Bitcoin Forum
March 24, 2019, 05:43:57 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Poll
Question: How many BottleCaps do you own?
None - 86 (39.6%)
1-1k - 29 (13.4%)
1k-10k - 27 (12.4%)
More than 10k - 75 (34.6%)
Total Voters: 217

Pages: « 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [55] 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 ... 213 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Bottlecaps 2.1 UPDATE REQUIRED - HARDFORK JULY 4 2014 to 200% Annual PoS  (Read 341953 times)
Jriker1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 26, 2013, 03:13:41 PM
 #1081

Is there a longpoll option for Bottlecaps for solo mining?  Only pool I saw on the main page doesn't resolve when you go to the URL.

Thanks.

JR
+
=
Equity on offer
in the world's largest
crypto enabled
marketplace
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1553406237
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1553406237

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1553406237
Reply with quote  #2

1553406237
Report to moderator
1553406237
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1553406237

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1553406237
Reply with quote  #2

1553406237
Report to moderator
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1360
Merit: 1000


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
August 26, 2013, 03:16:55 PM
 #1082

There is no LP on ANY solo mining.
LP means that pool require to get new work = new block in network.

Try my p2pool: http://rav3n.dtdns.net:8645

Edit: looks like I`m in the fork too :/

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
Jriker1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 26, 2013, 03:18:55 PM
 #1083

There is no LP on ANY solo mining.
LP means that pool require to get new work = new block in network.

Try my p2pool: http://rav3n.dtdns.net:8645


I've usually piggybacked off of pool longpoll support servers as my failover entry in cgminer.conf to identify new blocks faster so is the only time I used LP but perhaps I'm confused as normally pool mine.

JR
MobGod
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 26, 2013, 03:27:42 PM
 #1084

anyone have a little info on whats going on with this coin? will it be added back to the exchange soon ?

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1360
Merit: 1000


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
August 26, 2013, 03:45:26 PM
 #1085

v1.5 hopefully will fix that self-forking problem. Then it can back on market.

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
MobGod
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 26, 2013, 03:47:12 PM
 #1086

v1.5 hopefully will fix that self-forking problem. Then it can back on market.
Just trying to figure out what happened with my coins on the exchange

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
braytz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 26, 2013, 03:52:01 PM
 #1087

Just trying to figure out what happened with my coins on the exchange


+1
Jriker1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 26, 2013, 03:59:22 PM
 #1088

v1.5 hopefully will fix that self-forking problem. Then it can back on market.

Is 1.5 coming or should be downloadable now?  Also guess we shouldn't be mining bottlecaps right now?

Thanks.

JR
Petr1fied
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 502


View Profile
August 26, 2013, 04:32:06 PM
 #1089

My block crawler could potentially end up on the wrong chain, just the same as any of your clients could. It usually comes down to how many peer connections you have. The more you have, the less likely you are to end up on the losing chain because you have more peers telling you which one they believe is the correct chain. The majority will invariably win. The problem is, if you only have 8 connections there is very little margin for error, 4 peers could very easily go one way and the other 4 the other which makes it a coin flip situation for your client when deciding which way to go.

Anyway it's been nearly a week since I restarted my bottlecaps daemon used on the crawler so I've just given it a restart to refresh the peer starting heights. It's now listing peers with at least 91,138 blocks which was my block count at the time of the restart.
ISAWHIM
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 26, 2013, 05:35:08 PM
 #1090

It usually comes down to how many peer connections you have. The more you have, the less likely you are to end up on the losing chain because you have more peers telling you which one they believe is the correct chain.

You would think that is how it operates... but it does not. You have to have a lot of connections... that are also "getting blocks from" that tall chain.

We all see it... we all know it is 43 blocks behind... but our wallets never sync with that chain, because we, and the connections we have, have been severed... and/or we can not "repair" the incorrect blocks, correcting them with the correct blocks from the taller chain.

Lack of connections just makes that happen faster. (The clients have issues with connections.)

Your block-crawler has been able to stay 90% on track, and you fix it fast... so thus... it is mostly on the tallest chain. That is our only resource for block-height, except our wallets or the forums. (The forums just are not fast enough to check block-height. By the time you read a post, there could be 20+ more blocks, or 200+ more. As opposed to hitting refresh on your website, or seeing "out of sync" and "45 blocks remaining" in our wallets, which never catches-up, no matter how many connections we have, or how many times we reconnect.)

