Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 07:55:56 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 ... 129 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Cairnsmore1 - Quad XC6SLX150 Board  (Read 251240 times)
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
June 16, 2012, 10:14:28 PM
 #681

MPBM is the cgminer of the FPGA world.
I've heard of it yes.
cgminer is for GPUs and should stay that way.
I don't see why. Because trying to make a software the cooks popcorn as well as mining on your rabbit will be ultimate failure. Just stick to one thing only.
Now every time he releases an update I have to download some bogus bitstream crap I will never ever use.
I'm not sure I understand. 4MB included shitty ztex bitstream in the binaries so every time new cgminer comes out i have to download crappy 4mb downloads instead of 0.7 mb before it !
MPBM got backup pool, bitstream upload, switches MHz ( dynamic overclocking ) basically it rocks for FPGAs and cgminer is bogus for FPGA.
  • cgminer has backup pools in one of its multiple pool support modes (in fact it's the default).
  • Bitstream upload, I don't know about.
  • Switches MHz, IIRC I've seen users of cgminer discussing how it works, so it surely is included.
NO. cgminer cannot adjust fpga frequency on the fly depending on error rate like mpbm. cgminer only does clock adjusting for GPUs afaik so NO.
[/list]
Has cgminer backup pools support was the main reason why I switched from DiabloMiner 10 months ago, I very much doubt you know cgminer enough to help me form my opinion if you cite this as an advantage for MPBM...
How would I know with 2 4*5870 rigs running cgminer 2.4.3 custom  Roll Eyes
1481054156
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481054156

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481054156
Reply with quote  #2

1481054156
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481054156
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481054156

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481054156
Reply with quote  #2

1481054156
Report to moderator
TheHarbinger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


Why is it so damn hot in here?


View Profile
June 16, 2012, 10:30:26 PM
 #682

    MPBM is the cgminer of the FPGA world.
    I've heard of it yes.
    cgminer is for GPUs and should stay that way.
    I don't see why. Because trying to make a software the cooks popcorn as well as mining on your rabbit will be ultimate failure. Just stick to one thing only.
    Now every time he releases an update I have to download some bogus bitstream crap I will never ever use.
    I'm not sure I understand. 4MB included shitty ztex bitstream in the binaries so every time new cgminer comes out i have to download crappy 4mb downloads instead of 0.7 mb before it !
    MPBM got backup pool, bitstream upload, switches MHz ( dynamic overclocking ) basically it rocks for FPGAs and cgminer is bogus for FPGA.
    • cgminer has backup pools in one of its multiple pool support modes (in fact it's the default).
    • Bitstream upload, I don't know about.
    • Switches MHz, IIRC I've seen users of cgminer discussing how it works, so it surely is included.
    NO. cgminer cannot adjust fpga frequency on the fly depending on error rate like mpbm. cgminer only does clock adjusting for GPUs afaik so NO.
    [/list]
    Has cgminer backup pools support was the main reason why I switched from DiabloMiner 10 months ago, I very much doubt you know cgminer enough to help me form my opinion if you cite this as an advantage for MPBM...
    How would I know with 2 4*5870 rigs running cgminer 2.4.3 custom my mom's laptop running GUIminer Roll Eyes

    There, fixed that for you.

    12Um6jfDE7q6crm1s6tSksMvda8s1hZ3Vj
    kano
    Legendary
    *
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 1918


    Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


    View Profile
    June 16, 2012, 10:46:54 PM
     #683

    The only change in the "driver-cairnsmore.c" code (other than copying the icarus 2.3.4 code and changing the text everywhere to say cairnsmore instead of icarus) was to change the serial speed to 57600 instead of 115200
    (and no idea why but they did that to the icarus driver also)

    I have no idea if that even fixes anything - but the code will certainly report the MH/s wrong and if it doesn't run exactly the same MH/s speed as an icarus Rev3 it could have other issues (2.3.4 is quite old in the FPGA arena ...)

    Again as I wrote in here many pages back, the whole point of the --icarus-timing option was to deal with devices with different speeds to the standard icarus Rev3 (but pretending to be an icarus Rev3)

    I even provided that without ANY compensation at all (from anyone with any FPGA Tongue) so all they needed to say was cairnsmore needs the Serial/USB to be 57600 (if that is even true?)

