Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 08:18:39 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 [97] 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 ... 390 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1624779 times)
mobodick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826



View Profile
March 09, 2013, 05:02:41 PM
 #1921

sublime5447 damn! This is one of the most complex projects I have seen about btc
It is going to get much more complex, it is mostly for ltc. I am hoping to fit 10 rigs in the cabinet and enclose the sides with plexiglass and a large floor fan blowing up through it. My dad owns a software company that manages data centers, like billion dollar data centers, so i have access to cheap/free equipment and management software.

I dont like tech stuff and didn't want to build one but got sick of trying to convince people to sell me some GD coins. The main reason that i did it is to prove who I am and what I am about. I am sick of people calling me a scammer when they are the ones who operate in darkness and don't have coins or money. 
Ahahhaha SO..... complex.
The complexity blows my mind. Idk how you do it.

Step..
..by step.
1481141919
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481141919

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481141919
Reply with quote  #2

1481141919
Report to moderator
The Bitcoin software, network, and concept is called "Bitcoin" with a capitalized "B". Bitcoin currency units are called "bitcoins" with a lowercase "b" -- this is often abbreviated BTC.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481141919
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481141919

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481141919
Reply with quote  #2

1481141919
Report to moderator
1481141919
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481141919

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481141919
Reply with quote  #2

1481141919
Report to moderator
1481141919
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481141919

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481141919
Reply with quote  #2

1481141919
Report to moderator
ryantc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 290



View Profile
March 09, 2013, 07:59:42 PM
 #1922

Not all of those Molex to PCIe converters are made of the same caliber parts - some use crappy/cheap 22AWG wires and other use thicker 18AWG wires.  If you're trying to power 5970/6990/7970s with those cheaper 22AWG wired ones you'll have a fire.  If you're running a "lowly" 7770 that pulls most of the power off the board you should be OK even with the thinner 22AWG.

The ones that came with the Sapphire 6870s and 6950s I bought have all been decent and not one has given me problems.  Of course I don't pack my rigs past 4 cards per board so they probably pull less through the PCIe power (I'm not sure how the power is distributed).

NEVER use a SATA to PCIe connector - don't know who the hell thought of that idea but that is just asking for a problem since the SATA connectors were never designed to deliver that much power.

I found a 2x4 Pin Molex to 6-pin connector with 18 AWG wire. I guess that's from my old 3850, is it enough to support a 7850? given all my 6-pins connectors are used up by 3 7950.

Just learned, the smaller the AWG, the better for "heavier" duty ? Cry
vdragon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile WWW
March 09, 2013, 11:37:57 PM
 #1923

Why dont you buy some, better than to guess? They cost like nothing

My USB Erupter GROUP BUY https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=252180.0

Hungary (south) based trader - accepting/sending bank transfers, also willing to meet in person
yxt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834



View Profile WWW
March 10, 2013, 02:52:31 PM
 #1924

Pictures of your mining rigs!  Wink

ailikun
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 240



View Profile
March 11, 2013, 09:39:27 AM
 #1925

hehe))
Found a pic of my old farm...
Pretty nastalgic feelings)

Komuto budet Herovato is definitely the chief engineer of bfl)
MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Founder of Orlycoin | O RLY? YA RLY!


View Profile WWW
March 12, 2013, 10:45:20 PM
 #1926

Rebuilt a rig today!



3x HD5870 @ 800/300/1.0 Volt = 3x 350Mhash/s
Fans at 50%

AMD Athlon 64 6400+ Black Edition 3200MHz @ 2000MHz (10x multiplier) and 0.975 Volt (undervolted)

400Watt out of the wall socket.

1050Mhash/s / 400 Watt = 2.65 efficiency factor

Software: Windows 7 x64 / CGMiner

Can be tweaked a bit more I guess but first I try it at these settings.
philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
March 12, 2013, 10:59:31 PM
 #1927

Maybe you can push those 5870 a bit further? Good cards.

I have 4 x 5870 at 900/150/1.062v - 412 Mh/s each. Fans at 60%, temp 64C.
vdragon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile WWW
March 13, 2013, 07:15:09 PM
 #1928

That Athlon 64 6400 used to run hotter than hell Smiley, was more trouble cooling it than the cards

My USB Erupter GROUP BUY https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=252180.0

Hungary (south) based trader - accepting/sending bank transfers, also willing to meet in person
BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
March 13, 2013, 07:53:22 PM
 #1929

Rebuilt a rig today!



3x HD5870 @ 800/300/1.0 Volt = 3x 350Mhash/s
Fans at 50%

AMD Athlon 64 6400+ Black Edition 3200MHz @ 2000MHz (10x multiplier) and 0.975 Volt (undervolted)

400Watt out of the wall socket.

