09:44:38 AM
 #818

As to the Pi option, that may be beyond my skill set.

I'm not quite sure if your asking for help/suggestions or not??

Here's a link to mstroziers instructions on setting up a Pi.  They helped me and made me a little more comfortable in using Linux in general.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5053833.msg50968875#msg50968875

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Searing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240
Merit: 1201


CryptoTalk.Org - Get Paid for every Post!


View Profile
June 11, 2019, 08:08:08 PM
Last edit: June 12, 2019, 11:39:45 AM by frodocooper
 #819

I'm not quite sure if your asking for help/suggestions or not??

Here's a link to mstroziers instructions on setting up a Pi.  They helped me and made me a little more comfortable in using Linux in general.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5053833.msg50968875#msg50968875

I'm kinda talking tongue in cheek..however, I really did never get a USB stick to work..or any much-using ubuntu to get something up...so with many hours of past failures...I think the old Compaq Evo N800v (1gb ram) ...never to see beyond windows xp (too lame) running Lunbuntu is my best bet. I have a mess of these.

I have to walk before I can run. Never having ANY luck with any miner what was not, not plug and play has 'scar'd' me indeed Sad

An ASIC baby indeed.

 
                                . ██████████.
                              .████████████████.
                           .██████████████████████.
                        -█████████████████████████████
                     .██████████████████████████████████.
                  -█████████████████████████████████████████
               -███████████████████████████████████████████████
           .-█████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
        .████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
       .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       ..████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████..
       .   .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       .      .████████████████████████████████████████████████.

       .       .██████████████████████████████████████████████
       .    ██████████████████████████████████████████████████████
       .█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
        .███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
           .█████████████████████████████████████████████████████
              .████████████████████████████████████████████████
                   ████████████████████████████████████████
                      ██████████████████████████████████
                          ██████████████████████████
                             ████████████████████
                               ████████████████
                                   █████████
.CryptoTalk.org.|.MAKE POSTS AND EARN BTC!.🏆
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 524


View Profile
June 11, 2019, 09:14:51 PM
Last edit: June 12, 2019, 11:40:04 AM by frodocooper
 #820

I was in the same boat until a year or so ago when sidehack brought out the compacs. I set up my own raspi mini rig with three of them running. Total noob with raspi and its associated programming "stuff" but I managed it with the help of members here. Once it was setup it was just having fun tweaking it and getting it to run stable. Nowadays with sidehacks gear and vh's cgminer its a doddle. The help on here is fantastic and is my first port of call for anything mining and most computer based questions aswell.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!