Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:46:27 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 ... 129 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Cairnsmore1 - Quad XC6SLX150 Board  (Read 251267 times)
rampone
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 339


dafq is goin on


View Profile
June 13, 2012, 08:02:17 AM
 #581

drivers? The FTDI driver from the chip manufacturer's website did not install. I have something here that is kinda bored Wink

 Grin

http://virwox.com - Bitcoins via CCard, Skrill, paysafe, paypal & SEPA
Convert your bitcoin into spendable fiat money in less than 2 days. Poker Players use this method to avoid "unnecessary trouble" with the country they live in ... PM me for details. +1:naz86,b4nana,tinua,smart1986,fhh
1481107587
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107587

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107587
Reply with quote  #2

1481107587
Report to moderator
1481107587
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107587

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107587
Reply with quote  #2

1481107587
Report to moderator
1481107587
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107587

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107587
Reply with quote  #2

1481107587
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481107587
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107587

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107587
Reply with quote  #2

1481107587
Report to moderator
yohan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
June 13, 2012, 03:30:34 PM
 #582

The USB drivers are now available on http://www.enterpoint.co.uk/cairnsmore/cairnsmore1_support_materials.html.

We are expecting tomorrow, or Friday, to make 2 CGminer extensions available. The first runs the 50MHz build over 4 FPGAs. The second uses only the first 2 FPGAs with an Icarus bitstream at 190MHz so more or less standard level performance on 2 chips.

Also aiming for tomorrow, or Friday, is our VM front end that will be used for the programmer function.
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


View Profile
June 13, 2012, 03:47:19 PM
 #583

It looks like in those pictures that the UP/DOWN connectors are just two row 0.1" IDC connectors. Is that right?
yohan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
June 13, 2012, 04:22:37 PM
 #584

Yes that's all they are. Nothing complicated.
rampone
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 339


dafq is goin on


View Profile
June 13, 2012, 04:31:18 PM
 #585

Yohan, thanks for the driver, but I cannot get it to hash with normal cgminer and the com ports (icarus detect: failed to open com 20). At least something.

The thing is: bitcoin mining is a race. And if I do not drive at all, that is not good. I calculated getting the first board and hashing the shipping cost until more boards arrive. Even slowly would be good. I do not see a slow bitstream as a fail, I see a board shipped via express not hashing as a fail.

Not major fail, as the hardware seems fine, but not a minor fail.. Wink

(should we open up a cairnsmore "sofware/bitstream/support" thread and keep this clean for hardware/shipping development?)

Any other cairnsmorer luckier than me?


http://virwox.com - Bitcoins via CCard, Skrill, paysafe, paypal & SEPA
Convert your bitcoin into spendable fiat money in less than 2 days. Poker Players use this method to avoid "unnecessary trouble" with the country they live in ... PM me for details. +1:naz86,b4nana,tinua,smart1986,fhh
Gomeler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 635



View Profile
June 13, 2012, 04:32:35 PM
 #586

Received my board. Sounds like it is a pretty paperweight for the next few days  Grin Looks good though and I look forward to getting it up and running, even at only 50 MHz.

roomservice
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 190



View Profile
June 13, 2012, 04:38:38 PM
 #587

The thing is: bitcoin mining is a race. And if I do not drive at all, that is not good. I calculated getting the first board and hashing the shipping cost until more boards arrive. Even slowly would be good. I do not see a slow bitstream as a fail, I see a board shipped via express not hashing as a fail.

Not major fail, as the hardware seems fine, but not a minor fail.. Wink

Please read the opening post of this thread and rethink your statement. Everyone who ordered a board for initial price know about the fact that no benchmarking and no mining software would be available from the start.

We have listened to your comments on Merrick6 (see other thread) and are going to create a board specifically for Bitcoin with 4 XC6SLX150-2FGGG484C FPGAs. The price guaranteed until the end of June 2012 is GBP £400 / USD 640 / 520 Euros (plus tax and shipping). We are selling at the cost to manufacture price until we do the work of benchmarking it and check it working with the Bitcoin interface software. After we complete the benchmarking/software work the price will increase by 50% to cover our costs in doing this work and general support.

yohan and his team doing a great job Smiley

"Tonight's the night. And it's going to happen again, and again. It has to happen. Nice night."
rampone
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 339


dafq is goin on


View Profile
June 13, 2012, 04:48:17 PM
 #588

roomservice, I know how the board was intended and read everything from the beginning.
I am in no way saying that enterpoint is not doing a great job...

