Bitcoin Forum
March 29, 2020, 09:23:23 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 [97] 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 ... 400 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1805209 times)
scifimike12
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 303
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 14, 2013, 04:49:47 PM
 #1921

what is "activate 1x" hotplug bridge?

Some boards won't detect the VGA unless you short the slot as such:

1585473803
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1585473803

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1585473803
Reply with quote  #2

1585473803
Report to moderator
1585473803
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1585473803

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1585473803
Reply with quote  #2

1585473803
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1585473803
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1585473803

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1585473803
Reply with quote  #2

1585473803
Report to moderator
1585473803
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1585473803

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1585473803
Reply with quote  #2

1585473803
Report to moderator
m3whiteknight
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 05:46:42 PM
 #1922

After some work, heres how it looks





Could you please tell me which motherboard you use with 7970. I also see so many version of 7970 card, which one that you use?
Many THanks
mig91
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120
Merit: 100



View Profile
March 14, 2013, 07:48:37 PM
 #1923

looks like a windforce and HIS 7970s. am i right ?
MangoJ
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 222
Merit: 100


BTCRaven.com Escrow & Advertising


View Profile WWW
March 14, 2013, 08:39:36 PM
 #1924

One of my block crates...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wrJVzvJO7EE


six 5870s
two PSUs
hard drive removed, running on 16GB USB flash*
4GB Ram DDR3 (going to downgrade to 2GB RAM so I can put all this extra ram in my personal server)*
$18.50 AM3 CPU*

*  Because I am all about building cheap.

Automated Escrow  For instant BTC transactions without waiting for a 3rd party.  http://BTCRaven.com
king_pin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 414
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
March 14, 2013, 10:12:43 PM
 #1925

home made risers with "activate 1x" hotplug bridge, and additional power molex

DO NOT DO THAT!

You are giving those 12 volts back to the MB if you don't cut the wires!
You should cut the 5 power wires from the flat cable first, than solder additional power.

And if you are wondering here you will see which five lines you need to cut, than solder 12v to them:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PCI_Express#Pinout


dual old p4 coolers to mach gpu0 and gpu1 temps
This is the stupidest thing I've seen!  Grin
At least put them to the right where the VRMs are. I can't see if you are using thermal paste but if u aren't, put lots of paste cause the surface is not perfect, and put them on the back of the VRMs, hopefully you will see a drop in the Phase Temperatures.

Help to save a persons life with BITCOIN - http://www.bitcoinsaves.org/en/
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1004



View Profile
March 15, 2013, 12:36:47 AM
 #1926

home made risers with "activate 1x" hotplug bridge, and additional power molex

what is "activate 1x" hotplug bridge?
and is there anywhere a technical sketch how to add an additional power molex (because for me one card has broken without additional power molex)
TIA

i would like some 1x > 1x risers with the PCI-E presence mod please. I don't need the molex mod. i can provide risers.

vdragon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
March 15, 2013, 12:56:58 AM
 #1927

After some work, heres how it looks





Could you please tell me which motherboard you use with 7970. I also see so many version of 7970 card, which one that you use?
Many THanks

 I use Club3D and Powercolor with reference design 7970s, and Windforce 7950s (Gigabyte) . Motherboards I have mixed, Gigabyte B75-D3V with Intel G530 and G550, and MSI A75 motherboards with AMD A4 (something) cpu Cheesy

 But I also use MSI 7950s (twinfrozr), Gigabyte 7970s  (WF3), even have some Sapphire Flex 7950 cards

My USB Erupter GROUP BUY https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=252180.0

Hungary (south) based trader - accepting/sending bank transfers, also willing to meet in person
king_pin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 414
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
March 15, 2013, 01:15:42 AM
 #1928

i would like some 1x > 1x risers with the PCI-E presence mod please. I don't need the molex mod. i can provide risers.
Come on dude, look on the before page, don't be so lazy Smiley Tongue

Help to save a persons life with BITCOIN - http://www.bitcoinsaves.org/en/
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1376



View Profile
March 15, 2013, 02:40:18 AM
 #1929

dual old p4 coolers to mach gpu0 and gpu1 temps
This is the stupidest thing I've seen!  Grin
At least put them to the right where the VRMs are. I can't see if you are using thermal paste but if u aren't, put lots of paste cause the surface is not perfect, and put them on the back of the VRMs, hopefully you will see a drop in the Phase Temperatures.

