Bitcoin Forum
October 15, 2019, 07:53:11 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience NewPac / Terminus R606 (BM1387) Official Support Thread  (Read 36622 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (1 post by 1 user deleted.)
dnprock
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 92
Merit: 5


View Profile WWW
April 30, 2019, 11:14:23 PM
 #521

I'm running a NewPac miner on a mac with cgminer. It creates a few blocks. Then it starts to give me: GSH 0 failure, disabling!... "failed to initialise" error. I'm running with a low frequency (--gekko-newpac-freq 50). I'm using vhoang/cgminer brew build. The command I use:

cgminer -o http://127.0.0.1:8332 -u user -p pw --btc-address ... --gekko-newpac-freq 50

Any pointer?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
notabeliever
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 504


View Profile WWW
May 01, 2019, 03:06:42 AM
Last edit: May 01, 2019, 09:04:57 AM by frodocooper
 #522

I would go by whats on the page 1. Try below to see if your miner works.

Windows

Code:
cgminer.exe -o stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333 -u 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr -p x --suggest-diff 128

See if it runs (replace the btc address with yours). If you want to solomine then solomine on ckpool however you are better off mining to a pool.

Pool url: pool.burstcoin.de:8080           
Reward Assignment address: BURST-GHTV-7ZP3-DY4B-FPBFA
WilcoWi
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 23


View Profile
May 01, 2019, 08:17:39 AM
Last edit: May 01, 2019, 09:05:16 AM by frodocooper
 #523

I'm running a NewPac miner on a mac with cgminer. It creates a few blocks. Then it starts to give me: GSH 0 failure, disabling!... "failed to initialise" error. I'm running with a low frequency (--gekko-newpac-freq 50). I'm using vhoang/cgminer brew build. The command I use:

cgminer -o http://127.0.0.1:8332 -u user -p pw --btc-address ... --gekko-newpac-freq 50

Any pointer?

Why using localhost (http://127.0.0.1)? are u having your own mining pool?
as far as i can see (if your not having your own pool), this will never work. Use a stratum URL like mentioned on the first page(s)
cgminer.exe -o stratum+tcp://[pool stratum address:port number] the rest is ok

or does the build u are using for MAC require you are pointing to localhost? Then there should be somewhere a routing that is pointing to stratum adress of pool u are using.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2940
Merit: 1194


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 01, 2019, 08:38:29 AM
Last edit: May 01, 2019, 09:05:47 AM by frodocooper
 #524

Why using localhost (http://127.0.0.1)? are u having your own mining pool?
as far as i can see (if your not having your own pool), this will never work. Use a stratum URL like mentioned on the first page(s)
cgminer.exe -o stratum+tcp://[pool stratum address:port number] the rest is ok

or does the build u are using for MAC require you are pointing to localhost? Then there should be somewhere a routing that is pointing to stratum adress of pool u are using.

It can work.

cgminer can mine to your local bitcoind as solo - that's what he is trying to do.

Of course solo mining to your own bitcoind is a pretty risky idea since you can lose blocks way more easily than mining to a well connected and properly setup pool.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
WilcoWi
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 23


View Profile
May 02, 2019, 03:53:13 AM
Last edit: May 03, 2019, 01:04:23 AM by frodocooper
 #525

It can work.

cgminer can mine to your local bitcoind as solo - that's what he is trying to do.

Of course solo mining to your own bitcoind is a pretty risky idea since you can lose blocks way more easily than mining to a well connected and properly setup pool.

ok, yes now i remember this option, i tried it back in 2013, but left that option very quickly due to instability and went to pool mining. forgot about this.



using the auto-tune version for a while now (since release). I notice that two of three miners are sometimes (1 or 2 times a day) are going back in freq and then autotuning again. the other miner is stable @ freq all the time, once autotuned it stays there. is this normal behaviour? our should i do something about it? (like using option somehow).

this is my config:

Code:
cgminer -o stratum+tcp://sha256.mining-dutch.nl:9996 -u [worker name] -p x --suggest-diff 128 --gekko-newpac-freq 650 --gekko-noboost --gekko-tune-down 95 --api-listen --api-allow W:x.x.x.x
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212
Merit: 1482

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
May 02, 2019, 04:06:26 AM
 #526

The auto-tune is designed to push the miner to the edge of stability for peak hashrate. It's not unexpected for the miner to hiccup every so often, which is why we built the ability to reset the string into the hardware and software. It's basically the "Zombie" condition we used to get on 2Pacs, but now cgminer automatically recovers. Which is pretty cool.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1933



View Profile
May 02, 2019, 04:11:49 AM
Last edit: May 03, 2019, 01:05:23 AM by frodocooper
 #527

using the auto-tune version for a while now (since release). I notice that two of three miners are sometimes (1 or 2 times a day) are going back in freq and then autotuning again. the other miner is stable @ freq all the time, once autotuned it stays there. is this normal behaviour? our should i do something about it? (like using option somehow).

this is my config:

Code:
cgminer -o stratum+tcp://sha256.mining-dutch.nl:9996 -u [worker name] -p x --suggest-diff 128 --gekko-newpac-freq 650 --gekko-noboost --gekko-tune-down 95 --api-listen --api-allow W:x.x.x.x

How do you power the three units?

