Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 05:34:58 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4824964 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2011, 06:58:45 AM
 #121

About cpu usage:

Currently the windows build always uses a lot more CPU than the linux build. It has to do with the windows library that gives support for the linux features and I'm not sure there's anything to do about it. Beyond that, some drivers use a lot more CPU when more than one card is in use. The other big CPU user is when dynamic mode is enabled, as it constantly monitors the GPU usage and throttles it accordingly, but conversely spends more CPU time doing this. To decrease CPU usage, disable dynamic mode by choosing an intensity with -I.

About dynamic mode:

The intensity level is determined by cgminer to be that which will keep the desktop GUI fluid based on how quickly it refreshes. If you have a low power card, the intensity will almost always be low because of this. If you have a high power GPU, it may well get to quite high intensity levels even when still in use.

About the OSX build:

It should build if you have the right tools for it. Ycros is helping me out there.

About shares rejected:

When doing solo mining, you are constantly trying to find a block for yourself and anything that looks like it might be a block is submitted to the network. Most of the time it will be rejected because it's not the real block you've found.

About stopping in windows:

I'm working on trying to make it more robust, but ctrl-break is the only way to stop it at the moment.

Other stuff:

Low priority while I try to get cgminer as stable as possible with the most frequently requested or sponsored features. While I have spent a LOT of time on this project, I do not have infinite time to implement everything in such a short time space.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1481304898
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481304898

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481304898
Reply with quote  #2

1481304898
Report to moderator
1481304898
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481304898

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481304898
Reply with quote  #2

1481304898
Report to moderator
1481304898
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481304898

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481304898
Reply with quote  #2

1481304898
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481304898
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481304898

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481304898
Reply with quote  #2

1481304898
Report to moderator
1481304898
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481304898

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481304898
Reply with quote  #2

1481304898
Report to moderator
1481304898
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481304898

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481304898
Reply with quote  #2

1481304898
Report to moderator
Shevek
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
July 16, 2011, 07:53:44 AM
 #122

(...)
The miner just changes the ntime header (+1 every second),
(...)

That's the point! Thanks!

Proposals for improving bitcoin are like asses: everybody has one
1SheveKuPHpzpLqSvPSavik9wnC51voBa
OtaconEmmerich
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237



View Profile
July 16, 2011, 10:25:29 AM
 #123

Stupid question time, How do I exit a cmd window in Windows 7? the only way I know how is by closing said window.
Ctrl + C

actually it currently isn't working. Use Ctrl+Break
While that DOES technically work, It doesn't output the summary and just closes the window like normal. Does this feature only work in a Linux environment?
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2011, 11:21:42 AM
 #124

About the OSX build:

It should build if you have the right tools for it. Ycros is helping me out there.
Since the machine with the fastest graphics card I currently have access to is a Mac, I'm kinda interested in this, too. I recently tried to build cgminer 1.2.6-1 on it and there was a compiler error and configure couldn't find the Mac OpenCL implementation.
So if there's any testing you need done, I'll be happy to do it as I have time, since I would like to use something other than DiabloMiner there (which keeps segfaulting as of recently).

Edit: And yes, I've seen the entry in the news file about fixing the OpenCL tests, I'm just waiting for the next release to try this.

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
xcooling
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145


View Profile
July 16, 2011, 11:28:16 AM
 #125

+1 having the exact same issue on my win7 machines with cpu threading.. cgminer only works with without cpu mining.

xfire 6970 + amd X6
---
sli nvidia 250 gtx + core2quad



win32 v1.2.6 still has problem with combined gpu+cpu mining and with cpu mining.

radeon 5550 + core i3 (should be 60+Mh/s + ~8Mh/s - both overclocked)

"-g 0 -t 4" - cpu threads keep getting restarted every 60 seconds and don't complete any work.
as someone suggested in the previous topic, it would be much more efficient to make all cpu threads work on a single share because otherwise they complete no work at all.

