Bitcoin Forum
November 23, 2017, 05:09:49 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 ... 377 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [∞ YH] solo.ckpool.org 1% fee solo mining USA/DE 241 blocks solved!  (Read 1419111 times)
raskul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434



View Profile
January 13, 2015, 10:32:37 AM
 #781

If that many miners was maintained on the solo pool I'd have to upgrade my server plan. As it is there's barely enough ram for bitcoind which is a ram hog and leaks memory over time and I need to restart it regularly. It got killed by an out-of-memory condition today, but luckily I have the backup bitcoind on another server for just such an occasion, though it is a little higher latency until the server's own bitcoind gets restarted.
Further to this discussion, if you are planning on dumping a lot of hashrate on this pool in the future, I should plan at the very least a server restart to pull in the latest ckpool changes which decrease memory usage further to minimise the risk of running out of memory again. This sort of upgrade would only have seconds of downtime at worst. If more hashrate is planned longer term, I'll pay the extra for more server ram but that will require more warning and time to do the upgrade so please inform me if this is planned as the cost is substantial as well.

you may want to put some sort of notice about this in the OP, or it may just get lost in the thread.

tips    1APp826DqjJBdsAeqpEstx6Q8hD4urac8a
1511456989
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511456989

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511456989
Reply with quote  #2

1511456989
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511456989
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511456989

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511456989
Reply with quote  #2

1511456989
Report to moderator
gallery2000
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Live Stars - Adult Streaming Platform


View Profile
January 13, 2015, 11:36:52 AM
 #782

If that many miners was maintained on the solo pool I'd have to upgrade my server plan. As it is there's barely enough ram for bitcoind which is a ram hog and leaks memory over time and I need to restart it regularly. It got killed by an out-of-memory condition today, but luckily I have the backup bitcoind on another server for just such an occasion, though it is a little higher latency until the server's own bitcoind gets restarted.
Further to this discussion, if you are planning on dumping a lot of hashrate on this pool in the future, I should plan at the very least a server restart to pull in the latest ckpool changes which decrease memory usage further to minimise the risk of running out of memory again. This sort of upgrade would only have seconds of downtime at worst. If more hashrate is planned longer term, I'll pay the extra for more server ram but that will require more warning and time to do the upgrade so please inform me if this is planned as the cost is substantial as well.

How much memory do you have, 4mb?

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 13, 2015, 12:38:15 PM
 #783

How much memory do you have, 4mb?
I assume you mean 4GB. Yes. Ironically I have busloads of ram for my home PCs and laptops but they can't be fashioned as servers in datacentres...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
monotone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
January 13, 2015, 02:08:09 PM
 #784

Feature request - Vardiff, where user optionaly sets desired share difficulty via password numeric value. In example below, share difficulty is set to 4 in cgminer.conf file.

{
"url" : "stratum+tcp://solo.ckpool.org:3333",
"user" : "1PYbF46Bit5VhBAWN6AfbboernJtentVJ7",
"pass" : "4"
}

1PYbF46Bit5VhBAWN6AfbboernJtentVJ7
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 13, 2015, 02:09:18 PM
 #785

Feature request - Vardiff, where user optionaly sets desired share difficulty via password numeric value. In example below, share difficulty is set to 4 in cgminer.conf file.

{
"url" : "stratum+tcp://solo.ckpool.org:3333",
"user" : "1PYbF46Bit5VhBAWN6AfbboernJtentVJ7",
"pass" : "4"
}
Ckpool already supports --suggest-diff which is in cgminer and can be set as "suggest-diff" in the cgminer conf file too.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
monotone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
January 13, 2015, 02:18:33 PM
 #786

Feature request - Vardiff, where user optionaly sets desired share difficulty via password numeric value. In example below, share difficulty is set to 4 in cgminer.conf file.

