Bitcoin Forum
June 23, 2018, 11:13:28 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 1752 1753 1754 1755 1756 1757 1758 1759 1760 1761 1762 1763 1764 1765 1766 1767 1768 1769 1770 1771 1772 1773 1774 1775 1776 1777 1778 1779 1780 1781 1782 1783 1784 1785 1786 1787 1788 1789 1790 1791 1792 1793 1794 1795 1796 1797 1798 1799 1800 1801 [1802] 1803 1804 1805 1806 1807 1808 1809 1810 1811 1812 1813 1814 1815 1816 1817 1818 1819 1820 1821 1822 1823 1824 1825 1826 1827 1828 1829 1830 1831 1832 1833 1834 1835 1836 1837 1838 1839 1840 1841 1842 1843 1844 1845 1846 1847 1848 1849 1850 1851 1852 ... 2101 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [205+PH] KanoPool kano.is 0.9% fee 7 BTC giveaway 🐈 US,UK,JP,NYA,DE,SG  (Read 5151921 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
A.Delaney
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 11


View Profile
February 17, 2018, 04:24:48 AM
 #36021

Yes but why would the fan show it’s running 30k rpm if everything’s is fine? My S9’s ramp up and down. One between 5-6k and the other between 4-5k. Temps are mid 70’s. I don’t think that fan can even spin that high. It has to be a false reading and that would explain why it stops hashing.

Peck. What psu are you using? Have you tried a different one?
1529752408
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529752408

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529752408
Reply with quote  #2

1529752408
Report to moderator
1529752408
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529752408

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529752408
Reply with quote  #2

1529752408
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529752408
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529752408

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529752408
Reply with quote  #2

1529752408
Report to moderator
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492
Merit: 1042


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 17, 2018, 09:50:01 AM
 #36022

Kano, now that you're awake, can you also add a to-do for higher precision percentages amongst the website pages?

Four decimal places would be great since I notice some places it gets rounded to three or even two decimal places.

Thanks, and great work on everything else!
Oh - awake again Smiley
Well I guess so.
Anyway, I've put it on the todo list to look into it.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492
Merit: 1042


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 17, 2018, 10:05:29 AM
 #36023

I think he's just going on the .9% fee, as that is all that kano makes besides his own miners. 
And I have heard directly from Kano that he does not run his miners unless he needs his house warmed up.  All of my discussions with him demonstrates that his primary mission for this site is the heath and future of bitcoin.  And yes, he probably does all right with the fees too - although having close to a dozen servers around the world is also not free.
Heh - there's a lot more than a dozen Smiley

This month I've been spending a lot of BTC on getting the hash rate up ... it's working ... and I'm losing lotsa BTC Cheesy

I've come up with another idea about throwing more BTC at getting the hash rate up - targeted directly at large miners - since we need a number of miners in the 5-10+ PHs range.
Once the accounting is done and verified all OK, I'll sort that idea out.

Of course all this BTC I'm 'throwing away' is BTC I've got from the pool fee, so no better use I can think of it!
... other than paying for servers and so I can survive ... and anime Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
shadowelite
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 96
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 17, 2018, 10:35:48 AM
 #36024

What do you guys think of the antminer r4? Thinking about buying two from usa (im uk) and running them on kano pool

Is it worth the investment?
I know s9 will have a better watt/th ratio but these will be run at home were i have to pay electric
My other miners i run at work were i dont pay
Also do u guys know any reputable company's that stock the r4 and ship uk?
My biggest problem is the import tax Sad
BTfd2e93
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 17, 2018, 11:19:56 AM
 #36025

What do you guys think of the antminer r4? Thinking about buying two from usa (im uk) and running them on kano pool

Is it worth the investment?
I know s9 will have a better watt/th ratio but these will be run at home were i have to pay electric
My other miners i run at work were i dont pay
Also do u guys know any reputable company's that stock the r4 and ship uk?
My biggest problem is the import tax Sad

depends on your circuit breaker config at home. 
1x S9 draws 12A at 110V or 6.2A at 220V which gives you 13.5TH

1x R4 draws 7.7A at 110V or 3.9A at 220V which gives you 8TH

S9 is the most efficient miner ... so if you have the amperage availability - S9 is the choice. (noise & consumption aside).  Especially since S9 prices have stabilized recently.

