Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 09:42:13 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 ... 129 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Cairnsmore1 - Quad XC6SLX150 Board  (Read 251384 times)
daemonic
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
June 20, 2012, 09:09:18 PM
 #781

I managed to get it to work first time by having SW1/SW6 all on for the programming, then for my cgminer to work, i had to switch SW6 1 off again.

preliminary stats from cgminer API looks like 380MH/s from each PGA??. (1 / 2.632e-9 = 379.93)

So to program, i had to have the same settings as atsoat;

Code:
SW6 1 off, 234 on [ I actually had 1 on during programming, but not sure if this was necessary]
SW1 all on

SW2 (PGA 0) all on
SW3 (PGA 1) 12 off, 34 on
SW4 (PGA 2) 12 off, 34 on
SW5 (PGA 3) all on

details from cginer API;
Code:
  [read_count] => 112
   [fullnonce] => 11.320125
   [count] => 2
   [Hs] => 0.000000002632127

so icarus-timing option would be 2.632=112 from what i learnt from kano Smiley
1481319733
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319733

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319733
Reply with quote  #2

1481319733
Report to moderator
1481319733
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319733

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319733
Reply with quote  #2

1481319733
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481319733
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319733

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319733
Reply with quote  #2

1481319733
Report to moderator
1481319733
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319733

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319733
Reply with quote  #2

1481319733
Report to moderator
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
June 20, 2012, 09:12:24 PM
 #782

You guys got it writing to the SPI flash too?

No,

just reprogrammed FPGA0 and FPGA3 without making this permanent.

spiccioli

atsoat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
June 20, 2012, 09:14:53 PM
 #783

You guys got it writing to the SPI flash too?

I've done the first part successfully but when I'm trying to write to SPI flash I get "Unknown JDEC manufacturer: ff"
"ISF bitfile probably not loaded"

Not sure if I need to change the DIP switches to the ones in twin_test.bit now? Do I do the first part then change my DIP switches to match the "twin_test.bit" PDF file ones whilst it's still turned on or something?

No. I get the same error as you when trying the SPI flash.
norulezapply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475


View Profile
June 20, 2012, 09:19:45 PM
 #784

You guys got it writing to the SPI flash too?

No,

just reprogrammed FPGA0 and FPGA3 without making this permanent.

spiccioli



Do you change the DIP settings back to "normal mode" after flashing?

If my post helped, I'll happily accept a few bitmills!   15rGg6A1JFZV3b7TTbtpAaiYGdUD1e1oAm
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
June 20, 2012, 09:21:39 PM
 #785

I managed to get it to work first time by having SW1/SW6 all on for the programming, then for my cgminer to work, i had to switch SW1 1 off again.

preliminary stats from cgminer API looks like 260MH/s from each PGA.


Ok Smiley

Mpbm shows a wrong speed as well, it's telling me that each FPGA is hashing at 378 MH/s, but my pool sees them both at around 280 MH/s

spiccioli
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
June 20, 2012, 09:24:09 PM
 #786

You guys got it writing to the SPI flash too?

No,

just reprogrammed FPGA0 and FPGA3 without making this permanent.

spiccioli



Do you change the DIP settings back to "normal mode" after flashing?

Yes norulez,

as per twin_test.pdf page 1.

spiccioli
daemonic
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
June 20, 2012, 09:26:07 PM
 #787

@norulezapply, to program, i had;

SW6 all on
SW1 all on
SW2 (PGA 0) all on
SW3 (PGA 1) 12 off, 34 on
SW4 (PGA 2) 12 off, 34 on
SW5 (PGA 3) all on
(as per progamming operation from virtual box, but ignoring the SW1 3 off)

then to use standard cgminer, i switched SW6 1 off;

SW6 1 off, 234 on
SW1 all on
SW2 (PGA 0) all on
SW3 (PGA 1) 12 off, 34 on
SW4 (PGA 2) 12 off, 34 on
SW5 (PGA 3) all on
(as per normal operation)

(this is for twin_test.bit)
norulezapply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475


View Profile
June 20, 2012, 09:27:11 PM
 #788

Okay thank you! I didn't know whether or not it was safe to change the DIP switches whilst the device is still switched on

If my post helped, I'll happily accept a few bitmills!   15rGg6A1JFZV3b7TTbtpAaiYGdUD1e1oAm
daemonic
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
June 20, 2012, 09:38:14 PM
 #789

you could probably use enterpoints cgminer build and not have to switch the SW1 #1 DIP as i believe that switches between 115,200 and 57,600 baud rates.

default cgminer uses 115,200, enterpoints build used 57,600
norulezapply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475


View Profile
June 20, 2012, 10:09:48 PM
 #790

you could probably use enterpoints cgminer build and not have to switch the SW1 #1 DIP as i believe that switches between 115,200 and 57,600 baud rates.

default cgminer uses 115,200, enterpoints build used 57,600

I've got 3 out of 4 running on MPBM now so no need Smiley

If my post helped, I'll happily accept a few bitmills!   15rGg6A1JFZV3b7TTbtpAaiYGdUD1e1oAm
norulezapply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475


View Profile
June 20, 2012, 10:28:11 PM
 #791

you could probably use enterpoints cgminer build and not have to switch the SW1 #1 DIP as i believe that switches between 115,200 and 57,600 baud rates.

default cgminer uses 115,200, enterpoints build used 57,600

I've got 3 out of 4 running on MPBM now so no need Smiley
Can you post your switch settings?