Pending an RMA, and limited in my abilities to properly fix it by warranty seals on the screws that hold the cooler, I decided to keep my dead-fan 5870 mining until I get an RMA number:



Cheesy

gektek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237
Merit: 100


I rave ... whats your excuse?!?


View Profile WWW
March 15, 2013, 04:06:27 AM
 #1930



It ain't pretty but it earns me right around $2 per day. The power supply is on top cuz I'm too lazy to take the one out that came with the desktop...and for air flow...ya, we'll go with air flow. The 5830 on the outside there is the main earner whilst the 7750 inside does a descent job...and runs my games. I also LTC mine with the FX-6100 cpu which is why there is the little grey fan in the front. Even with the open case it gets warm in there so it helps push the air around a bit. Hoping to add another 5970 to the mix to continue to be profitable with the rise in LTC prices Wink

Posting this mostly to encourage the amateurs out there. I don't make much with this setup but it paid for Christmas presents last year and continues to pay for my MineCraft server, my Mumble server, my website hosting package, my Rift subscription AND a few gallons of gas here and there. It's literally free money people...get your rig turned on and mine that bad boy!!! Tongue

Scared to ask questions here? Still a noob and can't post? Ask me your questions...I don't know everything but I certainly don't mind helping where I can Wink - gecko@gektek.info
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 15, 2013, 04:51:56 AM
 #1931

one of my 7 rig's , 1500kh :

home made risers with "activate 1x" hotplug bridge, and additional power molex
[img ]http://s23.postimage.org/e0as0cf6v/image.jpg[/img]

box with cutout hole and dual hp 800w server PSU modules joined and atx-converted , home made cables
[img ]http://s23.postimage.org/cmj551fxj/image.jpg[/img]

dual old p4 coolers to mach gpu0 and gpu1 temps
[img ]http://s23.postimage.org/namw3vpwn/image.jpg[/img]

home made 2x 2.5mm^2 cables
[img ]http://s23.postimage.org/pgh6ydtd3/image.jpg[/img]

psu's
[img ]http://s23.postimage.org/bo2s2r2lj/image.jpg[/img]

risers mounted
[img ]http://s23.postimage.org/w9m58e9k7/image.jpg[/img]

Holy Shit! It's posts like this that make me sad that GPU mining will eventually disappear.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
vdragon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
March 15, 2013, 03:49:30 PM
 #1932

Yup, it really brought out the creativity in people

My USB Erupter GROUP BUY https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=252180.0

Hungary (south) based trader - accepting/sending bank transfers, also willing to meet in person
BBQKorv
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 15, 2013, 05:43:34 PM
 #1933

one of my 7 rig's , 1500kh :

home made risers with "activate 1x" hotplug bridge, and additional power molex
[img ]http://s23.postimage.org/e0as0cf6v/image.jpg[/img]

box with cutout hole and dual hp 800w server PSU modules joined and atx-converted , home made cables
[img ]http://s23.postimage.org/cmj551fxj/image.jpg[/img]

dual old p4 coolers to mach gpu0 and gpu1 temps
[img ]http://s23.postimage.org/namw3vpwn/image.jpg[/img]

home made 2x 2.5mm^2 cables
[img ]http://s23.postimage.org/pgh6ydtd3/image.jpg[/img]

psu's
[img ]http://s23.postimage.org/bo2s2r2lj/image.jpg[/img]

risers mounted
[img ]http://s23.postimage.org/w9m58e9k7/image.jpg[/img]

Holy Shit! It's posts like this that make me sad that GPU mining will eventually disappear.

I also like very much of these homemade rigs, specially the ones that do have a proper construction and not just plenty of zipties and hotmelt-glue.

Luckily GPUs will stay on mining on the scrypt side after ASICs dominate sha256 side, it will be interesting to see if BTC/TRC/PPC value increases even more and thus allows GPUs to stay longer on that side too.
atomium
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 252


Study the past, if you would divine the future.


View Profile
March 15, 2013, 06:01:35 PM
 #1934

these rigs are so badass, awesome job
kpriess
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 415
Merit: 250


Money is the root of all evil.