I still can't get more than 13-14 connections, using the "connect" hack/trick. (But, most wallets are like that, for me. I should find-out which ones are not like that, and that might give some insight to the issue that they can't seem to locate. Obviously the coin they are using for cloning has not resolved that issue either. Seems specific to home-users of various windows versions.)

However, it should take only 2 connections to stay up to date, with one roaming one, looking for taller chains. It shouldn't take 10+ connections if we are all doing the same thing, and have the same info.

The issue is this... in time... all connections end-up doing this...

(Group A: height 80000) A,B,C,D,E,F,G,H,I {9 connections} -> Was 18 conn (Half accepted N block, half didn't, taking D block instead.)
(Group B: height 80002) J,K,L,M,N,O,P,Q,R {9 connections} -> (Built off N block, rejecting D block, severed so can't send height to the other half now.)

Then S comes online... S sees us and them... so S joins the N chain (Group B), and tells the D chain (Group A) of the new height. It attempts to send the blocks, which the wallets just can't use to fix the chain, so they keep mining on the chain that they can mine on, the short one. (Never fixing the incorrect height by removing the incorrect orphaned blocks, rebuilding to the taller height.)

Then, that chain eventually fades, as new people and those noticing the issue, fix it manually and join the (Group B), which is now 20 blocks over (Group A). However, some of those connections are getting rejected, because they "are misbehaving", and that keeps the fork alive, instead of them stopping mining on the short fork, the program continues on a fork it knows is not correct. Until they are left alone and no work arrives for them.

Those previously mining the wrong chain, who still have rejection, and who still have those peers to join... keep getting back on the wrong chain. Because they just don't get the other block heights, until S comes online, and S is not rejecting them, because it just got online, and has not rejected them yet. Acting as a thin link... thus, leaving you with 10 connections, but only 1 link to the other chain, through S... if S gets severed, you lose it again... Even with the 10 connections.
sigesang
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 26, 2013, 05:39:47 PM
 #1091

Mullick whats going on man? Why the forks again?
...
Apparently, more people are turning on POS, and screwing it up faster than normal. (Newcomers, or blind-miners, or idiots wanting that 0.0001 gain which costs them 100's in losses from becoming forked, mining orphans. If they ever repair their wallets, they will see they lost a lot more than they THINK they are making.)

Ofc it's the users fault coin is broken, PoS mining is on by default you know...

BTC 1basemmmcpVWVfzZMyLA1r2DJMTMnZYoX LTC LiTeTipdGNcXRjTw5pVnMXjB5FFoEfxPAZ
ISAWHIM
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 26, 2013, 05:49:33 PM
 #1092

Ofc it's the users fault coin is broken, PoS mining is on by default you know...

The coin is not broken... It is running fine. The wallets are "acting-up", making it "difficult", but it is not "impossible to mine", thus, not "broken".

The last 30 posts have given instructions to disable POS. The last versions have severed the older versions, thus, they have all seen the request to stop POS, and instructions how to do that... (Though, I agree POS should be disabled in the client, by the software, by default, until that part is resolved.)

At this point, it is ignorance or stupidity "worsening" the issue. The fault of the program formula has already been addressed, and solution is manual, at this point. Any fault now IS on the ones operating the wallets. (Related to that issue.)

Sorry, but if you were told your car has a recall for failing brakes at 65MPH, and you refuse to drive under 65MPH until you can have it repaired for free... It is your own fault if you die in a crash because your brakes failed at 70MPH. By default, brakes work, but you don't have to drive the car. That is your choice, thus, your fault. (Not directing that to you... unless you are driving!)
sigesang
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 26, 2013, 06:10:44 PM
 #1093

Ofc it's the users fault coin is broken, PoS mining is on by default you know...

The coin is not broken... It is running fine. The wallets are "acting-up", making it "difficult", but it is not "impossible to mine", thus, not "broken".

The last 30 posts have given instructions to disable POS. The last versions have severed the older versions, thus, they have all seen the request to stop POS, and instructions how to do that... (Though, I agree POS should be disabled in the client, by the software, by default, until that part is resolved.)