Why isn't the 4th one working?

I'm using the "Normal mode" settings from the twin_test PDF.

I don't know why the 4th one isn't working. When I say the 4th one, I mean the 2nd one on my 2nd board. My 1st board works fine.

If my post helped, I'll happily accept a few bitmills!   15rGg6A1JFZV3b7TTbtpAaiYGdUD1e1oAm
ebereon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 407


View Profile
June 20, 2012, 10:42:19 PM
 #792

For me only temporary is working, can not programm with SPI.

I got 280 - 350 Mh/s on p2pool.

If someone is interessted in my changed icarusworker.py from mpbm, here is the download:
http://content.wuala.com/contents/ebereon/Shared/bitcoin/mpbm_changed/icarusworker.py?dl=1edit: made a own worker, see https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=78239.msg978580#msg978580

I changed the calculation of the "self.stats.mhps" in line 329. I just divided it by 2. The mpbm is checking the reported Mh/s from the device and calculate the job interval. In the normal file it calculates 380Mh/s per fpga, but we know this is not correct it's just 190 or so. So the job interval is wrong and every job is canceled to early. That's what i changed in the file. The displayed Mh/s is now also correct.

I hope it helps someone  Wink
ebereon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 407


View Profile
June 20, 2012, 10:48:05 PM
 #793

For me only temporary is working, can not programm with SPI.

I got 280 - 350 Mh/s on p2pool.

If someone is interessted in my changed icarusworker.py from mpbm, here is the download:
http://content.wuala.com/contents/ebereon/Shared/bitcoin/mpbm_changed/icarusworker.py?dl=1

I changed the calculation of the "self.stats.mhps" in line 329. I just divided it by 2. The mpbm is checking the reported Mh/s from the device and calculate the job interval. In the normal file it calculates 380Mh/s per fpga, but we know this is not correct it's just 190 or so. So the job interval is wrong and every job is canceled to early. That's what i changed in the file. The displayed Mh/s is now also correct.

I hope it helps someone  Wink

You can also change it in your file, just search for "self.stats.mhps = nonceval / 500000. / delta" and change it to "self.stats.mhps = (nonceval / 500000. / delta) / 2"
ebereon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 407


View Profile
June 20, 2012, 10:58:25 PM
 #794

Awesome!!

Also can somebody seed the .ova file via torrent?

For some reason I keep getting cut from the direct download site.

Thanks!

I uploading it to wuala, will take some minutes.
http://www.wuala.com/ebereon/Shared/bitcoin/cairnmore1/

@yohan: If you don't want that your files uploaded on other sides, please give me a message, i will delete it  Wink
norulezapply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475


View Profile
June 20, 2012, 10:59:10 PM
 #795

Ah gotcha.  So really 3 of 8?

Yes, 3 out of 8 Smiley Gets a bit confusing talking about FPGAs and boards in the same sentence

If my post helped, I'll happily accept a few bitmills!   15rGg6A1JFZV3b7TTbtpAaiYGdUD1e1oAm
LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
June 20, 2012, 11:01:04 PM
 #796

...I changed the calculation of the "self.stats.mhps" ...

You can also change it in your file ...
NOTE: I don't have an FPGA miner, yet, so I'm asking from general interest.

However, question, what about if you have a Quad XC connected and a BFL Single (or one of the other FPGAs currently available) connected?

Does fixing the Quad with this tweak break the other(s)?
ebereon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 407


View Profile
June 20, 2012, 11:07:28 PM
 #797

...I changed the calculation of the "self.stats.mhps" ...

You can also change it in your file ...
NOTE: I don't have an FPGA miner, yet, so I'm asking from general interest.

However, question, what about if you have a Quad XC connected and a BFL Single (or one of the other FPGAs currently available) connected?

Does fixing the Quad with this tweak break the other(s)?

It's only a change in the icarusworker.py, so yes it will break working correctly with an icarus board. Others have there own files and should not get affected except the icarus. I wish TheSeven would make a own mpbm worker for the cairnsmore1 board, but i think we have to wait until this board work as it should. This is only a temporary solution!
LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
June 20, 2012, 11:30:15 PM
 #798

This is only a temporary solution!
And I think it is a fine temporary solution.  Smiley

Was merely asking for clarification. Which you provided, thank you.
nedbert9
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252

Inactive


View Profile
June 20, 2012, 11:32:32 PM
 #799


@Yohan.  

Many people, including myself, are impressed with your operation.

I'm curious.  If a semi-community funded ASIC solution were to come to fruition, where the chips could be had for a fair rate, would you find a business of producing rackmount/high capacity systems attractive?


I'm testing the waters for a possible synergistic effort.  

Thanks.
ebereon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 407


View Profile
June 21, 2012, 12:04:46 AM
 #800

Ok for those that work with mpbm, i made a quick change and have made a "cairnsmoreworker" for it! (copy from icarusworker with change)
Download the files here: http://www.wuala.com/ebereon/Shared/bitcoin/mpbm_changed/

Go in mpbm folder "..\mpbm\modules\theseven\", create a new folder named "cairnsmore" and put the files in it. If you restart mpbm you now will see a new worker "theseven.cairnsmore worker v0.1.0beta". It work the same as the icarus worker, but with my change for the job interval i've described earlier. So you can leave the icarusworker file untouched, so icarus boards will also work as befor.  Cheesy

It's a temporary solution and work correct only with the bitstream "twin_test.bit".
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 ... 129 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!