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
dnprock
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 92
Merit: 5


View Profile WWW
May 02, 2019, 05:54:58 AM
Last edit: May 03, 2019, 01:05:42 AM by frodocooper
 #528

Why using localhost (http://127.0.0.1)? are u having your own mining pool?
as far as i can see (if your not having your own pool), this will never work. Use a stratum URL like mentioned on the first page(s)
cgminer.exe -o stratum+tcp://[pool stratum address:port number] the rest is ok

or does the build u are using for MAC require you are pointing to localhost? Then there should be somewhere a routing that is pointing to stratum adress of pool u are using.

I'm mining an altcoin. It doesn't have mining pool yet. So I setup for local solo mining. I just tried on Ubuntu and got the same error. Is altcoin mining not supported by Gekko NewPac stick?
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 524


View Profile
May 02, 2019, 06:06:49 AM
Last edit: May 03, 2019, 01:06:01 AM by frodocooper
 #529

I'm mining an altcoin. It doesn't have mining pool yet. So I setup for local solo mining. I just tried on Ubuntu and got the same error. Is altcoin mining not supported by Gekko NewPac stick?

Is the altcoin a SHA-256 algo?? If its not then you cant mine it with the gekkoscience products.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
dnprock
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 92
Merit: 5


View Profile WWW
May 02, 2019, 07:00:12 AM
 #530

Yes. It's a Bitcoin fork using SHA-256.
WilcoWi
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 23


View Profile
May 03, 2019, 03:06:14 AM
Last edit: May 03, 2019, 11:40:03 PM by WilcoWi
 #531

How do you power the three units?

Gekkoscience hub, 3 newpacs in it, 650W single rail 12V power supply, cooling above it.

edit 4th of may: Now a HP 1000w power supply, added 3 extra fans for cooling. so now on top and @ 3 side a fan for cooling (extra fan's are an test to see if any difference).
House Xylander
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 90
Merit: 5


View Profile
May 03, 2019, 03:20:28 AM
Last edit: May 03, 2019, 11:11:09 AM by frodocooper
 #532

I am still running the December version on my Ubuntu 18.04 LTS machine.

I am however trying the newer build posted 4/8/19 but i am having an issue that may be the 18.04 version or something else i'm doing wrong.

Following VH's post on page 21:

Code:
#rename the existing cgminer folder then...

git clone -b r606 https://github.com/vthoang/cgminer.git
cd cgminer

CFLAGS="-O2" ./autogen.sh --enable-gekko
make -j 2

I am getting the following error at the end of "make -j 2" line.

Code:
driver-gekko.c: In function ‘compac_statline’:
driver-gekko.c:1724:68: warning: format ‘%d’ expects argument of type ‘int’, but argument 8 has type ‘double’ [-Wformat=]
    sprintf(asic_statline, "BM1387:%02d%-1s %.2fMHz T:%.0f P:%.0f (%d/%d/%d/%.0fF)", info->chips, ab, info->frequency, info->frequency_requested, info->frequency_computed, info->scanhash_ms, info->task_ms, info->fullscan_ms, info->micro_temp);
                                                                   ~^                                                                                                       ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
                                                                   %f
driver-gekko.c:1724:71: warning: format ‘%d’ expects argument of type ‘int’, but argument 9 has type ‘double’ [-Wformat=]
    sprintf(asic_statline, "BM1387:%02d%-1s %.2fMHz T:%.0f P:%.0f (%d/%d/%d/%.0fF)", info->chips, ab, info->frequency, info->frequency_requested, info->frequency_computed, info->scanhash_ms, info->task_ms, info->fullscan_ms, info->micro_temp);
                                                                      ~^                                                                                                                       ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
                                                                      %f
driver-gekko.c:1724:74: warning: format ‘%d’ expects argument of type ‘int’, but argument 10 has type ‘double’ [-Wformat=]
    sprintf(asic_statline, "BM1387:%02d%-1s %.2fMHz T:%.0f P:%.0f (%d/%d/%d/%.0fF)", info->chips, ab, info->frequency, info->frequency_requested, info->frequency_computed, info->scanhash_ms, info->task_ms, info->fullscan_ms, info->micro_temp);
                                                                         ~^                                                                                                                                   ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
                                                                         %f
  CCLD     cgminer
/usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lz
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
Makefile:847: recipe for target 'cgminer' failed
make[2]: *** [cgminer] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory '/home/HX/git/vthoang/cgminer'
Makefile:1831: recipe for target 'all-recursive' failed
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/HX/git/vthoang/cgminer'
Makefile:751: recipe for target 'all' failed
make: *** [all] Error 2