If you have power outlet limitations from a current perspective, then R4 is feasible.  Just note you are sacrificing efficiency & cost, for convenience of fitting in with your home breaker config.

shadowelite
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 96
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 17, 2018, 12:03:18 PM
 #36026

What do you guys think of the antminer r4? Thinking about buying two from usa (im uk) and running them on kano pool

Is it worth the investment?
I know s9 will have a better watt/th ratio but these will be run at home were i have to pay electric
My other miners i run at work were i dont pay
Also do u guys know any reputable company's that stock the r4 and ship uk?
My biggest problem is the import tax Sad

depends on your circuit breaker config at home. 
1x S9 draws 12A at 110V or 6.2A at 220V which gives you 13.5TH

1x R4 draws 7.7A at 110V or 3.9A at 220V which gives you 8TH

S9 is the most efficient miner ... so if you have the amperage availability - S9 is the choice. (noise & consumption aside).  Especially since S9 prices have stabilized recently.

If you have power outlet limitations from a current perspective, then R4 is feasible.  Just note you are sacrificing efficiency & cost, for convenience of fitting in with your home breaker config.


220v mate
minergain.com
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 237
Merit: 10

Free mining equipment tracking and reporting


View Profile WWW
February 17, 2018, 03:04:53 PM
 #36027

Well, I give up... The Android App doesn't send me a new Block notice, the other web based tool doesn't send me a new block notice.  Seems nothing does.   So I just decided to fix it myself.

I created a little perl script that reads the pool API and when a block change happens it will send me a pushover notification!... Problem solved.

I don't know how fast is *too fast* to ping the API, so I've slowed that way down for now. (2 mins would be min notification time).  I use Pushover for a bunch of other things and it's easy enough to use so TADA

I did make the little pushover app subscribable.  I want to run it for a block or 2 (my incentive to make them happen quickly), just make sure it works ok.  If so, and there are others interested, let me know and I can provide the Pushover subscribe link.

yeah, maybe now I'll get a notification of a new block found!
I too built minergain.com for this exact purpose - plus a whole lot more (including tax prep needs and eventually wallet valuation) since I mine on multiple pools.  I am checking with the kano home page every minute and when it changes and the immediate notification is set, it sends right away.  I am thinking I will change it a little bit so that I can also get the payment amount on the email as well - but it may delay the notification by another 10 to 30 seconds.  Not sure what kind fo information people would like to see on the notification email / text.

www.minergain.com - Free miner equipment tracking and reporting
tiny miner: 1 S9, 1 D3, 6 RX470
I mine at Kano Pool, for better BTC Profits!
Jeremiah1610
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 17, 2018, 04:48:02 PM
 #36028

I have no problems with the android app. Running fine on s7 edge.
Thrash
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519
Merit: 253



View Profile
February 17, 2018, 04:58:24 PM
 #36029

I have no problems with the android app. Running fine on s7 edge.

Same here. Notifications are not instant but within a couple of minutes.
Yrth
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 86
Merit: 4


View Profile
February 17, 2018, 05:42:17 PM
 #36030

What do you guys think of the antminer r4? Thinking about buying two from usa (im uk) and running them on kano pool

Is it worth the investment?
I know s9 will have a better watt/th ratio but these will be run at home were i have to pay electric
My other miners i run at work were i dont pay
Also do u guys know any reputable company's that stock the r4 and ship uk?
My biggest problem is the import tax Sad
I would stay away from the R4. I have two of them and both lost 1 board. One after a few hours and one after 6 months. If you read the R4 thread, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1597639.0 its full of similar stories.

