Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 03:55:20 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4824880 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 29, 2011, 11:03:14 PM
 #581

Code:
[2011-07-29 22:19:38] Thread 1 idle for more than 60 seconds, GPU 0 declared SICK!
[2011-07-29 22:19:38] Attempting to restart thread
[2011-07-29 22:19:38] Thread 1 restarted

Restarting the thread didn't seem to work, because it kept SICK and gpu load was still 0%. Trying to "restart" the GPU via the curses interface resulted in a segfault. I seem to have problems running cgminer with gdb attached, even just with text interface (-T). (Still with 947a74bfa3fb1fe731b479b806a84ee6bc82ce0a, trying latest now.)
Yeah you caught the code in a state of flux. I've just committed a change which tries to send the device a command if it finds it sick. If the command returns it means the GPU isn't hung (hopefully) and then it will try to restart it itself if it gets to 10 minutes (dead state).

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1481298920
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481298920

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481298920
Reply with quote  #2

1481298920
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481298920
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481298920

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481298920
Reply with quote  #2

1481298920
Report to moderator
BOARBEAR
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77


View Profile
July 30, 2011, 06:58:54 AM
 #582

will you plan to release 64 bit for windows in the future?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2011, 07:15:55 AM
 #583

Updated git tree getting ready for last release before I disappear for 10 days.

 Significant work went into attempting to make the thread restart code robust
to identify sick threads, tag them SICK after 1 minute, then DEAD after 5
minutes of inactivity and try to restart them. Instead of re-initialising the
GPU completely, only a new cl context is created to avoid hanging the rest of
the GPUs should the dead GPU be hung irrevocably.
- Use correct application name in syslog.
- Get rid of extra line feeds.
- Use pkg-config to check for libcurl version
- Implement per-thread getwork count with proper accounting to not over-account
queued items when local work replaces it.
- Create a command queue from the program created from source which allows us
to flush the command queue in the hope it will not generate a zero sized binary
any more.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ffwd
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2011, 07:21:19 AM
 #584

i've been wondering if there is some way of adding a web interface for remotely monitoring/controlling cgminer.

the simplest way of monitoring is simply redirecting output to a logfile, but how about some way of controlling it? any ideas that dont require ck writing more code?  Wink

tip jar: 1Kbfc9qaMbrG1WWrr8WZG2xSsAB7QqV8jp

80 Mhash/s on Radeon 5550 (550 -> 880 o/c on air. I <3 Sapphire)
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2011, 07:50:10 AM
 #585

Latest git, compile error without OpenCL:
Code:
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -pthread -fno-strict-aliasing -I./compat/jansson -I./lib -I./lib  -DHAS_YASM -O3 -Wall -msse2 -march=native -MT cgminer-main.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/cgminer-main.Tpo -c -o cgminer-main.o `test -f 'main.c' || echo './'`main.c
main.c: In function ‘reinit_device’:
main.c:3420:12: error: ‘reinit_gpu’ undeclared (first use in this function)
main.c:3420:12: note: each undeclared identifier is reported only once for each function it appears in
main.c: In function ‘main’:
main.c:3717:7: warning: unused variable ‘name’
main.c:3714:18: warning: unused variable ‘j’
main.c: At top level:
main.c:168:12: warning: ‘opt_device’ defined but not used
main.c:367:14: warning: ‘forced_int_1010’ defined but not used
main.c:384:14: warning: ‘set_devices’ defined but not used
main.c:489:14: warning: ‘set_vector’ defined but not used
make[2]: *** [cgminer-main.o] Fehler 1
make[2]: Verlasse Verzeichnis '/home/reini/root/bitcoin/cgminer_build'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Fehler 1
make[1]: Verlasse Verzeichnis '/home/reini/root/bitcoin/cgminer_build'
make: *** [all] Fehler 2

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
PLaci1982
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


Live long and prosper. \\//,


View Profile
July 30, 2011, 09:07:22 AM
 #586

I did gave a try to linux (Ubuntu 10.04 LTS), and I can't start my compiled miner without to change dir to /usr/local/bin...

