Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 12:27:46 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 [37] 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4819420 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
m3ta
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 427



View Profile WWW
August 05, 2011, 10:53:46 AM
 #721

Not possible, but why not keep it simple and just use --load-balance (check --help to confirm that is right)?  Should be about 50/50 even if both GPUs work on both pools.  Alternatively, why not run two instances?  Are you on Windows?  If so, run two instance's puddinpop's miner b/c it is the only one I have seen that doesn't use CPU in Windows, and using CPU is expensive whether it is finding shares or not.

EDIT:  IOW, for your example above:
cgminer --load-balance -g 1 -o <http1> -O <u1>:<p1> -o <http2> -O <u2>:<p2>

It's a debian, and i got some stuff 'going on' already (many processes) and i'd like to save in what i can, but i guess i'll just put the 2 on screen if needed.
I'll try --load-balance, thanks for the tip, cheers!

Why the frell so many retards spell "ect" as an abbreviation of "Et Cetera"? "ETC", DAMMIT! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Et_cetera

Host:/# rm -rf /var/forum/trolls
1481027266
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481027266

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481027266
Reply with quote  #2

1481027266
Report to moderator
1481027266
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481027266

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481027266
Reply with quote  #2

1481027266
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481027266
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481027266

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481027266
Reply with quote  #2

1481027266
Report to moderator
1481027266
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481027266

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481027266
Reply with quote  #2

1481027266
Report to moderator
1481027266
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481027266

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481027266
Reply with quote  #2

1481027266
Report to moderator
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
August 05, 2011, 11:32:50 AM
 #722

grr, I tried 1.5.3 for windows from 1.5.1 and it just comes up w/ the program box sayin "This program has stopped workin..." it crashed...hrm...ideas?

Went back to 1.5.1 and works fine =/

+1 crashing for me.  Using Catalyst 11.7/SDK 2.5 on both W7 x32 & x64
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769



View Profile WWW
August 05, 2011, 12:05:13 PM
 #723

grr, I tried 1.5.3 for windows from 1.5.1 and it just comes up w/ the program box sayin "This program has stopped workin..." it crashed...hrm...ideas?

Went back to 1.5.1 and works fine =/

+1 crashing for me.  Using Catalyst 11.7/SDK 2.5 on both W7 x32 & x64

Same here, just crashes without generating the kernel binary.
Using Catalyst 11.8 Preview / SDK 2.5 Win7 x64.

Dia

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
sabe
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
August 05, 2011, 01:45:11 PM
 #724

Is there a way to set a different username/password for each GPU so I know what's working and what's not from my pool workers page?

Found my post helpful? Please donate to: 135t2FmsNQA9uKNxFwewFHYQKTvVMUza8W
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
August 05, 2011, 02:20:37 PM
 #725

Is there a way to set a different username/password for each GPU so I know what's working and what's not from my pool workers page?
Nice edit.  Tongue  Glad you figured out your original issue.  Regarding this one, you could run separate instances with a specific GPU selected for each instance.  If you want it all in one instance, you brought up a good reason why it would be useful to choose resources per worker in the command line.  Unfortunately, I don't think it's currently possible (refer to my response to another question in this thread just a few posts up).
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


View Profile
August 05, 2011, 03:45:41 PM
 #726

Unable to launch 1.5.3 on windows x64 sp1 too... hm. Rolling back to 1.5.1. It seems to me that the problem is with loading phatk kernel, because it works just fine with poclbm.

I tried w/ both kernels and still crashed =(

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
Internet151
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174



View Profile
August 05, 2011, 06:26:34 PM
 #727

The windows binary of cgminer 1.5.3 also crashes on start-up for me.
pennytrader
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 253


View Profile
August 05, 2011, 06:42:37 PM
 #728

I'll build my own version of win binary on weekend (and potentially get rid of call the GPU rendering feature Smiley

please donate to 1P3m2resGCP2o2sFX324DP1mfqHgGPA8BL
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
August 05, 2011, 07:10:56 PM
 #729

I also tested yrcros's version and it also crashed on me, but i can verify my compiled 1.5.3 works and so can another user who i sent it prior to posting here. I've provided a link to it in the first post of this page.

