Bitcoin Forum
June 18, 2021, 03:26:23 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 [91] 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 ... 400 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1805379 times)
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1004



View Profile
February 13, 2013, 07:17:59 AM
 #1801

I use these to get more PCI-E power plugs. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812198018
If I -have- to use a molex to get more PCI-E power plugs, I use the ones included with Sapphire cards. They're single molex, not double, and there are no missing wires in the PCI-E pwoer plug, unlike the ones I see in this thread. Their wires are pretty thick, so they don't get hot.

I avoid using them because I noticed some instability when I used one of those Sapphire 1x 4pin molex to 6pin on my then 5830.

When the cables get hot, that usually means that the psu is overheating and/or under severe load.

I had a 750W power supply powering two gigabyte 5850's off of a molex line. Didnt draw more than 450 watts at the wall, but the wires melted at the modular connection between molex and power supply. Power supply was not overheating or under severe load. It was the load on the wires. Too many amps.

Also there's some wrongly wired molex to PCI-E out there. I had one that had a 5v wire attached to a ground pin. I threw that away immediately. Dead short = not good. Yes some molex to pci-e use red wires but properly attach ground to ground, but this one was dead short.

1623986783
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1623986783

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1623986783
Reply with quote  #2

1623986783
Report to moderator
1623986783
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1623986783

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1623986783
Reply with quote  #2

1623986783
Report to moderator
1623986783
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1623986783

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1623986783
Reply with quote  #2

1623986783
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
vdragon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
February 13, 2013, 11:30:08 AM
 #1802

I use these to get more PCI-E power plugs. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812198018
If I -have- to use a molex to get more PCI-E power plugs, I use the ones included with Sapphire cards. They're single molex, not double, and there are no missing wires in the PCI-E pwoer plug, unlike the ones I see in this thread. Their wires are pretty thick, so they don't get hot.

I avoid using them because I noticed some instability when I used one of those Sapphire 1x 4pin molex to 6pin on my then 5830.

When the cables get hot, that usually means that the psu is overheating and/or under severe load.

I had a 750W power supply powering two gigabyte 5850's off of a molex line. Didnt draw more than 450 watts at the wall, but the wires melted at the modular connection between molex and power supply. Power supply was not overheating or under severe load. It was the load on the wires. Too many amps.

Also there's some wrongly wired molex to PCI-E out there. I had one that had a 5v wire attached to a ground pin. I threw that away immediately. Dead short = not good. Yes some molex to pci-e use red wires but properly attach ground to ground, but this one was dead short.

 5 series was pulling much more power then the 7... And when you said wrongly wired, i went through all of my spare cables. Found 2 Cheesy

My USB Erupter GROUP BUY https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=252180.0

Hungary (south) based trader - accepting/sending bank transfers, also willing to meet in person
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1004



View Profile
February 13, 2013, 11:54:12 AM
 #1803

I use these to get more PCI-E power plugs. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812198018
If I -have- to use a molex to get more PCI-E power plugs, I use the ones included with Sapphire cards. They're single molex, not double, and there are no missing wires in the PCI-E pwoer plug, unlike the ones I see in this thread. Their wires are pretty thick, so they don't get hot.

I avoid using them because I noticed some instability when I used one of those Sapphire 1x 4pin molex to 6pin on my then 5830.

When the cables get hot, that usually means that the psu is overheating and/or under severe load.

I had a 750W power supply powering two gigabyte 5850's off of a molex line. Didnt draw more than 450 watts at the wall, but the wires melted at the modular connection between molex and power supply. Power supply was not overheating or under severe load. It was the load on the wires. Too many amps.

Also there's some wrongly wired molex to PCI-E out there. I had one that had a 5v wire attached to a ground pin. I threw that away immediately. Dead short = not good. Yes some molex to pci-e use red wires but properly attach ground to ground, but this one was dead short.

 5 series was pulling much more power then the 7... And when you said wrongly wired, i went through all of my spare cables. Found 2 Cheesy

Doesn't help that the gigabyte cards are voltage locked to something far above 1.0875v (Stable at 1015MHz at supposedly 1v? yeah right). Anyways, I have 2 5970 and 4 5870, all reference connected to one mobo and one PSU. 3.02 GHash @ 1v, 965 watts or 3.13 Mhash/joule. Not too bad for GPUs

vdragon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
February 13, 2013, 12:45:00 PM
 #1804



