Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 12:31:27 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 [91] 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 ... 390 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1627226 times)
king_pin
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 375



View Profile WWW
February 12, 2013, 03:27:16 AM
 #1801

I am the god of hellfire and i bring you:


Help to save a persons life with BITCOIN - http://www.bitcoinsaves.org/en/
1481416287
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481416287

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481416287
Reply with quote  #2

1481416287
Report to moderator
1481416287
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481416287

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481416287
Reply with quote  #2

1481416287
Report to moderator
1481416287
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481416287

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481416287
Reply with quote  #2

1481416287
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481416287
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481416287

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481416287
Reply with quote  #2

1481416287
Report to moderator
1481416287
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481416287

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481416287
Reply with quote  #2

1481416287
Report to moderator
1481416287
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481416287

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481416287
Reply with quote  #2

1481416287
Report to moderator
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
February 12, 2013, 05:19:48 AM
 #1802

I am the god of hellfire and i bring you:

snip

what kind of adapter is that? and why are some wires red and some yellow? video cards dont need external 5v power aside from whats provided on the pci-e bus.

Hippie Tech
aka Amenstop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414


www.occupationmovie.com


View Profile WWW
February 12, 2013, 05:53:01 AM
 #1803

I am the god of hellfire and i bring you:


Yikes ! I can almost smell that through the screen ! Grin

Toxic fumes are the main reason why I'm a bit of a fanatic when it comes to cooling.

@crashoveride Thats exactly what I thought, minutes after starting it up. heh..

Almost forgot to mention that the Sapphire HD 6870 is being cooled by the 7870's MSI Twin Frozr III cooler. Hows that for a mixed bag !? lol



pEACe

mig91
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120



View Profile
February 12, 2013, 12:40:27 PM
 #1804

I am the god of hellfire and i bring you:



woah : o looks like a homemade adapter
ewibit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1749


View Profile
February 12, 2013, 12:55:48 PM
 #1805

I am the god of hellfire and i bring you:


I have had nearly the same with one card; - and this card is then broken -> what could be broken with/in the card if the power cord is broken like yours?
TIA
vdragon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile WWW
February 12, 2013, 03:34:51 PM
 #1806

I have seen this situation at one guys place. He used pci-ex extender, but without the molex, and was pulling all the power from molex->6 pin power adapter.

My USB Erupter GROUP BUY https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=252180.0

Hungary (south) based trader - accepting/sending bank transfers, also willing to meet in person
king_pin
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 375



View Profile WWW
February 12, 2013, 10:37:50 PM
 #1807

I am the god of hellfire and i bring you:

snip

what kind of adapter is that? and why are some wires red and some yellow? video cards dont need external 5v power aside from whats provided on the pci-e bus.
It is a modified, standard PCIe 6pin Connector, I think it was from a Gigabyte, IDK why they use red instead of black.
I modified it to fit a 4pin CPU connector, so I can use those cables too, inserting enough it didn't catch fire where I modified it but 2 centimeters up, I guess it was defective and me fiddling with it was its death.

Help to save a persons life with BITCOIN - http://www.bitcoinsaves.org/en/
vdragon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile WWW
February 12, 2013, 11:06:20 PM
 #1808

I figured on my 7950, they can work with sata->pciex 6pin, even without power from the slot at 1000/625/0.956V. But running lets say a 5870 with same cables and no slot power it would be "burn baby, burn" Cheesy

My USB Erupter GROUP BUY https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=252180.0

Hungary (south) based trader - accepting/sending bank transfers, also willing to meet in person
Pug
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
February 12, 2013, 11:13:11 PM
 #1809

-
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
February 13, 2013, 12:36:08 AM
 #1810

I use these to get more PCI-E power plugs. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812198018
If I -have- to use a molex to get more PCI-E power plugs, I use the ones included with Sapphire cards. They're single molex, not double, and there are no missing wires in the PCI-E pwoer plug, unlike the ones I see in this thread. Their wires are pretty thick, so they don't get hot.