Sadly, i am not the dev, but if you have some trust, try it.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
hi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 256


View Profile
August 05, 2011, 07:14:07 PM
 #730

I am unable to get it to cpu mine...wtf...says no opencl.dll found??  Any fix for this...

I just downloaded opencl driver  and installed it and now it works...why does cpu need opencl??  this is bug?

this cpu miner is not as good as urfasoft's....much slower..factor of 2 or 3 slower...wow.
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
August 05, 2011, 07:30:12 PM
 #731

I am unable to get it to cpu mine...wtf...says no opencl.dll found??  Any fix for this...

I just downloaded opencl driver  and installed it and now it works...why does cpu need opencl??  this is bug?

this cpu miner is not as good as urfasoft's....much slower..factor of 2 or 3 slower...wow.
Try the 4way algorithm. You are probably using the regular C implementation of SHA256

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
hi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 256


View Profile
August 05, 2011, 07:34:58 PM
 #732

4way as arg added 3mil/hash per sec...thanks!
GimEEE
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112

Ride or Die


View Profile WWW
August 06, 2011, 03:16:43 AM
 #733

Using catalyst 11.6, xfce, sdk 2.5, current cgminer running in xterm - it seems to crash after running for minutes or hours, plmk if others are having this issue.

Also, anyone have an analysis of the scan-time feature and how 60 was chosen as default.
Same for retries, kernel, queue (why it goes all the way to zero and then up to 7).

Also, how long does it take to switch to higher priority pools (in failover) and how exactly the threads choose which pool for all the methods.

Also, does it donate shares to the developer?

Thanks!

The only way to make sure people you agree with can speak is to support the rights of people you don't agree with.
ah42
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 04:26:27 AM
 #734

Since Con is away...

I thought I'd take a try at integrating some of the recent changes in both phatk kernel threads. (here and here)
I've also changed the method used to specify various #defines for the kernels by simply specifying the defines as build options for clBuildProgram() instead of editing the .cl text on the fly. (so much simpler!)

Compared to the current kernel in cgminer 1.5.3, this does benefit from reduced ALU OPs, although not as much as either of the other phatk kernels:

1.5.3:
VLIW4: 1699 ALU OPs
VLIW5: 1376 ALU OPs

Mine:
VLIW4: 1694 ALU OPs
VLIW5: 1368 ALU OPs

My changes are here at github, but it's all in one big ugly commit, and not broken out by the individual changes, so i don't feel comfortable in the slightest offering a pull request to CK for it.

Was I helpful? 12Xqb8oETmUkGQ1WrcQ9GYK9CvDxXWb8fU
hi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 256


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 06:25:29 AM
 #735

I ran cgminer with -a 4way -t 4 and had it set to btcguild. It ran for a few hours.  Every single share rejected...lol.
PLaci1982
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


Live long and prosper. \\//,


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 06:54:24 AM
 #736

I ran cgminer with -a 4way -t 4 and had it set to btcguild. It ran for a few hours.  Every single share rejected...lol.
CPU mining are worth null atm.

Hardware Expert / WinXP, Win7 Expert

1J5oPkyGVdb4mv44KGZQYsHS2ch6e1t4rc
hi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 256


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 07:05:05 AM
 #737

cpu mining brings me 8 btc weekly..so it is not null...
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 08:09:38 AM
 #738

More like 0.008 btc weekly.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
PLaci1982
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


Live long and prosper. \\//,


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 09:05:26 AM
 #739

cpu mining brings me 8 btc weekly..so it is not null...
Did you wrote a CPU mining trojan? Tongue
My 6-10 Mh/s CPUs do 0 BTC for me...

Hardware Expert / WinXP, Win7 Expert

1J5oPkyGVdb4mv44KGZQYsHS2ch6e1t4rc
hi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 256


View Profile
August 06, 2011, 10:19:34 AM
 #740

trojan..lol.  You degenerates need to get out more often...regardless,..the urfasoft miner is working much better so I have left the cgminer alone.  It's cpu implementation should be rewritten or disabled..dreadful.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 [37] 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!