Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 12:03:48 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 ... 129 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Cairnsmore1 - Quad XC6SLX150 Board  (Read 251126 times)
ShadesOfMarble
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 543



View Profile
June 17, 2012, 05:12:19 PM
 #701

I don't know if I missed a statement for this question completely or it has not yet been answered...

What about eldentyrell's ("tricone mining") bitstream? Are you going to support it? Will it be the first bitstream working* with CM? Or are you focusing on your own bitstream?

(* working means more than 700 MH/s)

Review of the Spondoolies-Tech SP10 „Dawson“ Bitcoin miner (1.4 TH/s)

[22:35] <Vinnie_win> Did anyone get paid yet? | [22:36] <Isokivi> pirate did!
1480809828
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480809828

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480809828
Reply with quote  #2

1480809828
Report to moderator
1480809828
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480809828

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480809828
Reply with quote  #2

1480809828
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480809828
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480809828

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480809828
Reply with quote  #2

1480809828
Report to moderator
Entropy-uc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
June 17, 2012, 06:16:07 PM
 #702

I don't know if I missed a statement for this question completely or it has not yet been answered...

What about eldentyrell's ("tricone mining") bitstream? Are you going to support it? Will it be the first bitstream working* with CM? Or are you focusing on your own bitstream?

(* working means more than 700 MH/s)

You really should be asking eldentyrell this question.  Given his plans for a commission structure, it makes no sense for anyone other than himself to work on implementations.
Doff
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327


View Profile
June 17, 2012, 06:47:08 PM
 #703

I am only able to get 2 mining at a time no matter what switches I try. Since I really have no clue what any of them do I'm just blindly guessing anyhow. Eb was able to get 4 mining with his switch configuration a couple pages back, I tried the same and it didn't work for me you might give that a try.

Works fine in windows, I just wish I could figure out what Linux wants to communicate with it. I couldn't get mpbm working with it either. I still think I have a driver issue even though the ttyUSB0-4 are all showing up properly, and the drivers look good in lsmod.
As ebereon worked out - try changing SW6 1 (that, I guess, changes the baud rate?)

The real cgminer uses 115200 in the icarus code

That did the trick thanks Eb and Kano!


Doff
Are you getting results from all 4 fpgas?

If so, can you please post your switch settings for all 6 switches?
ebereon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 407


View Profile
June 17, 2012, 07:01:22 PM
 #704

Turn off the unit (power and usb)

My FPGA switches:
SW2 1234 on
SW3 134 on, 2 off
SW5 1234 on
SW4 134 on, 2 off

SW1 1234 on

SW6 1234 on (runs on mpbm with 57600 baud rate or EP-cgminer)
SW6 1 off, 234 on (runs on stardard cgminer)

Turn on your unit and connect usb, wait until all FPGA led's turn to orange led only, then start your miner software.

If all standard orange led's turn off when you start your miner software, then all 4 running and flashing red from time to time. Blue led turns on short when a share is found.

I hope this helps a bit  Grin

norulezapply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475


View Profile
June 17, 2012, 07:51:12 PM
 #705

Turn off the unit (power and usb)

My FPGA switches:
SW2 1234 on
SW3 134 on, 2 off
SW5 1234 on
SW4 134 on, 2 off

SW1 1234 on

SW6 1234 on (runs on mpbm with 56000 baud rate or EP-cgminer)
SW6 1 off, 234 on (runs on stardard cgminer)

Turn on your unit and connect usb, wait until all FPGA led's turn to orange led only, then start your miner software.

If all standard orange led's turn off when you start your miner software, then all 4 running and flashing red from time to time. Blue led turns on short when a share is found.

I hope this helps a bit  Grin




This works well but for some reason one FPGA shows orange but changes occassionally. Only one FPGA though so I'm unsure as to why.

Getting 100Mh/s per Cairnsmore1 though.

If my post helped, I'll happily accept a few bitmills!   15rGg6A1JFZV3b7TTbtpAaiYGdUD1e1oAm
ebereon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 407


View Profile
June 17, 2012, 07:59:00 PM
 #706

Same on mine and i see in mpbm it produce ~16% invalids  Huh
norulezapply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475


View Profile
June 17, 2012, 08:00:55 PM
 #707

Same on mine and i see in mpbm it produce ~16% invalids  Huh

Same here. Must be a bug with the bitstream/dip switches. I'm looking forward to the single Icarus implementation.