I will try further, maybe i am just too dumb, at least with the drivers you can get to the board Wink

http://virwox.com - Bitcoins via CCard, Skrill, paysafe, paypal & SEPA
Convert your bitcoin into spendable fiat money in less than 2 days. Poker Players use this method to avoid "unnecessary trouble" with the country they live in ... PM me for details. +1:naz86,b4nana,tinua,smart1986,fhh
rampone
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 339


dafq is goin on


View Profile
June 13, 2012, 04:51:17 PM
 #589

Like i said, too dumb Wink

cgminer is working ight now, 1st share!!! Wink  Ill try further.

Weee Wink

http://virwox.com - Bitcoins via CCard, Skrill, paysafe, paypal & SEPA
Convert your bitcoin into spendable fiat money in less than 2 days. Poker Players use this method to avoid "unnecessary trouble" with the country they live in ... PM me for details. +1:naz86,b4nana,tinua,smart1986,fhh
rampone
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 339


dafq is goin on


View Profile
June 13, 2012, 04:57:41 PM
 #590

For all Cairnsmore1 Users:

1. Install the drivers so that the cairnsmore1 SPI, JTAG and Port A / B show up
2. Install the drivers so that the 4 com ports show up
3. run cgminer with commando line: -S "\\.\COM22" -S "\\.\COM23"


(I had com ports 21 to 24, it only started with the two middle ones)

The hashrate displayed by cgminer is way off, but that hash rate is estimated anyway afaik. (380 Mhash/s per "icarus" baord)

6 cairnsmore1 diff1 shares so far and counting

I take my major fail/minor fail totally back Wink

http://virwox.com - Bitcoins via CCard, Skrill, paysafe, paypal & SEPA
Convert your bitcoin into spendable fiat money in less than 2 days. Poker Players use this method to avoid "unnecessary trouble" with the country they live in ... PM me for details. +1:naz86,b4nana,tinua,smart1986,fhh
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 13, 2012, 05:50:21 PM
 #591

For all Cairnsmore1 Users:

1. Install the drivers so that the cairnsmore1 SPI, JTAG and Port A / B show up
2. Install the drivers so that the 4 com ports show up
3. run cgminer with commando line: -S "\\.\COM22" -S "\\.\COM23"


(I had com ports 21 to 24, it only started with the two middle ones)

The hashrate displayed by cgminer is way off, but that hash rate is estimated anyway afaik. (380 Mhash/s per "icarus" baord)

6 cairnsmore1 diff1 shares so far and counting

I take my major fail/minor fail totally back Wink
If you read the FPGA-README it will tell you how to correct the hash rate with the --icarus-timing option
I wrote --icarus-timing for this exact reason.
Or ... come visit FreeNode IRC #cgminer ... and I'll help ... except it's now almost 4am and I'm going to sleep - so maybe later when I wake up Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
phantomnecro
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
June 13, 2012, 06:21:53 PM
 #592

For all Cairnsmore1 Users:

1. Install the drivers so that the cairnsmore1 SPI, JTAG and Port A / B show up
2. Install the drivers so that the 4 com ports show up
3. run cgminer with commando line: -S "\\.\COM22" -S "\\.\COM23"


(I had com ports 21 to 24, it only started with the two middle ones)

The hashrate displayed by cgminer is way off, but that hash rate is estimated anyway afaik. (380 Mhash/s per "icarus" baord)

6 cairnsmore1 diff1 shares so far and counting

I take my major fail/minor fail totally back Wink

Are you using a stock cgminer? I've got mine installed but cgminer is saying test Failed on comm port with get 00000000, should: 000187a2
rampone
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 339


dafq is goin on


View Profile
June 13, 2012, 06:23:05 PM
 #593

try the other com ports, i had 4 com ports. i chose the 2nd and 3rd one (the middle). yes, stock windows cgminer 2.4.2 combined with a 7970


I will post a video, trying to install it on a computer step by step

http://virwox.com - Bitcoins via CCard, Skrill, paysafe, paypal & SEPA
Convert your bitcoin into spendable fiat money in less than 2 days. Poker Players use this method to avoid "unnecessary trouble" with the country they live in ... PM me for details. +1:naz86,b4nana,tinua,smart1986,fhh
daemonic
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
June 13, 2012, 07:33:56 PM
 #594

rampone/kano, thanks for the pointers above, im now mining away in icarus mode;