I have even tried using the instruction on the first page and created a new directory for cgminer.
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 701
Merit: 657


View Profile
May 03, 2019, 03:39:00 AM
Last edit: May 03, 2019, 11:11:39 AM by frodocooper
 #533

I’ll fix that warning in the next commit. Looks like you may be missing the zlib headers/library  “-lz”.

Try:

Code:
sudo apt-get install zlib1g-dev

House Xylander
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 90
Merit: 5


View Profile
May 03, 2019, 03:55:00 AM
Last edit: May 03, 2019, 11:12:07 AM by frodocooper
 #534

Thank you VH, on top of it as always I see.

I take it from what I have read so far that I will no longer need to run the 4 hours restart with this new build.

Nicely done VH,

Tried running it with this:

Code:
/cgminer -o stratum+tcp://bch.viabtc.com:3333 -u Xylander.gekko1 -p x --suggest-diff 1280 --gekko-newpac-detect --gekko-newpac-freq 500

And after 15-20 seconds it would crash with this error:

Code:
 0: GSH 10031523: BM1387:02+ 200.00MHz T:500 P:139 (24/171/94)   |  72.9% WU:^7
  1: GSH 10030254: BM1387:02+ 200.00MHz T:500 P:155 (24/171/94)   |  80.8% WU:^7
  2: GSH 10031531: BM1387:02+ 206.25MHz T:500 P:190 (23/169/91)   |  93.2% WU:^9
  3: GSH 10030194: BM1387:02+ 206.25MHz T:500 P:186 (23/170/91)   |  92.8% WU:^9
  4: GSH 10031522: BM1387:02+ 200.00MHz T:500 P:56  (24/171/94)   |   6.4% WU:^
  5: GSH 10031521: BM1387:02+ 200.00MHz T:500 P:170 (24/171/94)   |  86.3% WU:^8
  6: GSH 10030160: BM1387:02+ 200.00MHz T:500 P:151 (24/172/94)   |  76.7% WU:^7
  7: GSH 10030253: BM1387:02+ 200.00MHz T:500 P:149 (24/171/94)   |  75.7% WU:^7
  8: GSH 10030032: BM1387:02+ 200.00MHz T:500 P:53  (24/172/94)   |   6.5% WU:^
  9: GSH 10030237: BM1387:02+ 200.00MHz T:500 P:82  (24/171/94)   |  10.0% WU:^1
 10: GSH 10030030: BM1387:02+ 200.00MHz T:500 P:161 (24/171/94)   |  83.6% WU:^8
 11: GSH 10030174: BM1387:02+ 200.00MHz T:500 P:42  (24/171/94)   |   4.8% WU:^
5% | 2.207G / 2.145Gh/s WU: 30.0/m----------------------------------------------
 [2019-05-02 23:20:12.454] Accepted 0b959214 Diff 5.66K/4096 GSH 6
 [2019-05-02 23:20:21.071] Accepted 16089615 Diff 2.97K/1280 GSH 10*** buffer overflow detected*** buffer overflow detected ***: ./cgminer ***: ./cgminer terminated
     terminated
               *** buffer overflow detected ***: ./cgminer terminated
                                                                     Aborted (core dumped)
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 701
Merit: 657


View Profile
May 03, 2019, 02:02:53 PM
Merited by suchmoon (4)
 #535

Try running it with just a few miners at a time to see if you get the same behavior.

screen 1:  append "--usb :2"
screen 2:  append "--usb :4"
screen 3:  append "--usb :6"

Code:
./cgminer -o stratum+tcp://bch.viabtc.com:3333 -u Xylander.gekko1 -p x --suggest-diff 1280 --gekko-newpac-detect --gekko-newpac-freq 500 --usb :2

That message is generally related to the software trying to put in more data than can fit into a predefined spot.   
I'll see if i can recreate it / track it down locally.

kingofhammers
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 7


View Profile
May 03, 2019, 07:22:39 PM
Last edit: May 03, 2019, 11:19:21 PM by frodocooper
 #536

One quick question about USB hubs for the R606.

Does the hub need to be powered?