    If it's not needed then the current cgminer 2.4.2/3 should be able to mine with the correct --icarus-timing options

    (edit: and yes 2.3.4 doesn't have --icarus-timing)

    Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
    CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
    Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
    ebereon
    Sr. Member
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 407


    View Profile
    June 16, 2012, 10:51:03 PM
     #684

    Got it now running with standard cgminer 2.4.3 with SW6 1 = off, 234 on  (no --icarus-timing option)

    But EP-cgminer wont work now...
    and the other way around.

    So at my board SW6 dip 1 changes the possibility of standard cgminer or the enterpoint one.

    I use now the standard cgminer.
    kano
    Legendary
    *
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 1918


    Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


    View Profile
    June 16, 2012, 11:05:44 PM
     #685

    If it is actually working fine, then '--icarus-timing short' should also ensure it works out the correct timing for reporting the hash rate and for minimising waits between work

    'waits' should be almost zero, but if the default values are wrong they could be sizeable depending on the FPGA performance

    Also note (as it says in FPGA-README) '--icarus-timing short' needs the computer to be 'quiet', other than cgminer, to make sure it gets the numbers right

    Once it has the right 2 numbers you can feed that into cgminer every other time you run it and not need to run the 'short' timing mode

    Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
    CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
    Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
    ebereon
    Sr. Member
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 407


    View Profile
    June 16, 2012, 11:19:34 PM
     #686

    thanks kano!

    mpbm works also with the icarus miner, just change the bautrate to 57600 as kano has described. SW6 = 1234 ON
    Doff
    Sr. Member
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 327


    View Profile
    June 17, 2012, 12:01:03 AM
     #687

    Works fine in windows, I just wish I could figure out what Linux wants to communicate with it. I couldn't get mpbm working with it either. I still think I have a driver issue even though the ttyUSB0-4 are all showing up properly, and the drivers look good in lsmod.
    kano
    Legendary
    *
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 1918


    Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


    View Profile
    June 17, 2012, 01:10:20 AM
     #688

    Works fine in windows, I just wish I could figure out what Linux wants to communicate with it. I couldn't get mpbm working with it either. I still think I have a driver issue even though the ttyUSB0-4 are all showing up properly, and the drivers look good in lsmod.
    As ebereon worked out - try changing SW6 1 (that, I guess, changes the baud rate?)

    The real cgminer uses 115200 in the icarus code

    Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
    CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
    Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
    Luke-Jr
    Legendary
    *
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 2086



    View Profile
    June 17, 2012, 02:03:47 AM
     #689

    mpbm works also with the icarus miner, just change the bautrate to 56000 as kano has described. SW6 = 1234 ON
    Tried that and still getting:  "could not open port /dev\ttyUSB0: [Error 3] The system cannot find the path specified.

    Help?
    Learn what a slash is, and what a backslash is.

    -ck
    Moderator
    Legendary
    *
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 1988


    Ruu \o/


    View Profile WWW
    June 17, 2012, 03:55:13 AM
     #690

    Ok CGminer (windows) is back and with source code.
    Thank you very much. Please also include the license COPYING file with the binary when you next re-package it. It seems to be trivial enough to add support for this device to the main cgminer codebase.

    Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
    Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
    -ck
    testconpastas2
    Full Member
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 199



    View Profile
    June 17, 2012, 05:10:29 AM
     #691

    Ok CGminer (windows) is back and with source code.
    Thank you very much. Please also include the license COPYING file with the binary when you next re-package it. It seems to be trivial enough to add support for this device to the main cgminer codebase.

    good news it seems cairnsmore1 is going to be added to the main cgminer Smiley

    Bitmessage: BM-2DAetLWJBKWHZoPbNCgg5z8jwaPpDYWwd4
    gpg key id:C6EF5CE3
    Doff
    Sr. Member
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 327


    View Profile
    June 17, 2012, 05:43:27 AM
     #692

    Works fine in windows, I just wish I could figure out what Linux wants to communicate with it. I couldn't get mpbm working with it either. I still think I have a driver issue even though the ttyUSB0-4 are all showing up properly, and the drivers look good in lsmod.
    As ebereon worked out - try changing SW6 1 (that, I guess, changes the baud rate?)

    The real cgminer uses 115200 in the icarus code

    That did the trick thanks Eb and Kano!