Code:
cgminer.exe -o http://xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx:xxxx -u xxxxxxxxx -p xxxxxxxxx --disable-gpu -S "\\.\COM22" -S "\\.\COM23" --icarus-timing=short
Code:
cgminer version 2.4.2 - Started: [2012-06-13 20:21:48]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):968.3 (avg):689.6 Mh/s | Q:16  A:9  R:0  HW:0  E:56%  U:1.7/m
 TQ: 2  ST: 3  SS: 0  DW: 2  NB: 2  LW: 62  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to http://xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx:xxxx with LP as user xxxxxxxxx
 Block: 00000a82d52e60e136003fbe9fa2fc95...  Started: [20:26:46]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 ICA 0:                | 354.7/349.5Mh/s | A:3 R:0 HW:0 U:0.58/m
 ICA 1:                | 304.8/340.0Mh/s | A:6 R:0 HW:0 U:1.15/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Lethos
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


Keep it Simple. Every Bit Matters.


View Profile WWW
June 13, 2012, 07:40:44 PM
 #595

Great to see this progress, makes me so eager to see mine soon.

Lethos Designs | UK BTC Seller -  Local Bitcoins | BTC OTC Rating | 1EFhXfX9uXsbXBF3LC69GiVfS3SHCsyMR1
FPGA: 2x Quad XC6SLX150 Boards
Gomeler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 635



View Profile
June 13, 2012, 08:11:46 PM
 #596

Awesome. Look forward to setting my board up tonight.

ebereon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 407


View Profile
June 13, 2012, 08:13:36 PM
 #597

I don't have any luck with mine.

Code:
[2012-06-13 22:02:56] Started cgminer 2.4.2
[2012-06-13 22:02:56] Loaded configuration file cgminer.conf
[2012-06-13 22:02:56] Icarus Detect: Test failed at \\.\COM20: get 00000000, should: 000187a2
[2012-06-13 22:02:56] Icarus Detect: Test failed at \\.\COM21: get 00000000, should: 000187a2
[2012-06-13 22:02:56] Icarus Detect: Test failed at \\.\COM22: get 00000000, should: 000187a2
[2012-06-13 22:02:56] Icarus Detect: Test failed at \\.\COM23: get 00000000, should: 000187a2

Commandline: --disable-gpu -S "\\.\COM20" -S "\\.\COM21" -S "\\.\COM22" -S "\\.\COM23" --icarus-timing=short
Tried also every Com alone

Win7 x64 Ult.
cgmine 2.4.2 stock win binary
Drivers installed,  cairnsmore1 SPI, JTAG and Port A / B and 4x USB Comms Port 20 - 23

Com22 and Com23 turn off the orange led from the two fpga's near to the connectors if i start cgminer. after a minute or so the led's from both turn on again with all colors like when i turn on the power (atx psu) and change in to orange again.

can anyone help?
Zubilica
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 827



View Profile
June 13, 2012, 08:18:55 PM
 #598

Install ati \sdk then try again

ebereon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 407


View Profile
June 13, 2012, 08:35:44 PM
 #599

Install ati \sdk then try again

sry but i don't know why this should help with detecting icarus on COM Ports Huh

Readme from cgmine says:
Code:
AMD APP SDK http://developer.amd.com/sdks/AMDAPPSDK
(This sdk is mandatory for GPU mining)
AMD ADL SDK http://developer.amd.com/sdks/ADLSDK
(This sdk is mandatory for ATI GPU monitoring & clocking)

daemonic
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
June 13, 2012, 09:10:04 PM
 #600

ebereon,

I have Vista SP2 on this laptop atm, and have done the same as yourself;

1) i installed the latest catalyst drivers from http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/Pages/index.aspx (Desktop Graphics -> Radeon HD Series -> Radeon HD 6xxx Series -> Win Vista 32 Bit), this was purely to satisfy the missing OpenCL.dll error on cgminer start.

2) Connected usb of cairnsmore1 and installed the drivers for Port A/B, SPI, JTAG, COM20-23.

3) Opened a command prompt as Admin, (so as to make sure there wouldnt be any com port access issues)

4) Navigated and ran cgminer as below;
Code:
cgminer.exe -o http://xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx:xxxx -u xxxxxxxxx -p xxxxxxxxx --disable-gpu -S "\\.\COM22" -S "\\.\COM23" --icarus-timing=short

As you have experienced, the 2 yellow led's closest to the usb/power turn off, but for me cgminer then starts chugging along. the blue led seems to flash when a share is found.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 ... 129 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!