Bitcoin Forum
June 21, 2021, 02:27:34 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 [94] 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 ... 400 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1805379 times)
crashoveride54902
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 504


Dream become broken often


View Profile
February 24, 2013, 10:02:47 PM
 #1861

crashoveride54902 what is that cooling your cpu? I have never seen that one?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835185093

keeps cpu at about 35c idle...dunno bout loaded...ran that test along time ago...think about 55-60c...my cpu is a intel 920 i7 no oc
it's huge...had to flip it so my side case fan wouldn't hit it...miss my zalman cooler on my old 775 socket thou

Dreams of cyprto solving everything is slowly slipping away...Replaced by scams/hacks Sad
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
vdragon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
February 25, 2013, 01:27:41 AM
Last edit: February 25, 2013, 10:18:23 AM by vdragon
 #1862

crashoveride54902 what is that cooling your cpu? I have never seen that one?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835185093

keeps cpu at about 35c idle...dunno bout loaded...ran that test along time ago...think about 55-60c...my cpu is a intel 920 i7 no oc
it's huge...had to flip it so my side case fan wouldn't hit it...miss my zalman cooler on my old 775 socket thou

 Since the CPU doesnt do anythingm its enough. Altough, why i7 for mining rig ?!


 ----- Was a stupid question, as pointed out

My USB Erupter GROUP BUY https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=252180.0

Hungary (south) based trader - accepting/sending bank transfers, also willing to meet in person
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 25, 2013, 01:37:41 AM
 #1863

Since the CPU doesnt do anythingm its enough. Altough, why i7 for mining rig ?!

You don't. However.... you didn't read his post, did you?

Can you guess which case is my gaming machine? hehe...

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
MKEGuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 25, 2013, 02:35:59 AM
 #1864

Well - I thought I post a pic of our mining rigs as they come together.  Keep in mind this is being put together with Scrypt mining in mind, not bitcoin.  I've been given plenty of opinions about the fact its a bit "late" to get into gpu mining.  However looking at the math and knowing I'm mainly going at this from a scrypt mining route I believe I have a seutp that will be profitable quite soon.  I plan on keeping daily logs of energy useage, income, etc.  So if anyone has questions in the next month or two - feel free to shoot me a message and I"ll be glad to share any and all information! Smiley

That said... This is our basic setup for now.  I am a mechanical engineering student and am working on a server rack type setup with my teacher in Solidworks.  Once I have a setup I am happy with, I will move on to building it.  I hope to have that completed in the next 45 days.  60 at the most.  So with that in mind we wanted to start out with something simple.  I'm doing this as a partnership with my buddy who while be keeping the rigs at his house.  He does have small children so we do want to keep the rigs somewhat enclosed while being able to have adequate cooling since scrypt mining requires the use of memory which is only goingn to increase heat production for sure.  We want to be able to put at least 4 cards in these rigs to start, with the hope to get to 5 if needed.  We could not find crates big enough so after we found crates we liked, I simply cut out a side and merged them together.  Since we needed something to mount the motherboard to, we added a piece of piece of acrylic (plexiglass)  We then drilled holes for the MB standoffs and threaded those into the acrylic.  From there, everything was mounted up.  We now have a working box, ready for the 7970's with Arctic Accelero coolers that are currently in FedEx's custody on their way to my buddy's house.

Its been a really fun project thus far, that's for sure!


If you have >100 posts play the Circle of Trust Game  If I have helped you in any way, or you are just feeling generous... please feel free to donate! Smiley LNarfMNLyymkS9WYQFLcmr46AeMYNP8Qj2
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 25, 2013, 02:44:44 AM
Last edit: February 25, 2013, 05:25:39 AM by crazyates
 #1865



I think it should be stickied in this thread to resize your images!

[IMG width=800]blah blah blah

Anyways, I like that layout. Reminds me of a few different setups. Very clean and dense.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
johnyj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1006


Beyond Imagination


View Profile
February 25, 2013, 04:46:27 AM
 #1866

The fun of this thread is soon to be terminated by some boring looking asic boxes  Sad

crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 25, 2013, 05:32:00 AM
 #1867

The fun of this thread is soon to be terminated by some boring looking asic boxes  Sad
Meh I don't think so! I'm sure you'll still see some GPU pictures here and there, but there's always overclock.net for that sort of stuff.

In the meantime, I can think of a few examples of what's to come!

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
MKEGuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 25, 2013, 09:49:39 AM
 #1868

Thanks for the compliments.  We didnt put a ton of thought and effort into this just because its not our permanent solution.  I have something much better in mind, custom LED maintenance lighting included!  No, it wot be on 24x7.  Just on a rocker switch for when its needed or when showing off the rig to someone.  I figure in the future if we are able to expand, we are going to be trying to rent some space somewhere that will save us money on our power bill.  If its on a really nice looking rack, it should be less of an eye sore and should open up the number of opportunities we have at getting is placed somewhere.  Heck, I'm even thinking about talking to my buddy who lives like 2 hours from me.  Granted its a distance, but considering the power bill would be 42% cheaer - itd be worth it.  I should be able to get it to the point I never need need to touch it anyways except for monthly cleaning, etc.  Which I may be able to pay him or his wife to do - or just make the trek one a month.    I'll be able to afford to kick him a few bucks a month towards his own bill.

At any rate.  Crazy tired.... time for bed!  And sorry for the image size issues, I ALWAYS forget to do that!  Sorry!