Hippie Tech
aka Amenstop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414


www.occupationmovie.com


View Profile WWW
February 13, 2013, 05:19:36 AM
 #1811

I use these to get more PCI-E power plugs. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812198018
If I -have- to use a molex to get more PCI-E power plugs, I use the ones included with Sapphire cards. They're single molex, not double, and there are no missing wires in the PCI-E pwoer plug, unlike the ones I see in this thread. Their wires are pretty thick, so they don't get hot.

I avoid using them because I noticed some instability when I used one of those Sapphire 1x 4pin molex to 6pin on my then 5830.

When the cables get hot, that usually means that the psu is overheating and/or under severe load.

Beyondo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 102



View Profile
February 13, 2013, 05:26:31 AM
 #1812

Not all of those Molex to PCIe converters are made of the same caliber parts - some use crappy/cheap 22AWG wires and other use thicker 18AWG wires.  If you're trying to power 5970/6990/7970s with those cheaper 22AWG wired ones you'll have a fire.  If you're running a "lowly" 7770 that pulls most of the power off the board you should be OK even with the thinner 22AWG.

The ones that came with the Sapphire 6870s and 6950s I bought have all been decent and not one has given me problems.  Of course I don't pack my rigs past 4 cards per board so they probably pull less through the PCIe power (I'm not sure how the power is distributed).

NEVER use a SATA to PCIe connector - don't know who the hell thought of that idea but that is just asking for a problem since the SATA connectors were never designed to deliver that much power.

If I helped you kindly tip 1N7Cob5DRdqoYtizXDsXa7kNNYYtgKxzWH
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
February 13, 2013, 07:17:59 AM
 #1813

I use these to get more PCI-E power plugs. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812198018
If I -have- to use a molex to get more PCI-E power plugs, I use the ones included with Sapphire cards. They're single molex, not double, and there are no missing wires in the PCI-E pwoer plug, unlike the ones I see in this thread. Their wires are pretty thick, so they don't get hot.

I avoid using them because I noticed some instability when I used one of those Sapphire 1x 4pin molex to 6pin on my then 5830.

When the cables get hot, that usually means that the psu is overheating and/or under severe load.

I had a 750W power supply powering two gigabyte 5850's off of a molex line. Didnt draw more than 450 watts at the wall, but the wires melted at the modular connection between molex and power supply. Power supply was not overheating or under severe load. It was the load on the wires. Too many amps.

Also there's some wrongly wired molex to PCI-E out there. I had one that had a 5v wire attached to a ground pin. I threw that away immediately. Dead short = not good. Yes some molex to pci-e use red wires but properly attach ground to ground, but this one was dead short.

vdragon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile WWW
February 13, 2013, 11:30:08 AM
 #1814

I use these to get more PCI-E power plugs. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812198018
If I -have- to use a molex to get more PCI-E power plugs, I use the ones included with Sapphire cards. They're single molex, not double, and there are no missing wires in the PCI-E pwoer plug, unlike the ones I see in this thread. Their wires are pretty thick, so they don't get hot.

I avoid using them because I noticed some instability when I used one of those Sapphire 1x 4pin molex to 6pin on my then 5830.

When the cables get hot, that usually means that the psu is overheating and/or under severe load.

I had a 750W power supply powering two gigabyte 5850's off of a molex line. Didnt draw more than 450 watts at the wall, but the wires melted at the modular connection between molex and power supply. Power supply was not overheating or under severe load. It was the load on the wires. Too many amps.

Also there's some wrongly wired molex to PCI-E out there. I had one that had a 5v wire attached to a ground pin. I threw that away immediately. Dead short = not good. Yes some molex to pci-e use red wires but properly attach ground to ground, but this one was dead short.

 5 series was pulling much more power then the 7... And when you said wrongly wired, i went through all of my spare cables. Found 2 Cheesy

My USB Erupter GROUP BUY https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=252180.0

Hungary (south) based trader - accepting/sending bank transfers, also willing to meet in person
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
February 13, 2013, 11:54:12 AM
 #1815

I use these to get more PCI-E power plugs. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812198018
If I -have- to use a molex to get more PCI-E power plugs, I use the ones included with Sapphire cards. They're single molex, not double, and there are no missing wires in the PCI-E pwoer plug, unlike the ones I see in this thread. Their wires are pretty thick, so they don't get hot.

I avoid using them because I noticed some instability when I used one of those Sapphire 1x 4pin molex to 6pin on my then 5830.