"-g 2 -t 4" - gpu threads are for some reason hogged by cpu and both cpu and gpu don't complete any work.
checked with gpu-z - gpu load stays at 0
Code:
cgminer version 1.2.6 - Started: [2011-07-15 16:55:35]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [(5s):114.6  (avg):230.8 Mh/s] [Q:20  A:0  R:0  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m]

 TQ: 1  ST: 1  LS: 0  SS: 0  DW: 3  LW: 0  LO: 0  RF: 0  I: 0
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 GPU 0: [1.7 Mh/s] [Q:4  A:0  R:0  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m]
 CPU 0: [229.1 Mh/s] [Q:12  A:0  R:0  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

[2011-07-15 16:57:08] Attempting to restart thread 2, idle for more than 60 seconds

[2011-07-15 16:57:08] Thread 2 restarted
[2011-07-15 16:57:10] Attempting to restart thread 3, idle for more than 60 seconds

[2011-07-15 16:57:10] Thread 3 restarted
[2011-07-15 16:57:12] Attempting to restart thread 4, idle for more than 60 seconds

[2011-07-15 16:57:12] Thread 4 restarted
[2011-07-15 16:57:14] Attempting to restart thread 5, idle for more than 60 seconds

[2011-07-15 16:57:14] Thread 5 restarted
[2011-07-15 16:57:27] LONGPOLL detected new block on network, flushing work queue


also, intensity on dynamic setting stays 0-1 no matter how long i leave the pc running with all other apps closed. are there any specific conditions for increasing the intensity dynamically?

iopq
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
July 16, 2011, 11:41:20 AM
 #126

And why did you even think that? Currently, no miner under Windows offers no cpu usage at all due to the unconfirmed bug in the drivers.
I don't get any CPU usage at all under Windows 7 with a 5750

xcooling
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145


View Profile
July 16, 2011, 12:33:13 PM
 #127

What does "Share rejected from GPU 0 Thread 0" mean?

basically means the share you uploaded has expired / become stale, and thus has been rejected.

If you get allot of them switch mining pools.

dostortugas
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
July 16, 2011, 01:39:51 PM
 #128

debian wheezy
Kernel 2.6.39-2-amd64
Athlon X2 2.2GHz
6950 @ 910MHz
5850 @ 895Mhz
AMD APP 2.4
AMD Catalyst 11.6

Code:
cgminer version 1.2.6 - Started: [2011-07-16 13:12:21]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [(5s):739.5  (avg):730.2 Mh/s] [Q:1451  A:1411  R:21  HW:0  E:97%  U:10.42/m]

 TQ: 2  ST: 2  LS: 0  SS: 12  DW: 39  LW: 10  LO: 6  RF: 1  I: 8
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 GPU 0: [370.5 Mh/s] [Q:721  A:714  R:11  HW:0  E:99%  U:5.27/m]
 GPU 1: [359.9 Mh/s] [Q:699  A:698  R:10  HW:0  E:100%  U:5.16/m]

Currently ~7% CPU usage by cgminer!
Regard that intensity is set to 8 as auto gives me 50% CPU load

What does the "SS" mean? The statistics are handy but as of now I cannot remember the abreviations... and SS is not in the readme.

Can we please have the current URL used shown and for the future profiles for each card at once?!

For further things I'd love to see in the futur have a look at http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=28168.0 please.


Very nice so far!

EDIT join #cgminer on freenode if you like!

19mX5f3YzMSWpDmEwznJNkPBnMSjcTGjPc
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2011, 01:45:17 PM
 #129

New version (windows build soon):
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-1.2.7.tar.bz2

