Bitcoin Forum
April 30, 2024, 09:59:59 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 ... 843 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5805215 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (3 posts by 1+ user deleted.)
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2011, 11:38:50 PM
 #501

I am giving cgminer a shot (from phoenix + smartcoin).  My initial impression is positive.  However, I am hesitant because I had modified phoenix to record in a sql database every time a share was submitted. 

So now I am thinking how I can do this with cgminer.  Coding in C to connect to a database is over my head, so I am going with a simpler solution. 

My first thought was to use the -T option and pipe it to python for processing.  This seems like it would work great.  However, I am greedy and would also like the curses interface.  Do you think you can add an option to direct status updates ([2011-07-27 18:05:05 Accepted xxxxxx GPU 1 thread 1 pool 0) to another stderr?  That way I could direct share submissions for sql processing, and still maintaining the stdout interface.

That is, unless you have a more elegant solution.

Excellent work so far.

Dan
It already works. Just pipe output from stderr and you get the curses interface _and_ the piped output.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1714471199
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714471199

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714471199
Reply with quote  #2

1714471199
Report to moderator
1714471199
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714471199

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714471199
Reply with quote  #2

1714471199
Report to moderator
1714471199
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714471199

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714471199
Reply with quote  #2

1714471199
Report to moderator
Make sure you back up your wallet regularly! Unlike a bank account, nobody can help you if you lose access to your BTC.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2011, 11:44:31 PM
 #502

What about different worksizes for different GPUs, is this possible already, too?

Code:
-I 8 -d 0 -v 2 -w 128 -d 1 -v 2 -w 256
I'm afraid not.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2011, 11:53:14 PM
 #503

Has anybody noticed the hashrate dying off after running for several hours? I've also noticed something that _might_ be related... Right after starting the debug display outputs a line or two every second. I usually go back to normal display if things are working and after a few new blocks are detected on the network I go to look at the debug display and now it's flying by super fast. It's almost as if something is looping an extra time (therefore hitting the debug output more often) after running for a while.

Anyway, thanks for coding this up. I'm going to scrape together a few bitpennies to donate. Smiley
Yes indeed, that's a bug! I'll fix it in the next version, and thanks very much Cheesy

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
DBordello
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349
Merit: 250


BTCPak.com - Exchange your Bitcoins for MP!


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2011, 03:54:08 AM
 #504

I seem to get ~10 MH/s higher using Phoenix and the 07-17 phatk from here: https://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=25860.0

Is that in my head or is the phatk kernel different?  Any way to update it?  I know some init stuff had to be changed.

Dan

www.BTCPak.com - Exchange your bitcoins for MP: Secure, Anonymous and Easy!
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2011, 03:56:11 AM
 #505

It's the same phatk kernel. It looks different because of the interface to cgminer so you can't just swap it over. Perhaps you're using different parameters?

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4480
Merit: 1800


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 04:07:51 AM
 #506

Nice piece of software  Smiley
Using 2x6950 on a xubuntu 11.04 USB (no HDD/DVD) cgminer 1.5.1
Now if I ever get to 10BTC I'll give you those 2BTC I promised when that happens ...

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
DBordello
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349
Merit: 250


BTCPak.com - Exchange your Bitcoins for MP!


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2011, 04:13:27 AM
 #507

It's the same phatk kernel. It looks different because of the interface to cgminer so you can't just swap it over. Perhaps you're using different parameters?

I think you may have been right.  I think it was in my head. On a related note, is the status screen output explained anywhere (I skimmed the thread, I saw bits and pieces).  Particularly, what the different hash rates are (two overall, two for each GPU).  Asking around, other seem confused as well.

Great work btw.

www.BTCPak.com - Exchange your bitcoins for MP: Secure, Anonymous and Easy!
ancow
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 373
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2011, 04:27:12 AM
 #508

It's the same phatk kernel. It looks different because of the interface to cgminer so you can't just swap it over. Perhaps you're using different parameters?

I think you may have been right.  I think it was in my head. On a related note, is the status screen output explained anywhere (I skimmed the thread, I saw bits and pieces).  Particularly, what the different hash rates are (two overall, two for each GPU).  Asking around, other seem confused as well.

Great work btw.
There's something in the README. Also, one of the hash rates (the first) is the 5-second-average (it actually says so in the GUI), the other is the runtime average (average rate since you started cgminer).

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
DBordello
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349
Merit: 250


BTCPak.com - Exchange your Bitcoins for MP!


