Bitcoin Forum
October 19, 2019, 08:13:45 AM *
News: 10th anniversary art contest
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience NewPac / Terminus R606 (BM1387) Official Support Thread  (Read 36927 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (1 post by 1 user deleted.)
minefarmbuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 145


We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
May 14, 2019, 05:40:34 PM
 #621

WinX is finicky. I get asic boost to work well on my desktop and surface but not laptop. I think I've voltage setting 5 averaging over 800gh/s poolside at ckpool. With a couple of zero hashing instances. Then I've been getting local IP disconnects through the middle of the night. So I'd say average is closer to 900gh/s. Smiles do ensue when I look at the blinky lights.

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1571472825
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571472825

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571472825
Reply with quote  #2

1571472825
Report to moderator
1571472825
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571472825

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571472825
Reply with quote  #2

1571472825
Report to moderator
1571472825
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571472825

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571472825
Reply with quote  #2

1571472825
Report to moderator
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2772
Merit: 1022


Think for yourself


View Profile
May 14, 2019, 10:13:21 PM
Last edit: May 15, 2019, 12:59:05 AM by frodocooper
 #622

New build (a62385f)...

OK, whats different about this build that Security Essentials is flagging it as a trojan and not the previous versions?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 701
Merit: 657


View Profile
May 14, 2019, 10:32:34 PM
 #623

Highly surprised any previous version didn't flag AV.

The safest path is to review the code and use the cross compile instruction in the first/second post.

The version I dropped into the 7z (a62385f) has this signature.

Code:
# sha1sum cgminer.exe
a4c65616886dff429dd01b4caac582cea32ab43b  cgminer.exe

Code:
C:\AVExcludedPath\cgminer-4.11.1-windows-gekko>certutil -hashfile cgminer.exe
SHA1 hash of cgminer.exe:
a4c65616886dff429dd01b4caac582cea32ab43b

os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2772
Merit: 1022


Think for yourself


View Profile
May 14, 2019, 10:40:51 PM
Last edit: May 15, 2019, 01:07:21 AM by os2sam
 #624

It's been quite a while since cgminer has been flagged for me.  Of course it has been 3 or so years since I've used any version of CGMiner too.

I'm assuming that this version has some instrumentation code that may not be normal?

The hash checks out, as long as my dyslexia hasn't flared up Smiley

Thanks,
Sam



Wow, this new version just went straight to 700Mzh with no issues on voltage level 5.  The other versions would only go to 575Mhz on level 5.

Edit: It did finally re-target to 631.25Mhz.  But that is better than the 575Mhz my R606 got previously.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
dnprock
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 100
Merit: 5


View Profile WWW
May 14, 2019, 10:58:18 PM
 #625

I'm running a NewPac miner on a mac with cgminer. It creates a few blocks. Then it starts to give me: GSH 0 failure, disabling!... "failed to initialise" error. I'm running with a low frequency (--gekko-newpac-freq 50). I'm using vhoang/cgminer brew build. The command I use:

cgminer -o http://127.0.0.1:8332 -u user -p pw --btc-address ... --gekko-newpac-freq 50

Any pointer?

I'm updating on my failed-to-initialised issue. After a reboot of my mac, the problem goes away. It seems like there's an issue with driver initialization. But my current work around is to reboot my mac.
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 701
Merit: 657


View Profile
May 14, 2019, 11:11:13 PM
 #626

There's a hint in the first post's Q&A section that might work for you.

cliftonk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 6


View Profile
May 15, 2019, 12:23:26 AM
 #627

Is there a guide to what the various light states mean on the NewPac USB miners?   I am trying to determine if a blinking white and solid green is the normal state? 
Currently my new single NewPac at 100 Mhz is running at 22.61Gh/s at pool.ckpool.org
A R606 is on the way.
Thanks!
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212
Merit: 1490

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
May 15, 2019, 12:51:23 AM
 #628

Solid green means it's getting power. Blinking white means it's hashing. All of my miners work that way - solid color for general power, flash of white while mining (and blink rate generally proportional to hashing speed).

On the R606, the power light is orange and the white blinks are timed more like 2Pacs.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
WilcoWi
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 23


View Profile
May 15, 2019, 02:25:35 AM
Last edit: May 15, 2019, 05:13:44 AM by frodocooper
 #629

OK, whats different about this build that Security Essentials is flagging it as a trojan and not the previous versions?

@my pc all previous versions are flagged too.

Looking for asicboost pool/multipool, any tips?

@Kano: is your pool asic boost and are 4 newpac's @ high freq good enough for difficulty?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2940
Merit: 1194


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 15, 2019, 02:33:02 AM
Last edit: May 15, 2019, 02:08:46 PM by kano
 #630

New build (a62385f)...

OK, whats different about this build that Security Essentials is flagging it as a trojan and not the previous versions?

@my pc all previous versions are flagged too...

It has nothing to do with the code - it's to do with random flagging decisions by the so called 'virus checkers' on Winblows.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 701
Merit: 657


View Profile
May 15, 2019, 02:57:56 AM
Last edit: May 15, 2019, 05:14:21 AM by frodocooper
 #631

Wow, this new version just went straight to 700Mzh with no issues on voltage level 5.  The other versions would only go to 575Mhz on level 5.