If my post helped, I'll happily accept a few bitmills!   15rGg6A1JFZV3b7TTbtpAaiYGdUD1e1oAm
sadpandatech
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
June 17, 2012, 08:04:52 PM
 #708

I don't know if I missed a statement for this question completely or it has not yet been answered...

What about eldentyrell's ("tricone mining") bitstream? Are you going to support it? Will it be the first bitstream working* with CM? Or are you focusing on your own bitstream?

(* working means more than 700 MH/s)

You really should be asking eldentyrell this question.  Given his plans for a commission structure, it makes no sense for anyone other than himself to work on implementations.

THis may be true and I have sent Elden a PM with no reply so far. I would think Enterpoint would be very inclined to show that their unit is capable of running Eld's bitstream which could potentially run these units at 1100Mh+. That would greatly increase demand for Enterpoint units imho.

If you're not excited by the idea of being an early adopter 'now', then you should come back in three or four years and either tell us "Told you it'd never work!" or join what should, by then, be a much more stable and easier-to-use system. - GA
It is being worked on by smart people. -DamienBlack
steveme
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
June 17, 2012, 08:47:16 PM
 #709

Just read through all 38 pages of this topic and I'm very impressed with the transparency and constant progress updates. It's a more credible alternative to BFL without all the drama they seem to engage in, and good to see a UK company pushing forward this technology.

I'm more than happy to buy in at this early stage, just hope I'm not too late to the party - email sent!

Keep up the good work  Smiley
2112
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile
June 17, 2012, 09:42:23 PM
 #710

The performance version with Ethernet support I don't have a timeline for as yet or a even full specification for as yet. It will come in it's own good time.
I'm very interested for such board. Either with Gigabit Ethernet or PCIe interface, but something with higher bandwidth and lower latency than the USB. At least one chip should be LX150T to achieve that. The chips on the board should be interconnected with each other with whatever means you find cost-efficient to maximize the cross-sectional bandwidth.

If you still haven't fully worked out the dual LX150 board then I urge you to consider connecting every free pin on the Spartans with each other, obeying the differential pair rules.

Thanks.

Please comment, critique, criticize or ridicule BIP 2112: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=54382.0
Long-term mining prognosis: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=91101.0
Doff
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327


View Profile
June 17, 2012, 10:00:53 PM
 #711

Same on mine and i see in mpbm it produce ~16% invalids  Huh

In linux with those settings only one FPGA is running but getting 100mhz, I had two going briefly but it didint last long. Ill take what I can get for now.


Doff
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 17, 2012, 10:10:34 PM
 #712

Is it some sort of USB selection issue?
I think you end up with 4 ttyUSB's (not 100% sure) and if that's the case then you may have to only use 2 of them to get 2 pairs?
So something like:
cgminer -S /dev/ttyUSBx -S /dev/ttyUSBy -S noauto ......
... at a guess ... Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Doff
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327


View Profile
June 17, 2012, 10:20:10 PM
 #713

Yeah you get 4 tty, 2 cgminer doesn't talk to and 2 do. If you do it that way you get 50mhs. I mean obviously EP has the exact way these are going to work, at this point like I said before its just blind fiddling. I'm just going to leave it the way it is for now and take the 100mhs and wait for any updates EP brings later on.

Either way it was fun to see them working.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 17, 2012, 11:41:20 PM
 #714

Oh certainly, yes even I'm not expecting cgminer to use these things anywhere near their capacity for now.
I'm just trying to see them working with what's available at the moment.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
bitcowok
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile
June 18, 2012, 01:01:49 AM
 #715

Recieved my first cairnsmore1 yesterday. Highly impressed with the astonishing development rate, and professional behavior of the company. Keep it up Yohan!

I'll be attempting to get MPBM running under linux with the as shipped bitstream over the next few days.

rampone: please don't be tempted to nag Yohan for bitstreams etc in these early days. In light of their lighting fast dev rate, asking them to hurry up is blatantly ridiculous.
rampone
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 339


dafq is goin on


View Profile
June 18, 2012, 01:36:07 AM
 #716

yawn, I became the bad boy of this thread I guess.  Grin

I had bees in my a.., they died some days ago.