Doesn't help that the gigabyte cards are voltage locked to something far above 1.0875v (Stable at 1015MHz at supposedly 1v? yeah right). Anyways, I have 2 5970 and 4 5870, all reference connected to one mobo and one PSU. 3.02 GHash @ 1v, 965 watts or 3.13 Mhash/joule. Not too bad for GPUs

 Which Gigabyte cards? From 7 series only voltage locked cards are newer 7970s. Rest can be flashed with old BIOS

My USB Erupter GROUP BUY https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=252180.0

Hungary (south) based trader - accepting/sending bank transfers, also willing to meet in person
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1004



View Profile
February 13, 2013, 08:20:05 PM
 #1805



Doesn't help that the gigabyte cards are voltage locked to something far above 1.0875v (Stable at 1015MHz at supposedly 1v? yeah right). Anyways, I have 2 5970 and 4 5870, all reference connected to one mobo and one PSU. 3.02 GHash @ 1v, 965 watts or 3.13 Mhash/joule. Not too bad for GPUs

 Which Gigabyte cards? From 7 series only voltage locked cards are newer 7970s. Rest can be flashed with old BIOS

gigabyte 5850 is voltage locked (likely also with 5830 and 5870. other manufacturers have some sort of voltage changing, and reference cards are great with 0.0125v steps)

Hippie Tech
aka Amenstop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1001


All cryptos are FIAT digital currency. Do not use.


View Profile WWW
February 13, 2013, 11:59:53 PM
 #1806

Thx for the tips, Beyondo. Smiley

vdragon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
February 14, 2013, 12:19:12 AM
 #1807



Doesn't help that the gigabyte cards are voltage locked to something far above 1.0875v (Stable at 1015MHz at supposedly 1v? yeah right). Anyways, I have 2 5970 and 4 5870, all reference connected to one mobo and one PSU. 3.02 GHash @ 1v, 965 watts or 3.13 Mhash/joule. Not too bad for GPUs

 Which Gigabyte cards? From 7 series only voltage locked cards are newer 7970s. Rest can be flashed with old BIOS

gigabyte 5850 is voltage locked (likely also with 5830 and 5870. other manufacturers have some sort of voltage changing, and reference cards are great with 0.0125v steps)

 Ah sorry, I thought its about 7 series. Because there are some Gigabyte 7950s that come with locked FZ1 Bios, but can be flashed via DOS/atiflasher to F2

My USB Erupter GROUP BUY https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=252180.0

Hungary (south) based trader - accepting/sending bank transfers, also willing to meet in person
Beyondo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104
Merit: 10



View Profile
February 14, 2013, 02:47:48 AM
 #1808

Thx for the tips, Beyondo. Smiley

No prob.  Others on this forum have posted this stuff way back over a year ago.  I've lurked for almost 2 years now  Cheesy

If you sift through all the threads you'll find some very useful tips for Windows and Linux and mining in general.
vdragon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
February 15, 2013, 12:13:27 PM
 #1809

And since I have seen where the discussion is going, this is Room 3, actually by time, it was Room 1 - my first bitcoin project - for those who like more cards on one motherboard, and custom built solutions. My 5970s and 6950s - only problem is they pull too much power. 



and




 Good old days when I had the nerve for it

My USB Erupter GROUP BUY https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=252180.0

Hungary (south) based trader - accepting/sending bank transfers, also willing to meet in person
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 15, 2013, 02:40:30 PM
 #1810

And since I have seen where the discussion is going, this is Room 3, actually by time, it was Room 1 - my first bitcoin project - for those who like more cards on one motherboard, and custom built solutions. My 5970s and 6950s - only problem is they pull too much power. 

and

Good old days when I had the nerve for it
I fixed your [img] tags, and added [url] ones. Now we can actually see the whole picture at once, or click to zoom into certain parts. Much better for threads like this.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Hippie Tech
aka Amenstop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1001


All cryptos are FIAT digital currency. Do not use.


View Profile WWW
February 15, 2013, 02:53:17 PM
 #1811

It just occured to me that some or all of these adapter failures happened because of the initial heat damaged caused by the gpu(s). eg. About a month ago, I had to reroute the gpu's cables because they were being slow baked by the 5850's vrm heat.


vdragon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
February 15, 2013, 10:45:08 PM
 #1812


I fixed your [img] tags, and added [url] ones. Now we can actually see the whole picture at once, or click to zoom into certain parts. Much better for threads like this.

 Thanks, will resize them next time before uploading, forgot to do that again.