Code:
[2011-07-30 11:00:58] Long-polling activated for http://pit.deepbit.net:8332/lis
tenChannel
[2011-07-30 11:01:01] Unable to open phatk110722.cl for reading

[2011-07-30 11:01:01] Unable to malloc source
[2011-07-30 11:01:01] Failed to init GPU thread 0
[2011-07-30 11:01:01] Unable to open phatk110722.cl for readingSzegmentálási hiba
placi@ubuntu:~$

"Szegmentálási hiba" = Segmentation fault

Hardware Expert / WinXP, Win7 Expert

1J5oPkyGVdb4mv44KGZQYsHS2ch6e1t4rc
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2011, 09:16:35 AM
 #587

I did gave a try to linux (Ubuntu 10.04 LTS), and I can't start my compiled miner without to change dir to /usr/local/bin...

Code:
[2011-07-30 11:00:58] Long-polling activated for http://pit.deepbit.net:8332/lis
tenChannel
[2011-07-30 11:01:01] Unable to open phatk110722.cl for reading

[2011-07-30 11:01:01] Unable to malloc source
[2011-07-30 11:01:01] Failed to init GPU thread 0
[2011-07-30 11:01:01] Unable to open phatk110722.cl for readingSzegmentálási hiba
placi@ubuntu:~$

"Szegmentálási hiba" = Segmentation fault
That's why ckolivas keeps saying that make install isn't supported at the moment and that you should run it from the compilation directory. If you want make install to work, put the following shell script in whatever directory you installed to:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
cd "$(dirname "${0}")"
./cgminer "${@}"
Then call the shell script as you would call cgminer.

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
EskimoBob
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


Quality Printing Services by Federal Reserve Bank


View Profile
July 30, 2011, 09:37:34 AM
 #588

i've been wondering if there is some way of adding a web interface for remotely monitoring/controlling cgminer.

the simplest way of monitoring is simply redirecting output to a logfile, but how about some way of controlling it? any ideas that dont require ck writing more code?  Wink

You can use 'screen'.
Go to your shell (terminal) and run:
Code:
screen -S "screen_name_here*"
  (* I use one letter names)
now you start your miner like you usually do and no you can hit:
Code:
Ctrl a+d
  to exit this screen.
You can log in from remote box and bring up your screen by
Code:
screen -r "screen_name_here*"
If you have multiple screens running and you do not remember the name do:
Code:
screen -l
and you see the list of screens running.
Exit and terminate the screen, use:
Code:
screen -d

Search for screen howto to get a better overview of all the commands.
Code:
man screen
is also helpful

Enjoy 

While reading what I wrote, use the most friendliest and relaxing voice in your head.
BTW, Things in BTC bubble universes are getting ugly....
PLaci1982
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


Live long and prosper. \\//,


View Profile
July 30, 2011, 09:51:34 AM
 #589

Bah.... I do stick to windows then, I can't OC my cards in linux (yet), and since I got only 1 PC with multiple cards, and both worth to run mining, I only loose coins while try to figure it out Tongue

Hardware Expert / WinXP, Win7 Expert

1J5oPkyGVdb4mv44KGZQYsHS2ch6e1t4rc
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2011, 09:58:59 AM
 #590

You can't figure out how to run cgminer in the directory you compiled it in? Sucks to be you, then...

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
PLaci1982
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


Live long and prosper. \\//,


View Profile
July 30, 2011, 10:00:43 AM
 #591

You can't figure out how to run cgminer in the directory you compiled it in? Sucks to be you, then...
LOL.... not that m8... in linux I would need to figure out, how to OC my cards! Tongue
(2x HD 5750, OC'd from 700MHz to 870MHz in windows with MSI Afterburner)

Hardware Expert / WinXP, Win7 Expert

1J5oPkyGVdb4mv44KGZQYsHS2ch6e1t4rc
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2011, 10:02:38 AM
 #592

You can't figure out how to run cgminer in the directory you compiled it in? Sucks to be you, then...
LOL.... not that m8... in linux I would need to figure out, how to OC my cards! Tongue
(2x HD 5750, OC'd from 700MHz to 870MHz in windows with MSI Afterburner)
amdovdrvctrl works a treat for me and it's a gui app for those trying to escape windows
http://sourceforge.net/projects/amdovdrvctrl/

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
d3m0n1q_733rz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile WWW
July 30, 2011, 10:59:11 AM
 #593

I've taken care of most of the redundant multiplications and register accesses that I could find.