Unless you just want a space heater, or they are super cheap, I would buy something else.
sruyle
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 65
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 17, 2018, 05:48:31 PM
 #36031

I have free internet where I live. I have never bothered having my own service hooked up because of that. It has worked perfectly for netflix and such. However, with mining, I see that my miners are bouncing back and forth between this pool and my backup alot. and I am running 4% stales. That is alot of hash thrown away.  I guess I need to get a connection of my own after all.

Stop wasting money. Mine at kano.is
rifleman74
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 21

4 s9's 2 821's


View Profile
February 17, 2018, 06:12:10 PM
 #36032

I think he's just going on the .9% fee, as that is all that kano makes besides his own miners. 
And I have heard directly from Kano that he does not run his miners unless he needs his house warmed up.  All of my discussions with him demonstrates that his primary mission for this site is the heath and future of bitcoin.  And yes, he probably does all right with the fees too - although having close to a dozen servers around the world is also not free.
Heh - there's a lot more than a dozen Smiley

This month I've been spending a lot of BTC on getting the hash rate up ... it's working ... and I'm losing lotsa BTC Cheesy

I've come up with another idea about throwing more BTC at getting the hash rate up - targeted directly at large miners - since we need a number of miners in the 5-10+ PHs range.
Once the accounting is done and verified all OK, I'll sort that idea out.

Of course all this BTC I'm 'throwing away' is BTC I've got from the pool fee, so no better use I can think of it!
... other than paying for servers and so I can survive ... and anime Smiley

I like it kano, would love to have double the hash rate.
dkincaid
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 17, 2018, 06:34:07 PM
 #36033

What do you guys think of the antminer r4? Thinking about buying two from usa (im uk) and running them on kano pool

Is it worth the investment?
I know s9 will have a better watt/th ratio but these will be run at home were i have to pay electric
My other miners i run at work were i dont pay
Also do u guys know any reputable company's that stock the r4 and ship uk?
My biggest problem is the import tax Sad
I would stay away from the R4. I have two of them and both lost 1 board. One after a few hours and one after 6 months. If you read the R4 thread, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1597639.0 its full of similar stories.

Unless you just want a space heater, or they are super cheap, I would buy something else.

I can only speak from my experience, but I've had 3 R4's running here in the basement for about a year with no problems. I chose them for my situation because they are not too noisy. Been mining here on kano with them the whole time and have about 2.5BTC to show for it. Not a huge sum, but I think at least as much as one would expect from 25TH. I have been quite happy with them.
A.Delaney
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 11


View Profile
February 17, 2018, 06:47:29 PM
 #36034

Ok we’re at 100% time for a block.
rifleman74
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 21

4 s9's 2 821's


View Profile
February 17, 2018, 07:04:26 PM
 #36035

Ok we’re at 100% time for a block.

So time to eat chicken and DANCE DANCE DANCE DANCE!

MINE ON WITH KANO-SAN!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492
Merit: 1042


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 17, 2018, 08:09:38 PM
 #36036

I have free internet where I live. I have never bothered having my own service hooked up because of that. It has worked perfectly for netflix and such. However, with mining, I see that my miners are bouncing back and forth between this pool and my backup alot. and I am running 4% stales. That is alot of hash thrown away.  I guess I need to get a connection of my own after all.
Also check that you are connected to the closest node, see the first post for the list:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=789369.0

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492
Merit: 1042


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 17, 2018, 08:10:31 PM
 #36037

Ok we’re at 100% time for a block.
Any % means time for a block Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
sruyle
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 65
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 17, 2018, 08:11:19 PM
 #36038

Kano,
Something that would eliminate lots of questions and might be easy to provide.. A % Ramped Up  on the workers page. Smiley

Stop wasting money. Mine at kano.is
Pecker
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 68
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 17, 2018, 08:44:32 PM
 #36039

Yes but why would the fan show it’s running 30k rpm if everything’s is fine? My S9’s ramp up and down. One between 5-6k and the other between 4-5k. Temps are mid 70’s. I don’t think that fan can even spin that high. It has to be a false reading and that would explain why it stops hashing.