At this point, it is ignorance or stupidity "worsening" the issue. The fault of the program formula has already been addressed, and solution is manual, at this point. Any fault now IS on the ones operating the wallets. (Related to that issue.)

Sorry, but if you were told your car has a recall for failing brakes at 65MPH, and you refuse to drive under 65MPH until you can have it repaired for free... It is your own fault if you die in a crash because your brakes failed at 70MPH. By default, brakes work, but you don't have to drive the car. That is your choice, thus, your fault. (Not directing that to you... unless you are driving!)

And that car you talking about isn't broken, works fine... and the drivers/users are idiots anyway for choosing this brand of car

BTC 1basemmmcpVWVfzZMyLA1r2DJMTMnZYoX LTC LiTeTipdGNcXRjTw5pVnMXjB5FFoEfxPAZ
DrGoose
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 26, 2013, 07:19:49 PM
Last edit: August 26, 2013, 07:55:44 PM by DrGoose
 #1094

...
At this point, it is ignorance or stupidity "worsening" the issue. The fault of the program formula has already been addressed, and solution is manual, at this point. Any fault now IS on the ones operating the wallets. (Related to that issue.)
...
Keep your judgment to yourself.

I had no stake mining in my broken wallet. The wallet was used only for solo mining @9MH/s. My wallets with stakes are offline.








DrGoose
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 26, 2013, 07:51:40 PM
 #1095

My block crawler could potentially end up on the wrong chain, just the same as any of your clients could. It usually comes down to how many peer connections you have. The more you have, the less likely you are to end up on the losing chain because you have more peers telling you which one they believe is the correct chain. The majority will invariably win. The problem is, if you only have 8 connections there is very little margin for error, 4 peers could very easily go one way and the other 4 the other which makes it a coin flip situation for your client when deciding which way to go.

Anyway it's been nearly a week since I restarted my bottlecaps daemon used on the crawler so I've just given it a restart to refresh the peer starting heights. It's now listing peers with at least 91,138 blocks which was my block count at the time of the restart.

Thanks for keeping this up. Seems the safest is to use your chain as the de-facto reference. Without your effort we would be left in the dark until 1.5.

My mining wallet is now back in-synch with 16 connections (and growing), and back on your connection list.
ISAWHIM
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 26, 2013, 09:09:31 PM
Last edit: August 26, 2013, 09:22:52 PM by ISAWHIM
 #1096

...
At this point, it is ignorance or stupidity "worsening" the issue. The fault of the program formula has already been addressed, and solution is manual, at this point. Any fault now IS on the ones operating the wallets. (Related to that issue.)
...
Keep your judgment to yourself.

I had no stake mining in my broken wallet. The wallet was used only for solo mining @9MH/s. My wallets with stakes are offline.

No

If you were mining and not creating POS, then your wallet is not broken, and you are not the source of the "worsening" issue. Broken = does not work. If you came here to post that reply, you are trolling. So keep your personal biased  judgement about my factually unbiased judgement to yourself. Hypocrite.

It is ignorance (ignoring the issue and solution, for personal gain, at the cost of the others.)
It is stupidity (the opposite of smart, selfishly leaving it on, for personal gain, at the cost of the others.)
->
Related to "worsening" the issue. (Making it "worse", when it would otherwise not be "as bad".)

Quote
Definition of "Broken":
1. Forcibly separated into two or more pieces; fractured: a broken arm; broken glass.
2. Sundered by divorce, separation, or desertion of a parent or parents: children from broken homes; a broken marriage.
3. Having been violated: a broken promise.
4.
- a. Incomplete: a broken set of books.
- b. Being in a state of disarray; disordered: troops fleeing in broken ranks. (No, that is disordered or disarray. Dumbasses. broken ranks is the same as broken glass, already mentioned. Fractured. Order is irrelevant and obviously out, if fractured. But I digress. lol)
5.
- a. Intermittently stopping and starting; discontinuous: a broken cable transmission.
- b. Varying abruptly, as in pitch: broken sobs.
- c. Spoken with gaps and errors: broken English.
6. Topographically rough; uneven: broken terrain.
7.
- a. Subdued totally; humbled: a broken spirit.
- b. Weakened and infirm: broken health.
8. Crushed by grief: died of a broken heart.
9. Financially ruined; bankrupt. (These guys are retarded, who writes this shit. lol. WTH does bankrupt have to do with broken! There are no RUINS in your account. Damn cross-synonyms screwing up definitions now. lol.)
10. Not functioning; out of order: a broken washing machine.