But now, I'm trying to comment out some of the redundant commands in the cpu hash asm files and need a hand:
Code:
LAB_NEXT_NONCE:

mov rcx, 256 ; 256 - rcx is # of SHA-2 rounds
; mov rax, 64 ; 64 - rax is where we expand to

LAB_SHA:
push rcx
lea rcx, qword [data+(1024)] ; + 1024
lea r11, qword [data+(256)] ; + 256

I'm wanting to get rid of that redundant rcx move since it unnecessarily represents a constant for a total of three instructions.  I know it's not much of anything, but it's a start at weeding out redundant code.

Also, is it just me or do I see rax being set to 0 and then being multiplied by 4 before added to data?  And then being multiplied by 4 for no apparent reason?
Edit: I figured out it's part of the macro I overlooked.  Haven't slept yet; probably should.

Code:
%endrep

add r11, LAB_CALC_UNROLL*LAB_CALC_PARA*16
cmp r11, rcx
jb LAB_CALC

pop rcx
mov rax, 0

; Load the init values of the message into the hash.

movntdqa xmm7, [init]
pshufd xmm5, xmm7, 0x55 ; xmm5 == b
pshufd xmm4, xmm7, 0xAA ; xmm4 == c
pshufd xmm3, xmm7, 0xFF ; xmm3 == d
pshufd xmm7, xmm7, 0 ; xmm7 == a

movntdqa xmm0, [init+16]
pshufd xmm8, xmm0, 0x55 ; xmm8 == f
pshufd xmm9, xmm0, 0xAA ; xmm9 == g
pshufd xmm10, xmm0, 0xFF ; xmm10 == h
pshufd xmm0, xmm0, 0 ; xmm0 == e

LAB_LOOP:

;; T t1 = h + (Rotr32(e, 6) ^ Rotr32(e, 11) ^ Rotr32(e, 25)) + ((e & f) ^ AndNot(e, g)) + Expand32<T>(g_sha256_k[j]) + w[j]

%macro lab_loop_blk 0
movntdqa xmm6, [data+rax*4]
paddd xmm6, g_4sha256_k[rax*4]
add rax, 4

As a tangent, I found this and wonder if we might be able to code something from it.  "There are two meet-in-the-middle preimage attacks against SHA-2 with a reduced number of rounds. The first one attacks 41-round SHA-256 out of 64 rounds with time complexity of 2253.5 and space complexity of 216, and 46-round SHA-512 out of 80 rounds with time 2511.5 and space 23. The second one attacks 42-round SHA-256 with time complexity of 2251.7 and space complexity of 212, and 42-round SHA-512 with time 2502 and space 222."
So basically, if we store some of the computed hash into a look-up table in memory as we're computing, there's a good chance that we could speed-up hashing significantly for the first 42 rounds.  Is that what you've already taken advantage of as you mentioned before?

Funroll_Loops, the theoretically quicker breakfast cereal!
Check out http://www.facebook.com/JupiterICT for all of your computing needs.  If you need it, we can get it.  We have solutions for your computing conundrums.  BTC accepted!  12HWUSguWXRCQKfkPeJygVR1ex5wbg3hAq
zaytsev
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
July 30, 2011, 11:51:16 AM
 #594

Yeah, sounds very much like rainbow table attack, I was wondering why nobody seems to be interested in rainbow tables, was thinking that with SHA2 it's impractical due to the huge table size to get any gains required. If you can dig something out... I mean we can collaborate to create a huge table and then rock them all :-)

Donations welcome: 1AKVi32aayHPkpi9HNmfpHpx4DCruHoK2A
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2011, 12:51:51 PM
 #595