Logically, I can't see why it would need to be but just wanted to make sure before I settle on my total hardware configuration.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1933



View Profile
May 03, 2019, 07:27:22 PM
Last edit: May 03, 2019, 11:19:38 PM by frodocooper
 #537

One quick question about USB hubs for the R606.

Does the hub need to be powered?

Logically, I can't see why it would need to be but just wanted to make sure before I settle on my total hardware configuration.

I can plug into a pc hub. And it works.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212
Merit: 1482

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
May 03, 2019, 08:05:10 PM
 #538

The USB chip uses the presence of 5V on the bus line to detect its state of plugged-in-ness, but that requires something like 35 micro-amps of juice. Approximately zero power draw on the USB bus.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
kingofhammers
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 7


View Profile
May 03, 2019, 08:27:38 PM
Last edit: May 03, 2019, 11:20:04 PM by frodocooper
 #539

Thank you @philipma1957 and @sidehack.

Now if I can get by this "C compiler cannot create executables" can't tell difference between O and 0 error I'll be in business.
mariusz33
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 04, 2019, 02:50:23 PM
Last edit: May 05, 2019, 11:48:24 PM by frodocooper
 #540

Hi guys,

Today I set up 4 usb sticks for mining, 3 GekkoScience NEWPAC BM1387 SHA256 Bitcoin USB Mining Stick and one GekkoScience 2PAC BM1384 USB Bitcoin SHA256 15GH Miner.

One from 3 bm1387 is not working, on stick lights, green and white led constantly.

Code:
cgminer version 4.11.1 - Started: [2019-05-04 16:45:09.699]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):48.76G (1m):43.13G (5m):32.66G (15m):16.17G (avg):43.97Gh/s
 A:8000  R:0  HW:0  WU:613.9/m
 Connected to btc.viabtc.com diff 32 with stratum as user mariusz
 Block: 631c5ccb...  Diff:6.7T  Started: [16:45:07.958]  Best share: 4.1K
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[U]SB management [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 0: GSD 10023277: BM1384:2 100.00MHz      | 13.28G / 10.41Gh/s WU:145.5/m
 1: GSH 10031448: BM1387:2 100.00MHz      | 14.74G / 15.15Gh/s WU:211.7/m
 2: GSH 10031447:                         |  0.000 /  0.000h/s WU:  0.0/m
 3: GSH 10031449: BM1387:2 100.00MHz      | 18.75G / 18.38Gh/s WU:256.7/m
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

[2019-05-04 16:53:33.664] GSH 1: Toggling ASIC nRST to reset
 [2019-05-04 16:53:34.052] Accepted 04602a3a Diff 59/32 GSH 2
 [2019-05-04 16:53:39.266] GSH 1: found 0 chip(s)
 [2019-05-04 16:53:39.267] GSH 1: Toggling ASIC nRST to reset
 [2019-05-04 16:53:43.239] Accepted 037139f8 Diff 74/32 GSH 2
 [2019-05-04 16:53:43.672] Accepted 06b59c4b Diff 38/32 GSH 0
 [2019-05-04 16:53:44.838] Accepted 05e3b6e1 Diff 43/32 GSD 0
 [2019-05-04 16:53:44.863] GSH 1: found 0 chip(s)
 [2019-05-04 16:53:44.865] GSH 1: Toggling ASIC nRST to reset
 [2019-05-04 16:53:50.463] GSH 1: found 0 chip(s)
 [2019-05-04 16:53:50.465] GSH 1: Toggling ASIC nRST to reset
 [2019-05-04 16:53:50.618] Accepted 44a1140a Diff 955/32 GSD 0
 [2019-05-04 16:53:52.697] Accepted 02d8b31a Diff 90/32 GSD 0
 [2019-05-04 16:53:52.697] Accepted 01bbdd6a Diff 148/32 GSH 0
 [2019-05-04 16:53:53.676] Accepted 0407c32a Diff 64/32 GSD 0
 [2019-05-04 16:53:56.067] GSH 1: found 0 chip(s)
 [2019-05-04 16:53:56.069] GSH 1: Toggling ASIC nRST to reset
 [2019-05-04 16:54:01.654] GSH 1: found 0 chip(s)
 [2019-05-04 16:54:01.656] GSH 1: Toggling ASIC nRST to reset
 [2019-05-04 16:54:04.845] Accepted 0675a1dc Diff 40/32 GSH 0
 [2019-05-04 16:54:07.256] GSH 1: found 0 chip(s)
 [2019-05-04 16:54:07.258] GSH 1: Toggling ASIC nRST to reset
 [2019-05-04 16:54:09.815] Accepted 07871e57 Diff 34/32 GSH 0

What to do to start this zombie stick?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!