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2011, 04:29:55 AM
 #509

I just switched from a command line input to config file.  I specified two servers, but it only recognized the last one input.  I am wondering if this is a bug.  I am guessing this isn't valid JSON. 


Code:
{
        "url"           :       "http://arsbitcoin.com:8344",
        "user"          :       "DBordello.default",
        "pass"          :       "default",

        "url"           :       "http://mining.eligius.st:8337",
        "user"          :       "XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX",
        "pass"          :       "x",

        "intensity"     :       "8",
        "vectors"       :       "2",
        "worksize"      :       "256",
        "gpu-threads"   :       "2"
}


www.BTCPak.com - Exchange your bitcoins for MP: Secure, Anonymous and Easy!
ancow
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 373
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2011, 04:33:30 AM
 #510

Invalid JSON - it doesn't support several keys being the same. You need to specify different pools in different configs.

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
DBordello
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349
Merit: 250


BTCPak.com - Exchange your Bitcoins for MP!


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2011, 04:34:55 AM
 #511

I just switched from a command line input to config file.  I specified two servers, but it only recognized the last one input.  I am wondering if this is a bug.  I am guessing this isn't valid JSON. 


Code:
{
        "url"           :       "http://arsbitcoin.com:8344",
        "user"          :       "DBordello.default",
        "pass"          :       "default",

        "url"           :       "http://mining.eligius.st:8337",
        "user"          :       "XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX",
        "pass"          :       "x",

        "intensity"     :       "8",
        "vectors"       :       "2",
        "worksize"      :       "256",
        "gpu-threads"   :       "2"
}


Using arrays in the url, user and pass fields also does not work: ["http://url1, "http://url2"].

www.BTCPak.com - Exchange your bitcoins for MP: Secure, Anonymous and Easy!
ancow
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 373
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2011, 04:42:25 AM
 #512

If you search through this thread a little, you will find that ckolivas mentioned that he pretty much just copied all the JSON code from cpuminer. And since things have been changing so frequently recently, he decided not to decide on a "proper" config file format until things have stabilised a little. For now, you just need to create multiple config files.

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
d3m0n1q_733rz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
July 28, 2011, 04:51:26 AM
 #513

Wink for amd X6.. for X4 set -ftree-parallelize-loops=4
Code:
#//** AMD Family 10h, x86_64 (Phenom X6)
#//**-ffast-math : might cause issues
CFLAGS="-O3 -Wall -march=amdfam10 -msse4a -mtune=amdfam10 -mabm -combine -funroll-all-loops -ffast-math -fprefetch-loop-arrays -ftree-parallelize-loops=6  -I/extras/AMDAPP/include" LDFLAGS="-L/extras/AMDAPP/lib/ -g" ./configure

http://developer.amd.com/assets/AMDGCCQuickRef.pdf

Interestingly enough, most of those options you had enabled were already enabled via the -O3 flag.  You could leave out the -mtune and simply use -march=native to automatically utilize the best available setting for your processor.  As a matter of fact, -ffast-math is already in use if I remember correctly.  But would you do me a BIG favor?  I was wondering if you could disassemble the cgminer-sha256_sse4_64.o file created and see if it is actually taking advantage of the enabled optimizations or if it's still only at the SSE2 level?  You can simply use objconv with the -fyasm option (which oddly enough isn't YASM compatible) and it should tell you in the new asm file created.  It hasn't been enabling SSE4 optimizations for me even with them enabled in the CFLAGS.  I'm going to try including the x86intrin.h intrinsic into the c code to see if there's any change at all.  Wish me luck!

Funroll_Loops, the theoretically quicker breakfast cereal!
Check out http://www.facebook.com/JupiterICT for all of your computing needs.  If you need it, we can get it.  We have solutions for your computing conundrums.  BTC accepted!  12HWUSguWXRCQKfkPeJygVR1ex5wbg3hAq
DBordello
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349
Merit: 250


BTCPak.com - Exchange your Bitcoins for MP!


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2011, 05:02:16 AM
 #514

I am giving cgminer a shot (from phoenix + smartcoin).  My initial impression is positive.  However, I am hesitant because I had modified phoenix to record in a sql database every time a share was submitted. 

So now I am thinking how I can do this with cgminer.  Coding in C to connect to a database is over my head, so I am going with a simpler solution. 

My first thought was to use the -T option and pipe it to python for processing.  This seems like it would work great.  However, I am greedy and would also like the curses interface.  Do you think you can add an option to direct status updates ([2011-07-27 18:05:05 Accepted xxxxxx GPU 1 thread 1 pool 0) to another stderr?  That way I could direct share submissions for sql processing, and still maintaining the stdout interface.