{
"url" : "stratum+tcp://solo.ckpool.org:3333",
"user" : "1PYbF46Bit5VhBAWN6AfbboernJtentVJ7",
"pass" : "4"
}
Ckpool already supports --suggest-diff which is in cgminer and can be set as "suggest-diff" in the cgminer conf file too.

Ohh, finaly a good reason to upgrade CGMiner from 4.1.0 to newer version!  Cheesy

1PYbF46Bit5VhBAWN6AfbboernJtentVJ7
PublicP2poolNode
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 320


View Profile
January 13, 2015, 10:16:20 PM
 #787

Feature request - Vardiff, where user optionaly sets desired share difficulty via password numeric value. In example below, share difficulty is set to 4 in cgminer.conf file.

{
"url" : "stratum+tcp://solo.ckpool.org:3333",
"user" : "1PYbF46Bit5VhBAWN6AfbboernJtentVJ7",
"pass" : "4"
}
Ckpool already supports --suggest-diff which is in cgminer and can be set as "suggest-diff" in the cgminer conf file too.

Any idea how to set difficulty with antminer C1?

I just couldn't stand not seeing what my best share was since the difficulty never changed from 1024 so no best shares are ever reported and moved them to another pool. Tried kanos pool too, I recieved payouts so I know its working but again the difficulty never changed from 1024 which means no best shares reported again.

Although best share doesn't matter when solo mining its still fun to see how close I come.

I wonder if other people with 1th miners move to other pools thinking that since the best share always reports 0 that its not working correctly.

Or as another option, if you do restart the pool again maybe it would be possible to set the default difficulty to 1023?
hedgy73
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078



View Profile
January 14, 2015, 12:04:39 AM
 #788

Does it matter how far from your server the miner is? Just wondering if a miner in the US has a better chance of finding a block then a miner on the opposite side of the world?

I know its probably only a split second but is that enough to make a difference?

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 14, 2015, 12:43:44 AM
 #789

Does it matter how far from your server the miner is? Just wondering if a miner in the US has a better chance of finding a block then a miner on the opposite side of the world?

I know its probably only a split second but is that enough to make a difference?
The round trip time contributes to the amount of "wasted effort" though we are probably talking only 100ms difference out of 10 minutes and it only has an extremely small increase in the risk of losing an orphan race. Overall though it's not worth worrying about as it is offset by the pool itself being in one of the most connected parts of the world so that even if the pool was close to you, but remote from other bitcoin nodes, then the pool itself would have the same increased risk of wasting work/losing orphan races.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
hedgy73
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078



View Profile
January 14, 2015, 12:57:09 AM
 #790

Does it matter how far from your server the miner is? Just wondering if a miner in the US has a better chance of finding a block then a miner on the opposite side of the world?

I know its probably only a split second but is that enough to make a difference?
The round trip time contributes to the amount of "wasted effort" though we are probably talking only 100ms difference out of 10 minutes and it only has an extremely small increase in the risk of losing an orphan race. Overall though it's not worth worrying about as it is offset by the pool itself being in one of the most connected parts of the world so that even if the pool was close to you, but remote from other bitcoin nodes, then the pool itself would have the same increased risk of wasting work/losing orphan races.

Thank you that answered my question Smiley

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 14, 2015, 03:28:43 AM
 #791

Although best share doesn't matter when solo mining its still fun to see how close I come.

I wonder if other people with 1th miners move to other pools thinking that since the best share always reports 0 that its not working correctly.

Or as another option, if you do restart the pool again maybe it would be possible to set the default difficulty to 1023?
When I eventually restart the pool it will show best share as well in the user/worker stats.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
gallery2000
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Live Stars - Adult Streaming Platform


View Profile
January 14, 2015, 03:44:40 AM
 #792

How much memory do you have, 4mb?
I assume you mean 4GB. Yes. Ironically I have busloads of ram for my home PCs and laptops but they can't be fashioned as servers in datacentres...

How many GB does a bus load of memory contain?  1,000,000 GB?

