Bitcoin Forum
April 11, 2021, 09:48:19 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 [79] 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 ... 198 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin Release - First Scientific Computing Cryptocurrency  (Read 686974 times)
LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 11, 2013, 08:45:19 PM
 #1561

If i have to compile myself, it's rubbish.
I suggest you wait until a shrink wrap package from Best Buy is available.
1618134499
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1618134499

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1618134499
Reply with quote  #2

1618134499
Report to moderator
1618134499
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1618134499

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1618134499
Reply with quote  #2

1618134499
Report to moderator
1618134499
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1618134499

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1618134499
Reply with quote  #2

1618134499
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Ethera
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 11, 2013, 08:47:03 PM
 #1562


Who knows, it could be a 1000x speedup. I would be careful before saying it's rubbish. Compile and see.

he means "i lack the knowledge to do anything like that, so liek you dont give me free mining so liek lol.. (idiocracy was a great movie, still watching it time to time to remind me what kind of society we are going for)...
Carra23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1000


Need a campaign manager? PM me


View Profile
July 11, 2013, 09:00:44 PM
 #1563

Has there been a fork? My two mined blocks vanished  Huh

 Cry

I think I lost 6 blocks they are gone.

I waited for over 2 days to get those two blocks and they are gone. Seems like a tragic story for my CPU.
Lauda
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 2877


Terminated.


View Profile WWW
July 11, 2013, 09:00:55 PM
 #1564


Who knows, it could be a 1000x speedup. I would be careful before saying it's rubbish. Compile and see.

he means "i lack the knowledge to do anything like that, so liek you dont give me free mining so liek lol.. (idiocracy was a great movie, still watching it time to time to remind me what kind of society we are going for)...
Really? That makes no sense. I just don't wanna bother compiling, my VS 2012 hasn't been used for a while.

"The Times 03/Jan/2009 Chancellor on brink of second bailout for banks"
😼 Bitcoin Core (onion)
Stonedblues
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 11, 2013, 09:07:07 PM
 #1565

Strange I'd found another block but it wasn't showing in transactions only in Immature coins, so I restarted and then the transaction was there but no coins underimature. Restarted again and now nothing in either place.
nhminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 473
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 11, 2013, 09:07:54 PM
 #1566

There appears to be a network fork at block#14214 just now. Please run this command

getblockhash 14215
and report your current block number

1421515428bf4b0867cf6b75a85375f6a2266e54a1c9f244befeee72ec0545300ae0f

Block 15794

$ primecoind getblockhash 14215
15428bf4b0867cf6b75a85375f6a2266e54a1c9f244befeee72ec0545300ae0f

Block 15844


14:06:07  getblockhash 14215
14:06:07  15428bf4b0867cf6b75a85375f6a2266e54a1c9f244befeee72ec0545300ae0f
14:07:47  getblockcount
14:07:47  15962


BCH - 1EshwUEg9LRbY5WMSw7bkBGQUYQeenkcet
Lauda
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 2877


Terminated.


View Profile WWW
July 11, 2013, 09:09:09 PM
 #1567

Then you "don't wanna bother" getting the latest updates, which could include speedups.
If i was activly mining this I'd get them as quick as possible, but I'm fine for now.

"The Times 03/Jan/2009 Chancellor on brink of second bailout for banks"
😼 Bitcoin Core (onion)
Carra23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1000


Need a campaign manager? PM me


View Profile
July 11, 2013, 09:14:12 PM
 #1568

Strange I'd found another block but it wasn't showing in transactions only in Immature coins, so I restarted and then the transaction was there but no coins underimature. Restarted again and now nothing in either place.

It was on the wrong fork and so orphaned.

Happened to 2 blocks for me.
Stonedblues
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 11, 2013, 09:15:03 PM
 #1569

Ok cool never happened to me before. O well
salfter
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 651
Merit: 501


My PGP Key: 92C7689C


View Profile WWW
July 11, 2013, 09:15:37 PM
Last edit: July 11, 2013, 09:53:53 PM by salfter
 #1570

I have a Gentoo ebuild for primecoind in my overlay:

https://github.com/salfter/portage/

I built it first on my VPS, which has 8 Xeon E5-2670 cores available to it, but immediately upon starting, it bombs out with an "Illegal instruction" error.  I then built it for my home workstation, which runs a Core 2 Quad Q6600. As I write this, it's syncing the blockchain.