1050Mhash/s / 400 Watt = 2.65 efficiency factor

Software: Windows 7 x64 / CGMiner

Can be tweaked a bit more I guess but first I try it at these settings.

These ASUS CARDS are damn good, had 4 of them. Even when placed tight together they'll stay cooler than others Smiley

xorxor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392



View Profile WWW
March 14, 2013, 02:10:57 PM
 #1930

one of my 7 rig's , 1500kh :

home made risers with "activate 1x" hotplug bridge, and additional power molex



box with cutout hole and dual hp 800w server PSU modules joined and atx-converted , home made cables



dual old p4 coolers to mach gpu0 and gpu1 temps



home made 2x 2.5mm^2 cables



psu's



risers mounted





mitak64
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 236


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 03:21:03 PM
 #1931

Now that's what I call "modding".  Shocked
Respect man !!! 
ewibit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1745


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 03:27:59 PM
 #1932

home made risers with "activate 1x" hotplug bridge, and additional power molex

what is "activate 1x" hotplug bridge?
and is there anywhere a technical sketch how to add an additional power molex (because for me one card has broken without additional power molex)
TIA
scifimike12
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
March 14, 2013, 04:49:47 PM
 #1933

what is "activate 1x" hotplug bridge?

Some boards won't detect the VGA unless you short the slot as such:

m3whiteknight
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95


View Profile
March 14, 2013, 05:46:42 PM
 #1934

After some work, heres how it looks





Could you please tell me which motherboard you use with 7970. I also see so many version of 7970 card, which one that you use?
Many THanks
mig91
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120



View Profile
March 14, 2013, 07:48:37 PM
 #1935

looks like a windforce and HIS 7970s. am i right ?
MangoJ
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 222


BTCRaven.com Escrow & Advertising


View Profile WWW
March 14, 2013, 08:39:36 PM
 #1936

One of my block crates...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wrJVzvJO7EE


six 5870s
two PSUs
hard drive removed, running on 16GB USB flash*
4GB Ram DDR3 (going to downgrade to 2GB RAM so I can put all this extra ram in my personal server)*
$18.50 AM3 CPU*

*  Because I am all about building cheap.

Automated Escrow  For instant BTC transactions without waiting for a 3rd party.  http://BTCRaven.com
king_pin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 375



View Profile WWW
March 14, 2013, 10:12:43 PM
 #1937

home made risers with "activate 1x" hotplug bridge, and additional power molex

DO NOT DO THAT!

You are giving those 12 volts back to the MB if you don't cut the wires!
You should cut the 5 power wires from the flat cable first, than solder additional power.

And if you are wondering here you will see which five lines you need to cut, than solder 12v to them:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PCI_Express#Pinout


dual old p4 coolers to mach gpu0 and gpu1 temps
This is the stupidest thing I've seen!  Grin
At least put them to the right where the VRMs are. I can't see if you are using thermal paste but if u aren't, put lots of paste cause the surface is not perfect, and put them on the back of the VRMs, hopefully you will see a drop in the Phase Temperatures.

Help to save a persons life with BITCOIN - http://www.bitcoinsaves.org/en/
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
March 15, 2013, 12:36:47 AM
 #1938

home made risers with "activate 1x" hotplug bridge, and additional power molex

what is "activate 1x" hotplug bridge?
and is there anywhere a technical sketch how to add an additional power molex (because for me one card has broken without additional power molex)
TIA

i would like some 1x > 1x risers with the PCI-E presence mod please. I don't need the molex mod. i can provide risers.

vdragon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile WWW
March 15, 2013, 12:56:58 AM
 #1939

After some work, heres how it looks





Could you please tell me which motherboard you use with 7970. I also see so many version of 7970 card, which one that you use?
Many THanks

 I use Club3D and Powercolor with reference design 7970s, and Windforce 7950s (Gigabyte) . Motherboards I have mixed, Gigabyte B75-D3V with Intel G530 and G550, and MSI A75 motherboards with AMD A4 (something) cpu Cheesy

 But I also use MSI 7950s (twinfrozr), Gigabyte 7970s  (WF3), even have some Sapphire Flex 7950 cards

My USB Erupter GROUP BUY https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=252180.0

Hungary (south) based trader - accepting/sending bank transfers, also willing to meet in person
king_pin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 375



View Profile WWW
March 15, 2013, 01:15:42 AM
 #1940

i would like some 1x > 1x risers with the PCI-E presence mod please. I don't need the molex mod. i can provide risers.
Come on dude, look on the before page, don't be so lazy Smiley Tongue

Help to save a persons life with BITCOIN - http://www.bitcoinsaves.org/en/
Pages: « 1 ... 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 [97] 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 ... 390 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!