LOL, they forgot "broken back mountain" and "brokers" and "crashed" and... (Sarcasm for the stupidly published and poor definition crap they teach in schools. Webster was a moron. #10 would have sufficed, but they obviously like to fill white space to sell themselves as being smart, just making themselves look dumb in the process. I am guilty of that myself. I am a hypocrite too. We all are.)

The program functions, just not the way it was expected, on all machines. It does exactly what other coins do... it forks. It just doesn't recover WELL on ALL MACHINES. Some machines it does. No other form of the word "broken" applies to this coin, without also applying to all other coins that exist.

The chain is broken... that is called a fork. Every coin forks, a lot. Most forking happens fast and dies fast and fixes itself. These forks just have "issues" being fixed. Which is "worsened" by those still throwing POS blocks at the chains.
ISAWHIM
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 26, 2013, 09:25:03 PM
 #1097

And that car you talking about isn't broken, works fine... and the drivers/users are idiots anyway for choosing this brand of car

Correct, it is WORKING, but not fine... but broken is not "something that doesn't work fine".

And you are driving this brand of car... (Can't say much more than that, you said it all for me.)

I drive it too, and keep coming back to see that others stay running. The issues have already been addressed, and are being worked-on. You want to speed it up... Pay him.
sigesang
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 26, 2013, 09:28:44 PM
 #1098

And that car you talking about isn't broken, works fine... and the drivers/users are idiots anyway for choosing this brand of car

Correct, it is WORKING, but not fine... but broken is not "something that doesn't work fine".

And you are driving this brand of car... (Can't say much more than that, you said it all for me.)

I drive it too, and keep coming back to see that others stay running. The issues have already been addressed, and are being worked-on. You want to speed it up... Pay him.

No i don't drive this PoS (and i don't mean Proof of Stake) car, you are calling me an idiot?

If something isn't working as intended it's broken.. it's not addressed if you need to manually change it.. and you smartass comparsion with cars... well whatever.. im sure you will come up with some more argumenst.. it's addressed bla bla.. and some wall of text with another pointless explanation.. if ignorants/idiots/whatever PoS mine it breaks things... making shit broken... stop pretending otherwise

BTC 1basemmmcpVWVfzZMyLA1r2DJMTMnZYoX LTC LiTeTipdGNcXRjTw5pVnMXjB5FFoEfxPAZ
Lauda
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156
Merit: 1855


GUNBOT Licenses up to 50% OFF - 'GrumpyKitty'.


View Profile WWW
August 26, 2013, 09:52:39 PM
 #1099

v1.5 hopefully will fix that self-forking problem. Then it can back on market.
Just trying to figure out what happened with my coins on the exchange
I'm pretty sure they will be there once cryptsy gets the updated client, which has yet to be released.

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
DrGoose
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 26, 2013, 10:48:20 PM
Last edit: August 27, 2013, 01:33:16 AM by DrGoose
 #1100

...
At this point, it is ignorance or stupidity "worsening" the issue. The fault of the program formula has already been addressed, and solution is manual, at this point. Any fault now IS on the ones operating the wallets. (Related to that issue.)
...
Keep your judgment to yourself.

I had no stake mining in my broken wallet. The wallet was used only for solo mining @9MH/s. My wallets with stakes are offline.

No

If you were mining and not creating POS, then your wallet is not broken, and you are not the source of the "worsening" issue. Broken = does not work. If you came here to post that reply, you are trolling. So keep your personal biased  judgement about my factually unbiased judgement to yourself. Hypocrite.
...
In my reality, the wallet was broken and it was configured to not do POS mining. Just sharing my observation with the community.

I guess I just have to accept to remain ignorant/stupid in your 'forked' reality... good luck to you  Roll Eyes
Pages: « 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [55] 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 ... 213 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!