The VPS is an x86 Gentoo build, as it used to be memory-constrained (with 1 GB, maybe it still is somewhat).  The home workstation is an AMD64 Gentoo build.

Does primecoind not run on 32-bit systems, or is there something my ebuild is doing wrong?

(Hmm...just tried my bitcoind ebuild on the VPS, and it's also crashing right away with an "Illegal instruction" error. Must be something it's telling the compiler to do.)

As an aside, with the current master from GitHub, the aforementioned Core 2 Quad is running at 696 primes per second; this number appears to increase periodically (was 617 just a minute ago).  Does that sound about right for this machine?  I started with the code tagged 0.1.0xpm; it was only delivering about 10 primes per second.  Must've been a ton of optimization done in the meantime.


Tipjars: BTC 1TipsGocnz2N5qgAm9f7JLrsMqkb3oXe2 LTC LTipsVC7XaFy9M6Zaf1aGGe8w8xVUeWFvR | My Bitcoin Note Generator | Pool Auto-Switchers: zpool MiningPoolHub NiceHash
Bitgem Resources: Pool Explorer Paper Wallet
itod
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1034


^ Will code for Bitcoins


View Profile
July 11, 2013, 09:25:07 PM
 #1571

There is no reason to post result of 'getblockhash 14215' any more, please stop, you are polluting the thread.
UNOE
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 794
Merit: 270


This is personal


View Profile
July 11, 2013, 09:27:48 PM
 #1572

Strange I'd found another block but it wasn't showing in transactions only in Immature coins, so I restarted and then the transaction was there but no coins underimature. Restarted again and now nothing in either place.

Same thing happen to me but with 6 blocks I think you where part of the fork.

I'm sad that was good amount of blocks I'll never see again.

Stonedblues
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 11, 2013, 09:32:06 PM
 #1573

o thank fully it only happened to 1 of the 2 I found today.
Arcas
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 524


View Profile
July 11, 2013, 09:32:39 PM
 #1574

Strange I'd found another block but it wasn't showing in transactions only in Immature coins, so I restarted and then the transaction was there but no coins underimature. Restarted again and now nothing in either place.

Same thing happen to me but with 6 blocks I think you where part of the fork.

I'm sad that was good amount of blocks I'll never see again.
If it makes you feel better, the only reason you found those blocks is because you were on the wrong chain, so if you were using the correct fork, you probably wouldn't have gotten any blocks at all.
swordfish6975
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 721
Merit: 523



View Profile WWW
July 11, 2013, 09:33:23 PM
 #1575

primecoin is no listed on www.cryptofolio.info

whats the official name of the algorithm? prime?

>>>>  Physical Bitcoin And Altcoin Price Ticker Screen - http://afkdata.com <<<<

                    http://cryptofolio.info  - google finance of cryptos
UNOE
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 794
Merit: 270


This is personal


View Profile
July 11, 2013, 09:34:07 PM
 #1576

Strange I'd found another block but it wasn't showing in transactions only in Immature coins, so I restarted and then the transaction was there but no coins underimature. Restarted again and now nothing in either place.

Same thing happen to me but with 6 blocks I think you where part of the fork.

I'm sad that was good amount of blocks I'll never see again.
If it makes you feel better, the only reason you found those blocks is because you were on the wrong chain, so if you were using the correct fork, you probably wouldn't have gotten any blocks at all.

I was pulling 1950 PPS so I think 6 blocks in the 10 hours was about what I should have gotten.

Stonedblues
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 11, 2013, 09:38:24 PM
 #1577

So are we all on the same blockchain now?
Stonedblues
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 11, 2013, 09:47:12 PM
 #1578

How long is a block expected to remain tagged as immature ? Is it linked to the number of confirmations ?
(sorry, if it has already been asked ; didn't find any answer by browsing the thread)
3200 confirmations then it's spendable.
razibuzouzou
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 354
Merit: 251


coinorama.net


View Profile WWW
July 11, 2013, 09:49:04 PM
 #1579

How long is a block expected to remain tagged as immature ? Is it linked to the number of confirmations ?
(sorry, if it has already been asked ; didn't find any answer by browsing the thread)
3200 confirmations then it's spendable.

Thanks for the info Smiley
Tuck Fheman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 363
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
July 11, 2013, 09:51:48 PM
 #1580

16:51:31 getblockhash 14215
16:51:31 15428bf4b0867cf6b75a85375f6a2266e54a1c9f244befeee72ec0545300ae0f
Block : 16197

Pages: « 1 ... 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 [79] 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 ... 198 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!