Changelog:
- Show last 8 characters of share submitted in log.
- Display URL connected to and user logged in as in status.
- Display current block and when it was started in the status line.
- Only pthread_join the mining threads if they exist as determined by
pthread_cancel and don't fail on pthread_cancel.
- Create a unique work queue for all getworks instead of binding it to thread 0
to avoid any conflict over thread 0's queue.
- Clean up the code to make it clear it's watchdog thread being messaged to
restart the threads.
- Check the current block description hasn't been blanked pending the real
new current block data.
- Re-enable signal handlers once the signal has been received to make it
possible to kill cgminer if it fails to shut down.
- Disable restarting of CPU mining threads pending further investigation.
- Update longpoll messages.
- Add new block data to status line.
- Fix opencl tests for osx.
- Only do local generation of work if the work item is not stale itself.
- Check for stale work within the mining threads and grab new work if
positive.
- Test for idle network conditions and prevent threads from being restarted
by the watchdog thread under those circumstances.
- Make sure that local work generation does not continue indefinitely by
stopping it after 10 minutes.
- Tweak the kernel to have a shorter path using a 4k buffer and a mask on the
nonce value instead of a compare and loop for a shorter code path.
- Allow queue of zero and make that default again now that we can track how
work is being queued versus staged. This can decrease reject rates.
- Queue precisely the number of mining threads as longpoll_staged after a
new block to not generate local work.


Sample display:

 cgminer version 1.2.6 - Started: [2011-07-16 23:28:05]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [(5s):173.9  (avg):182.0 Mh/s] [Q:36  A:37  R:0  HW:0  E:103%  U:3.00/m]
 TQ: 1  ST: 1  LS: 0  SS: 0  DW: 0  NB: 1  LW: 1  LO: 1  RF: 0  I: 3
 Connected to http://ozco.in:8332 as user ckolivas.1
 Block 0001c18ef64e55b54f0d8cbabb09ff12  started: [2011-07-16 23:35:48]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 GPU 0: [182.5 Mh/s] [Q:36  A:37  R:0  HW:0  E:106%  U:3.02/m]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

[2011-07-16 23:28:28] Share fbbbfd7a accepted from GPU 0 thread 0
[2011-07-16 23:28:38] Share 366da5b7 accepted from GPU 0 thread 0
[2011-07-16 23:28:46] Share fce072de accepted from GPU 0 thread 1
[2011-07-16 23:29:47] Share e7918c2d accepted from GPU 0 thread 1
[2011-07-16 23:29:47] Share 3ca2631b accepted from GPU 0 thread 1
[2011-07-16 23:30:11] Share 2c8ceab5 accepted from GPU 0 thread 1
[2011-07-16 23:30:58] Share b556d2f9 accepted from GPU 0 thread 0
[2011-07-16 23:31:27] Share cc065b5a accepted from GPU 0 thread 1
[2011-07-16 23:35:46] Server not providing work fast enough, generating work locally
[2011-07-16 23:35:48] New block detected on network before longpoll, waiting on fresh work
[2011-07-16 23:35:48] Resuming with work from server
[2011-07-16 23:35:58] Share e99bc71d accepted from GPU 0 thread 1

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
CCCMikey
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76



View Profile
July 16, 2011, 01:55:21 PM
 #130

About shares rejected:

When doing solo mining, you are constantly trying to find a block for yourself and anything that looks like it might be a block is submitted to the network. Most of the time it will be rejected because it's not the real block you've found.

Aah that explains it nicely. Thanks Smiley No, I'm not in a pool at present.
mikegogulski
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 360



View Profile WWW
July 16, 2011, 02:52:58 PM
 #131

*Very* interesting project!

Some weirdness:

- Startup appears to compile a kernel for each thread for each GPU. In the case of the default number of threads, 2, that's double work for no benefit.

- If multiple, identical GPUs are present in the system, the same OpenCL kernel will be compiled for each of them.

- If there really is a need to compile a specific kernel for each GPU, it might be more efficient to do the compilation within a worker thread, this allowing the compiles to run in parallel on multi-core machines.

- Finally, where do the generated .bin files actually get stored on linux?

FREE ROSS ULBRICHT, allegedly one of the Dread Pirates Roberts of the Silk Road
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2011, 02:57:19 PM
 #132

*Very* interesting project!

Some weirdness:

- Startup appears to compile a kernel for each thread for each GPU. In the case of the default number of threads, 2, that's double work for no benefit.

- If multiple, identical GPUs are present in the system, the same OpenCL kernel will be compiled for each of them.