View Profile
March 15, 2013, 10:13:24 PM
 #1935


Worry not, GPU mining will prevail after SHA256 is ditched when ASIC becomes mainstream..
xorxor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 16, 2013, 01:21:42 AM
Last edit: March 16, 2013, 03:18:07 AM by xorxor
 #1936

home made risers with "activate 1x" hotplug bridge, and additional power molex

DO NOT DO THAT!

You are giving those 12 volts back to the MB if you don't cut the wires!
You should cut the 5 power wires from the flat cable first, than solder additional power.

And if you are wondering here you will see which five lines you need to cut, than solder 12v to them:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PCI_Express#Pinout


dual old p4 coolers to mach gpu0 and gpu1 temps
This is the stupidest thing I've seen!  Grin
At least put them to the right where the VRMs are. I can't see if you are using thermal paste but if u aren't, put lots of paste cause the surface is not perfect, and put them on the back of the VRMs, hopefully you will see a drop in the Phase Temperatures.

you dont post here if u dont know s**t!

it is ultra-super-good to sent 12v back to mobo, check pictures of burnt 12v pins @ 24pin atx when using many cards.
this is a big issue for miners.

there are even special thingies like this:


check the video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N9SLjiR7Q4s

to not make your mobo look like that [googled, not mine]:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=53904.msg642672#msg642672

also your "stupidest thing" made my temps from 81/72/80/71 to 72/69/71/69 for free [got a lot of theese] and zero work [2 min?].  there is some thermal paste of course.
i have some radiators on the VRM's on other rigs, these two cards have nice vrm temps and are not hot over there



do not teach your father how to make kids, don't try to teach grandma how to suck eggs

i can see your homemade cables are much better :

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=7216.msg1520593#msg1520593


 

fuck deeponion, fuck bitcoincash, all glory to one BITCOIN
philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 16, 2013, 01:56:12 AM
Last edit: March 16, 2013, 02:14:54 AM by philips
 #1937

.......................................

Interesting. So, from what I see you replicated that power boost cable four times and feed power to PCI-E bus. But why four? Wasn´t only one enough?

I wonder also, is it vital to provide also the ground connection? All the powered riser I´ve seen are only using one wire (12V).

xorxor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 16, 2013, 02:47:15 AM
Last edit: March 16, 2013, 03:22:36 AM by xorxor
 #1938

.......................................

Interesting. So, from what I see you replicated that power boost cable four times and feed power to PCI-E bus. But why four? Wasn´t only one enough?

I wonder also, is it vital to provide also the ground connection? All the powered riser I´ve seen are only using one wire (12V).



ill quote myself:
Quote from: xorxor
one of my 7 rig's , 1500kh :

i made more that 4 of that.not all for one rig lolz. I have >>7<< rigs. some rigs do not need it, some are better with two of them like this one from photos:
super old single core only asus mobo with  pcie 1.0  and two dualcore 5970 eating some serious amps from slots.

no , ground is not crucial. since its shorted to pcie 6-pin grounds, current can go back that way. so you won't burn pci-e slot , and there is a s**tload of grounds at 24pin atx, so you won't se that burnt either . but its safer and helps a little to have it anyway.


fuck deeponion, fuck bitcoincash, all glory to one BITCOIN
philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 16, 2013, 02:54:52 AM
 #1939

Thanks man, good info.
MKEGuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 16, 2013, 03:12:40 AM
 #1940

This is where we ended up.  The only thing different right now is the way the 3 cards in the front rig are mounted and the fan us hanging up above the rigs blowing down on an angle for better air flow.  Almost every card, except one, is mining at or below 50 deg C with some pretty significant overclocking going on.  (Up to 1718 on memory)  The one card that isn't running so cool is getting taken apart in the next few days to get a good once over.  Give it a re-paste, make sure all the screws are tight on the cooler, etc.  Its only about 5 deg warmer then the others, but its enough for me to want to investigate.  I'll post up an updated picture come Tuesday when I get back to the rigs to play with them some more.


If you have >100 posts play the Circle of Trust Game  If I have helped you in any way, or you are just feeling generous... please feel free to donate! Smiley LNarfMNLyymkS9WYQFLcmr46AeMYNP8Qj2
Pages: « 1 ... 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 [97] 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 ... 400 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!