    Doff
    yohan
    Sr. Member
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 448



    View Profile
    June 17, 2012, 06:27:27 AM
     #693

    Remember this is still only an temporary release of CGminer. It isn't much changed from the standard but there is more to come as we enable the extra hardware features that Cairnsmore1 has.
    kano
    Legendary
    *
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 1918


    Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


    View Profile
    June 17, 2012, 06:43:39 AM
     #694

    Well at the moment - in reality - it is just a single number changed and that is all.
    ... and that seems to be avoidable by switching SW6/1

    So I'd guess that these new options might take a while ... longer ... to appear ...

    Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
    CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
    Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
    Keninishna
    Hero Member
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 551



    View Profile WWW
    June 17, 2012, 10:25:25 AM
     #695

    Well at the moment - in reality - it is just a single number changed and that is all.
    ... and that seems to be avoidable by switching SW6/1

    So I'd guess that these new options might take a while ... longer ... to appear ...

    using --icarus-timing=short on standard cgminer release works as well without any other changes. For me at least.
    norulezapply
    Sr. Member
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 475


    View Profile
    June 17, 2012, 10:32:30 AM
     #696

    Apologies for being a bit late to the party - I got my second board a few days ago now.



    I noticed the dip switches are set differently on each board. Haven't figured those out yet. Just going to play around with them now.

    Also apologies for the poor image quality, but camera phones are fast and easy!

    EDIT: I matched the dip switches on the top board with the bottom board and now the first 2 FPGAs on each board are hashing correctly with stock cgminer. Haven't figured out how to get all 4 FPGAs hashing on each board yet.

    My dip switch settings
    SW1 = 1111
    SW6 = 0111
    Front FPGAs = 1111
    Back FPGAs = 0111


    EDIT: 100Mh/s each. Anyone managed higher than this yet?

    If my post helped, I'll happily accept a few bitmills!   15rGg6A1JFZV3b7TTbtpAaiYGdUD1e1oAm
    gyverlb
    Hero Member
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 896



    View Profile
    June 17, 2012, 12:15:05 PM
     #697

    Apologies for being a bit late to the party - I got my second board a few days ago now.
    So I assume multiple boards delivery is beginning ? I'm a little worried as I've not been contacted yet for ordering and I pre-ordered 2 boards. Hope I've not been forgotten.

    P2pool tuning guide
    Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
    Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
    TheHarbinger
    Sr. Member
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 378


    Why is it so damn hot in here?


    View Profile
    June 17, 2012, 12:23:29 PM
     #698

    Apologies for being a bit late to the party - I got my second board a few days ago now.
    So I assume multiple boards delivery is beginning ? I'm a little worried as I've not been contacted yet for ordering and I pre-ordered 2 boards. Hope I've not been forgotten.

    It all depends on when you ordered.  You got an e-mail with an approximate shipping time.

    Me, I don't get mine until mid July.  I'm not mad, that gives them time to figure out how I'm going to pay with BTC.

    12Um6jfDE7q6crm1s6tSksMvda8s1hZ3Vj
    gyverlb
    Hero Member
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 896



    View Profile
    June 17, 2012, 12:35:10 PM
     #699

    It all depends on when you ordered.  You got an e-mail with an approximate shipping time.
    Quote
    Your pre-order is confirmed at GBP £400 / USD 640 / 520 Euros (plus tax and shipping) per unit. We will update you on the delivery schedule in 2-3 weeks time but it is likely to be mid-June.

    The shipping on 2 units will be about GBP £30 / 39€ + VAT(20%). We don't have exact costing yet as we don't have a final weight for the unit but it won't be far off that number.…

    Mid-june is just about now :-) I don't mind waiting a bit, but would appreciate an update. I preferred to wait for the 2 units to ship together so I'm probably delayed by some time, but it's not clear to me by how much.

    P2pool tuning guide
    Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
    Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
    yohan
    Sr. Member
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 448



    View Profile
    June 17, 2012, 01:59:37 PM
     #700

    On June orders we are currently about 1 week behind the indicated schedule. However I am hoping that this week all of our lines will step up a big notch and we will start to recover our delivery timescales back to where we should be. We will know a bit more once we have analysed last weeks performance and we get a view on this week's progress. We did make a very big improvement in efficiency this week and I hope that will show in the coming week.

    We do think we have a small stall coming in the first week of July so output will maybe down that week but then we should have 2 very good weeks of output before summer holidays reduce our output in the last week of July and then the very low output for August.

    So for the moment your order indications probably won't be far from the actual delivery dates.

    Yohan
    Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 ... 129 »
      Print  
     
    Jump to:  

    Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
    Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!