Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 03:10:16 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4825612 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Shevek
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
July 19, 2011, 08:53:35 AM
 #221

Major update version 1.3.0:

I'll test it as soon as possible, to see if stales are really drop down.

In a nutshell, apart from bugfixes, this version now implements smart failover support of virtually unlimited pools. It selectively probes each server for what it supports and adjusts accordingly how to manage poor network conditions. If a server supports x-roll-ntime it will use local generation of work for up to 5 minutes (half a block's duration) and then if it is still unable to connect it will then switch pools. If a server does not support local generation, it will wait for up to a minute and then switch pools. Once a switch has occurred it will try to switch longpolls to the appropriate server as well.

To use multiple pools, simply pass multiple urls and credentials. eg:

./cgminer -o http://url1:port -u user1 -p pass1 -o http://url2:port -u user2 -p pass2 ...

[note: url must come before username/password now]

I think the right way to implement failover and multiserver is the one adopted by poclbm and hashkill: several servers are placed in compact format user:pass@server:port (or user:pass:server:port) without flags; the first one is meant to be the favourite and the program will test it from time to time after its shutdown.

Moreover, hashkill allows input a text file with one server per line.

P.S. Edited for cosmetic changes

Proposals for improving bitcoin are like asses: everybody has one
1SheveKuPHpzpLqSvPSavik9wnC51voBa
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481339416
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481339416

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481339416
Reply with quote  #2

1481339416
Report to moderator
RedLine888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163



View Profile
July 19, 2011, 08:55:34 AM
 #222

Can anyone give a step-by-step instruction on how to properly configure this miner on Windows

THANX

If I helped and You do wanna thank:
1FoiQYVPtUwWWnrYe1oYV3GCtJP8YBe1fv
Feel free to PM if you're in a need of any help
-------------------------------------------------------------------
xcooling
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145


View Profile
July 19, 2011, 08:55:50 AM
 #223

+1 or via an xml/ini/cfg file


I think the right way to implement failover and multiserver is the one adopted by
Code:
poclbm
and
Code:
hashkill
: several servers are placed in compact format user:pass@server:port (or user:pass:server:port) without flags; the first one is meant to be the favourite and the program will test it from time to time after its shutdown.

Moreover, hashkill allows input a text file with one server per line.



xcooling
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145


View Profile
July 19, 2011, 08:58:19 AM
 #224

Can anyone give a step-by-step instruction on how to properly configure this miner on Windows

THANX

create a .bat file in the cgminer directory with the commands

start_cgminer.bat
Code:
del /F /Q *.bin
cgminer.exe -o http://servername.com:8332 -u username -p password -I 9 -t 0

EskimoBob
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


Quality Printing Services by Federal Reserve Bank


View Profile
July 19, 2011, 09:11:58 AM
 #225

I use  cgminer version 1.2.8  and I am getting:  
...
[2011-07-18 18:00:30] HTTP request failed: Empty reply from server
...
And those repeat every 60 seconds  


Thank you for the new version of this excellent miner.
Looks like previously reported problem has disappeared and I have gained about +21% of hashing power compared to poclbm-mod (that was faster than all the rest)
(Linux D2 2.6.38-gentoo-r6, ati-stream-sdk 2.3)

Me so happy! Smiley

While reading what I wrote, use the most friendliest and relaxing voice in your head.
BTW, Things in BTC bubble universes are getting ugly....
RedLine888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163



View Profile
July 19, 2011, 09:26:24 AM
 #226

Can anyone give a step-by-step instruction on how to properly configure this miner on Windows

THANX

create a .bat file in the cgminer directory with the commands

start_cgminer.bat
Code:
del /F /Q *.bin
cgminer.exe -o http://servername.com:8332 -u username -p password -I 9 -t 0


del /F /Q *.bin

what does this mean?

The miner quits itself w\o any errors in 10 secs

If I helped and You do wanna thank:
1FoiQYVPtUwWWnrYe1oYV3GCtJP8YBe1fv
Feel free to PM if you're in a need of any help
-------------------------------------------------------------------
xcooling
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145


View Profile
July 19, 2011, 09:31:56 AM
 #227

It removes the old database (.bin) file that cgminer creates.

RedLine888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163



View Profile
July 19, 2011, 09:36:39 AM
 #228

What are thw F and Q arguments?