When the cables get hot, that usually means that the psu is overheating and/or under severe load.

I had a 750W power supply powering two gigabyte 5850's off of a molex line. Didnt draw more than 450 watts at the wall, but the wires melted at the modular connection between molex and power supply. Power supply was not overheating or under severe load. It was the load on the wires. Too many amps.

Also there's some wrongly wired molex to PCI-E out there. I had one that had a 5v wire attached to a ground pin. I threw that away immediately. Dead short = not good. Yes some molex to pci-e use red wires but properly attach ground to ground, but this one was dead short.

 5 series was pulling much more power then the 7... And when you said wrongly wired, i went through all of my spare cables. Found 2 Cheesy

Doesn't help that the gigabyte cards are voltage locked to something far above 1.0875v (Stable at 1015MHz at supposedly 1v? yeah right). Anyways, I have 2 5970 and 4 5870, all reference connected to one mobo and one PSU. 3.02 GHash @ 1v, 965 watts or 3.13 Mhash/joule. Not too bad for GPUs

vdragon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile WWW
February 13, 2013, 12:45:00 PM
 #1816



Doesn't help that the gigabyte cards are voltage locked to something far above 1.0875v (Stable at 1015MHz at supposedly 1v? yeah right). Anyways, I have 2 5970 and 4 5870, all reference connected to one mobo and one PSU. 3.02 GHash @ 1v, 965 watts or 3.13 Mhash/joule. Not too bad for GPUs

 Which Gigabyte cards? From 7 series only voltage locked cards are newer 7970s. Rest can be flashed with old BIOS

My USB Erupter GROUP BUY https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=252180.0

Hungary (south) based trader - accepting/sending bank transfers, also willing to meet in person
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
February 13, 2013, 08:20:05 PM
 #1817



Doesn't help that the gigabyte cards are voltage locked to something far above 1.0875v (Stable at 1015MHz at supposedly 1v? yeah right). Anyways, I have 2 5970 and 4 5870, all reference connected to one mobo and one PSU. 3.02 GHash @ 1v, 965 watts or 3.13 Mhash/joule. Not too bad for GPUs

 Which Gigabyte cards? From 7 series only voltage locked cards are newer 7970s. Rest can be flashed with old BIOS

gigabyte 5850 is voltage locked (likely also with 5830 and 5870. other manufacturers have some sort of voltage changing, and reference cards are great with 0.0125v steps)

Hippie Tech
aka Amenstop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414


www.occupationmovie.com


View Profile WWW
February 13, 2013, 11:59:53 PM
 #1818

Thx for the tips, Beyondo. Smiley

vdragon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile WWW
February 14, 2013, 12:19:12 AM
 #1819



Doesn't help that the gigabyte cards are voltage locked to something far above 1.0875v (Stable at 1015MHz at supposedly 1v? yeah right). Anyways, I have 2 5970 and 4 5870, all reference connected to one mobo and one PSU. 3.02 GHash @ 1v, 965 watts or 3.13 Mhash/joule. Not too bad for GPUs

 Which Gigabyte cards? From 7 series only voltage locked cards are newer 7970s. Rest can be flashed with old BIOS

gigabyte 5850 is voltage locked (likely also with 5830 and 5870. other manufacturers have some sort of voltage changing, and reference cards are great with 0.0125v steps)

 Ah sorry, I thought its about 7 series. Because there are some Gigabyte 7950s that come with locked FZ1 Bios, but can be flashed via DOS/atiflasher to F2

My USB Erupter GROUP BUY https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=252180.0

Hungary (south) based trader - accepting/sending bank transfers, also willing to meet in person
Beyondo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 102



View Profile
February 14, 2013, 02:47:48 AM
 #1820

Thx for the tips, Beyondo. Smiley

No prob.  Others on this forum have posted this stuff way back over a year ago.  I've lurked for almost 2 years now  Cheesy

If you sift through all the threads you'll find some very useful tips for Windows and Linux and mining in general.

If I helped you kindly tip 1N7Cob5DRdqoYtizXDsXa7kNNYYtgKxzWH
Pages: « 1 ... 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 [91] 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 ... 390 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!