My USB Erupter GROUP BUY https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=252180.0

Hungary (south) based trader - accepting/sending bank transfers, also willing to meet in person
chungenhung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134
Merit: 1005


View Profile
February 19, 2013, 08:23:08 PM
 #1813

NEVER use a SATA to PCIe connector - don't know who the hell thought of that idea but that is just asking for a problem since the SATA connectors were never designed to deliver that much power.
How much power is SATA cable rated for?
I have 5830's that's undervolted, and was thinking of using SATA to PCI-E power cables.
king_pin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 415
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
February 19, 2013, 09:01:50 PM
 #1814

How much power is SATA cable rated for?
I have 5830's that's undervolted, and was thinking of using SATA to PCI-E power cables.
Don't!!!
It can handle no more than 5 amps so no more than 50-60W. And the connector is the problem, not the cable, the connecting surface is too small.

Help to save a persons life with BITCOIN - http://www.bitcoinsaves.org/en/
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330
Merit: 1004



View Profile
February 19, 2013, 11:55:50 PM
 #1815

NEVER use a SATA to PCIe connector - don't know who the hell thought of that idea but that is just asking for a problem since the SATA connectors were never designed to deliver that much power.
How much power is SATA cable rated for?
I have 5830's that's undervolted, and was thinking of using SATA to PCI-E power cables.

IMO, just use PCI-E plug splitters. Some power supplies split a set of 6 wires (3 hot, 3 ground) to 2 6+2 plugs already (300 watts!). With SATA, you only have 1 hot and 2 grounds, and they are likely thinner gauge wire, plus the connectors are not rated for a significant power draw.

Here are the PCI-E power plug splitters that I use. They take in a 6 pin plug (or 6+2, but it only takes in 6) and output 2 6+2 plugs, essentially adding one additional PCI-E plug per splitter. I love them. They are $3 each with free shipping if bought in volume at newegg. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812198018

abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 956
Merit: 1001



View Profile
February 20, 2013, 12:33:42 AM
 #1816

How much power is SATA cable rated for?
I have 5830's that's undervolted, and was thinking of using SATA to PCI-E power cables.
Don't!!!
It can handle no more than 5 amps so no more than 50-60W. And the connector is the problem, not the cable, the connecting surface is too small.

been running 5830s on sata->pcie power connectors for over a year.  no problems.
superfastkyle
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 437
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 20, 2013, 01:06:19 AM
 #1817

Your lucky then. I used mine for a while too. First failure killed the power supply. Short circuit protection failed I guess. They after I thought I had gotten rid of all of them I discovered I still had one on the 6 pin on my 7970 which failed. Now I'm still waiting for my 7970 back from rma. They short in the connector itself (heat melts plastic just enough to short 12v and ground which conveniently are right next to each other), like the other guy said its not the wire that fails. Its not worth it.


How much power is SATA cable rated for?
I have 5830's that's undervolted, and was thinking of using SATA to PCI-E power cables.
Don't!!!
It can handle no more than 5 amps so no more than 50-60W. And the connector is the problem, not the cable, the connecting surface is too small.

been running 5830s on sata->pcie power connectors for over a year.  no problems.
vdragon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
February 20, 2013, 02:07:03 AM
 #1818

How much power is SATA cable rated for?
I have 5830's that's undervolted, and was thinking of using SATA to PCI-E power cables.
Don't!!!
It can handle no more than 5 amps so no more than 50-60W. And the connector is the problem, not the cable, the connecting surface is too small.

been running 5830s on sata->pcie power connectors for over a year.  no problems.

 My 7950s (well some of them), are heavily undervolted, and they run fine on those adapters, but... I woudnt try to run a 5 series on them, they are power hungry bastards Smiley

My USB Erupter GROUP BUY https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=252180.0

Hungary (south) based trader - accepting/sending bank transfers, also willing to meet in person
vdragon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
February 20, 2013, 02:14:11 AM
 #1819

BTW, reinforcements are here, 33 more 7950, I simply couldnt resist the price. Pictures to be soon. If I am correct, I will be at 80GHs now Smiley

My USB Erupter GROUP BUY https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=252180.0

Hungary (south) based trader - accepting/sending bank transfers, also willing to meet in person
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 956
Merit: 1001



View Profile
February 20, 2013, 03:01:19 AM
 #1820

BTW, reinforcements are here, 33 more 7950, I simply couldnt resist the price. Pictures to be soon. If I am correct, I will be at 80GHs now Smiley

Gutsy move with asics around the corner.  Right now you are looking at maybe $65/month gross assuming no change in diff.  Expect that to be reduced to $20/month in about 1 month and less than $5/month after that. I'd be surprised if you see a payback period under a couple of years.
Pages: « 1 ... 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 [91] 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 ... 400 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!