New release: 1.5.3

Source:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-1.5.3.tar.bz2
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-1.5.3.tar.lrz

Linux x86_64 dynamic binary:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-1.5.3-x86_64-built.tar.bz2
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-1.5.3-x86_64-built.tar.lrz

Changelog:

- Significant work went into attempting to make the thread restart code robust
to identify sick threads, tag them SICK after 1 minute, then DEAD after 5
minutes of inactivity and try to restart them. Instead of re-initialising the
GPU completely, only a new cl context is created to avoid hanging the rest of
the GPUs should the dead GPU be hung irrevocably. Much thanks to sunbreak for testing various modes of failure on his 66 GPU cluster.
- Use correct application name in syslog.
- Get rid of extra line feeds.
- Use pkg-config to check for libcurl version
- Implement per-thread getwork count with proper accounting to not over-account
queued items when local work replaces it.
- Create a command queue from the program created from source which allows us
to flush the command queue in the hope it will not generate a zero sized binary
any more.
- Be more willing to get work from the backup pools if the work is simply being
queued faster than it is being retrieved.

So I'm leaving tomorrow for 10 days and I still don't have a windows binary post version 1.5.1 since I'm entirely dependent on Ycros for building one for me. If he shows up on these forums and posts a link to a windows build, consider it official. Otherwise, I'm afraid that's all I can do.

P.S. If you're wondering what a .lrz file is, that's my extreme compression format which also has extreme encryption capabilities.
http://lrzip.kolivas.org

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
zaytsev
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
July 30, 2011, 12:54:31 PM
 #596

Thanks ck! Man, have nice holidays!!! The bugs will wait...

Donations welcome: 1AKVi32aayHPkpi9HNmfpHpx4DCruHoK2A
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2011, 01:14:00 PM
 #597

You can't figure out how to run cgminer in the directory you compiled it in? Sucks to be you, then...
LOL.... not that m8... in linux I would need to figure out, how to OC my cards! Tongue
(2x HD 5750, OC'd from 700MHz to 870MHz in windows with MSI Afterburner)
That explains that, then... Cheesy
Don't you have some other rig with a maybe slower card you can experiment on? Anyways, I assume there are enough people in these forums that had your problem that there will be a solution posted somewhere if you take the time to research it - and I doubt you need to have Linux booted for that.

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2011, 01:17:40 PM
 #598

Can't compile this or the latest git on Linux without GPU mining support. I still get this error from make:
Code:
make[2]: Entering directory `/home/XXX/cgminer-1.5.3'
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -pthread -fno-strict-aliasing -I./compat/jansson -I./lib -I./lib  -DHAS_YASM -O3 -Wall -msse2 -march=native -MT cgminer-main.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/cgminer-main.Tpo -c -o cgminer-main.o `test -f 'main.c' || echo './'`main.c
main.c: In function ‘reinit_device’:
main.c:3420:12: error: ‘reinit_gpu’ undeclared (first use in this function)
main.c:3420:12: note: each undeclared identifier is reported only once for each function it appears in

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2011, 01:23:07 PM
 #599

Can't compile this or the latest git on Linux without GPU mining support. I still get this error from make:
Code:
make[2]: Entering directory `/home/XXX/cgminer-1.5.3'
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -pthread -fno-strict-aliasing -I./compat/jansson -I./lib -I./lib  -DHAS_YASM -O3 -Wall -msse2 -march=native -MT cgminer-main.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/cgminer-main.Tpo -c -o cgminer-main.o `test -f 'main.c' || echo './'`main.c
main.c: In function ‘reinit_device’:
main.c:3420:12: error: ‘reinit_gpu’ undeclared (first use in this function)
main.c:3420:12: note: each undeclared identifier is reported only once for each function it appears in
Can't have that now can we!
* ckolivas quietly replaces the tarballs with a fixed version

Ok, redownload  Lips sealed

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2011, 01:33:52 PM
 #600

Now it works. And thanks for enabling the github issue tracker!

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!