That is, unless you have a more elegant solution.

Excellent work so far.

Dan
It already works. Just pipe output from stderr and you get the curses interface _and_ the piped output.

This doesn't appear to be working for me.  I am redirecting (2> file.txt) but nothing is getting passed to that file. 

www.BTCPak.com - Exchange your bitcoins for MP: Secure, Anonymous and Easy!
PLaci1982
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


Live long and prosper. \\//,


View Profile
July 28, 2011, 07:44:09 AM
Last edit: July 28, 2011, 08:40:35 AM by PLaci1982
 #515

Great work, great miner program, but on MicroSux's Windows I can't see the whole "on exit" summary, because the fixed terminal size....
It is possible to implement, that the "on exit" summary would be saved to a text file, whit the date as filename? Like: 2011-07-28-09-41-25.txt

Plz, it's my birthday! Grin

Hardware Expert / WinXP, Win7 Expert

1J5oPkyGVdb4mv44KGZQYsHS2ch6e1t4rc
d3m0n1q_733rz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
July 28, 2011, 08:37:13 AM
 #516

Anyone want to compile together a list of requests?  It seems that we have quite a few.  Actually...I've got time!  I'll read through here and put a list together.  Perhaps if we all work together, we can also knock the list out with our combined programming efforts.  I'll tell you all now, I suck at programming, but I know a few things about settings.

Funroll_Loops, the theoretically quicker breakfast cereal!
Check out http://www.facebook.com/JupiterICT for all of your computing needs.  If you need it, we can get it.  We have solutions for your computing conundrums.  BTC accepted!  12HWUSguWXRCQKfkPeJygVR1ex5wbg3hAq
freakfantom
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 0



View Profile
July 28, 2011, 09:16:24 AM
 #517

I can't see the summary either on windows 7. It is an excellent idea to save it to a text file. Thx in advance, great program Smiley
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2011, 09:31:17 AM
Last edit: July 28, 2011, 09:55:06 AM by ckolivas
 #518

I am giving cgminer a shot (from phoenix + smartcoin).  My initial impression is positive.  However, I am hesitant because I had modified phoenix to record in a sql database every time a share was submitted.  

So now I am thinking how I can do this with cgminer.  Coding in C to connect to a database is over my head, so I am going with a simpler solution.  

My first thought was to use the -T option and pipe it to python for processing.  This seems like it would work great.  However, I am greedy and would also like the curses interface.  Do you think you can add an option to direct status updates ([2011-07-27 18:05:05 Accepted xxxxxx GPU 1 thread 1 pool 0) to another stderr?  That way I could direct share submissions for sql processing, and still maintaining the stdout interface.

That is, unless you have a more elegant solution.

Excellent work so far.

Dan
It already works. Just pipe output from stderr and you get the curses interface _and_ the piped output.

This doesn't appear to be working for me.  I am redirecting (2> file.txt) but nothing is getting passed to that file.  
Enable verbose mode. I'll modify the next version to log even when verbose mode is off.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
d3m0n1q_733rz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
July 28, 2011, 09:54:39 AM
 #519

*Yawn*  Here's the list of things I found through the forum.  Let's not try to depend on one person fixing them all, okay?   Grin

Some issues with certain pools: "No pools active.  Exiting" Most likely due to redirects.
Verbosity levels
JSON-config file format correction
Correction of the C code, intrinsics (*mmintrin.h and add in x86intrin.h/ia32intrin.h) and configuration for SSE4 or simply enable optimizations based upon CPU detected (cpuid.h).
Funky libcurl (cached) version check in configure. Detects lower version but finds higher version next.
Dramatic slow-down of hashing after a while.
GPU 0 gets enabled or disabled automatically when only wanting to enable or disable GPU 1 or else.
Different work sized for different GPUs.  Alternatively, separate settings in general for each GPU as GPUs can often be different.
Perhaps adding prefetching to the C code.

Funroll_Loops, the theoretically quicker breakfast cereal!
Check out http://www.facebook.com/JupiterICT for all of your computing needs.  If you need it, we can get it.  We have solutions for your computing conundrums.  BTC accepted!  12HWUSguWXRCQKfkPeJygVR1ex5wbg3hAq
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2011, 09:58:22 AM
 #520

No more features for now. Just bug fixes till I return in 2 weeks' time. Plus features take time to implement, and I'll be giving priority to features requested by donors.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 ... 843 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!