Peck. What psu are you using? Have you tried a different one?

I am using the bitmain power supply... 220 V

But the power supply on that particular S9 machine is not the new apW3++

SO I will swap power supplys and see if that helps ..  Thanks for the idea!

I just have a hard time believing it is getting to hot... I have miners ranging all over the place from mids 70's to pushing 100 (all in the same exact location)

Does not seem to make any difference to them... lots of people on bitcoin say they run them up to 100 degrees with no problem..(I'd prefer they not be at that but it cant be the room temperature if some are completely cool and some running that much hotter?

Maybe it is something to do with that 13.5 batch?

Running out of ideas... I am running some cooler air back there now but does not seem to change much...

But that machine would stop hashing before, now it keeps running, just those fans revving up and down...

Not sure what is going on with that fan speed reading..my guess it it a faulty reading...

Thanks for all the help!  Will let you know what I find out...

Is it possible to go back on the S9 firmaware to the older versions where I can control fan speed and freq?

Again thanks to all!!

Peck





KANO POOL ... THE BEST PLACE TO MINE PERIOD!

BTC: 1nkwjDHsKwrDAi22QSFqA84nscFj6Lhye

Do Something or Do Nothing? I prefer to take the chance!
rifleman74
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 21

4 s9's 2 821's


View Profile
February 17, 2018, 08:52:01 PM
 #36040

Yes but why would the fan show it’s running 30k rpm if everything’s is fine? My S9’s ramp up and down. One between 5-6k and the other between 4-5k. Temps are mid 70’s. I don’t think that fan can even spin that high. It has to be a false reading and that would explain why it stops hashing.

Peck. What psu are you using? Have you tried a different one?

I am using the bitmain power supply... 220 V

But the power supply on that particular S9 machine is not the new apW3++

SO I will swap power supplys and see if that helps ..  Thanks for the idea!

I just have a hard time believing it is getting to hot... I have miners ranging all over the place from mids 70's to pushing 100 (all in the same exact location)

Does not seem to make any difference to them... lots of people on bitcoin say they run them up to 100 degrees with no problem..(I'd prefer they not be at that but it cant be the room temperature if some are completely cool and some running that much hotter?

Maybe it is something to do with that 13.5 batch?

Running out of ideas... I am running some cooler air back there now but does not seem to change much...

But that machine would stop hashing before, now it keeps running, just those fans revving up and down...

Not sure what is going on with that fan speed reading..my guess it it a faulty reading...

Thanks for all the help!  Will let you know what I find out...

Is it possible to go back on the S9 firmaware to the older versions where I can control fan speed and freq?

Again thanks to all!!

Peck






Switch the PDU/PSU, see if it follows it or stays with that particular s9.  I have three of them and one runs a little hotter and "faster" than the other two, no matter which PDU/PSU or 110/220 I try.  They're not all built the same.
Pages: « 1 ... 1752 1753 1754 1755 1756 1757 1758 1759 1760 1761 1762 1763 1764 1765 1766 1767 1768 1769 1770 1771 1772 1773 1774 1775 1776 1777 1778 1779 1780 1781 1782 1783 1784 1785 1786 1787 1788 1789 1790 1791 1792 1793 1794 1795 1796 1797 1798 1799 1800 1801 [1802] 1803 1804 1805 1806 1807 1808 1809 1810 1811 1812 1813 1814 1815 1816 1817 1818 1819 1820 1821 1822 1823 1824 1825 1826 1827 1828 1829 1830 1831 1832 1833 1834 1835 1836 1837 1838 1839 1840 1841 1842 1843 1844 1845 1846 1847 1848 1849 1850 1851 1852 ... 2101 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!