The miner quits after approximately ten secs.

Windows says that programm has stopped running.

What sould I do?

If I helped and You do wanna thank:
1FoiQYVPtUwWWnrYe1oYV3GCtJP8YBe1fv
Feel free to PM if you're in a need of any help
-------------------------------------------------------------------
xcooling
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145


View Profile
July 19, 2011, 09:40:57 AM
 #229

/F /Q

F = force (ie. do not prompt user for delete permission)
Q = quiet (ie. do not notify user of delete)

sent u a pm with my start command

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 19, 2011, 09:44:09 AM
 #230

You shouldn't need to delete the .bin files on each startup unless you change the SDK you are using.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
RedLine888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163



View Profile
July 19, 2011, 09:45:00 AM
 #231

THANX! Mine there also!

Copied your flags, input my data but the problem is still here.

Windows quits the miner in 10 secs saying that it has stopped working(((((((((((

If I helped and You do wanna thank:
1FoiQYVPtUwWWnrYe1oYV3GCtJP8YBe1fv
Feel free to PM if you're in a need of any help
-------------------------------------------------------------------
xcooling
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145


View Profile
July 19, 2011, 09:47:24 AM
 #232

reboot and try. and i assume it crashes with my exact start command ?

RedLine888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163



View Profile
July 19, 2011, 10:00:15 AM
 #233

yes

If I helped and You do wanna thank:
1FoiQYVPtUwWWnrYe1oYV3GCtJP8YBe1fv
Feel free to PM if you're in a need of any help
-------------------------------------------------------------------
xcooling
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145


View Profile
July 19, 2011, 11:04:45 AM
 #234

how does one specify phatk110714.cl or poclbm110717.cl ?

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 19, 2011, 11:07:39 AM
 #235

how does one specify phatk110714.cl or poclbm110717.cl ?

One does not. The poclbm kernel is far far behind the phatk kernel in speed and any hardware that can run the phatk kernel is given it. The poclbm kernel is reserved for nvidia cards and ATI 4x cards only. The phatk kernel, even without bitalign patching, crashes on these lesser mining cards.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
xcooling
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145


View Profile
July 19, 2011, 11:16:07 AM
 #236

yeah, thats why i was asking ;-P

I assume the json cfg supports multiple pools ?

Code:
{
"_comment1" : "Any long-format command line argument ",
"_comment2" : "may be used in this JSON configuration file",

"url" : "http://127.0.0.1:8332",
"user" : "rpcuser",
"pass" : "rpcpass",

"url" : "http://127.0.0.1:8334",
"user" : "rpcuser2",
"pass" : "rpcpass2",

"algo" : "sse2_64",
"threads" : "4",

"quiet" : true
}

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 19, 2011, 11:23:34 AM
 #237

I'm not sure if the config file works. Probably not yet. I spent an awful lot of time getting this feature working and then wanted to release it because the demand for it was high. I was hoping people would test it and then I could worry about the interface...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
July 19, 2011, 11:34:31 AM
 #238

I assume the json cfg supports multiple pools ?
It doesn't even support a single server yet...
see http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg378597#msg378597

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 19, 2011, 01:52:08 PM
 #239

Updated git tree:
- The order of urls/user/pass is not critical any more so long as you give it the same number of urls and credentials
- json config file is now working again. json does not allow the same entry to be used twice so for the time being, to get two or more pools working you need to create a config file for each and pass multiple -c to cgminer. I'm considering options for how to tackle this, but likely using a urlX counter in the parameters will be the solution I go with. Or move to a different format entirely.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
smurfix
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile WWW
July 19, 2011, 02:04:00 PM
 #240

Hi,

for JSON a sensible multi-host config would look like this:

{

connections: [
   {url: "http://foo.example.org:8332", username: "bar", password: "baz"},
   {url: "http://bar.example.org:8332", username: "baz", password: "quux"}
],

}

I don't like the one-string "http://bar:baz@foo.example.org:8332" style.
(a) it's ugly and human-unfriendly
(b) you'll almost certainly get parsing that thing wrong (passwords with spaces in them, anyone?)
(c) this way you can use additional options, like different timeouts or "ignore this host's longpoll offer, it's broken" options, per connection.

1Q1gDfJjvxN1G3pHRdioXQMHkUnBaF99r1
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!