- If there really is a need to compile a specific kernel for each GPU, it might be more efficient to do the compilation within a worker thread, this allowing the compiles to run in parallel on multi-core machines.

- Finally, where do the generated .bin files actually get stored on linux?
No it does not. It compiles one kernel once for all similar hardware and then loads the binary from that point on. Since you have to run cgminer from the source directory currently, that's where it also stores the binary file.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
最爱你是谁
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24



View Profile WWW
July 16, 2011, 03:27:45 PM
 #133

no gpu, can not use
show can not find opencl.dll error

http://www.80sidea.com/
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2011, 04:02:58 PM
 #134

Windows build:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-1.2.7-win32.zip

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ah42
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
July 16, 2011, 04:45:07 PM
 #135

What is considered a "Prolonged outage"? Look at the timestamps on this:

Code:
[2011-07-16 12:40:33] Share a89dc2bb accepted from GPU 1 thread 1
[2011-07-16 12:40:43] New block detected on network before longpoll, waiting on fresh work
[2011-07-16 12:40:54] LONGPOLL received after new block already detected
[2011-07-16 12:40:54] Share 14572bd0 rejected from GPU 1 thread 4
[2011-07-16 12:41:05] Server not providing work fast enough, generating work locally
[2011-07-16 12:41:05] Prolonged outage. Going idle till network recovers.
[2011-07-16 12:41:05] Resuming with work from server
[2011-07-16 12:41:13] Share 933d1b38 accepted from GPU 1 thread 1

(running build from git version 1.2.7)

Was I helpful? 12Xqb8oETmUkGQ1WrcQ9GYK9CvDxXWb8fU
dikidera
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
July 16, 2011, 04:52:28 PM
 #136

no gpu, can not use
show can not find opencl.dll error
You need to install newer drivers for AMD card.
OCedHrt
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
July 16, 2011, 05:39:56 PM
 #137

Still using HTTP POST for long poll? Sad

Quote
cgminer version 1.2.6 - Started: [2011-07-16 10:39:11]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [(5s):2.6  (avg):4.9 Mh/s] [Q:13  A:0  R:0  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m]

 TQ: 3  ST: 0  LS: 0  SS: 0  DW: 17  LW: 10  LO: 2  RF: 0  I: 0
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 GPU 0: [11.7 Mh/s] [Q:16  A:0  R:0  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


[2011-07-16 10:39:17] Resumed retrieving work from server
[2011-07-16 10:39:18] LONGPOLL detected new block on network, flushing work queue
[2011-07-16 10:39:20] Server not providing work fast enough, generating work locally
[2011-07-16 10:39:20] LONGPOLL detected new block on network, flushing work queue
[2011-07-16 10:39:21] LONGPOLL detected new block on network, flushing work queue
[2011-07-16 10:39:22] LONGPOLL detected new block on network, flushing work queue
[2011-07-16 10:39:22] Resumed retrieving work from server
[2011-07-16 10:39:23] LONGPOLL detected new block on network, flushing work queue
Slasklitta
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53



View Profile WWW
July 16, 2011, 06:27:33 PM
 #138

Im getting 5% rejected.. Recently switched from phoenix and i got < 3% there

Using a hd6850 with phatk kernel

Mining at https://www.bitcoins.lc/ @ ~1,2GHash/s
de4l
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
July 16, 2011, 07:06:41 PM
 #139

This looks really cool and I would like to switch to it but I'm having a couple issues on ubuntu 11.04.

Already have appsdk 2.1 installed (was using phoenix)
did: git clone https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer cgminer
but sudo ./autogen.sh just yields "./autogen.sh: 8: aclocal: not found"
I tried some of the other steps to see if it got any further, but I think it's obviously failing on the first step because:

CFLAGS="-O3 -Wall -march=native -I/opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.1-lnx64/include" LDFLAGS="-L/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64/lib/x86_64" ./configure

gives "./configure: no such file or directory"
dikidera
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
July 16, 2011, 07:09:58 PM
 #140

You need to run aclocal before autogen.sh or ./configure. If you dont have it, install automake or autotool.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!