Awesomely quiet the last days from my side, wasn't it? just that temperature question, as I thought about running longterm, I thought of fain failure (even though arctic cooling fan should take a long time and probably majorly depend on how dusty the air is) and asked.

And another point covered by enterpoint already Wink temperature and fanspeed readable

Now I am  thinking more about building a filtered air vented enclosure of some kind. Maybe I start with a board to fasten the boards to, like seen from other people and build sth around it.

Also looking forward to the nightly "led" blinking show, especially lotta blue and hopefully no yellow, seems to mean idle right now Wink, so maybe one side with plexiglass? (If its too bright, I can still cover it later on Wink

And after that its a tp-link 3020n with openwrt as a host for cgminer for the boards. Already had one in my hands, and it pulled i think 2.5 Watts or less from the wall with a 3g usbstick. A bit less without the usb stick.

Maybe I will make or contribute to a howto to become one of the good guys again Wink


http://virwox.com - Bitcoins via CCard, Skrill, paysafe, paypal & SEPA
Convert your bitcoin into spendable fiat money in less than 2 days. Poker Players use this method to avoid "unnecessary trouble" with the country they live in ... PM me for details. +1:naz86,b4nana,tinua,smart1986,fhh
rampone
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 339


dafq is goin on


View Profile
June 18, 2012, 01:52:13 AM
 #717

when started all led near the spartans light up dimmed. after roughly 5 to 10 seconds just the yellow ones come. I guess it means ready/idle/no work, as it goes on after a while when you close cgminer (i guess when the spartans are through with the nonce rage of the workunit).
Also the red ones seem to flash shortly, maybe new received workunit?

(all the while the red one to the power blinks)

I am not sure which ones yohan meant, when he said the red one stands for the frequency. Right now its kind of a secret box, all secrets lifted when the documentation comes around.

Another thing, some people mentioned getting 50MH/s. Is that per "icarus"comport? I have 100Mh/s for both "icarus coms" together (calculated via submitted shares).

Also I read 200Mh/s from someone?


http://virwox.com - Bitcoins via CCard, Skrill, paysafe, paypal & SEPA
Convert your bitcoin into spendable fiat money in less than 2 days. Poker Players use this method to avoid "unnecessary trouble" with the country they live in ... PM me for details. +1:naz86,b4nana,tinua,smart1986,fhh
LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


View Profile
June 18, 2012, 03:20:45 AM
 #718

I *thought* the Icarus bitstream could, was reported as able to, produce 400mh/s from these things while using only two of the four FPGAs. Is no one getting that?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 18, 2012, 03:47:27 AM
 #719

Well, I will add that I've not had anyone come to IRC FreeNode #cgminer who has it hashing and come and ask about the --icarus-timing settings and see if we can make it do better.

I don't have one of these devices and don't expect the people making profit from them will give a rats about me trying to help people with them ... but if someone comes by I'll try help anyway.

But the limit at the moment may not be a timing issue, it may be something else - however I've no idea and also have no details about the device except what everyone here has posted.

(P.S. however if you come to #cgminer right now, unfortunately I have very little time for the next couple of hours - but later should be OK Tongue)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Doff
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327


View Profile
June 18, 2012, 04:17:47 AM
 #720

Well, I will add that I've not had anyone come to IRC FreeNode #cgminer who has it hashing and come and ask about the --icarus-timing settings and see if we can make it do better.

I don't have one of these devices and don't expect the people making profit from them will give a rats about me trying to help people with them ... but if someone comes by I'll try help anyway.

But the limit at the moment may not be a timing issue, it may be something else - however I've no idea and also have no details about the device except what everyone here has posted.

(P.S. however if you come to #cgminer right now, unfortunately I have very little time for the next couple of hours - but later should be OK Tongue)

I actually added the =short timing and had 3 going, but then it killed my real Icarus and I decided to stop everything and start over without the timing setting. I was afraid I might hose my real Icarus, although Im prolly just being a bit paranoid.

I think ill just hold off and see what Enterpoint brings us this week.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 ... 129 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!