PublicP2poolNode
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 320


View Profile
January 14, 2015, 05:37:20 AM
 #793

Although best share doesn't matter when solo mining its still fun to see how close I come.

I wonder if other people with 1th miners move to other pools thinking that since the best share always reports 0 that its not working correctly.

Or as another option, if you do restart the pool again maybe it would be possible to set the default difficulty to 1023?
When I eventually restart the pool it will show best share as well in the user/worker stats.

Yay! So excited, can hardly wait for the next restart. I will definitely be tipping if im lucky enough to find a block.

EDIT: Thank you! Now I can see my best shares on my C1's, hashing at 2.4th and hoping for some extreme luck coming this way.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 14, 2015, 11:04:27 AM
 #794

I'll be bouncing the pool shortly to incorporate the latest ckpool code changes. As ram is tight on the VPS, the code changes which will improve memory usage further over time are becoming more relevant so I figure it's time. Assuming all goes well, most of you will not notice any interruption to mining, though worst case scenario you may fall over for 5 minutes to your backup pool.

EDIT: Completed uneventfully. I'll be watching it closely for a few hours to make sure no new problem comes up.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
cryptouser
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 201


O__o


View Profile
January 14, 2015, 11:30:44 AM
 #795

I'll be bouncing the pool shortly to incorporate the latest ckpool code changes. As ram is tight on the VPS, the code changes which will improve memory usage further over time are becoming more relevant so I figure it's time. Assuming all goes well, most of you will not notice any interruption to mining, though worst case scenario you may fall over for 5 minutes to your backup pool.

EDIT: Completed uneventfully. I'll be watching it closely for a few hours to make sure no new problem comes up.

You are a genius. Period. Smiley
urcia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
January 14, 2015, 01:22:41 PM
 #796

I'll be bouncing the pool shortly to incorporate the latest ckpool code changes. As ram is tight on the VPS, the code changes which will improve memory usage further over time are becoming more relevant so I figure it's time. Assuming all goes well, most of you will not notice any interruption to mining, though worst case scenario you may fall over for 5 minutes to your backup pool.

EDIT: Completed uneventfully. I'll be watching it closely for a few hours to make sure no new problem comes up.

Are your pool running correctly? I can not reach from my two miners and the hash rate report doesn't show update...

EDIT: The pool came back! Thank you!!!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 14, 2015, 01:24:14 PM
 #797

Are your pool running correctly? I can not reach from my two miners and the hash rate report doesn't show update...
Yep the new binary just went down, sorry. Restarted the old one while I investigate why.

EDIT: Running the new one to try and get a crash dump and if it fails it should automatically revert to the old one so mining should be only minimally interrupted.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
urcia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
January 14, 2015, 01:29:03 PM
 #798

Are your pool running correctly? I can not reach from my two miners and the hash rate report doesn't show update...
Yep the new binary just went down, sorry. Restarted the old one while I investigate why.

Thank you so much for your prompt action Cheesy
cisahasa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


View Profile
January 14, 2015, 05:44:38 PM
 #799

Blocks finds have been taking way too long. I'm stuck at 75 & 41 confirmations - and i'm going to loose 250Th of Hashing power  Cry Cry

hope you sold your coins before this shit started..

ads2003uk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162


View Profile WWW
January 14, 2015, 06:36:26 PM
 #800

Blocks finds have been taking way too long. I'm stuck at 75 & 41 confirmations - and i'm going to loose 250Th of Hashing power  Cry Cry

hope you sold your coins before this shit started..

Out of 75 I've 40left. sold 20 rest 15 I've invested..

It's only a little drop nothing to worry about - It's a kind of trend and will be back up soon.

5 Blocks found by renting rigs @ http://tinyurl.com/qencw96
Free BitCoins every hour http://tinyurl.com/zdwezeo
Free Bitcoin Slots @ http://tinyurl.com/freeBTCslots
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 ... 377 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!