Edit: It did finally re-target to 631.25Mhz.  But that is better than the 575Mhz my R606 got previously.

It will eventually settle near P: (Peak)

But it shouldn't have reached 700MHz, looks like I have another round of adjusting to do (note to self).

WilcoWi
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 23


View Profile
May 15, 2019, 03:31:03 AM
Last edit: May 15, 2019, 05:15:04 AM by frodocooper
 #632

is it normal with asic boost and newpac's, the freq goes down @first? With no asic boost i only see it going up. tried ckpool and now kano pool, but see same behaviour with asic boost.

Code:
0: GSH 10030648: BM1387:02+ 188/188/142 (179:100) [oo] | 57.3% WU:^54% | 28.93G / 22.92Gh/s WU:320.2/m A:442 R:0 HW:0
 1: GSH 10030962: BM1387:02+ 188/188/120 (188:100) [oo] | 54.7% WU:^46% | 34.90G / 19.74Gh/s WU:275.8/m A: 0 R:0 HW:0
 2: GSH 10031032: BM1387:02+ 181/181/ 93 (189:104) [oo] | 58.8% WU:^45% | 40.12G / 18.42Gh/s WU:257.8/m A: 0 R:0 HW:0
 3: GSH 10031051: BM1387:02+ 200/600/200 (174:94) [oo]  | 75.4% WU:^71% | 40.22G / 32.47Gh/s WU:454.1/m A: 0 R:0 HW:0
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [2019-05-15 05:30:17.299] 2: GSH 2 - asic plateau: (3/3) 193.75MHz
 [2019-05-15 05:30:17.299] 2: GSH 2 - plateau adjust: target frequency 600.00MHz -> 187.50MHz
 [2019-05-15 05:30:17.640] 2: GSH 2 - NewPac Bitcoin Miner (10031032)
 [2019-05-15 05:30:32.500] 3: GSH 3 - asic plateau: (2/3) 218.75MHz
 [2019-05-15 05:30:32.707] 2: GSH 2 - plateau adjust: target frequency 187.50MHz -> 181.25MHz
 [2019-05-15 05:30:32.817] 3: GSH 3 - NewPac Bitcoin Miner (10031051)
 [2019-05-15 05:30:33.016] 2: GSH 2 - NewPac Bitcoin Miner (10031032)
 [2019-05-15 05:30:34.717] 1: GSH 1 - asic plateau: (3/3) 193.75MHz
 [2019-05-15 05:30:34.717] 1: GSH 1 - plateau adjust: target frequency 600.00MHz -> 187.50MHz
 [2019-05-15 05:30:35.031] 1: GSH 1 - NewPac Bitcoin Miner (10030962)
 [2019-05-15 05:30:40.060] 0: GSH 0 - asic plateau: (3/3) 193.75MHz
 [2019-05-15 05:30:40.060] 0: GSH 0 - plateau adjust: target frequency 600.00MHz -> 187.50MHz
 [2019-05-15 05:30:40.359] 0: GSH 0 - NewPac Bitcoin Miner (10030648)
mstrozier
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87
Merit: 131


View Profile
May 15, 2019, 03:42:57 AM
Last edit: May 15, 2019, 05:15:40 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #633

@WilcoWi   My understanding is that with autotune, it will detune your freq in order to reach 95% - 100% WU.   With the logic that 250Mhz hashing at 97% is better than 350MHz hashing at 65% if that makes sense.   I'm running 4 newpac's using the latest updates from vh and 3 of them are running on target of 400/400/400 and the other downtuned to 394/394/394.   All of which are running at 98% to 100%.

Unsure why your's at least isn't hitting 400.  As I assume you were hitting 600+ Mhz before?

**edit**

You can try and add --gekko-tune-down 90 to your script or .bat file and see if it makes a different.  That should set the tune % of then 90% or higher.  0 disables it if I understand it right.
WilcoWi
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 23


View Profile
May 15, 2019, 03:53:07 AM
Last edit: May 15, 2019, 05:16:18 AM by frodocooper
 #634

Yes understand how plateu is working etc., but don't understand why it is tuning down with asic boost enabled, and yes u assume right i am hitting 600+ with asic boost off. i also see sometimes a reset with asic boost enabled, saying found 0 chips, but with no asic boost, i never get this message. Also tried tune option, but no difference there.

Setup: 4 newpac, HP 1000W PS, win10, GS 7 port hub, very good usb cable.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212
Merit: 1490

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
May 15, 2019, 03:57:29 AM
 #635

The obvious solution is stop using Win10. That'll make literally everything better, not just mining.

Windows 10 sucks forever. Unless you've messed with the stick voltages (or there's no fan on them), there's no electrical reason they'd run that poorly. Every stick is tested to 200MHz on stock before it ships, and most of 'em will do upwards of 400MHz on stock voltage if they're kept cool. That's why I put a fan header on the hubs.