If you have >100 posts play the Circle of Trust Game  If I have helped you in any way, or you are just feeling generous... please feel free to donate! Smiley LNarfMNLyymkS9WYQFLcmr46AeMYNP8Qj2
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3360
Merit: 1354


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2013, 09:55:13 AM
 #1869

If its on a really nice looking rack, it should be less of an eye sore and should open up the number of opportunities we have at getting is placed somewhere.
Always a fan of a really nice looking rack.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 25, 2013, 07:08:00 PM
 #1870

If its on a really nice looking rack, it should be less of an eye sore and should open up the number of opportunities we have at getting is placed somewhere.
Always a fan of a really nice looking rack.
Ba-dum-tsh!  Cool

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
February 26, 2013, 12:10:25 AM
 #1871

NEVER use a SATA to PCIe connector - don't know who the hell thought of that idea but that is just asking for a problem since the SATA connectors were never designed to deliver that much power.
How much power is SATA cable rated for?
I have 5830's that's undervolted, and was thinking of using SATA to PCI-E power cables.

IMO, just use PCI-E plug splitters. Some power supplies split a set of 6 wires (3 hot, 3 ground) to 2 6+2 plugs already (300 watts!). With SATA, you only have 1 hot and 2 grounds, and they are likely thinner gauge wire, plus the connectors are not rated for a significant power draw.

Here are the PCI-E power plug splitters that I use. They take in a 6 pin plug (or 6+2, but it only takes in 6) and output 2 6+2 plugs, essentially adding one additional PCI-E plug per splitter. I love them. They are $3 each with free shipping if bought in volume at newegg. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812198018

Been looking for these in the UK - just can't find them anywhere. If anyone would be interested in sending a few over there's a small bounty on offer......Thanks muchly.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
MKEGuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 26, 2013, 02:14:36 AM
 #1872

If its on a really nice looking rack, it should be less of an eye sore and should open up the number of opportunities we have at getting is placed somewhere.
Always a fan of a really nice looking rack.

First - just want to thank everyone for their compliments.  But credit is also due to my partner (not life partner! lol), Charlie.

EVeryone's always got a wise @$$ remark about anything!  Tongue

Funy $hit though! Smiley

If you have >100 posts play the Circle of Trust Game  If I have helped you in any way, or you are just feeling generous... please feel free to donate! Smiley LNarfMNLyymkS9WYQFLcmr46AeMYNP8Qj2
SolarSilver
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1112
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 26, 2013, 02:32:53 PM
 #1873

Always a fan of a really nice looking rack.
First - just want to thank everyone for their compliments. 
[/quote]

it's a slang thing, right? https://www.google.be/search?q=nice+rack&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a&um=1&ie=UTF-8&hl=en&tbm=isch&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi&ei=F8csUfSJDZGThgf3tYD4CQ&biw=1199&bih=1017&sei=H8csUeaSNOiF4ASdxIDoBg
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2013, 06:02:11 PM
 #1874

Room 1 - theres 14 x 2 x 7970s Smiley, just dont have a wide angle lens to get the whole room. Will post Room 2 and 3 later Smiley



Does each board need it's own bootup drive/OS?

How are they are managed?

Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
vdragon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
March 02, 2013, 11:57:50 PM
 #1875

Room 1 - theres 14 x 2 x 7970s Smiley, just dont have a wide angle lens to get the whole room. Will post Room 2 and 3 later Smiley


Does each board need it's own bootup drive/OS?

How are they are managed?


 No it doesnt. I have them simply because it was easier for me, and I also run some other software that need win 7 64bit. Mostly people run linux from a flash drive, or you can also boot over network

My USB Erupter GROUP BUY https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=252180.0

Hungary (south) based trader - accepting/sending bank transfers, also willing to meet in person
noncecents
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 06, 2013, 05:23:49 AM
 #1876

Side view:



Side panel off:



Close up of Radeon 7970's:



CPU cooling block loop:



Stats:
Case: Corsair 800D
Motherboard: ASUS Maximus V Extreme
Processor: Overclocked Intel Core i7 3770K 4.1GHz - 4.4GHz LGA 1155
GPU: Radeon 7970 x2
Power Supply: 1.2 Kilowatt Corsair AX1200i Digital PSU
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600Mhz (4x4GB)
Storage: 120GB Corsair Force GT - Solid State Drive

GPU's and CPU liquid cooled, everything else air cooled with 12 silent high flow fans.
Hippie Tech
aka Amenstop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1001


All cryptos are FIAT digital currency. Do not use.


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2013, 02:28:29 PM
 #1877

Very nice noncecents. Smiley

Lets see some OC and temp numbers ! ahah..

pEACe

philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 06, 2013, 02:37:25 PM
Last edit: March 06, 2013, 03:30:59 PM by philips
 #1878

Very very nice, but that is not what I would call a mining rig. Water cooled CPU, what for? This is just an excellent gaming PC.
Where is the fire hazard, where is the duct tape ?

Booooring...

(Don't get me wrong, from a gamer POV I envy what you have there. Although I have a big bunch of high-end cards in the other room, my gaming card right now is a GeForce 7025  Roll Eyes )
klear
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 06, 2013, 03:58:22 PM
 #1879

And since I have seen where the discussion is going, this is Room 3, actually by time, it was Room 1 - my first bitcoin project - for those who like more cards on one motherboard, and custom built solutions. My 5970s and 6950s - only problem is they pull too much power.  

https://i.imgur.com/Kq6kuEq.jpg

Where do you get that metal frame that the video cards are on?
BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 06, 2013, 05:11:10 PM
 #1880

Selfmade, i think you can by those profiles in every "Shop  for building purposes" (<---insert correct word here)


Pages: « 1 ... 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 [94] 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 ... 400 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!