Please tell me you got a fan on 'em.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
WilcoWi
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 23


View Profile
May 15, 2019, 03:59:38 AM
Last edit: May 15, 2019, 05:17:13 AM by frodocooper
 #636

Yes, three fans, on two different Power suplies for backup. just want to be sure if one power supply fails they dont burn. Normally i run em on 600 Mhz (but that is with no asic boost enabled). @600 Mhz they stay cool.

Yes, adjusted @ two sticks the voltage, because they stayed behind (not asic boost enabled). Just very very minor changes (between 1-5 degrees). But see the 0 chips messages appearing on all sticks, even the ones that are not adjusted.

Below with no asic boost:

Code:
0: GSH 10030648: BM1387:02  600/600/488 (19:31) [oo] | 97.5% WU:^63% | 137.9G / 85.78Gh/s WU:1198.7/m A:10166 R:  0 HW:0
 1: GSH 10030962: BM1387:02  600/600/512 (19:31) [oo] | 99.2% WU:^70% | 138.5G / 95.68Gh/s WU:1337.1/m A:15028 R:  0 HW:0
 2: GSH 10031032: BM1387:02  463/600/325 (26:41) [oo] | 75.7% WU:^70% | 79.70G / 74.06Gh/s WU:1035.1/m A:12376 R:442 HW:0
 3: GSH 10031051: BM1387:02  600/600/481 (19:31) [oo] | 96.4% WU:^61% | 134.8G / 83.40Gh/s WU:1165.2/m A:16354 R:  0 HW:0

and with asic boost:

Code:
0: GSH 10030648: BM1387:02+ 188/188/142 (179:100) [oo] | 57.3% WU:^54% | 28.93G / 22.92Gh/s WU:320.2/m A:442 R:0 HW:0
 1: GSH 10030962: BM1387:02+ 188/188/120 (188:100) [oo] | 54.7% WU:^46% | 34.90G / 19.74Gh/s WU:275.8/m A: 0 R:0 HW:0
 2: GSH 10031032: BM1387:02+ 181/181/ 93 (189:104) [oo] | 58.8% WU:^45% | 40.12G / 18.42Gh/s WU:257.8/m A: 0 R:0 HW:0
 3: GSH 10031051: BM1387:02+ 200/600/200 (174:94) [oo]  | 75.4% WU:^71% | 40.22G / 32.47Gh/s WU:454.1/m A: 0 R:0 HW:0
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 701
Merit: 657


View Profile
May 15, 2019, 04:30:51 AM
Last edit: May 15, 2019, 05:18:08 AM by frodocooper
 #637

is it normal with asic boost and newpac's, the freq goes down @first? With no asic boost i only see it going up. tried ckpool and now kano pool, but see same behaviour with asic boost...

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5053833.msg51047754#msg51047754

hmm... just posted about it like a few hours ago.

There's a new option you might as well throw into your testing mix.

If it heads downward immediately from 200 with asicboost on try including --gekko-lowboost.

os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2772
Merit: 1022


Think for yourself


View Profile
May 15, 2019, 09:35:47 AM
Last edit: May 16, 2019, 12:10:47 AM by frodocooper
 #638

It will eventually settle near P: (Peak)

But it shouldn't have reached 700MHz, looks like I have another round of adjusting to do (note to self).

631.25 is where it settled overnight.  It would never reach the 750Ghs mark before and last night it was stable over 800Ghs for the first time.  I'll do a run tonight at power level 4 just to verify that it reaches the 750Ghs mark.  BTW I'm running Win7.  My RPi should be in today and I'll get that setup over the weekend, hopefully.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2940
Merit: 1194


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 15, 2019, 02:21:19 PM
 #639

...
@Kano: is your pool asic boost and are 4 newpac's @ high freq good enough for difficulty?
They can mine, and yes it's AB, but they'll probably gather dust which wont be paid out for quite a while ...
At the moment the dust limit is about 400-500GH but varies a lot since the pool hash rate varies a lot also.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
mstrozier
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87
Merit: 131


View Profile
May 15, 2019, 02:45:44 PM
Last edit: May 16, 2019, 12:11:31 AM by frodocooper
 #640

631.25 is where it settled overnight.  It would never reach the 750Ghs mark before and last night it was stable over 800Ghs for the first time.  I'll do a run tonight at power level 4 just to verify that it reaches the 750Ghs mark.  BTW I'm running Win7.  My RPi should be in today and I'll get that setup over the weekend, hopefully.

Hopefully you will have better luck than I did with the RPi.  I originally had my R606 running off a RPi 3 B+, and with Asci boost off, worked decent.  Could never get it to hit 500 - 550MHz. It would settle at 481Mhz.   With Asic boost enabled, still had issues.  No matter what volt setting I had the unit on, low 500s for Mhz is what it would settle at.

The only thing I could think of was the lower processing power of the Pi being my weak link.   I then moved my R606 over to a AMD FX-6300 powered Ubuntu box, and it's been working better than I expected.  Volt setting 5 settling at ~700 Mhz.  And put the newpac's and moonlander 2's over on the Pi.  So far been working great on both systems.

All this was before the recent updates to the software that vh has worked hard on.  So it may have different results now on the Pi then when I originally tested.  Good luck, looking forward to seeing the results Smiley
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!